YA Authors as YAs: The Ingrid Jonach Edition + Giveaway (International)

YA Authors as YAs: The Ingrid Jonach Edition + Giveaway (International)

 

Welcome to the fifth installment in a new interview series we're running in conjunction with our Senior Editor, MG Buehrlen, called YA Authors as YAs.

Our goal? To prove that your favorite authors — no matter how AWESOME and COOL you think they are — were once awkward, weird, and they geeked out about fandoms and guilty-pleasure music JUST LIKE YOU when they were teens. (Most of them still do, you know, and that’s totally COOL, because being yourself is the ultimate in EPIC COOLNESS.)

Don’t believe me? 

Maybe Ingrid Jonach, author of When the World was Flat (and we were in love), released September 3rd, 2013, from Strange Chemistry can convince you with tales from her teen years. 

 

***Click here to read the interview and enter to win a copy of the book!***

 

 

image

 


When the World was Flat (and we were in love)

UK ISBN: 9781908844576

US/Can ISBN: 9781908844583

eBook ISBN: 9781908844590 

Publisher: Strange Chemistry

Release Date: 3 September 2013

 

About When the World was Flat (and we were in love)

Looking back, I wonder if I had an inkling that my life was about to go from ordinary to extraordinary.

When sixteen-year-old Lillie Hart meets the gorgeous and mysterious Tom Windsor-Smith for the first time, it’s like fireworks — for her, anyway. Tom looks as if he would be more interested in watching paint dry; as if he is bored by her and by her small Nebraskan town in general.

But as Lillie begins to break down the walls of his seemingly impenetrable exterior, she starts to suspect that he holds the answers to her reoccurring nightmares and to the impossible memories which keep bubbling to the surface of her mind — memories of the two of them, together and in love.

When she at last learns the truth about their connection, Lillie discovers that Tom has been hiding an earth-shattering secret; a secret that is bigger — and much more terrifying and beautiful — than the both of them. She also discovers that once you finally understand that the world is round, there is no way to make it flat again. 

An epic and deeply original sci-fi romance, taking inspiration from Albert Einstein’s theories and the world-bending wonder of true love itself.

“I’ve never had such a powerful impact from a book before.” A Dream Within A Dream

“It was, by far, the best book I have ever read.” Ladybug Literature

“From the moment I picked up When the World Was Flat, I was hooked.” Books for a Delicate Eternity

“A truly tragic and beautiful story about young lovers.” Brittany’s Book Rambles

 

 

ABOUT INGRID:

Ingrid Jonach writes books for children and young adults, including the chapter books The Frank Frankie and Frankie goes to France published by Pan Macmillan, and When the World was Flat (and we were in love) published by Strange Chemistry.

Since graduating from university with a Bachelor of Arts in Professional Writing (Hons) in 2005, Ingrid has worked as a journalist and in public relations, as well as for the Australian Government.

Ingrid loves to promote reading and writing, and has been a guest speaker at a number of schools and literary festivals across Australia, where she lives with her husband Craig and their pug dog Mooshi.

Despite her best efforts, neither Craig nor Mooshi read fiction.

 


 

Rate this blog entry:
Cover Reveal: Falls the Shadow by Stefanie Gaither...
Cover Reveal: Some Fine Day by Kat Ross + Giveaway...

Related Posts

 

Comments 6

An Nghiem on Thursday, 02 January 2014 23:24

She seems to have some humor in her! Great advice, also. Sometimes I obsess over Elvis Presley at the most weirdest of times ...

0
She seems to have some humor in her! Great advice, also. Sometimes I obsess over Elvis Presley at the most weirdest of times ...
Guest - Amy on Saturday, 04 January 2014 11:52

From the interview I loved the fact that her school had a surf club.

0
From the interview I loved the fact that her school had a surf club.
Holly Letson on Friday, 10 January 2014 02:56

Love her constant obsession over Elvis. I have an aunt who obsesses over Elvis constantly as well. I like his music and movies, too.

0
Love her constant obsession over Elvis. I have an aunt who obsesses over Elvis constantly as well. I like his music and movies, too.
Yvonne van der Bent on Friday, 17 January 2014 16:08

This looks so cool! I can't wait to read it!

0
This looks so cool! I can't wait to read it!
Brigid Kapuvari on Saturday, 25 January 2014 14:01

"She also discovers that once you finally understand that the world is round, there is no way to make it flat again." That's the line that sold me! I HAVE TO READ IT

0
"She also discovers that once you finally understand that the world is round, there is no way to make it flat again." That's the line that sold me! I HAVE TO READ IT :)
Brigid Kapuvari on Saturday, 25 January 2014 14:01

"She also discovers that once you finally understand that the world is round, there is no way to make it flat again." That's the line that sold me! I HAVE TO READ IT

0
"She also discovers that once you finally understand that the world is round, there is no way to make it flat again." That's the line that sold me! I HAVE TO READ IT :)

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

   

   

   

    

   

   

   

Latest Book Listings Added

Silent
For fans of The Book Thief and Raiders of the...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
House of Furies
An all-new gothic horror series from the New York Times...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Theshipbeyondtime.jpg
The breathtaking sequel to the acclaimed The Girl from...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfall
A Nightmare on Elm Street meets Inception in this...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
10 Things I Can See From Here
Think positive. Don’t worry; be happy. Keep calm and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The History of Hilary Hambrushina
Hilary has one goal for her first year in junior...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Posted.png
From John David Anderson, author of the acclaimed Ms....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kat Richardson isn’t running away from grief; she’s just hiding...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wonder of Us
Riya and Abby are: Best friends. Complete opposites. Living...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Slope Rules
Fifteen-year old Cally accepted her fate as one of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Alex, Approximately
In this delightfully charming...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
31618483.jpg
A new action-packed adventure series for young fans of Alex...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Maybe, just maybe, if I can convince Dad that I’m...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Shae is sure the icy rage that claws at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a future where time travel has been outlawed, a...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4)
The fourth and final installment in the spellbinding series from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)