The Librarian's Corner--December 21, 2015

The Librarian's Corner--December 21, 2015

 

For this month's Librarian's Corner I wanted to feature some holiday-themed books that you could recommend to teen and adult readers, and use for displays! All of these stories are set during winter, and many of them feature characters celebrating a variety of holidays and festivities. There is romance, drama, mystery - something for everyone in this month's Librarian's Corner.

 

 

In SNOWED IN, Ashleigh's mom suddenly up and moves them from warm, sunny Texas to Mackinaw Island - a tourist-fueled island in the middle of Michigan's Great Lakes where there are no cars and only one school. And it's the middle of winter! 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
A powerful story of self-discovery and empowerment. ANYTHING COULD HAPPEN will warm the hearts of readers. Set over the course of a school year, much of the story's plot and action take place during the holiday season. During the holiday season the main character spends a lot of time with his close and extended family, and I loved that. Highly recommended if you're looking for a hopeful, powerful contemporary story. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Twelve bestselling young adult authors contribute a story to this holiday- themed book, MY TRUE LOVE GAVE TO ME. Twelve holiday love stories are packed into this book, some include Christmas some Hanukkah and some New Years. There is a story in here for everyone!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Two Exes. One holiday adventure. In EX-MAS, Lila Beckwith's parents just left for vacation, and Lila's all set to throw the holiday party of the season. But when her Christmas-obsessed little brother, Cooper, discovers that global warming is melting the North Pole, he and his best friend, Tyler, take off on a runaway mission to save Santa. Lila has to get Cooper safely home before her parents get back on Christmas Eve. But the only person who can help her is Tyler's older brother, Beau — a.k.a. Lila's musician, anti-everything ex-boyfriend. Could a journey destined for disaster help these polar opposites fall in love...all over again?
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
A whirlwind romance set in wintry New York City from 2 bestselling authors - DASH AND LILY'S BOOK OF DARES is perfect for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Just in time for the holidays comes the perfect winter break read--KISSING SNOWFLAKES! This fun, sweet, wintertime book is filled with humor and romance.
 
The picturesque montain ski lodge is the perfect place to spend winter break...if you have a boyfriend! Otherwise, that cozy leather couch in front of the crackling fire looks a lot less inviting. Good thing that there are lots of cute, blond, sweater-wearing ski instructors around to choose from...This fun, sweet tale of holiday romance on the slopes is the perfect wintertime read!
 
 
 
 
 
Eden Grey is the Young Adult Programming Librarian at the Erlanger branch of the Kenton County Public Library system, the busiest branch library in the state of Kentucky. Eden is a contributor to Teen Services Underground, and reviews books for YABC and School Library Journal. When she is not herding cats -ahem, teens- at the library, Eden can be found reading, knitting, sewing, cosplaying, and playing Pokemon. You can always find her on Twitter (@edyngrey), and Blogging Between the Lines
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Press Release: Cinda Williams Chima Goes on Tour!
Giveaway: Dead Possums Are Fair Game by Taryn Soud...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Whispers of Shadow & Flame (Earthsinger, #2)
The Mantle that separates the kingdoms of Elsira and Lagrimar...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Plague of Death Anchoress Series Book Two
Her light protects her world. But to defeat an...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Kingdom
Welcome to the Kingdom… where "Happily Ever After" isn’t...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stepsister
Isabelle should be blissfully happy - she's about to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Merbaby's Lullaby
Hush, foam rocker, sleep, wave breaker. ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mage's Apprentice
Vampires. Shifters. Fae. Mages. This ain’t the New York...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burning Stars
Best friends Marine Duval and Kate Sanders have trained...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Shatter the Sky (Shatter the Sky, #1)
Raised among the ruins of a conquered mountain nation, Maren...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Voice in my Head
For Indigo Phillips, life has always been about basking...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the desert...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Tin
Tin
In an alternative England of the 1930s where the laws...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stolen Girl
Nadia is haunted by World War II. Her memories of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Iliad
More than three thousand years ago, two armies faced each...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Light Amongst Shadows
James Spencer is hardly the typical troubled youth who ends...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
the orphan fixed.jpg
Sometimes the ones who save us are the ones we...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Astrid the Unstoppable
Pippi Longstocking meets Heidi meets Anne Shirley in this tale...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Whispers of Shadow & Flame (Earthsinger, #2)
 
5.0
"WHISPERS OF SHADOW & FLAME is a fantastic second installment in the Earthsinger Chronicles. Although it is the second book,..."
Merbaby's Lullaby
 
5.0
"MERBABY’S LULLABY is an elegant and sweet poem, perfect for a bedtime book. As waves rock, whales sing, and starfish..."
Shatter the Sky (Shatter the Sky, #1)
 
4.0
"SHATTER THE SKY follows, Maren, who has been raised in a small mountain town. She and her girlfriend, Kaia, have..."
The Virtue of Sin
 
3.7
"Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven from the evil outside. She's taught to be submissive and obedient to their..."
Tin
Tin
 
5.0
"Christopher is an orphan boy who works for Mr. Absalom, an engineer who creates mechanicals, a 1930s version of robots...."
The Light Jar
 
4.0
"Nate and his mother leave their home in the middle of the night to get away from Gary, an emotionally..."
Stolen Girl
 
4.0
"Nadia and Marusia arrive in Canada after being in Displaced Persons camps in Europe. They are Ukrainian, and Nadia is..."
Because of the Rabbit
 
4.0
"Emma's father is a game warden, and when she accompanies him on a rabbit rescue, she falls in love with..."
No Place Like Here
 
4.0
"NO PLACE LIKE HERE is an engaging and summery YA contemporary that emphasizes healing and friendship. Ashlyn is at the..."
Mage's Apprentice
 
4.0
"Aspen lives in New York City where the Mage's council oversee the well being of the people in it. As..."
 
5.0
"Feedback I absolutely loved this book and looking back I’m honestly a little surprised. Hear me out! This book..."
The Iliad
 
3.7
"Long ago in Ancient Greece, a prince of Troy, Paris, steals the most beautiful woman in the world from another..."
Plague of Death Anchoress Series Book Two
 
4.5
"Van, Paley, and Brux are back in D.L. Armillei‘s Plague of Death, the second book in the Anchoress series. I..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"It’s no secret that I enjoy a good fairytale retelling and Golden Curse by M. Lynn is that. This book..."
A Bond of Venom and Magic
 
4.0
"Diamond is a half-fae and is considered an abomination. When her home is attacked and her father is killed, she..."
The Crimson Deathbringer
 
5.0
"It will be weird for me to review my own book, so instead, I am going to post one of..."
Astrid the Unstoppable
 
5.0
"Nine-year-old Astrid is the only child in her Norwegian village, and she's called the little thunderbolt by the adults living..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
4.0
"After a tragedy that changes the community of Twin Rivers forever, Peyton finds herself coping with it the way a..."
Second Star (The Neverland Transmissions)
 
3.0
"SECOND STAR alternates POV between Peter and Wendy. It starts off with Peter sabotaging Captain Hooke's ship and stranding them..."
Shadow Realms: A Vampire Hunter Novel
 
5.0
"When Kali's brother Mason is taken by the demons, she has no choice but to turn into the very monster..."