Spotlight on Winter Glass by Lexa Hillyer, Plus Guest Post!

Screen-Shot-2018-05-16-at-8.38.44-A_20180516-131850_1

Today we're excited to spotlight Winter Glass. Read on for more about Lexa Hillyer and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

Meet Lexa Hillyer!

 
 

Lexa Hillyer is the author of the young adult novels Spindle Fire, Winter Glass, and Proof of Forever, as well as the poetry collection, Acquainted with the Cold (Bona Fide Books), the 2012 gold prize winner of the Foreword Book of the Year Award for Poetry, and a recipient of the Melissa Lanitis Gregory Poetry Prize. Her work has been featured in Best New Poets 2012, and she has received various other prizes and honors for poetry. Lexa earned her BA in English from Vassar College and her MFA in Poetry from Stonecoast at the University of Southern Maine. She worked as an editor at both Harper Collins and Penguin, before founding the production company Glasstown Entertainment along with bestselling author Lauren Oliver. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband, their daughter, and a very skinny orange tree. 

 
 
 
 
Meet Winter Glass!
 

Fans of Kendare Blake and Marissa Meyer will rejoice as Lexa Hillyer returns to a lush fantasy world in deep peril, concluding the dark and stunning fairy tale reinvention that began with Spindle Fire.

Aurora, torn from the dream world and Heath, plots to assassinate the faerie queen Malfleur, only to confront temptations she never expected. Isabelle, meanwhile, opens her heart to Prince William as they attempt to unite their kingdoms and wage a winning war against Malfleur’s army of Vultures. 

But when the appearance of an unbreakable glass slipper prompts Isabelle to discover more about her lineage, her true identity begins to take shape and her legacy becomes as clear as ice. Devoted half sisters Isabelle and Aurora will grapple with their understanding of love and loyalty as they face a threat even greater than that of the evil queen—the threat of losing each other forever.

The Game of Thrones hangover cure—writing YA fantasy

Even if you live under a rock and/or on Mars—or under a rock on Mars—chances are, if you’re a writer of fantasy, Game of Thrones has had some influence on your storytelling. The epicness. The political intrigue. The savagery of the medieval setting. The narrative structure of following each of the different families and regions as their inner dynamics and larger ambitions unspool. The incredible integration of extremely limited, “believable” magic into what is otherwise very grounded in grisly stories of human machinations, desires, brutality, betrayal... The wolves. The wildings. The winters.

And, not to nerd-out, but GOT is more than just an awesome HBO series to get hooked on—it’s an actual master lesson in plot, character development, and world-building. The way in which every single one of the countless characters in George R. R. Martin’s series has a separate but clear motivation constantly moving them forward across the page and marching across kingdoms on screen. And on top of that, it takes a very trope-y aesthetic in the history of the fantasy genre—the medieval world—and makes it completely alive with texture and realism. There is nothing pretty or aspirational in it—and that’s thrilling in and of itself. It’s also liberating, if you’re looking for inspiration as a YA writer.

So much of YA fantasy in the past has been characterized by prettiness and wish- fulfillment. Lush dresses and sumptuous settings and happily-ever-afters. But in the past couple of years, we’ve seen that vision break down into much grittier, war- and politics- infused storytelling, with broader ambitions. Now, YA has space not just to tell fantastical stories set in worlds different from our own, but to create new ways through fantasy narratives to expose social injustice, to challenge expected roles of women and differently abled people, to pick apart the entire notion of “ever after” and look instead at the great scope of the rise and fall of kingdoms, the demise of rulers and the shuffling of rules that follow. The nuance of romance that takes place in the context of greater stakes.

So yeah, Game of Thrones definitely had a huge influence on me when I wrote my books! Here are some of the tropes that I embraced, that are cropping up everywhere in YA and with good reason and incredible results!

Trope 1: The shattering of innocence ... aka, TRAINING MONTAGE!
So clearly in my book, SPINDLE FIRE, Aurora starts out sheltered—a Sansa-esque princess (first season Sansa, of course) unaware of all the bad things going on in her kingdom.

 

 

But in my sequel, WINTER GLASS, she takes an Arya-like turn. Desperate for answers, vengeance, and ultimately justice, she’s willing to train at the hands of whoever will teach them, no matter the cost. Fiery, smart, and often overlooked.

 

 

Trope 2: The girl who’s wild at heart.
For me, it’s Isbe. For Martin, it’s Ygritte. No one would mistake either of these girls for a Disney princess.

 

Both girls find love in their life completely by accident. They’re resistant to what’s coming for them, even when a really cute boy is involved.

 

Trope 3: Twisted magic, at the hands of deliciously evil women
You know what I can’t get enough of? Dark, scary women with dark, scary magical powers. The wicked faerie, Malfleur from my books was very much inspired by Melisandre, from her dark magic, her devotion to her own power, and even her crumbling beautiful exterior.

 

Trope 4: Romance in dark times
This one requires no explanation.

 

 

Trope 5: Warrior-lady is the new princess

 
 
  
 
 
Rate this blog entry:
Spotlight on Questions I Want To Ask You by Michel...
Author Chat with Gennifer Choldenko (Al Capone Thr...

Related Posts

 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Summer Bird Blue
A mixed race teen struggles to find her way back...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Starfish
A William C. Morris Award Finalist A New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth Lies Here
In small town Michigan, Penny, an aspiring journalist, teams...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Looking Glass
GIRLS IN TROUBLE. That’s what Sylvie Blake’s older sister...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Something of Substance
Seventeen-year-old Grace Michaels is determined to be thin, even...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death by the River
SOME TRUTHS ARE BETTER KEPT SECRET. SOME SECRETS...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
On the planet Elystra, the all-female Ixtrayu tribe have...
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Scream All Night
A darkly hilarious contemporary realistic young adult novel about...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Touch of Gold
King Midas once had the ability to turn all...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet the Sky
From award-winning author McCall Hoyle comes a new young adult...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A Dog in King Arthur’s Court (Cavall in Camelot #1)
In Camelot, King Arthur’s dog encounters a world of danger...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Fray
She's been trained for battle but is she ready for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emergence (Kindred Ties: Book Two)
The fight for order has only just begun… Fletcher, Ariana...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All Summer Long.jpg
A coming-of-age middle-grade graphic novel about summer and friendships, written...
 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
They Say Blue
Caldecott and Printz Honor-winning illustrator Jillian Tamaki brings us a...
 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
Lady Knight (Crystal Journals) Book 3
Shortlisted 2018-19 "Chocolate Lily Book Award"... ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Truth Lies Here
 
4.0
"THE TRUTH LIES HERE by Lindsey Klingele is a young adult, sci-fi novel set in Bone Lake, Michigan. This little..."
Scream All Night
 
5.0
"I am NOT a Horror fan. I am a big scaredy cat when it comes to the genre, be it..."
Meet the Sky
 
4.3
"Meet the Sky is an ably-written, well-paced contemporary YA—one which is perhaps best described as a pleasantly stormy beach read...."
A Touch of Gold
 
4.0
"When I read the synopsis for this book I was immediately intrigued. I love retellings and this book seemed right..."
Pretty Dead Girls
 
3.0
""Pretty Dead Girls" was an interesting YA thriller following Penelope (Pen/Penny) in the aftermath of a death of a frenemy,..."
Relic
 
4.0
" “Relic” is a historical paranormal novel about Maggie, a teenaged girl who lives with her brother, sister and parents..."
A Dog in King Arthur’s Court (Cavall in Camelot #1)
 
5.0
"A DOG IN KING ARTHUR'S COURT is told from the point of view of a dog named Cavall. While out..."
Awakening of Fire (Dragon Born, #1)
 
4.0
"Felicia never thought her life could be turned upside down by taking a trip to the mall. But when she's..."
All Summer Long
 
4.0
" Austin and Bina have been inseparable friends since they were in diapers. The summer going into the eighth..."
They Say Blue
 
4.0
"Breathtaking is the only way to describe this book. Intricately detailed, beautifully colored artwork takes the reader through a journey..."
The Gods of Men
 
5.0
"The story: A childhood tragedy forces Sable to flee her home, change her identity, and eke out a meager..."
The Darkest Legacy
 
4.3
"Five years have passed since the 'rehabilitation' camps have been shut down. Suzume 'Zu' is now seventeen years old and..."
The Turnaway Girls
 
3.7
"Delphernia lives in a cloister of turnaway girls on the island of Blightsend, and she's unable to do the one..."
The Looking Glass
 
4.0
"THE LOOKING GLASS by Janet McNally is a young adult novel set in the highly competitive world of aspiring New..."
Twilight of the Elves (The Adventurers Guild #2)
 
5.0
"TWILIGHT OF THE ELVES is the second installment in the Adventurers Guild. With Freestone overpopulated with the elves, tensions are..."
Brightly Burning
 
3.3
"An ambitious work of YA speculative fiction—a post-apocalyptic premise fused with the plot of a beloved classic. I’d like..."
Give Me Some Truth
 
4.3
"Carson Mastick and Magpie "Maggi" Bokoni are two Native American high school students living on a reservation outside of Niagara..."
House of Ash
 
5.0
"I’m just going to go ahead and say it. I LOVED THIS BOOK. I absolutely devoured it from start to..."
Airports, Exes, and Other Things I'm Over
 
4.7
"'Airports, Exes, and Other Things I'm Over' by Shani Petroff captures the angst of romantic hardships and misunderstandings. When eighteen-year-old..."
The Opposite of Innocent
 
5.0
"'The Opposite of Innocent' is yet another fantastic novel-in-verse by the illustrious Sonya Sones. The story will draw readers in..."