YABC Scavenger Hunt: The Unfortunates (Kim Liggett), Plus Excerpt, & Giveaway!

Unfortunates

Today we're excited to share an excerpt from

Kim Liggett's The Unfortunates as part of the YABC Scavenger Hunt! 

Read on for more about Kim and her novel!

 

And don't forget to answer the question from this post on the Scavenger Hunt form for a chance

to win the Grand Prize!

 

 You can find Scavenger Hunt rules  HERE !! 

 

 

Meet Kim Liggett!

At sixteen, Kim Liggett left her rural midwestern town for New York City to pursue a career in music. Along with lending her voice to hundreds of studio recordings, she was a backup singer for some of the biggest rock bands in the 80's. 
Kim spends her free time studying the tarot and scouring Manhattan for vials of rare perfume and the perfect egg white cocktail. 
 

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

Meet The Unfortunates!

 

When seventeen-year-old senator's son Grant Tavish is involved in a fatal accident, all he wants to do is face the consequences of what he's done, but the consequences never come, even if headlines of "affluenza" do. The truth soon becomes clear: Due to his father's connections, not only will Grant not be held accountable for his actions, he's going to get away with murder.

When a long Tavish tradition approaches, a cave excursion on the Appalachian trail, Grant seizes the opportunity to take justice into his own hands by staging an accident and never coming back. But before he has a chance to enact his plans, the cave system collapses, trapping him miles beneath the surface with four other teens from much less fortunate circumstances. As they struggle to survive, they share their innermost secrets and fears, and just when it seems they might be on track to finding a way out, they realize there's something else down there.

And it's hunting them. 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

~ Excerpt ~

ONE

“Grant Franklin Tavish the fifth?” the burly nurse calls into the waiting room.

Everyone around me bursts out laughing.

“That’s gotta be this kid.” The guy across from me leans back in the bright-orange molded plastic chair, spreading his legs farther than I thought humanly possible.

“What’d you do?” The old man next to me nudges my elbow. “Get caught sneaking into your daddy’s liquor cabinet? Smoke a little weed under the bleachers?”

I let out an exasperated sigh, like this is the worst day of my life, but the truth is, I like it here. For twenty minutes a week, I get to live in reality. This is where I belong. Somewhere worse really, but things like that don’t happen to Tavishes.

As I’m walking toward the door with a tiny window lined with security wire, a guy from the far side of the room says, “Hey, wait a minute. I know you . . .”

I pause, waiting for him to say it. Aching for him to call me out for what I really am.

“Aren’t you the senator’s son . . . the one from the news? The one who—” “That’s enough,” the nurse says, ushering me through the door. “He’s here . .. just the same as you clowns.”

I follow him down the dingy hall, which reeks of piss and bleach, to door number three. There’s a metal sink, metal toilet, metal walls. The fluorescent lights ping as if in the throes of death.

“You know the drill,” the nurse says as he makes note of the time and the serial number off the plastic cup before handing it over.

Unbuckling my belt, I drop my khakis and boxers to my ankles and pull up my dress shirt and tie. It’s humiliating, but that’s kind of the whole point.

“Hope you drank your fresh-squeezed OJ this morning,” he says as he snaps on a pair of latex gloves. “I can’t be standing here for ten minutes singing you ‘Tinkle, Tinkle, Little Star.’”

I roll back my shoulders, trying to relax.

The first time I came in here it took me six minutes to even squeeze out a drop. They made me go back to the waiting room and drink a liter of water before they let me try again. But I’ve been practicing at home. I realize how ridiculous that sounds. Even taking a drug test, I have to strive to be the best. It’s ingrained.

I close my eyes, thinking of class three rapids, rain pouring out of the copper gutters outside my bedroom window, the surf hitting the sand at our beach house —but then the sound of screeching tires and hot oil dripping onto freezing pavement slips over my senses.

You don’t remember anything,” our lawyer whispers in my ear.

“Think we’ve got enough,” the nurse says, staring down at the overflowing cup.

“Sorry.” I flinch, sloshing it over the sides.

He takes it from me, secures the lid, and unlocks the tiny metal door in the wall, sliding it through.

“I wonder what happens to all those plastic cups,” I say, trying to shake off the memory. “Maybe in a few hundred years they’ll dig it up, think it’s some precious family heirloom.”

He looks up at me with one raised eyebrow. “You think too much, kid.” If he only knew.

As I’m washing my hands, he flips through my chart. “I see this is your last time.” He juts out his bottom lip and bobs his head. “Final court date on Monday. If this comes back negative, you get a clean slate.”

“Best justice money can buy,” I mutter as I put my hands under the wheezing dryer.

“What was that?”

“Nothing,” I say as I straighten my tie in the smudged book-size mirror.

I want to tell him there’s nothing about my slate that could ever be clean, not after what I did, but I can’t risk it. Not now. Not when I’m this close. Instead, I crack a smile. The one that says, Don’t worry. I’m all good now.

The one I’ve practiced to perfection.

 

 

 

 

The Unfortunates

By: Kim Liggett

Publisher: Tor Teen

Release Date: July 10th, 2018 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a copy of The Unfortunates (Kim Liggett) ~ (US Only)

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

**And for a chance at the YABC Scavenger Hunt Grand Prize,
 
continue to the Official Entry Form!!
 
When completed, submit your entry by clicking the Rafflecopter post below**
 
 
 
 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Rate this blog entry:
YABC Scavenger Hunt: The Radical Element (Jessica ...
YABC Scavenger Hunt: Dive Smack (Demetra Brodsky),...

Related Posts

 

Comments 5

John on Sunday, 01 April 2018 22:24

It looks and sounds like quite the thriller!

0
It looks and sounds like quite the thriller!
Kara S on Sunday, 08 April 2018 04:57

The cover doesn't add much to my interest, but the excerpt was awesome!

0
The cover doesn't add much to my interest, but the excerpt was awesome!
wendy rinebold on Wednesday, 11 April 2018 21:27

This sounds incredibly exciting and I love the cover!

0
This sounds incredibly exciting and I love the cover!
Danielle Hammelef on Thursday, 12 April 2018 18:55

The cover definitely matches this thrilling, suspenseful, and exciting synopsis.

0
The cover definitely matches this thrilling, suspenseful, and exciting synopsis.
Penny Olson on Thursday, 12 April 2018 22:57

The cover and story sound super creepy.

0
The cover and story sound super creepy.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Finding-Elora.jpg
High school’s a whole new ballgame. Elora used...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

What the Night Sings
 
5.0
"Gerta Rausch didn’t know she was Jewish until she and her father were taken from their home in the middle..."
The Last First Daughter
 
3.5
"Intriguing and action packed. The Story: The country has been in a silent age for a decade after terrorists..."
Zombie Queen of Newbury High
 
4.3
"This book was probably the best book I have ever read. I loved the end so much I wished there..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"*I was given an e-galley.* Brandy Woods Snow is a wonderfully talented writer and plotter! This story has a..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"Aw yes, transparency. I’m but one of her brutal critique partners and friends. Will this book capture you..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"I COULD NOT STOP READING THIS BOOK! I fell in love with all the characters and secretly plotted the death..."
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
 
5.0
"THE KIDULT HANDBOOK is the perfect book to pull out on a boring day. It is packed with fun activities..."
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
 
4.7
"Insightful, engaging, and downright fun! LEGO hits on all the learning styles in this brilliantly interactive science primer. ..."
Switching Gears
 
3.7
"Lucas Nelson loved Emmy Martin, but he waited until a week before he died of cancer to tell her that...."
Sky in the Deep
 
4.7
"What worked: This is a highly engaging historical tale of a teen warrior who is taken by a rival clan..."
We Are All That's Left
 
5.0
" Zara feels shut off from her Bosnian born mother. She knows that her mother survived some..."
The Fault In Our Stars
 
5.0
"Seriously, is it possible to read this book without crying? Asking for allllllll offffff myyyyyyy friiiiiiiiiends."
Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
 
4.0
"In this story, Chris joins Sunny and Rue for a few friendly rounds of Rabbit Racers. (He’s never played before,..."
Frat Girl
 
4.0
"The writing style is what really stands out in this book-- SO easy to read, conversational, believable character interactions. It..."
Original Syn
 
5.0
"Got an ARC of this one and flew through it. So so good."
What I Leave Behind
 
5.0
"Will’s dad commits suicide. His childhood friend, Playa, is raped at a party. His mom works long over-night shifts as..."
When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel
 
4.5
"'When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel' by G. Neri, illustrated by David Litchfield, is an artistic..."
Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries
 
4.0
"'Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries' by Ammi-Joan Paquette and Laurie Ann Thompson is a fun read, chock..."
Watcher
 
4.3
"The story: Sawyer is an orphaned girl who lives in a world not unlike that of the Terminator movies,..."
Savage Beauty
 
5.0
"SAVAGE BEAUTY is a dark twist on the classic fairytale Sleeping Beauty. Aura and Luna are sisters, but they're the..."