The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

YA Books Central 101 - For those wondering what our site is all about

Posted by on in From the Editor
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 1861
  • 1 Comment
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

If you've been wondering what YABooksCentral.com is all about or you're new to the community, you've come to the right place. I hope to answer all your immediate questions in as few characters as possible. (Although there might be gifs, because that's just the sort of folks we are.)

 

What is YABC?

YABC is the only social network devoted to the young adult reading audience. That means that if you love YA books, then this is the community for you. We also discuss adult crossover books that are relevant to the young adult audience, as well as middle grade books all the way down to picture books. There's even a new section to review film adaptations based on books. Basically, we're a community of book lovers: from readers to authors, teachers to students, librarians to book bloggers. 

Oh yeah, and it's free to join. 

 

What is the "young adult reading audience?"

Young adult literature isn't "just for teens." The YA reading audience spans all ages, and everyone is welcome and encouraged to post reviews on YABC. This site is for books lovers; there is no age limit!

 

What do I do here? 

- Share your reviews! Write new ones or copy/paste reviews from your archive. You'll automatically be entered to win a Bag O' Books!

- Add books to our database

- Comment on other reviews or thumb them up as helpful

- Start discussion groups with fellow readers in the Community

- Enter our montly book giveaways (new ones posted every month!)

- Add books to your favorites list by clicking the red pennant at the top of the book's profile page:  Screen shot 2013-03-29 at 3.34.22 PM

- Easily and quickly buy books through Amazon or Indiebound widgets on any book's profile page

- Click on any genre tag on a book's profile page to find similar titles:

Screen shot 2013-03-29 at 5.26.23 PM

- Find other books that have similar elements by scrolling down the the "similar section" on any book's profile page:

Screen shot 2013-03-29 at 5.28.24 PM

 

 

How is YABC different from the other social networks centered around books?

1) We're 100% volunteer run by a handful of authors, readers, teachers, parents and librarians. YABC is not a profit-focused corporation. We're just a group of passionate folks who do this solely for the love of reading and spreading the love of books. I know that sounds sappy, but it's true! We're happy getting "paid" in galleys from publishers because free books = feeding our reading addiction. We all have regular day jobs to pay the real life bills. 



2)
All advertising revenue goes straight into making YABC better for our members. We are continually improving the site, adding new features, and providing you with awesome giveaways and author exclusives. The rest of the revenue goes toward our hosting costs and keeping those pesky server zombies at bay. YABC has been around since 1998, so we get a lot of traffic! Keeping the site running smoothly under such traffic numbers requires a rock-solid, custom server, which is pretty expensive.

Being volunteer run also means that new features are added only when we have the resources. Sometimes we wish we had deep pockets, mostly so we could hire programmers to bring you better features more than once per year, but right now we're small and intimate, and we kind of like it that way.



3) No data mining! While we realize selling back-door user data to publishers and retailers could be a lucrative business for us (like your physcial location, which book profile pages you frequent, which genres and keywords you're looking for), we don't like having our personal data mined, so why would we do it to you? We don't share your behind-the-scenes info to anyone, that most certainly includes your email address. YABC is a kid-friendly site and we think exploiting kids in that manner is wrong. The only things made public on this site are the things you decide to make public (the name you use, your reviews, your comments, your favorites list, etc.). 



4) No trolling or author bashing! While we know bashing a book is cathartic for some, it's not allowed on YABC. Our motto is that every book is someone's favorite book. We're here to gush about our favorites, not bash something that wasn't our particular taste. There are other sites for that. We promote the love of reading and authors here. Plain and simple!

That doesn't mean that you can't write a negative review. All we ask is that your review is helpful, well thought out, and adds something of value to the reading community. If you would like to rant about a book, I'm available for coffee. :)

 

 

What are the rules? 

- No swearing or vulgar language, please. YABC is accessed by classrooms and libraries all across the world. If we allowed swearing, then schools and libraries would block our site, and that wouldn't help spread the love of reading very much, would it?

- No flaming reviews that attack authors, other reviewers, or give away too many spoilers. If this rule is violated, we'll ask you to edit your review first, but if edits are not made in a timely manner, your review may be deleted at our discretion. Sorry! When we say we love authors and our community members, we kinda mean it. 

That's it!

The bottom line: books make us happy, and YABC is our happy place. We hope it can be yours too. 

 

Got questions? Leave a comment or email Mandy at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

 

 

Rate this blog entry:

Comments

  • Sasha Shamblen
    Sasha Shamblen Sunday, 07 April 2013

    This is a very helpful post!!

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Sunday, 21 December 2014

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)