Teen Read Week 2017: Author Chat with Joanne MacGregor (The Law Of Tall Girls), Plus Giveaway!

Teen Read Week 2017: Author Chat with Joanne MacGregor (The Law Of Tall Girls), Plus Giveaway!

Today we're excited to chat with Joanne MacGregor (The Law Of Tall Girls)

as part of YABC's Teen Read Week!

Read on for more about Joanne, her novel, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

Meet Joanne MacGregor!

 

When not writing, Joanne Macgregor is a counselling psychologist in private practice where she works mainly with victims of crime and trauma. 

Although she lives in the frenetic adrenaline-rush of the big city, Joanne has always been in love with nature, and escapes into the wilds whenever she can. She's a Harry Potter fanatic, bakes the best choc-chip cookies on the planet, and is addicted to chilies and bulletproof coffee. 

She started her professional life as a high school English teacher and loves writing about, and for, teens. She is the author of several books for Young Adults, including The Law of Tall Girls, Hushed, Recoil, Refuse, Rebel, and Scarred.

 

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

Meet The Law Of Tall Girls!

 
 

Seventeen-year-old Peyton Lane is a tall girl. So tall, it’s the only thing most people notice about her. 

On impulse, she accepts a bet to prove she can be as attractive and desirable as other girls. Now she just needs to go on four dates (including the prom) with one of the guys on her very short list of very tall boys.

Number one on the list is Jay Young – the new guy that Peyton already likes way more than she should. Because not only is Jay already taken, he’s also breaking her Law of Tall Girls, and he’s determined to discover the awful secret she’s been hiding for most of her life.

 

 

Purchase From Amazon!!

 

 

 

~ Interview for Teen Read Week ~

 
 

YABC:  What current YA book would you recommend to your teenage self?

So many! But especially the Harry Potter series - I would have loved that! And the books of Melina Marchetta, plus Maggie Stiefvater's Scorpio Races. There's a heart to these books that I would have resonated with.

 

YABC:  What book that you read as a teen had the most impact on you in your life?

I was nearing the end of my teen years when I read John Steinbeck's East of Eden and was blown out of the water. He used such simple language to describe absolute beauty, complex evil and the philosophical mysteries of human nature. I still think it's one of the few books that combines, in an admirably accessible way, deep themes with an addictively good story. I think, though I only realized it later, that it was one of the books that inspired me to be a writer.

 

YABC:  What do you love most about the YA genre?

I love that it prioritizes an excellent story over flowery, self-indulgent waffling. I like the emotional rawness and the experimental pushing of the limits that I find in the best of the genre. I love the fast pace, and the emotional honesty!

 

YABC:  What advice would you give teens who might want to be a writer?

Read as much as you can, as widely as you can. Push yourself to read outside of your favorite genres. Read widely and critically - what worked in the novel you loved? What didn't in the novel you loathed? Start writing. Give yourself permission to write imperfectly and inadequately. Take your time to learn your craft - don't be in a rush to publish. Your good story can wait. And make the effort to live outside of books, school and online life - trust me, you'll need some life experiences to incorporate in those books you'll write one day.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Law Of Tall Girls

By: Joanne MacGregor

Release Date: September 2nd, 2017 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

Five winners will win an e-copy of The Law Of Tall Girls (Joanne MacGregor) ~ (US Only)
 
 
 
 
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

  


 a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
Blog Tour: Never Say Die by Anthony Horowitz, Plus...
Teen Read Week 2017: Author Chat with Sarah Porter...

Related Posts

 

Comments 4

Lily M. on Tuesday, 24 October 2017 04:19

Aw this seems like its going to be a cute book, something I need to read right now ?

0
Aw this seems like its going to be a cute book, something I need to read right now ?
Kelly G on Tuesday, 07 November 2017 14:20

My favorite book as a teen was Leftovers by Laura Weiss.

0
My favorite book as a teen was Leftovers by Laura Weiss.
Danielle Hammelef on Friday, 10 November 2017 14:20

My favorite book as a teen was Little Women.

0
My favorite book as a teen was Little Women.
Penny Olson on Saturday, 11 November 2017 11:02

I liked Brave New World, To Kill a Mockingbird and The Handmaid's Tale.

0
I liked Brave New World, To Kill a Mockingbird and The Handmaid's Tale.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."
When Dimple Met Rishi
 
3.3
"A contemporary YA romance—heavy on the romance—with an Indian-American take on the attraction of opposites. The story is told..."
Stray
 
3.8
"'Stray' by Joni Johnson has an interesting premise. When Lila finds out that her father is about to kick her..."