The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Spotlight on A Curse So Dark and Lonely (Brigid Kemmerer), Special Pre-Order Offer, Plus Excerpt!

ACSD

C:\Users\eloberg\Downloads\CURSE Preorder Ad.jpg
C:\Users\eloberg\Downloads\CURSE Cozy Winter Reading Box.png

A Curse So Dark and Lonely Excerpt and Pre-Order Offer     In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.   Fall in love, break the curse. It once seemed so easy to Prince...
Continue reading
  700 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Of The Week: Chat with Brigid Kemmerer (A Curse So Dark and Lonely), Plus Giveaway!

unnamed-1



Welcome to our weekly special feature post,  Author Of The Week !! Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release! We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!           Introducing Brigid Kemmerer,  YABC's Author of...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Tiffany Engler
I love this cover! I feel like this book is going to be amazing!
Tuesday, 15 January 2019 09:51
Lily M.
Love this cover ??
Saturday, 19 January 2019 22:49
Lily M.
I meant "This Cover!!!" hehehe
Friday, 01 February 2019 19:58
  1166 Hits
  20 Comments

Sneak Peek + Giveaway: LETTERS TO THE LOST (US and Canada Only)

Sneak Peek + Giveaway: LETTERS TO THE LOST (US and Canada Only)

Letters to the Lost (US and Canada Only) by Brigid Kemmerer Release Date: April 4, 2017 Publisher: Bloomsbury   About the Book Juliet Young always writes letters to her mother, a world-traveling photojournalist. Even after her mother's death, she leaves letters at her grave. It's the only way Juliet can cope....
Continue reading
Recent Comments
John
The cover intrigued me, and the synopsis told me that here, here is a book!
Thursday, 06 April 2017 21:05
KM
I've been waiting for this book for so long.
Friday, 07 April 2017 18:30
Tiffany Engler
Looks so good!!!!
Saturday, 08 April 2017 07:50
  2637 Hits
  16 Comments

Featured Review: Letters To The Lost (Brigid Kemmerer)

Featured Review: Letters To The Lost (Brigid Kemmerer)
About This Book: Juliet Young always writes letters to her mother, a world-traveling photojournalist. Even after her mother's death, she leaves letters at her grave. It's the only way Juliet can cope. Declan Murphy isn't the sort of guy you want to cross. In the midst of his court-ordered community service...
Continue reading
  1232 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Kelly Fiore & Brigid Kemmerer

Author Chat with Kelly Fiore & Brigid Kemmerer
b2ap3_thumbnail_kelly-fiore-author.jpg
b2ap3_thumbnail_brigid-k-author.jpg
b2ap3_thumbnail_thicker-than-water-kelly-fiore.jpg
b2ap3_thumbnail_thicker-than-water-bridgid.jpg
  So what happens when two authors write two completely different books with the same title? Well that's what we're going to find out today!   Kelly Fiore and Brigid Kemmerer are each releasing novels titled Thicker Than Water , and they've interviewd each other for YABC! Read below for more...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
CJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager
Thankfully the authors' names and ISBN numbers are different, so all should be well. Duplicate titles aren't all that rare, though... Read More
Tuesday, 05 January 2016 21:59
Susan T.
They seem like two very different books and yet the title fits for both of them so that's kind of neat!
Sunday, 17 January 2016 17:28
Kara S
What a fascinating literary enterprise! I love it!
Tuesday, 19 January 2016 06:32
  3827 Hits
  23 Comments

Author Guest Post with Brigid Kemmerer

Author Guest Post with Brigid Kemmerer
b2ap3_thumbnail_brigid-k-author.jpg
b2ap3_thumbnail_thicker-than-water.jpg
  Contributed by Brigid Kemmerer    I’m going to come right out and say it: I love people. I really do. I love meeting people, talking to people, learning about people. I love families. Kids. Grown­ups. Single people, married people, red people, blue people—wait. I’m turning into Dr. Seuss. You know...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Susan T.
Anne Marie Lassiter
Sunday, 29 November 2015 14:55
Sarah
Anne Marie Lassiter
Tuesday, 08 December 2015 16:02
Linda Romer
Anne Marie Lassiter ♡ Thank you
Friday, 18 December 2015 08:36
  6597 Hits
  10 Comments

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Missing Easter Bunny (Pikmi Pops)
The Pikmi Pops have their own Easter egg hunt --...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emmet Gets Tough (The LEGO Movie 2: Storybook with Stickers)
A storybook based on The LEGO(R) MOVIE 2(TM), as told...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
It's Pool Time! (Clifford)
Clifford and Emily Elizabeth are spending a day at the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Spring Babies (Babies in the Park)
An endearing board book with adorable babies on the go...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Making Bombs for Hitler
For readers who were enthralled by Alan Gratz's Prisoner B-3087...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Boy,
Dear Boy, is an open love letter to the special...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Need a Hug
In I Need a Hug, a tiny porcupine just wants...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Beyond the Sixth Extinction: A Post-Apocalyptic Pop-Up
Whether or not we know it, the sixth global extinction...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Giant Tess
Tess has a BIG problem. ...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Girl The Sea Gave Back
The new gut-wrenching epic from the New York Times bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kingdom of Copper
S. A. Chakraborty continues the sweeping adventure begun in The...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colorblind
Colorblind: A Story of Racism is the third in a...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
40776737.jpg
An original young adult novel of the Alien universe ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Dark Beneath the Ice
Something is wrong with Marianne. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Scream Site
Sabrina Sebastian's goal in life is to be an investigative...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
RUNAWAYS. ROMANCE. A ROCK & ROLL ROAD TRIP. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Missing Easter Bunny (Pikmi Pops)
 
4.0
"THE MISSING EASTER BUNNY is a colorful and bright celebration of Easter egg hunts! Ebby the bunny invited all the..."
The Genie Dagger
 
3.8
"The Genie Dagger by Bethany Wicker is the first book in a new fantasy series set in the world of..."
Magical Creatures Academy 1: Night Shifter
 
3.7
"The world the author has created was very varied and offered a fresh look at magical creatures. Rina was a..."
Egg
 
4.0
"EGG is a cute and simple board book that primarily focuses on the illustrations. The story begins with four eggs,..."
Emmet Gets Tough (The LEGO Movie 2: Storybook with Stickers)
 
3.5
"EMMET GETS TOUGH is a picture book that is a companion to the movie featured. In the vein of THE..."
It's Pool Time! (Clifford)
 
4.0
"In a delightful summer read, Emily Elizabeth, Clifford, and friends are spending a day at the pool. Emily Elizabeth wants..."
Spring Babies (Babies in the Park)
 
5.0
"This enchanting board book features lovely images that celebrate babies in the springtime. With a simple, rhyming poem and coordinated..."
Making Bombs for Hitler
 
5.0
"What worked: This is an emotional tale of Lida, a young Ukrainian girl, who is stolen from her home and..."
Dear Boy,
 
5.0
"DEAR BOY is a series of reflections on and advice for life, geared towards boys. With statements encouraging them to..."
I Need a Hug
 
4.0
"I NEED A HUG features a porcupine who knows she needs a cuddle. However, none of the animals want to..."
Beyond the Sixth Extinction: A Post-Apocalyptic Pop-Up
 
5.0
"This unbelievably cool pop-up book is great for elementary-aged children with large imaginations. This book speculates about how certain organisms..."
Giant Tess
 
3.5
"GIANT TESS is a picture book about Tess, who is different than the other children in Myth-hatten. Tess is a..."
The Girl The Sea Gave Back
 
5.0
"When Tova is saved by the Svell's Tala, Jorrund, she becomes their key to peek at the future. Tora is..."
Let Me Hear a Rhyme
 
4.7
"I'm not sure which the character I loved the most. It is one of those heartfelt stories about a group..."
The Kingdom of Copper
 
5.0
"I honestly didn't think anything could be better than book one The City of Brass but I was so so..."
Colorblind
 
4.5
"While Colorblind won’t be shattering barriers, it opens the conversation in racism from a standpoint not yet explored. Colorblind,..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"Peyton has always been the "bigger girl", but after her brother Cooper dies in an accident, her weight gets out..."
The Cerulean
 
3.0
"So, I didn't even know this was a thing until everyone was dogging it on twitter. When I saw that..."
To All The Boys I've Loved Before
 
4.0
"This is one of the very few times I will ever say this but here we go.... I preferred the..."
Kiss Collector
 
4.7
"Finally! A freaking book that looks down on drugs. I was so nervous when right off the bat, we get..."