Teen Read Week 2018: Author Chat with Erin Cashman (Uncharted), Plus Giveaway!

IMG_7213

Today we're excited to chat with Erin Cashman (Uncharted)

as part of YABC's Teen Read Week!

Read on for more about Erin, her novel, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

Meet Erin Cashman!

 
Erin Cashman is an award-winning writer of Young Adult fantasy. Uncharted released on September 4, 2018, and her debut, The Exceptionals was named a Bank Street College of Education best book of the year. She lives in Massachusetts with her husband, three children, and their very energetic dog. When she’s not writing, you can find her reading (of course!), walking her dog, hiking, watching TV with her family, and running the 1st 5 Pages Workshop through Adventures in YA Publishing. She loves to bake and is known for making her family and friends ugly but yummy birthday cakes.

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

Meet Uncharted!

 

Seventeen-year-old Annabeth prefers the fantasy of her books and paintings to reality―because in reality, her mom is dead, and it was all her fault. She vows to make her dad’s life easier in return. But upon accompanying him to his friends' secluded manor, he goes missing in the woods.

Annabeth suspects the manor’s heir Griffin knows more about the disappearance than he’s letting on. He’s irritable, removed, and he’s under police investigation for the mysterious “accidents” happening at his family’s estate.

Annabeth fears her father isn’t lost, but rather a victim of something sinister. She launches her own investigation, tracing clues that whisper of myth and legend and death, until she stumbles upon a secret. One that some would die to protect, others would kill to expose―and which twists Annabeth’s fantasy and reality together in deadly new ways.

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

~ Interview for Teen Read Week ~

YABC:  Did you prefer a specific genre as a teen? Or was any genre game?

I read widely as a teen—and I still do! I fell in love with Shakespeare in eighth grade when we studied A Midsummer’s Night Dream, and I went on to read (and watch) most of his plays. I also loved fantasy, science fiction, and magical realism, which are still favorite genres of mine. I was fortunate that my high school had a wide selection of English courses, and I was able to double up on English—taking some as electives. Sci-fi and fantasy was one of my favorite classes, as it introduced me to so many of the greats—Ray Bradbury, Ursula K. Le Guin, Frank Herbert, George Orwell, Kurt Vonnegut, to name just a few!

 

YABC:  What book that you read as a teen had the most impact on you in your life?

Lord of the Rings. A friend gave me the trilogy when I was fifteen, and I read all three books in a matter of days. I pretended I was sick so I could stay home from school! (Not that I’m recommending that!) I became completely immersed in the world and felt as though the main characters were all my friends. I hated to see the story come to an end! Lord of the Rings inspired me in so many ways, but particularly in my writing. I came to realize that readers will go on any journey with a character—even a flawed character—that we love.

 


YABC:  What do you love most about the YA genre?

I love YA literature, both as a reader and as a writer, because often the books involve change, journeys, and choices. Annabeth, for example, must decide what kind of future she wants for herself in Uncharted, and it isn’t the future she thought she wanted at the beginning of the novel. I also love that, for many teenagers, the future is full of possibility.

 

YABC:  What advice would you give teens who might want to be a writer?

First, to just keep at it and don’t give up! Second, read, read, read. But read slowly, pay attention to cadence, character arc, setting, etc. Third, look into the many wonderful, and free, opportunities for writers—from pitch contests, to workshops. I am the coordinator and a permanent mentor of the 1st 5 Pages Writing Workshop, which is a great opportunity for writers to have their pages critiqued by other writers and a literary agent. (You can read more about it, here!) Fourth, find a writing group or a critique partner you trust, and listen to their advice! The magic often happens in the revisions!

 

Uncharted

By: Erin Cashman

Publisher: Page Street Kids

Release Date: September 4th, 2018

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

Two winners will each receive a bookmark & copy of Uncharted (Erin Cashmen) ~ US Only 
 
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
Teen Read Week 2018: Author Chat with Mackenzi Lee...
Teen Read Week 2018: Author Chat with Beth Rodgers...

Related Posts

 

Comments 10

Kara S on Wednesday, 10 October 2018 21:23

Intriguing cover and beguiling synopsis -- I hope I win! Thanks so much -- Kara s

0
Intriguing cover and beguiling synopsis -- I hope I win! Thanks so much -- Kara s
Debra Branigan on Monday, 15 October 2018 19:01

What a lovely cover. This storyline will capture your YA readers immediately. I look forward to this novel.

0
What a lovely cover. This storyline will capture your YA readers immediately. I look forward to this novel.
M.A. Briones on Tuesday, 16 October 2018 20:34

I NEED THIS BOOK!!!!! The cover is haunting the synopsis is intriguing and the its the book ill be needing!

0
I NEED THIS BOOK!!!!! The cover is haunting the synopsis is intriguing and the its the book ill be needing!
Maggie Hubbe on Tuesday, 23 October 2018 13:22

I really love the way the cover flows and I can't wait to read this book!

0
I really love the way the cover flows and I can't wait to read this book!
Marisa Fort on Tuesday, 23 October 2018 18:16

Love the cover! The synopsis sounds amazing!

0
Love the cover! The synopsis sounds amazing!
wendy rinebold on Saturday, 03 November 2018 20:14

The plot sounds like a great thriller but the cover doesn't seem to match the plot.

0
The plot sounds like a great thriller but the cover doesn't seem to match the plot.
Penny Olson on Sunday, 04 November 2018 12:26

The cover is beautiful. The story sounds suspenseful.

0
The cover is beautiful. The story sounds suspenseful.
Renee Moore on Monday, 05 November 2018 16:04

Beautiful cover, I love how the red dress stands out so much to the neutral background! Story sounds like a great page turner!

0
Beautiful cover, I love how the red dress stands out so much to the neutral background! Story sounds like a great page turner!
Danielle Hammelef on Monday, 05 November 2018 18:06

The cover is powerful and matches the action and mysterious packed synopsis.

0
The cover is powerful and matches the action and mysterious packed synopsis.
Candice Gigous on Wednesday, 07 November 2018 07:25

The cover is pretty and I like the title font. The synopsis is very intriguing. Sounds like a thrilling read.

0
The cover is pretty and I like the title font. The synopsis is very intriguing. Sounds like a thrilling read.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ghoulia
Ghoulia lives in Crumbling Manor with her Auntie Departed and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
In the vein of Eloise, Olivia, and Fancy Nancy, Carmen...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, Life, and the List
Seventeen-year-old Abby Turner’s summer isn’t going the way she’d planned....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
Arkansas, 1984: The town of Griffin Flat is known for...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
Discover how science, nature and history connect in this fast-paced,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
When the speediest family in the world finds a sweet,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Little Golden Book About the Solar System
Little Golden Books introduces your young reader to the solar...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enlightenment by Reno Ursal
When Dorothy Dizon meets the mysterious Adrian Rosario and his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
My name is Barry Allen. You probably know me as...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
When Lady Katherine's father is killed for being an illegally...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blood Spell
Blue de la Cour has her life planned: hide the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ogre Enchanted
In this prequel to Ella Enchanted, which can stand on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Home and Away
Tasia Quirk is young, Black, and fabulous. She's a senior,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mirage
In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dactyl Hill Squad
It's 1863 and dinosaurs roam the streets of New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
 
5.0
"Hilde is at it again to get a factual story for the newspaper. This time, it's a mysterious flash of..."
Ghoulia
 
4.0
"To Ghoulia, she's just the average girl. To us, she's something completely different: a zombie. Ghoulia's aunt wants her to..."
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
 
3.5
"Lights Camera Carmen is a quick-to-read tale of a zealous and outspoken kid destined to make it big. ..."
Going Wild #3: Clash of Beasts
 
4.0
" Charlie, Mac, and Maria are back, having defeated Dr. Gray's army in Predator Vs. Prey. Kelly and Miko, however,..."
Gamer Army
 
4.0
"In a futuristic society where almost everything has gone online, Rogan spends a lot of his time playing the game..."
Love, Life, and the List
 
4.3
"Abby's goal in life is to become a serious artist. Her hope is to get into a special art camp...."
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
 
3.0
"It's 1984 and Laura Ratliff is a high school student with issues beyond a typical sixteen-year-old. Her mom and her..."
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
 
5.0
"ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING includes factual information on our world history. It's divided by time periods and eras of importance. This book..."
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
 
5.0
"Amy's family rushes for everything. "They walked fast, drove fast, shopped fast, and ate fast." This upsets Amy because there..."
My Little Golden Book About the Solar System
 
5.0
"My Little Golden Book About the Solar System is the perfect way to introduce the planets. The pictures are vibrant..."
Beyond a Darkened Shore
 
4.7
"Top 4 Reasons to Grab BEYOND A DARKENED SHORE immediately: 1.) Historical fantasy worldbuilding: My biggest genre weakness..."
Onyx and Ivory
 
4.0
"Top 5 Reasons to Read Onyx and Ivory: 1.) The magic: Kate lives in a world where there are..."
Soccer School Season 2: Where Soccer Explains (Saves) the World
 
4.3
"In this second Soccer School book, the first chapter is about pee rather than poop (as the first book was)!..."
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
 
5.0
"THE FLASH: THE SECRET FILES OF BARRY ALLEN is the perfect guide for the Flash tv show. The layout of..."
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
 
4.0
"AN ASSASSIN’S GUIDE TO LOVE & TREASON by Virginia Boecker is such a breath of fresh air. It’s a YA..."
Giant Days
 
4.7
"Susan, Daisy and Esther are very different women, but they become fast friends after meeting on their college dorm floor...."
Holes
 
5.0
"Important message. Unique perspective."
The Namarielle (Chronicles of Lashai Book 1)
 
5.0
"The Namarielle is the perfect addition to any fantasy novel collection. The world is so well imagined in the little..."
The Blood Spell
 
5.0
"Blue de la Cour enjoys her quiet life with her father, passing the days by working in the shop and..."
 
5.0
"The Channeler is the first book in a new YA fantasy series written by William H. Kline IV. Tommy,..."