The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Ten Reasons To Go To Book Expo Of America

Posted by on in News & Updates
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 2188
  • 4 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

Ten Reasons To Go To Book Expo of America

 

1. The People. These are your people, your tribe, your clan, your sparkly unicorns, WHATEVER you call them. They are yours and you get to spend three days bonding with them!

 

2. The Authors. There is an entire section of the Javitz dedicated to the Autographing Area. Sure, you have to get in line REALLY early and be herded around like cattle, but who cares? You get to meet some of your favorite authors, snap a picture and get a book signed. It's like speed dating for book nerds.

 

3. The Books. Books, books, and more books. Every where you look, there are books! It's like Heaven on earth. But it can be overwhelming too, so only take what you know you'll read. This is easier said than done when someone is dangling a book under your nose and giving you the Puss 'N Boots eyes. 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.44.33-AM.png

 

4. Tote Bags. These are actually harder to resist than the books. Trust me. I've seen people stampede for a big red bag that's chocked full of---air.

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.43.43-AM.png

 

5. The Location. For the past few years, BEA has been in New York City, the hub of publishing and one of the coolest places to visit. It really is the city that never sleeps and you never lack for something to do, see, or eat. 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.45.23-AM.png

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.45.52-AM.png

 

6. The Parties. If you're fortunate enough to snag an invite to one of the publisher's parties, don't blow it off. (You may not get another invite back if you do.) We're all tired and we all want nothing more than to go back to our hotels and face plant the pile of books we've lugged around all day. The parties are a chance to network with other bloggers, publicists and editors. It's also the publisher's way of saying, "We appreciate you for all you do to help promote our authors and their books."

 

 

7. The Technology. For all of you techies out there, BEA isn't just about the book side of the business. There's an entire day (Wednesday) devoted to behind the scenes stuff like social media outreach, online publishing and other topics that are like a foreign language to me spoken by people way smarter than I'll ever be. 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.47.12-AM.png

 

8. The Lines. This is where the magic really happens. Where you get to meet and bond with other book lovers like yourself. A lot of the online friends I have are a result of the conversations I've had while waiting in line. This is where I work my book pushing magic as well. 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.48.26-AM.png

 

9. The Celebrities. Where else can you see an 80s Rock Idol (Billy Idol), a Hollywood legend (Angelica Houston) and a disgruntled feline in person all under the same roof? 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.48.53-AM.png


10. BookCon. This is not a reason to go to BEA. Ever. 

But these are. 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-8.47.51-AM.png

 

 

 

 

 
 
Rate this blog entry:
0

Comments

  • Tiffany
    Tiffany Sunday, 08 June 2014

    Haha! I love number 10! But this is a great list! Enjoyed reading it! And bags are very hard to resist!

  • Jessica Jackson
    Jessica Jackson Sunday, 08 June 2014

    I really wish that I can go to BEA at some point in the future! It sounds like an amazing experience!
    Right now, I feel like it's too far away and I also don't feel that I'm a "professional reader" which is what BEA is more geared towards.
    But I'll make it there someday! (I hope!)

  • Guest

    I want to pay for a table in the International Rights Room and wish to know how to register for same. 760-778-8800

  • Guest
    BK Nelson, Inc., Literary Agency & Lecture Bureau Friday, 27 February 2015

    CONTACT ME PLEASE 760-778-8800
    [email protected]

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Thursday, 28 May 2015

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • Author Top 5 with Catherine Linka

      Today we welcome Catherine Linka to YABC! Zinka's soon to be released sequel to A Girl Called Fearless, A Girl Undone, is sure to appeal to fans of Divergent and An Ember in the Ashes. The next installment in The Girl Called Fearless series will make its debut June 23rd and w ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows + Giveaway (US Only)

    Welcome to another fabulous cover reveal, YABC! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE MIRROR KING by Jodi Meadows, releasing April 5, 2016 from Katherine Tegen Books/HarperCollins Publishers. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Jodi:   ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       When you’re in love with the wrong person for the right reasons, anything could happen. Tretch lives in a very small town where everybody's in everybody else ...

  • Books Aren't Dangerous Campaign

      Do you remember that book that changed your life as a reader, or maybe just your life in general? You do? That’s great!        Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, authors of the BEAUTIFUL CREATURES series, have started a campaign called BOOKS AREN’T DANG ...

  • TOMORROWLAND - Drive Through Movie Review

    **********NO SPOILERS************ The Nerd Riders, Kristin and Clint, give their thoughts on the new Disney film TOMORROWLAND.    QUESTION: If you could go to an alternate universe what would you want to see there? ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Secret Side of Empty by Maria E. Andreu + Giveaway (US/Canada)

    Hi, YABC! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE SECRET SIDE OF EMPTY by Maria E. Andreu, releasing September 1, 2015 from Running Press. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Maria:   YABC Readers!  I’m so excited to share the pape ...

  • May 2015 YABC Book Haul

    Hey YABCers! Once again, our office has been innundated with books, books, and  more BOOKS! We've run out of shelf space which can only mean one thing .... it's time for the May Book Haul! Enjoy the video and let us know in the comments which books you can't wait to add to your TBR. &nbs ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Insidious by Dawn Metcalf + Giveaway (US/Canada)

    Hello, YABC! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for INSIDIOUS by Dawn Metcalf, releasing August 25, 2015 from Harlequin TEEN. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Dawn:   You know when you finish a story, you never really finish because there' ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       A School for Unusual Girls is the first captivating installment in the Stranje House series for young adults by award-winning author Kathleen Baldwin. #1 New York ...

  • The Librarian's Corner

      This month's theme for the Librarian's corner is all about picture books you can share with teens! Picture books aren't just for kids and babies anymore. In fact, teens love storytime too!    For May, I am featuring some of my favorite picture books to share ...

  • The Greater Rochester Teen Book Festival

        The Greater Rochester Teen Book Festival--TBF 2015 Contributed by Kayla King, Blog Manager and Staff Reviewer   Here at Young Adult Books Central, we LOVE YA! Fortunately for us, The Greater Rochester Book Festival held at Nazareth Collge devotes itself to s ...

  • Giveaway: If You Feel Too Much by Jamie Tworkowski (US Only)

    If You Feel Too Much: Thoughts on Things Found and Lost and Hoped For By Jamie Tworkowski Release Date: May 26, 2015   About the Book In 2006 Jamie Tworkowski wrote a story called “To Write Love on Her Arms” about helping a friend through her struggle with drug addiction, ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

What do you do with your last day on earth? There are 27 hours and fifteen minutes left until an...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When seventeen-year-old Ashley Watson walks through the halls of her high school, bullies taunt and shove her. She can't go...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A luminous YA love story that evokes Judy Blume's Forever for a new generation. Sarah—Bean to her friends and family—is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Nonfiction
"This is LIFE, people! You've got air coming through your nose! You've got a heartbeat! That means it's time to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
61K250js3oL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Category: Kids Nonfiction
Discover how Benjamin Franklin’s scientific method challenged a certain Dr. Mesmer’s mysterious powers in a whimsical look at a true...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Alexis Wyndham is the other type of Queen B—the Queen Bitch. After years of being the subject of ridicule,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
In this hilarious novel, written in the voice of eighth-grader Wyatt Palmer, Dave Barry takes us on a class trip...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Dominion of Atalanta is at war. But for eighteen-year-old Aris, the fighting is nothing more than a distant nightmare,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
At the outset of World War II, Denmark did not resist German occupation. Deeply ashamed of his nation's leaders, fifteen-year-old...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Twelve-year-old Sophie Brown feels like a fish out of water when she and her parents move from Los Angeles to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The revolution is here. Bodies line the streets of Urobrun; a great pyre burns in Republic Square. The rebels grow...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Dyna comes from a long line of risk-takers and is an avid thrill-seeker in her own right, until she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Catherine Linka, the sequel and explosive conclusion to A Girl Called Fearless. Having survived a violent confrontation with the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick is sent to live with her older sister, Ivy, she has no idea that the infamous...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheEscape.jpg
Not everyone who goes into the woods comes out.... It was supposed to be a short hike, a way for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The realities of teen prostitution are revealed in this eye-opening, heartbreaking story from the author of America, which Booklist called...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The_Dogst.jpg
Out of the corner of my eye, I catch something moving by the barn. When I look, it disappears. Wait....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A stunning re-imagining of Robin Hood, the first in an exciting new trilogy Forget everything you've ever heard about Robin...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A summer romance filled with danger and lies Jane is ready for a fantastic summer. In fact, she’s pretty sure...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fans of Pretty Little Liars and L.A. Candy will devour this fast-paced series from a writer New York Times bestselling...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)