The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Ten Reasons To Go To Book Expo Of America

Ten Reasons To Go To Book Expo Of America

Ten Reasons To Go To Book Expo of America

 

1. The People. These are your people, your tribe, your clan, your sparkly unicorns, WHATEVER you call them. They are yours and you get to spend three days bonding with them!

 

2. The Authors. There is an entire section of the Javitz dedicated to the Autographing Area. Sure, you have to get in line REALLY early and be herded around like cattle, but who cares? You get to meet some of your favorite authors, snap a picture and get a book signed. It's like speed dating for book nerds.

 

3. The Books. Books, books, and more books. Every where you look, there are books! It's like Heaven on earth. But it can be overwhelming too, so only take what you know you'll read. This is easier said than done when someone is dangling a book under your nose and giving you the Puss 'N Boots eyes. 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.44.33-AM.png

 

4. Tote Bags. These are actually harder to resist than the books. Trust me. I've seen people stampede for a big red bag that's chocked full of---air.

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.43.43-AM.png

 

5. The Location. For the past few years, BEA has been in New York City, the hub of publishing and one of the coolest places to visit. It really is the city that never sleeps and you never lack for something to do, see, or eat. 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.45.23-AM.png

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.45.52-AM.png

 

6. The Parties. If you're fortunate enough to snag an invite to one of the publisher's parties, don't blow it off. (You may not get another invite back if you do.) We're all tired and we all want nothing more than to go back to our hotels and face plant the pile of books we've lugged around all day. The parties are a chance to network with other bloggers, publicists and editors. It's also the publisher's way of saying, "We appreciate you for all you do to help promote our authors and their books."

 

 

7. The Technology. For all of you techies out there, BEA isn't just about the book side of the business. There's an entire day (Wednesday) devoted to behind the scenes stuff like social media outreach, online publishing and other topics that are like a foreign language to me spoken by people way smarter than I'll ever be. 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.47.12-AM.png

 

8. The Lines. This is where the magic really happens. Where you get to meet and bond with other book lovers like yourself. A lot of the online friends I have are a result of the conversations I've had while waiting in line. This is where I work my book pushing magic as well. 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.48.26-AM.png

 

9. The Celebrities. Where else can you see an 80s Rock Idol (Billy Idol), a Hollywood legend (Angelica Houston) and a disgruntled feline in person all under the same roof? 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.48.53-AM.png


10. BookCon. This is not a reason to go to BEA. Ever. 

But these are. 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.47.51-AM.png

 

 

 

 

 
 
Rate this blog entry:
Giveaway: Dreamboy by Mary Crockett and Madelyn Ro...
It's live!! Cover Reveal: A Cold Legacy by Megan S...

Comments 4

 
Tiffany on Sunday, 08 June 2014 10:37

Haha! I love number 10! But this is a great list! Enjoyed reading it! And bags are very hard to resist!

Haha! I love number 10! But this is a great list! Enjoyed reading it! And bags are very hard to resist!
Jessica Jackson on Sunday, 08 June 2014 12:29

I really wish that I can go to BEA at some point in the future! It sounds like an amazing experience!
Right now, I feel like it's too far away and I also don't feel that I'm a "professional reader" which is what BEA is more geared towards.
But I'll make it there someday! (I hope!)

I really wish that I can go to BEA at some point in the future! It sounds like an amazing experience! Right now, I feel like it's too far away and I also don't feel that I'm a "professional reader" which is what BEA is more geared towards. But I'll make it there someday! (I hope!)

I want to pay for a table in the International Rights Room and wish to know how to register for same. 760-778-8800

I want to pay for a table in the International Rights Room and wish to know how to register for same. 760-778-8800

CONTACT ME PLEASE 760-778-8800
[email protected]

CONTACT ME PLEASE 760-778-8800 [email protected]

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)
The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ask Me How I Got Here
Addie has always known what she was running toward. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Time We Were Us
A passionate summer love story about a girl, her childhood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Way Back To You
In this witty, heart-tugging novel, two teens take a spontaneous...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Happens Now
"I know what it is to want something so badly,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All I Need
The last night of summer is only the beginning. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Occasional Diamond Thief
What if you learned your father was a thief?...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Salarian Desert Game
What if someone you love gambled on her life? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth About Forever
A long, hot summer... That's what Macy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“The mother I knew would never do those things. ...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)