The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Ten Reasons To Go To Book Expo Of America

Posted by on in News & Updates
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 2570
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

Ten Reasons To Go To Book Expo of America


1. The People. These are your people, your tribe, your clan, your sparkly unicorns, WHATEVER you call them. They are yours and you get to spend three days bonding with them!


2. The Authors. There is an entire section of the Javitz dedicated to the Autographing Area. Sure, you have to get in line REALLY early and be herded around like cattle, but who cares? You get to meet some of your favorite authors, snap a picture and get a book signed. It's like speed dating for book nerds.


3. The Books. Books, books, and more books. Every where you look, there are books! It's like Heaven on earth. But it can be overwhelming too, so only take what you know you'll read. This is easier said than done when someone is dangling a book under your nose and giving you the Puss 'N Boots eyes. 



4. Tote Bags. These are actually harder to resist than the books. Trust me. I've seen people stampede for a big red bag that's chocked full of---air.



5. The Location. For the past few years, BEA has been in New York City, the hub of publishing and one of the coolest places to visit. It really is the city that never sleeps and you never lack for something to do, see, or eat. 




6. The Parties. If you're fortunate enough to snag an invite to one of the publisher's parties, don't blow it off. (You may not get another invite back if you do.) We're all tired and we all want nothing more than to go back to our hotels and face plant the pile of books we've lugged around all day. The parties are a chance to network with other bloggers, publicists and editors. It's also the publisher's way of saying, "We appreciate you for all you do to help promote our authors and their books."



7. The Technology. For all of you techies out there, BEA isn't just about the book side of the business. There's an entire day (Wednesday) devoted to behind the scenes stuff like social media outreach, online publishing and other topics that are like a foreign language to me spoken by people way smarter than I'll ever be. 



8. The Lines. This is where the magic really happens. Where you get to meet and bond with other book lovers like yourself. A lot of the online friends I have are a result of the conversations I've had while waiting in line. This is where I work my book pushing magic as well. 



9. The Celebrities. Where else can you see an 80s Rock Idol (Billy Idol), a Hollywood legend (Angelica Houston) and a disgruntled feline in person all under the same roof? 


10. BookCon. This is not a reason to go to BEA. Ever. 

But these are. 






Rate this blog entry:


  • Tiffany
    Tiffany Sunday, 08 June 2014

    Haha! I love number 10! But this is a great list! Enjoyed reading it! And bags are very hard to resist!

  • Jessica Jackson
    Jessica Jackson Sunday, 08 June 2014

    I really wish that I can go to BEA at some point in the future! It sounds like an amazing experience!
    Right now, I feel like it's too far away and I also don't feel that I'm a "professional reader" which is what BEA is more geared towards.
    But I'll make it there someday! (I hope!)

  • Guest

    I want to pay for a table in the International Rights Room and wish to know how to register for same. 760-778-8800

  • Guest
    BK Nelson, Inc., Literary Agency & Lecture Bureau Friday, 27 February 2015

    CONTACT ME PLEASE 760-778-8800
    [email protected]

Leave your comment

Guest Tuesday, 01 December 2015


  • 12 Days of Christmas Giveaway Extravaganza - Day 1

    Welcome to YABC's first annual 12 Days of Christmas Giveaway Extravaganza! We're featuring some of the hottest titles of the year--perfect for the book lover on your holiday list!--with exciting prize packs every day for the first twelve days of December. Each giveaway will run for seven days. Gi ...

  • Author Guest Post with Cornelia Funke

      When I wrote my first book about MirrorWorld I thought it would be one journey. I should have known better! I thought the same about Inkworld – to find myself still writing that story six years later. To realize that these two worlds are indeed the same, just 500 years apart, bound by ...

  • Featured Trailer: The Tiara On The Terrace by Kristen Kittscher + Giveaway (US Only)

    Happy December, YABCers! Today we're super excited to celebrate the trailer for THE TIARA ON THE TERRACE by Kristen Kittscher, releasing January 5, 2016 from HarperCollins. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Kristen:   Hi, YABC!   When this ...

  • What's New in YA--December 1, 2015

        Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!      For fans of Simone Elkeles and Courtney Summers, this haunting debut novel is about two teenagers battling their inner demons as they fall in love for the f ...

  • Author Guest Post with J.R. Stewart

        Hello YABCers! It’s a pleasure to “meet” you.   Last week, my publisher sent me an email inquiring if I would write a guest post for YA Books Central and promote my new YA/dystopian book, Nirvana.   ...

  • Author Chat with Lauren Morrill

    Contributed by Joanne Mumley       Greetings, YABC! Today we are pleased to welcome Lauren Morrill, author of The Trouble With Destiny. Lauren was kind enough to answer a few questions about her book!         Meet Lauren. ...

  • Giveaway: Dead Boy by Laurel Gale (US Only)

    Dead Boy by Laurel Gale Release Date: September 29, 2015     About the Book “Crow Darlingson may be dead, but he still loves air hockey, bowling, and drawing. Like other kids, his mother makes sure he finishes his homework, and he always looks forward to Hal ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: South of Sunshine by Dana Elmendorf + Giveaway (US/Canada)

    Happy Wednesday, YABC! Are our US readers ready for Thanksgiving tomorrow?! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for SOUTH OF SUNSHINE by Dana Elmendorf, releasing April 1, 2016 from Albert Whitman & Company: AW Teen. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Dana: ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Give Up The Ghost by Megan Crewe + Giveaway (International)

    Hello, everyone! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for GIVE UP THE GHOST by Megan Crewe, re-releasing December 1, 2015. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Megan:   Hello YABC! Welcome to the reveal of GIVE UP THE GHOST's brand new cove ...

  • What's New in YA--November 24, 2015

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!        Like any other Saturday night, Gabby Perez and her best friend, Maria, are out dancing. But this isn’t just another night. When a mysterious stranger warns ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Dig Too Deep by Amy Allgeyer + Giveaway (US/Canada)

    Hi, everyone! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for DIG TOO DEEP by Amy Allgeyer, releasing April 1, 2016 from Albert Whitman & Company: AW Teen. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Amy:   Hey YABC folks, and a big Southe ...

  • Author Guest Post with Brigid Kemmerer

      Contributed by Brigid Kemmerer    I’m going to come right out and say it: I love people. I really do. I love meeting people, talking to people, learning about people. I love families. Kids. Grown­ups. Single people, married people, red people, bl ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
It's the year 2055 and an anarchist organization has taken control with the aim to create a world-class society. Half...
0.0 (0)
Dark Waters (Blue Sun Volume #2)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The Isle of Man now rests on the bottom of the Irish Sea, cut off from the surface world and...
0.0 (0)
Blue Sun (Volume #1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
A mysterious, secluded island with secrets. A brilliant teenage girl whose driving curiosity leads her to probe too deeply. A...
0.0 (0)
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Fallen series comes Waterfall, a novel about love, betrayal, and...
0.0 (0)
THE INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER From YouTube sensations Dan Howell (danisnotonfire) and Phil Lester (AmazingPhil) comes a laugh-out-loud...
0.0 (0)
What happens when a bratty teenage star and a hardworking waitress get a taste of each other’s worlds? Featuring the...
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
In this stunning debut novel, two very different characters—a black boy who loses his home in Hurricane Katrina and a...
0.0 (0)
A picture is worth a thousand words--and with a unique photographic format, a stunning original voice, and a provocative portrayal...
0.0 (0)
Reckless Hearts is the second book in the sexy and suspenseful Wicked Games series, where lies, passion, and betrayal collide...
0.0 (0)
Every year on her birthday, Ashley Perkins gets a card from her grandmother—a card that always contains a promise: lose...
0.0 (0)
Mattie shouldn’t be at the bonfire. She should be finding new maps for her collection, hanging out with Kris, and...
0.0 (0)
Written in lyrical prose, this novel for fans of epic romances and mythology retellings explores themes of love, loss, fate,...
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
“Crow Darlingson may be dead, but he still loves air hockey, bowling, and drawing. Like other kids, his mother makes...
0.0 (0)
A #1 New York Times bestseller Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the...
0.0 (0)
In a near-future world of exurban decay studded with big box stores, daily routine revolves around...
0.0 (0)
Bea has a secret. Actually, she has more than one. There’s her dream for the future...
0.0 (0)
Dantia Guards
Category: Young Adult Indie
A flash flood thrusts Allan Westerfield, a paraplegic teen, down a dense mountainside along with his uncle, Rubic. With Allan’s...
0.0 (0)
From the New York Times bestselling author of The Program comes a brand-new haunting, romantic, and...
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
In the final book in the beloved Zombie Chasers series, Zack Clarke and his zombie-fighting team...
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Celebrate the 75th anniversary of the perennial favorite Caps for Sale with this never-before-published sequel to...
0.0 (0)