Featured Review: Lucky Girl (Amanda Maciel)

25465103
About This Book:   Lucky Girl is an unflinching exploration of beauty, sexual assault, and self-worth, from the author of the acclaimed novel Tease. Perfect for readers of Sara Zarr and Courtney Summers. Being a pretty girl is who Rosie is, but it’s the start of a new school year and...
Continue reading
Rate this blog entry:
563 Hits
0 Comment

Featured Review: Alex, Approximately (Jenn Bennett)

30312700

About This Book:

Classic movie fan Bailey “Mink” Rydell has spent months crushing on a witty film geek she only knows online as Alex. Two coasts separate the teens until Bailey moves in with her dad, who lives in the same California surfing town as her online crush.

Faced with doubts (what if he’s a creep in real life—or worse?), Bailey doesn’t tell Alex she’s moved to his hometown. Or that she’s landed a job at the local tourist-trap museum. Or that she’s being heckled daily by the irritatingly hot museum security guard, Porter Roth—a.k.a. her new archnemesis. But life is whole lot messier than the movies, especially when Bailey discovers that tricky fine line between hate, love, and whatever it is she’s starting to feel for Porter.

And as the summer months go by, Bailey must choose whether to cling to a dreamy online fantasy in Alex or take a risk on an imperfect reality with Porter. The choice is both simpler and more complicated than she realizes, because Porter Roth is hiding a secret of his own: Porter is Alex…Approximately. 

 

 

*Review Contributed By Paige C Staff Reviewer*

 

 

Perfect summer romance for teens

What I Loved:
Seeing as Bailey and her online friend Alex met and bonded over movies, it’s fitting each chapter begins with a movie quote from a wide variety of films that include Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince and 10 Things I Hate About You. There’s no film snobbery in the quote choices! Bailey comes to dislike Porter after he makes fun of her mismatched shoes at her job orientation, but she reluctantly grows fond of him and the sexy dillweed becomes less of a dillweed (but no less sexy).

Their slow-burn romance is the main focus of the novel, but Bailey’s efforts to settle in with her dad aren’t neglected. After an unfortunate incident involving one of her lawyer mother’s clients stalking the family on the East Coast, Bailey decided to move out to California to finish out high school and get away from what happened. The exact circumstances, like many other facets of Bailey and Porter’s lives, takes it time to unfold. In the meantime, readers get an incredibly fun read with a sweet, healthy relationship. When Bailey begins to neglect her friendship with co-worker Grace, the latter even calls Bailey out on it in a way you don’t see often enough in YA.

So Alex, Approximately in three words: SO MUCH FUN. Also props for making a subtle reference to the fact that girls masturbate. A girl doing unspeakable things to herself under the covers while thinking about her crush? Yeah, you can try to fight me on the meaning of that, but you’ll lose.

What Left Me Wanting:
Anyway, one thing that baffles me: how the jacket copy reveals Alex’s identity when the novel itself keeps a lid on it until the book’s penultimate chapter. It takes the dramatic irony overboard for Bailey to be kept in “suspense” for so long when the readers has known since the very beginning. The novel would have been better served cut down to about 250 pages with the Alex reveal earlier in the book/Porter still being a bit of a douche. Conflict after that point: Bailey trying to consolidate Alex with Porter.

On the subject of representation, I’m happy to see that Porter is Polynesian through his mother’s family, but exactly which Polynesian ethnic group his family comes from is left unspecified. There are about 1,000 islands in Polynesia and more than a few ethnic groups. Samoan, Tongan, Maori,… Leaving that facet of his identity unspecified contributes to the rampant generalization of all the different cultures and ethnic groups within the region.

Final Verdict:
It’s a good thing Alex, Approximately is an April release because it’s the perfect summer romance for teens to read once school is out. They might even read it a little early just to get in the spirit for the season’s arrival! Bennett’s sophomore YA novel is a marked improvement from her first and makes it certain I’ll be keeping an eye out for further YA novels from her.

 

Good Points
*extremely cute
*adorable slow-burn romance
*friendships and family relationships aren't neglected
 
 
 
 
*Find More Info On This Book HERE!!*
 
Continue reading
Rate this blog entry:
522 Hits
0 Comment

Featured Review: Our Own Private Universe (Robin Talley)

Featured Review: Our Own Private Universe (Robin Talley)
About This Book:   Fifteen-year-old Aki Simon has a theory. And it's mostly about sex.  No, it isn't that kind of theory. Aki already knows she's bisexual—even if, until now, it's mostly been in the hypothetical sense. Aki has dated only guys so far, and her best friend, Lori, is...
Continue reading
Rate this blog entry:
501 Hits
0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Come Home, Angus
Angus woke up mad and knew today was not his...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rulers of the Playground
A stunning picture book about sharing, friendship, and kindness in...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
June Sparrow and the Million Dollar Penny
June Sparrow and her best friend—a miniature pig named Indigo...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Story Sparks:  Finding Your Best Story Ideas & Turning Them into Compelling Fiction
Find rock-solid story ideas before you start writing ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Girl in the Tower
A remarkable young woman blazes her own trail, from the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Coming Up For Air
Swim. Eat. Shower. School. Snack. Swim. Swim. Swim. Dinner. Homework....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Landscape with Invisible Hand
National Book Award winner M. T. Anderson returns to future...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
26091228.jpg
Follow-up to the New York Times bestselling novel, Forget Tomorrow!...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Follow Me (Amateurs #2)
It was the perfect night for a party. That is,...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding
Prosper is the only unexceptional Redding in his old...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fireblood
Against all odds, Ruby has defeated the villainous Frost...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nothing
From Annie Barrows, the acclaimed #1 New York Times–bestselling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome Home
Welcome Home collects a number of adoption-themed fictional short...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Even the Darkest Stars
The first in a sweeping and action-packed debut fantasy...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hunting Prince Dracula (Stalking Jack the Ripper #2)
In this hotly anticipated sequel to the haunting #1...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Many Worlds of Albie Bright
Stephen Albie Bright leads a happy, normal life. Well, as...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

A Court of Wings and Ruin
 
5.0
"Alright warning time. As with most books that I read, this has been labeled problematic. Though this one is completely..."
Wintersong
 
1.0
"This is going to be more like a rant/review than just a review. I am honestly proud that I finished..."
Enshadowed (Nevermore #2)
 
5.0
"First off... that freaking cliffhanger!? I can't even... I could not imagine having read this the year it came out..."
Nevermore (Nevermore #1)
 
4.7
" It's great! What I love the most is how dark and gritty the world felt. It was so cool..."
House of Night: Hunted
 
3.3
"So the Nerd Herd is now underground and hiding away from Kalona. Aphrodite and Stevie-Rae have imprinted, Stark is an..."
House of Night: Untamed
 
3.3
"So this one picks up right where the other left off and don't worry if you haven't read the others..."
House of Night: Chosen
 
3.3
"Zoey now knows that her old mentor is not what she claims to be. She's hiding something and doing things..."
House of Night: Betrayed
 
3.3
"This one picks up not far where Marked left off. Zoey is now in charge of the Daughters of Darkness...."
Roar (Stormheart #1)
 
N/A
"DNF PAGE 133 - I hate DNFing a book. I hardly ever do it. I personally feel like I'm giving..."
Truthers
 
3.3
"So, I've said before that for some reason I love conspiracy theories. Do I believe any of them? No. I..."
Mask of Shadows
 
3.3
"Okay I loved the premise of this book and I love the fact that it features a Genderfluid MC but..."
Hunted
 
3.7
"What I love most about this book is the setting. Medieval Russia, like hell yeah sign me up! I love..."
Come Home, Angus
 
5.0
"Most of us have days when we just get mad. We don’t know why. We don’t know who is to..."
Rulers of the Playground
 
4.5
"Jonah wants to rule the playground. And he’s a good ruler. Except when he’s not. The problem is that Lennox..."
Plant the Tiny Seed
 
4.5
" This book relies on the interactive nature of read-alouds for young children. Beginning with a single zinnia seed, the..."
The Hanging Girl
 
4.0
"The Hanging Girl was a quick, suspenseful read. Author Eileen Cook has a great writing style. The story picked up..."
June Sparrow and the Million Dollar Penny
 
3.5
"In JUNE SPARROW AND THE MILLION DOLLAR PENNY, June Sparrow is a very rich pre-teen living in New York City..."
Princess Breeze
 
4.3
"This is the second book in a very adorable, fun series. This story starts with Breeze Brannigan's end of the..."
Story Sparks:  Finding Your Best Story Ideas & Turning Them into Compelling Fiction
 
4.0
"This is an easy to read reference book on how to take creative ideas and thoughts and turn them into..."
Coming Up For Air
 
4.3
"Swim. Eat. Shower. School. Snack. Swim. Swim. Swim. Dinner. Homework. Bed. Repeat. All of Maggie’s focus and free time..."