The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Ten Reasons To Go To Book Expo Of America

Posted by on in News & Updates
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 1386
  • 2 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

Ten Reasons To Go To Book Expo of America

 

1. The People. These are your people, your tribe, your clan, your sparkly unicorns, WHATEVER you call them. They are yours and you get to spend three days bonding with them!

 

2. The Authors. There is an entire section of the Javitz dedicated to the Autographing Area. Sure, you have to get in line REALLY early and be herded around like cattle, but who cares? You get to meet some of your favorite authors, snap a picture and get a book signed. It's like speed dating for book nerds.

 

3. The Books. Books, books, and more books. Every where you look, there are books! It's like Heaven on earth. But it can be overwhelming too, so only take what you know you'll read. This is easier said than done when someone is dangling a book under your nose and giving you the Puss 'N Boots eyes. 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.44.33-AM.png

 

4. Tote Bags. These are actually harder to resist than the books. Trust me. I've seen people stampede for a big red bag that's chocked full of---air.

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.43.43-AM.png

 

5. The Location. For the past few years, BEA has been in New York City, the hub of publishing and one of the coolest places to visit. It really is the city that never sleeps and you never lack for something to do, see, or eat. 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.45.23-AM.png

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.45.52-AM.png

 

6. The Parties. If you're fortunate enough to snag an invite to one of the publisher's parties, don't blow it off. (You may not get another invite back if you do.) We're all tired and we all want nothing more than to go back to our hotels and face plant the pile of books we've lugged around all day. The parties are a chance to network with other bloggers, publicists and editors. It's also the publisher's way of saying, "We appreciate you for all you do to help promote our authors and their books."

 

 

7. The Technology. For all of you techies out there, BEA isn't just about the book side of the business. There's an entire day (Wednesday) devoted to behind the scenes stuff like social media outreach, online publishing and other topics that are like a foreign language to me spoken by people way smarter than I'll ever be. 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.47.12-AM.png

 

8. The Lines. This is where the magic really happens. Where you get to meet and bond with other book lovers like yourself. A lot of the online friends I have are a result of the conversations I've had while waiting in line. This is where I work my book pushing magic as well. 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.48.26-AM.png

 

9. The Celebrities. Where else can you see an 80s Rock Idol (Billy Idol), a Hollywood legend (Angelica Houston) and a disgruntled feline in person all under the same roof? 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.48.53-AM.png


10. BookCon. This is not a reason to go to BEA. Ever. 

But these are. 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.47.51-AM.png

 

 

 

 

 
 
Rate this blog entry:
0

Comments

  • Tiffany
    Tiffany Sunday, 08 June 2014

    Haha! I love number 10! But this is a great list! Enjoyed reading it! And bags are very hard to resist!

  • Jessica Jackson
    Jessica Jackson Sunday, 08 June 2014

    I really wish that I can go to BEA at some point in the future! It sounds like an amazing experience!
    Right now, I feel like it's too far away and I also don't feel that I'm a "professional reader" which is what BEA is more geared towards.
    But I'll make it there someday! (I hope!)

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Friday, 19 December 2014

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)