Teen Read Week 2017: Author Chat with Sarah Porter (When I Cast Your Shadow), Plus Giveaway!

Teen Read Week 2017: Author Chat with Sarah Porter (When I Cast Your Shadow), Plus Giveaway!

Today we're excited to chat with Sarah Porter (When I Cast Your Shadow)

as part of YABC's Teen Read Week!

Read on for more about Sarah, her novel, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

Meet Sarah Porter!

 
 

Sarah Porter is a writer, artist, and freelance school teacher who lives in Brooklyn with her husband and two cats. She is the author of several books for young adults, including VASSA IN THE NIGHT. She has an M.F.A. in creative writing from City College.

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

Meet When I Cast Your Shadow!

 
 

Dashiell Bohnacker was hell on his family while he was alive. But it’s even worse now that he’s dead…


Ruby. Haunted by her dead brother, unable to let him go, Ruby must figure out whether his nightly appearances in her dreams are the answer to her prayers—or a nightmare come true…

Everett. He’s always been jealous of his dashing older brother. Now Everett must do everything he can to save his twin sister Ruby from Dashiell’s clutches.

Dashiell. Charming, handsome, and manipulative, Dash has run afoul of some very powerful forces in the Land of the Dead. His only bargaining chips are Ruby and Everett. At stake is the very survival of the Bohnacker family, bodies and souls…

 

Amazon * B & N Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

~ Interview for Teen Read Week ~

 

 

YABC:  Did you prefer a specific genre as a teen? Or was any genre game?

I always had a feverish love for fantasy, but in my teens I read piles of random classics, too, partly because I was hungry for knowledge and partly because I didn't know what else to pick. Lots of Austen and Dickens and Faulkner and Brontes, and then I'd go back to rereading Tolkien and C. S. Lewis.

 

YABC:  What current YA book would you recommend to your teenage self?

IMAGINARY GIRLS by Nova Ren Suma, I think. Teenage me would relate up a storm to how lost the characters are, to the creepy undercurrents of not-quite-explicit magic, and to the longing to somehow be special that comes through so powerfully. 

 

YABC:  If you could spend an entire day with the character of your choice from any YA novel, who would it be and why?

Honestly, I'd have to choose one of my own characters, probably Vassa from VASSA IN THE NIGHT. Because I love her so much, and she's a girl who could use that love and support. I'd take her for a long walk and sundaes and ask her to tell me all about how she's been, ever since that final page. It's frustrating when you feel such love for your characters, and they don't know it, and you have to watch them struggling on their own!

 

YABC:  What do you love most about the YA genre?

I love the freedom in YA to mix genres and tell strange stories and experiment; there are fascinating YA books out there that probably couldn't be published if they were aimed at adults. The adult fiction world is pretty conservative and it doesn't always much support for pushing stories in new and peculiar directions. Oh, and teenage readers bring an open-hearted intensity to reading that most adults have lost, so it's way more fun to write for them!

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

When I Cast Your Shadow

By: Sarah Porter

Release Date: September 12th, 2017

Publisher: Tor Teen 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a signed copy of When I Cast Your Shadow (Sarah Porter) ~ (US Only)
 
 
 
 
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

  

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
Teen Read Week 2017: Author Chat with Joanne MacGr...
Teen Read Week 2017: Author Chat with Aditi Khoran...

Related Posts

 

Comments 8

John on Monday, 23 October 2017 16:37

"What was your favorite book that you read when you were a Teen? Comment below!" Penrod, Brave New World.

0
"What was your favorite book that you read when you were a Teen? Comment below!" Penrod, Brave New World.
Lily M. on Tuesday, 24 October 2017 04:18

I'm liking that it has a bit of mystery ??

0
I'm liking that it has a bit of mystery ??
jacqueline garcia on Wednesday, 25 October 2017 23:41

totally read anything i can get my hands on as a teen. still do

0
totally read anything i can get my hands on as a teen. still do
Emily on Thursday, 26 October 2017 00:55

This sounds so good!

0
This sounds so good!
Anne on Monday, 06 November 2017 20:53

I love all of Christopher Pike's books when I was a teen! They are all my favorites!

0
I love all of Christopher Pike's books when I was a teen! They are all my favorites!
Kelly G on Tuesday, 07 November 2017 14:22

My favorite book as a teen was Leftovers by Laura Weiss!

0
My favorite book as a teen was Leftovers by Laura Weiss!
Penny Olson on Thursday, 09 November 2017 23:28

My favorites were To Kill a Mockingbird, Brave New World and the Handmaid's Tale.

0
My favorites were To Kill a Mockingbird, Brave New World and the Handmaid's Tale.
Danielle Hammelef on Friday, 10 November 2017 14:21

My favorite book as a teen was Little Women.

0
My favorite book as a teen was Little Women.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."
When Dimple Met Rishi
 
3.3
"A contemporary YA romance—heavy on the romance—with an Indian-American take on the attraction of opposites. The story is told..."
Stray
 
3.8
"'Stray' by Joni Johnson has an interesting premise. When Lila finds out that her father is about to kick her..."