KU-Logo-2

Welcome to YA Books Central's "What's Hot in KU" post. This weekly event will highlight what's hot, new and exciting in the Amazon Kindle Unlimited Library.

Amazon's Kindle Unlimited subscription is a great way to enjoy unlimited reading on a tight budget. With over a million titles and counting, we thought a spotlight on our favorite KU hits was our logical next step in sharing the book love. Check us out on Thursdays.

Don't miss out on these fantastic reads, available in the Kindle Unlimited library and for purchase on Amazon.com

 

 

 

 

Black Heart, Red Ruby (Wicked Jewel Book 1) 

by Teresa Yea  

Ava Nolan grew up in the shadow of her father's obsession with macabre artifacts. An elixir brewed from witches’ blood. A cabinet of mummified cats. And Arabella's Curse, the missing prize in his collection: a ruby with the power to resurrect the dead. With a father who resents her existence, a dead-end job, and her expulsion from school to live down, Ava sets out to recover the ruby and reclaim her self-respect. Luckily for Ava, local legend says the ruby is buried in a crumbling mansion by the sea, not far from her new home.

But life as an amateur relic hunter is not without its share of emergency room visits. Or cutthroat competitors. And nearly plummeting to her death doesn’t terrify Ava half as much as her uncle, a gentleman grave robber with a vendetta against her father and sinister plans for the ruby.

Entangled in a web of family treachery, Ava finds solace with a lonely boy who fills her nights with stolen kisses and her head with ruby lore. But there's something strange about Ben Wolcott. He's a bit too cunning, a bit too preoccupied with keeping Ava out of his basement, and much too interested in Arabella's Curse.

Bad girls and bloodstains. Murder and madness. Romance and rendezvous. Backstabbing and literal stabbing. Gothic horror has never been so scandalous... Take a walk on the wild side with this first book in the Wicked Jewel series-- a must-read for fans of Kendare Blake, April Genevieve Tucholke, and V.C. Andrews.

 Start Reading Black Heart Ruby Red

 

 

 

 

Deceptions (The Mystical Encounter Series Book 2

by Kimberly Readnour

Some things are best left unseen...  

A Mystical Encounters Novel

Heather Reiner has always felt like an outsider. And she doesn’t have a normal afterschool job, either. That’s because she’s got amazing psychic abilities that help the police, well, mostly Detective Tanner, track down dangerous criminals.  

Heather has no choice but to embrace her gift of second-sight when her visions take a dangerous turn by revealing a government corruption. And if that weren’t bad enough, Heather learns that a local college student is missing, too.

When Heather tells Detective Tanner about her psychic intuition, he asks for her help solving the two seemingly unrelated cases. Yet the hostile police chief is convinced she’s a major fraud, and Heather doesn’t trust him.

With the help of Tanner and her hot new boyfriend, Heather decides to stop the criminals before they set their diabolical plan into motion. Unfortunately, this also makes her a prime target. But nothing could’ve prepared Heather for what she’ll have to face if she hopes to solve the mystery, or the potentially fatal consequences if she doesn’t...

Start Reading Deceptions 

 

 

 

 

Hex Hall

by Rachel Hawkins

Three years ago, Sophie Mercer discovered that she was a witch. It's gotten her into a few scrapes. Her non-gifted mother has been as supportive as possible, consulting Sophie's estranged father—an elusive European warlock—only when necessary. But when Sophie attracts too much human attention for a prom-night spell gone horribly wrong, it's her dad who decides her punishment: exile to Hex Hall, an isolated reform school for wayward Prodigium, a.k.a. witches, faeries, and shapeshifters.

Start Reading Hex Hall 

 

 

 

 

The Vanishing Girl (The Vanishing Girl Series Book 1)

by Laura Thalassa

Each night after Ember Pierce falls asleep, she disappears. She can teleport anywhere in the world: London, Paris, her crush’s bedroom, or wherever her dreams lead her. Ten minutes is all she gets, and once time’s up, she returns to her bed. It’s a secret she’s successfully kept for the last five years. But now someone knows.

A week after her eighteenth birthday, when frustratingly handsome Caden Hawthorne kidnaps her, delivers her to the government, and then disappears before her eyes, Ember realizes two things: One, she is not alone. And two, people like her—teleporters—are being used as weapons.

Forced into a quasi-military training camp for teleporters, Ember discovers she has been paired—perhaps for life—with Caden, the boy who got her into this mess in the first place. Now, she has to work with him on a series of teleporting missions, each one riskier than the last. But Caden just might hold the key to Ember’s escape plan, if she can survive her missions without losing her heart…or her life.

Start Reading The Vanishing girl 

 

 

 

 

The Girl in the Wall

by Daphne Benedis-Grab

Ariel's birthday weekend looks to be the event of the season, with a private concert by rock star Hudson Winters on the grounds of her family's east coast estate, and all of Ariel's elite prep school friends in attendance. The only person who's dreading the party is Sera, Ariel's former best friend, whose father is forcing her to go. Sera has been the school pariah since she betrayed Ariel, and she now avoids Ariel and their former friends. Thrown together, Ariel and Sera can agree on one thing: this could be one very long night.

They have no idea just how right they are.

Only moments after the concert begins and the lights go down, thugs open fire on parents and schoolmates alike, in a plot against Ariel's father that quickly spins out of control. As the entire party is taken hostage, the girls are forced apart. Ariel escapes into the hidden tunnels in the family mansion, where she and Sera played as children. Only Sera, who forges an unlikely alliance with Hudson Winters, knows where her friend could be. As the industrial terrorist plot unravels and the death toll climbs, Ariel and Sera must recall the sisterhood that once sustained them as they try to save themselves and each other on the longest night of their lives.

Start Reading The Girl in the Wall 

 

 

 

 

Dark Metropolis

by Jaclyn Dolamore

Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder's mother is cursed with a spell that's driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules. Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city's secrets—even while he hides secrets of his own. Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they're not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too. Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don't always seem to stay that way.

Start Reading Dark Metropolis 

 

 

 

 

Look to the Stars (The Orien Trilogy Book 1)

by Catherine Wilson

Tucked away in the remote territory of Ashen, Penelope Brave lives an ordinary, sheltered life until the day her papa goes missing. No one seems intent on finding him but her, so she breaks the rules… and ends up changing her world. When strangers from the northern kingdom of Orien arrive with news of her papa, but at a price, Brave learns that even the quiet city of Ashen has its secrets—the darkest of which just might be her.  

Forced to trust the help of Aras Renn, the arrogant and regrettably handsome guard from Orien, Brave soon finds that if she wants to see her papa again, she's going to have to face a past she never knew she left behind. Together, they're thrust into a world of magic, lies, and hidden truths as Brave discovers there's a deadly war brewing in the north. What she doesn’t know is the answer to each side's victory can be found in her heart…

Determined not to follow the destiny the stars have laid out for her, Brave sets out to make her own, embarking on a harrowing journey where she must decide what matters most. Love or blood?

Start Reading Look to the Stars 

 

 

 

 

Primitive (Dark Powers Rising Book 1)

by Rebecca Fernfield

They took her brother. She won’t let them take Pascha.

In an isolated village high in the hills, Meriall and Pascha are kept at the point of starvation. They dream of freedom and a life together. 

They said leaving the village was a privilege.

The Primitives promise freedom if they serve the Elect. It’s a privilege they say, and payment for their protection. 

Only the truth will set you free.

All that is allowed to be known is written in the Book, but when she discovers the truth, Meriall knows the time has come to fight back or lose Pascha forever.  

Set on a dangerous path, forces darker and more powerful than she could ever imagine are in play. 

How can Meriall defeat them and protect the ones she loves?

Start Reading Primitive

 

 

 

 

Of Sea and Stone (Secrets of Itlantis Book 1)

by Kate Avery Ellison

Romance. Adventure. Cities under the sea. Perfect for readers who like determined, clever heroines, fantastic fantasy worlds, and shocking twists.

Aemi lives in a village carved from stones and surrounded by sea. She wins spear-throwing competitions in disguise and earns slaps from her spoiled mistress by talking back. She hates being a slave. She survives by remembering her mother's tales of home, a paradise called Perilous.

Aemi intends to find it.

But then, black ships rise from the sea in the night. Aemi is captured and taken to Itlantis, an underwater world of cities of glass, floating gardens, and strange and wonderful technology.

She is determined to escape, even if it means conspiring with fellow prisoner Nol, who fills her with equal parts anger and desire. Even if it means impersonating her mistress. Even if it means fleeing into the territory of the Dron, the bloodthirsty barbarians of the deep.

But when Aemi witnesses firsthand an attack by the Dron, she realizes not all is as it seems below the sea.

And Perilous might be closer than she thinks.

Start Reading Of Sea and Stone

 

 

 

 

The Genesis of Evangeline (The Lost Royals Saga Book 1)

by Rachel Jonas

Wolves. Dragon shifters. A fallen kingdom destined to rise again.

Evie Callahan is positive there's something strange going on in Seaton Falls, her new home. The locals are bigger, stronger, and faster than most. That includes Nick, the boy next door who's become her silver lining in this godforsaken town.

She wants to trust her instincts--about Nick, about what she suspects in Seaton Falls--but rumors of wolves and dragon shifters makes it hard to tell what's real. With a history of odd dreams and the nagging sense that she's never belonged, Evie fears she's losing touch with reality. Her concern only grows when someone who's haunted these dreams is suddenly tangible... and claims to hold the key to unlocking her true identity.

Finding out her entire life has been a lie is scary enough, but what's downright terrifying is discovering who she's destined to become.

Evie's much more than your average, seventeen-year-old girl.

And this is her genesis.

Start Reading The Genesis of Evangeline