YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ January 14th, 2019

b2ap3_large_Current-Reads

Hello YABC'ers!

Welcome to the weekly post by the Staff at YA Books Central called Current Reads Monday!

We love everything bookish and just wanted to share with our readers what books we are currently reading and

obsessing about! So check out what books the YABC Staff are currently reading below and comment to let us

know what your book or books your reading as well!!

Share, Tweet, and post with the hashtag #YABCCurrentReads!

Happy Reading!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

*Beth's Current Reads*

(YABC Blog Manager)

 

Four Dead Queens (Astrid Scholte)

 
Author: Astrid Scholte

Expected publication: February 26th, 2019

 Publisher: Putnam Books

 

A divided nation. Four Queens. A ruthless pickpocket. A noble messenger. And the murders that unite them.

Get in quick, get out quicker.

These are the words Keralie Corrington lives by as the preeminent dipper in the Concord, the central area uniting the four quadrants of Quadara. She steals under the guidance of her mentor Mackiel, who runs a black market selling their bounty to buyers desperate for what they can’t get in their own quarter. For in the nation of Quadara, each quarter is strictly divided from the other. Four queens rule together, one from each region:

Toria: the intellectual quarter that values education and ambition
Ludia: the pleasure quarter that values celebration, passion, and entertainment
Archia: the agricultural quarter that values simplicity and nature
Eonia: the futurist quarter that values technology, stoicism and harmonious community

When Keralie intercepts a comm disk coming from the House of Concord, what seems like a standard job goes horribly wrong. Upon watching the comm disks, Keralie sees all four queens murdered in four brutal ways. Hoping that discovering the intended recipient will reveal the culprit – information that is bound to be valuable bartering material with the palace – Keralie teams up with Varin Bollt, the Eonist messenger she stole from, to complete Varin’s original job and see where it takes them.
 

 

 

 

 

 

A Curse So Dark and Lonely (Brigid Kemmerer)

Author: Brigid Kemmerer
Expected publication: January 20th, 2019

Publisher: Bloomsbury YA

 

In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.

Fall in love, break the curse. 

It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope.

Nothing has ever been easy for Harper. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she's instead somehow sucked into Rhen's cursed world.

Break the curse, save the kingdom. 

A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn't know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what's at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.
 

 

 

 

 

 

*Beth R's Current Reads*

(YABC Staff Reviewer)

 

The Next To Last (Amalie Jahn)

Author: Amalie Jahn
Expected publication: March 19th, 2019

Publisher: Light Messages Publishing

 

Tess Goodwin’s life in rural Iowa is sheltered and uncomplicated. Although she chooses to spend most of her free time playing chess with her best friend Zander, the farm-boy from next door, her skills as a bovine midwife and tractor mechanic ensure that she fits in with the other kids at East Chester High. But when her veteran father reenlists in the Army, moving her family halfway across the country to North Carolina, Tess is forced out of her comfort zone into a world she knows nothing about.

Tess approaches the move as she would a new game of chess, plotting her course through the unfamiliar reality of her new life. While heeding Zander’s long-distance advice for making new friends and strategizing a means to endure her dad’s imminent deployment to the Middle East, she quickly discovers how ill-equipped she is to navigate the challenges she encounters and becomes convinced she’ll never fit in at her new school.

When Leonetta Jackson is assigned as her mentor, she becomes Tess’s unexpected guide through the winding labyrinth of disparities between them, sparking a tentative friendship and challenging Tess to confront her reluctant nature. As the pieces move across the board of her upended life, will Tess find the acceptance she so desperately desires?

 

 

 

 

 

 

*Stephanie's Current Reads*

(YABC Staff Reviewer)

 

Golden Curse (M Lynn)

Author: M Lynn
Expected publication: October 22nd, 2018

 

A curse. A hidden identity. A dangerous love.

Ten year old Persinette Basile was forced to flee the palace of Gaule for her life.

Now at eighteen, she must find a way to return in order to obey a curse on her family line.

The prince won’t know who she is. Not anymore. But she knows him and what he will do if he discovers her true name.

Made to fight for her life to earn her place, she vows to find a way to break the curse no matter the cost.

-------

To. The. Death. 

The words describing the tournament turn Prince Alexandre Durand’s blood to ice.

The last warrior standing will win a spot at his side.

As he's thrust onto the throne, forbidden magic, dangerous betrayals, and a complicated love could tear his reign apart. 

When the secrets begin to unravel, will Alex stay true to the laws and traditions of Gaule or will he give it all up for a woman who deceived him?

Inspired by the Rapunzel story, this is the golden-haired princess as you’ve never seen her before.

 

 

 

 

 

 

*Bethany W's Current Reads*

(YABC Staff Reviewer)

 

The Secret Lives Of Princesses (Seven Steps)

Author: Seven Steps
Expected publication: September 25th, 2018

 

Book five in the St. Mary's Academy Series.
Releasing September 25, 2018.

 

 

 

 

 

What book are you currently reading? Comment below! 

Share, Tweet, and post with the hashtag #YABCCurrentReads!

Author Of The Week: Chat with Brigid Kemmerer (A C...
Featured Review: In Paris With You (Clementine Bea...

Related Posts

 

Comments 1

Already Registered? Login Here
Carina Olsen on Tuesday, 05 March 2019 16:32

Ahh, I love all these covers Seems like such great books. I hope you all ended up loving these books Happy reading.

0
Ahh, I love all these covers :D Seems like such great books. I hope you all ended up loving these books :) Happy reading.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Missing Easter Bunny (Pikmi Pops)
The Pikmi Pops have their own Easter egg hunt --...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emmet Gets Tough (The LEGO Movie 2: Storybook with Stickers)
A storybook based on The LEGO(R) MOVIE 2(TM), as told...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
It's Pool Time! (Clifford)
Clifford and Emily Elizabeth are spending a day at the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Spring Babies (Babies in the Park)
An endearing board book with adorable babies on the go...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Making Bombs for Hitler
For readers who were enthralled by Alan Gratz's Prisoner B-3087...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Boy,
Dear Boy, is an open love letter to the special...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Need a Hug
In I Need a Hug, a tiny porcupine just wants...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Beyond the Sixth Extinction: A Post-Apocalyptic Pop-Up
Whether or not we know it, the sixth global extinction...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Giant Tess
Tess has a BIG problem. ...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Girl The Sea Gave Back
The new gut-wrenching epic from the New York Times bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kingdom of Copper
S. A. Chakraborty continues the sweeping adventure begun in The...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colorblind
Colorblind: A Story of Racism is the third in a...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
40776737.jpg
An original young adult novel of the Alien universe ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Dark Beneath the Ice
Something is wrong with Marianne. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Scream Site
Sabrina Sebastian's goal in life is to be an investigative...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
RUNAWAYS. ROMANCE. A ROCK & ROLL ROAD TRIP. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Missing Easter Bunny (Pikmi Pops)
 
4.0
"THE MISSING EASTER BUNNY is a colorful and bright celebration of Easter egg hunts! Ebby the bunny invited all the..."
The Genie Dagger
 
3.8
"The Genie Dagger by Bethany Wicker is the first book in a new fantasy series set in the world of..."
Magical Creatures Academy 1: Night Shifter
 
3.7
"The world the author has created was very varied and offered a fresh look at magical creatures. Rina was a..."
Egg
 
4.0
"EGG is a cute and simple board book that primarily focuses on the illustrations. The story begins with four eggs,..."
Emmet Gets Tough (The LEGO Movie 2: Storybook with Stickers)
 
3.5
"EMMET GETS TOUGH is a picture book that is a companion to the movie featured. In the vein of THE..."
It's Pool Time! (Clifford)
 
4.0
"In a delightful summer read, Emily Elizabeth, Clifford, and friends are spending a day at the pool. Emily Elizabeth wants..."
Spring Babies (Babies in the Park)
 
5.0
"This enchanting board book features lovely images that celebrate babies in the springtime. With a simple, rhyming poem and coordinated..."
Making Bombs for Hitler
 
5.0
"What worked: This is an emotional tale of Lida, a young Ukrainian girl, who is stolen from her home and..."
Dear Boy,
 
5.0
"DEAR BOY is a series of reflections on and advice for life, geared towards boys. With statements encouraging them to..."
I Need a Hug
 
4.0
"I NEED A HUG features a porcupine who knows she needs a cuddle. However, none of the animals want to..."
Beyond the Sixth Extinction: A Post-Apocalyptic Pop-Up
 
5.0
"This unbelievably cool pop-up book is great for elementary-aged children with large imaginations. This book speculates about how certain organisms..."
Giant Tess
 
3.5
"GIANT TESS is a picture book about Tess, who is different than the other children in Myth-hatten. Tess is a..."
The Girl The Sea Gave Back
 
5.0
"When Tova is saved by the Svell's Tala, Jorrund, she becomes their key to peek at the future. Tora is..."
Let Me Hear a Rhyme
 
4.7
"I'm not sure which the character I loved the most. It is one of those heartfelt stories about a group..."
The Kingdom of Copper
 
5.0
"I honestly didn't think anything could be better than book one The City of Brass but I was so so..."
Colorblind
 
4.5
"While Colorblind won’t be shattering barriers, it opens the conversation in racism from a standpoint not yet explored. Colorblind,..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"Peyton has always been the "bigger girl", but after her brother Cooper dies in an accident, her weight gets out..."
The Cerulean
 
3.0
"So, I didn't even know this was a thing until everyone was dogging it on twitter. When I saw that..."
To All The Boys I've Loved Before
 
4.0
"This is one of the very few times I will ever say this but here we go.... I preferred the..."
Kiss Collector
 
4.7
"Finally! A freaking book that looks down on drugs. I was so nervous when right off the bat, we get..."