The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Ten Reasons To Go To Book Expo Of America

Posted by on in News & Updates
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 1873
  • 4 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

Ten Reasons To Go To Book Expo of America

 

1. The People. These are your people, your tribe, your clan, your sparkly unicorns, WHATEVER you call them. They are yours and you get to spend three days bonding with them!

 

2. The Authors. There is an entire section of the Javitz dedicated to the Autographing Area. Sure, you have to get in line REALLY early and be herded around like cattle, but who cares? You get to meet some of your favorite authors, snap a picture and get a book signed. It's like speed dating for book nerds.

 

3. The Books. Books, books, and more books. Every where you look, there are books! It's like Heaven on earth. But it can be overwhelming too, so only take what you know you'll read. This is easier said than done when someone is dangling a book under your nose and giving you the Puss 'N Boots eyes. 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.44.33-AM.png

 

4. Tote Bags. These are actually harder to resist than the books. Trust me. I've seen people stampede for a big red bag that's chocked full of---air.

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.43.43-AM.png

 

5. The Location. For the past few years, BEA has been in New York City, the hub of publishing and one of the coolest places to visit. It really is the city that never sleeps and you never lack for something to do, see, or eat. 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.45.23-AM.png

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.45.52-AM.png

 

6. The Parties. If you're fortunate enough to snag an invite to one of the publisher's parties, don't blow it off. (You may not get another invite back if you do.) We're all tired and we all want nothing more than to go back to our hotels and face plant the pile of books we've lugged around all day. The parties are a chance to network with other bloggers, publicists and editors. It's also the publisher's way of saying, "We appreciate you for all you do to help promote our authors and their books."

 

 

7. The Technology. For all of you techies out there, BEA isn't just about the book side of the business. There's an entire day (Wednesday) devoted to behind the scenes stuff like social media outreach, online publishing and other topics that are like a foreign language to me spoken by people way smarter than I'll ever be. 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.47.12-AM.png

 

8. The Lines. This is where the magic really happens. Where you get to meet and bond with other book lovers like yourself. A lot of the online friends I have are a result of the conversations I've had while waiting in line. This is where I work my book pushing magic as well. 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.48.26-AM.png

 

9. The Celebrities. Where else can you see an 80s Rock Idol (Billy Idol), a Hollywood legend (Angelica Houston) and a disgruntled feline in person all under the same roof? 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.48.53-AM.png


10. BookCon. This is not a reason to go to BEA. Ever. 

But these are. 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.47.51-AM.png

 

 

 

 

 
 
Rate this blog entry:
0

Comments

  • Tiffany
    Tiffany Sunday, 08 June 2014

    Haha! I love number 10! But this is a great list! Enjoyed reading it! And bags are very hard to resist!

  • Jessica Jackson
    Jessica Jackson Sunday, 08 June 2014

    I really wish that I can go to BEA at some point in the future! It sounds like an amazing experience!
    Right now, I feel like it's too far away and I also don't feel that I'm a "professional reader" which is what BEA is more geared towards.
    But I'll make it there someday! (I hope!)

  • Guest

    I want to pay for a table in the International Rights Room and wish to know how to register for same. 760-778-8800

  • Guest
    BK Nelson, Inc., Literary Agency & Lecture Bureau Friday, 27 February 2015

    CONTACT ME PLEASE 760-778-8800
    [email protected]

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Saturday, 25 April 2015

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • Chapter Reveal: The Ark by Laura Liddell Nolen + Giveaway (International)

    The Ark by Laura Liddell Nolen Release Date: March 26, 2015 Before we get to the chapter, here's a note from Laura:   Hi, YABC! I’m fired up about sharing my first chapter with you today. The Ark is about a young convict trapped in prison on the last day of ...

  • Author Top 5 with Django Wexler

      Today we welcome Django Wexler to YABC! Wexler's newly released sequel to The Forbidden Library, The Mad Apprentice: The Forbidden Library: Volume 2, is a fantasy adventure sure to appeal to fans of Harry Potter, Coroline, and Inkheart! Django has given us a list of the ...

  • April 2015 Book Haul!

    Hey YABCers!  Our office was innundated with fabulous kidlit, middle grade, and YA books this month! (Including an audio book and a graphic novel.) Check out our book haul below and tell us which books look the most interesting to you!    ...

  • Giveaway: Twintuition - Double Vision by Tia & Tamera Mowry (US Only)

    TWINTUITION: DOUBLE VISION by Tia & Tamera Mowry Release Date: April 21, 2015   About the Book Cassie and Caitlyn Waters may be identical twins, but everything else about them is completely different. The only thing they can agree on is that neither of them is happy th ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Complete Blooming Goddess Trilogy by Tellulah Darling + Giveaway (International)

    Hi, YABCers! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE COMPLETE BLOOMING GODDESS TRILOGY by Tellulah Darling, releasing April 30, 2015 from Te Da Media. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Tellulah:   Hey YABC! I’ve basically been in sque ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       From the acclaimed author of How to Love comes another stunning contemporary novel, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen.   Molly Barlow is facing on ...

  • The Librarian's Corner

        I am happy to share with the YABC community the brand new Librarian's Corner column! This column features three themed book recommendations from a Teen Librarian each month. My name is Eden Grey, and I'll be doing the column each month. I am a Teen Librarian, and I absolutel ...

  • Chapter Reveal: Last Year's Mistake by Gina Ciocca

    Last Year's Mistake by Gina Ciocca Release Date: June 9, 2015 Before we get to the chapter, here's a note from Gina:   I’m so excited to share the first chapter of LAST YEAR’S MISTAKE with all of you! I’ve written this opening many different ways, and I lov ...

  • Giveaway: The Ark by Laura Liddell (International)

    The Ark By Laura Liddell Nolen    Release Date: March 26, 2015   About the Book It’s the final days of earth, and sixteen-year-old Char is right where she belongs: in prison. With her criminal record, she doesn’t qualify for a place on an Ark, one of the five ...

  • Giveaway: 5 To 1 by Holly Bodger (US & Canada Only)

    5 to1 By Holly Bodger Release Date: 5/12/15   About the Book Sudasa doesn't want to be a wife and Kiran, a boy forced to compete in the test to become her husband, has other plans as well. Sudasa's family wants nothing more than for their daughter to do the right thing and p ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Tor Maddox: Unleashed by Liz Coley + Giveaway (International)

    Hi, YABCers, and welcome to today's cover reveal! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for TOR MADDOX: UNLEASHED by Liz Coley, releasing May 1, 2015 from LCTeen. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Liz:   Hi YABC! I’m thrilled to int ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!   The sheriff's son, Kellan Turner, is not the golden boy everyone thinks he is, and Romy Grey knows that for a fact. Because no one wants to believe a girl from the wrong side of town, ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

The remarkable third novel in Sara B. Larson's bestselling Defy series! At last, Alexa and King Damian are engaged to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After risking her life in the mortal world, the faerie princess Elora returns home to incite a revolution. Allied with...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Shakespeare Book brings the work of William Shakespeare to life with full-color photography, images, idea webs, timelines, and quotes...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Louisa May Alcott can't believe it—her mother is leaving for the summer to earn money for the family and Louisa...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fan-favorite author Bree Despain continues her modern-day romance trilogy inspired by the Greek myth of Persephone and Hades with this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In critically acclaimed author Sarah Darer Littman's gripping new novel what happens online doesn't always stay online . . ....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins, Lauren Barnholdt, and Susane Colasanti, The Boyfriend Project is a romantic read about a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the same world as The Promise of Amazing, this smart, surprising, and romantic follow-up to Robin Constantine's debut...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin Emerson's Exile trilogy combines the swoon-worthy romance of a Susane Colasanti novel with the rock 'n' roll of Eleanor...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kody Keplinger returns to the world of The DUFF in this brand-new companion novel! Sonny Ardmore is an excellent liar....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"A girl takes over her twin sister's identity in this emotionally charged page-turner about the complicated bond between sisters." Ella...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Imagination takes on new meaning for a uniquely talented teen in this debut novel that is a breathtaking blend of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fifteen top young-adult authors let us in on provocative secrets in a fascinating collection that will have readers talking. A...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Cassandra Clare's City of Bones and Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke & Bone, The Girl at Midnight...
 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)
A remarkable and utterly inventive novel bursting with intrigue and romance, from Sharon Cameron, acclaimed author of THE DARK UNWINDING,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Maria Dahvana Headley's soaring YA debut is a fiercely intelligent, multilayered fantasy where Neil Gaiman's Stardust meets John Green's The...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
Ember Hill left the dragon organization Talon to take her chances with rebel dragon Cobalt and his crew of rogues....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Fast and the Furious gets a futuristic twist in this action-packed debut! On corporately controlled Castra, rally racing is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second installment in the epic Starbound trilogy introduces a new pair of star-crossed lovers on two sides of a...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
730. That's how many days I've been trapped. 18. That's how many days I have left to find a way...
 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)