The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Ten Reasons To Go To Book Expo Of America

Posted by on in News & Updates
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 1550
  • 4 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

Ten Reasons To Go To Book Expo of America

 

1. The People. These are your people, your tribe, your clan, your sparkly unicorns, WHATEVER you call them. They are yours and you get to spend three days bonding with them!

 

2. The Authors. There is an entire section of the Javitz dedicated to the Autographing Area. Sure, you have to get in line REALLY early and be herded around like cattle, but who cares? You get to meet some of your favorite authors, snap a picture and get a book signed. It's like speed dating for book nerds.

 

3. The Books. Books, books, and more books. Every where you look, there are books! It's like Heaven on earth. But it can be overwhelming too, so only take what you know you'll read. This is easier said than done when someone is dangling a book under your nose and giving you the Puss 'N Boots eyes. 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.44.33-AM.png

 

4. Tote Bags. These are actually harder to resist than the books. Trust me. I've seen people stampede for a big red bag that's chocked full of---air.

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.43.43-AM.png

 

5. The Location. For the past few years, BEA has been in New York City, the hub of publishing and one of the coolest places to visit. It really is the city that never sleeps and you never lack for something to do, see, or eat. 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.45.23-AM.png

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.45.52-AM.png

 

6. The Parties. If you're fortunate enough to snag an invite to one of the publisher's parties, don't blow it off. (You may not get another invite back if you do.) We're all tired and we all want nothing more than to go back to our hotels and face plant the pile of books we've lugged around all day. The parties are a chance to network with other bloggers, publicists and editors. It's also the publisher's way of saying, "We appreciate you for all you do to help promote our authors and their books."

 

 

7. The Technology. For all of you techies out there, BEA isn't just about the book side of the business. There's an entire day (Wednesday) devoted to behind the scenes stuff like social media outreach, online publishing and other topics that are like a foreign language to me spoken by people way smarter than I'll ever be. 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.47.12-AM.png

 

8. The Lines. This is where the magic really happens. Where you get to meet and bond with other book lovers like yourself. A lot of the online friends I have are a result of the conversations I've had while waiting in line. This is where I work my book pushing magic as well. 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.48.26-AM.png

 

9. The Celebrities. Where else can you see an 80s Rock Idol (Billy Idol), a Hollywood legend (Angelica Houston) and a disgruntled feline in person all under the same roof? 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.48.53-AM.png


10. BookCon. This is not a reason to go to BEA. Ever. 

But these are. 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.47.51-AM.png

 

 

 

 

 
 
Rate this blog entry:
0

Comments

  • Tiffany
    Tiffany Sunday, 08 June 2014

    Haha! I love number 10! But this is a great list! Enjoyed reading it! And bags are very hard to resist!

  • Jessica Jackson
    Jessica Jackson Sunday, 08 June 2014

    I really wish that I can go to BEA at some point in the future! It sounds like an amazing experience!
    Right now, I feel like it's too far away and I also don't feel that I'm a "professional reader" which is what BEA is more geared towards.
    But I'll make it there someday! (I hope!)

  • Guest

    I want to pay for a table in the International Rights Room and wish to know how to register for same. 760-778-8800

  • Guest
    BK Nelson, Inc., Literary Agency & Lecture Bureau Friday, 27 February 2015

    CONTACT ME PLEASE 760-778-8800
    [email protected]

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Monday, 02 March 2015

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)