YA Books Central 101 - For those wondering what our site is all about

YA Books Central 101 - For those wondering what our site is all about

If you've been wondering what YABooksCentral.com is all about or you're new to the community, you've come to the right place. I hope to answer all your immediate questions in as few characters as possible. (Although there might be gifs, because that's just the sort of folks we are.)

 

What is YABC?

YABC is the only social network devoted to the young adult reading audience. That means that if you love YA books, then this is the community for you. We also discuss adult crossover books that are relevant to the young adult audience, as well as middle grade books all the way down to picture books. There's even a new section to review film adaptations based on books. Basically, we're a community of book lovers: from readers to authors, teachers to students, librarians to book bloggers. 

Oh yeah, and it's free to join. 

 

What is the "young adult reading audience?"

Young adult literature isn't "just for teens." The YA reading audience spans all ages, and everyone is welcome and encouraged to post reviews on YABC. This site is for books lovers; there is no age limit!

 

What do I do here? 

- Share your reviews! Write new ones or copy/paste reviews from your archive. You'll automatically be entered to win a Bag O' Books!

- Add books to our database

- Comment on other reviews or thumb them up as helpful

- Start discussion groups with fellow readers in the Community

- Enter our montly book giveaways (new ones posted every month!)

- Add books to your favorites list by clicking the red pennant at the top of the book's profile page:  Screen shot 2013-03-29 at 3.34.22 PM

- Easily and quickly buy books through Amazon or Indiebound widgets on any book's profile page

- Click on any genre tag on a book's profile page to find similar titles:

Screen shot 2013-03-29 at 5.26.23 PM

- Find other books that have similar elements by scrolling down the the "similar section" on any book's profile page:

Screen shot 2013-03-29 at 5.28.24 PM

 

 

How is YABC different from the other social networks centered around books?

1) We're 100% volunteer run by a handful of authors, readers, teachers, parents and librarians. YABC is not a profit-focused corporation. We're just a group of passionate folks who do this solely for the love of reading and spreading the love of books. I know that sounds sappy, but it's true! We're happy getting "paid" in galleys from publishers because free books = feeding our reading addiction. We all have regular day jobs to pay the real life bills. 



2)
All advertising revenue goes straight into making YABC better for our members. We are continually improving the site, adding new features, and providing you with awesome giveaways and author exclusives. The rest of the revenue goes toward our hosting costs and keeping those pesky server zombies at bay. YABC has been around since 1998, so we get a lot of traffic! Keeping the site running smoothly under such traffic numbers requires a rock-solid, custom server, which is pretty expensive.

Being volunteer run also means that new features are added only when we have the resources. Sometimes we wish we had deep pockets, mostly so we could hire programmers to bring you better features more than once per year, but right now we're small and intimate, and we kind of like it that way.



3) No data mining! While we realize selling back-door user data to publishers and retailers could be a lucrative business for us (like your physcial location, which book profile pages you frequent, which genres and keywords you're looking for), we don't like having our personal data mined, so why would we do it to you? We don't share your behind-the-scenes info to anyone, that most certainly includes your email address. YABC is a kid-friendly site and we think exploiting kids in that manner is wrong. The only things made public on this site are the things you decide to make public (the name you use, your reviews, your comments, your favorites list, etc.). 



4) No trolling or author bashing! While we know bashing a book is cathartic for some, it's not allowed on YABC. Our motto is that every book is someone's favorite book. We're here to gush about our favorites, not bash something that wasn't our particular taste. There are other sites for that. We promote the love of reading and authors here. Plain and simple!

That doesn't mean that you can't write a negative review. All we ask is that your review is helpful, well thought out, and adds something of value to the reading community. If you would like to rant about a book, I'm available for coffee. :)

 

 

What are the rules? 

- No swearing or vulgar language, please. YABC is accessed by classrooms and libraries all across the world. If we allowed swearing, then schools and libraries would block our site, and that wouldn't help spread the love of reading very much, would it?

- No flaming reviews that attack authors, other reviewers, or give away too many spoilers. If this rule is violated, we'll ask you to edit your review first, but if edits are not made in a timely manner, your review may be deleted at our discretion. Sorry! When we say we love authors and our community members, we kinda mean it. 

That's it!

The bottom line: books make us happy, and YABC is our happy place. We hope it can be yours too. 

 

Got questions? Leave a comment or email Mandy at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
Need Some Ideas for Books to Read? YABC is Here to...
Prepare for the Easter Bunny's Arrival
 

Comments 1

Sasha Shamblen on Sunday, 07 April 2013 19:21

This is a very helpful post!!

0
This is a very helpful post!!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Lifeline
 
4.0
"Eli has it all until he falls prey to the addiction of drugs. His last use of heroin nearly kills..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Need an adventure to get lost in? Read this book!! It is gripping from beginning to end with..."
Stealing Liberty
 
4.7
"I am amazed as to how versatile Jennifer Froelich is as an author. Each book is so creative and unique..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
5.0
"Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it..."
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
 
5.0
"This story starts with Sahria and several other girls captured to be sold as slaves. Sahria becomes like a mentor..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
 
5.0
"Sam is the hall monitor at Eerie Elementary, but his job requires more than watching out for students doing things..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Calmer Girls
 
3.5
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Young love makes one foolish. The story: Samantha is not the girl people..."
A Round of Robins
 
4.0
"This picture book sized poetry book follows Mama and Dad bird as they hatch a clutch of eggs, supervise raising..."