Spotlight on Winter Glass by Lexa Hillyer, Plus Guest Post!

Screen-Shot-2018-05-16-at-8.38.44-A_20180516-131850_1

Today we're excited to spotlight Winter Glass. Read on for more about Lexa Hillyer and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

Meet Lexa Hillyer!

 
 

Lexa Hillyer is the author of the young adult novels Spindle Fire, Winter Glass, and Proof of Forever, as well as the poetry collection, Acquainted with the Cold (Bona Fide Books), the 2012 gold prize winner of the Foreword Book of the Year Award for Poetry, and a recipient of the Melissa Lanitis Gregory Poetry Prize. Her work has been featured in Best New Poets 2012, and she has received various other prizes and honors for poetry. Lexa earned her BA in English from Vassar College and her MFA in Poetry from Stonecoast at the University of Southern Maine. She worked as an editor at both Harper Collins and Penguin, before founding the production company Glasstown Entertainment along with bestselling author Lauren Oliver. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband, their daughter, and a very skinny orange tree. 

 
 
 
 
Meet Winter Glass!
 

Fans of Kendare Blake and Marissa Meyer will rejoice as Lexa Hillyer returns to a lush fantasy world in deep peril, concluding the dark and stunning fairy tale reinvention that began with Spindle Fire.

Aurora, torn from the dream world and Heath, plots to assassinate the faerie queen Malfleur, only to confront temptations she never expected. Isabelle, meanwhile, opens her heart to Prince William as they attempt to unite their kingdoms and wage a winning war against Malfleur’s army of Vultures. 

But when the appearance of an unbreakable glass slipper prompts Isabelle to discover more about her lineage, her true identity begins to take shape and her legacy becomes as clear as ice. Devoted half sisters Isabelle and Aurora will grapple with their understanding of love and loyalty as they face a threat even greater than that of the evil queen—the threat of losing each other forever.

The Game of Thrones hangover cure—writing YA fantasy

Even if you live under a rock and/or on Mars—or under a rock on Mars—chances are, if you’re a writer of fantasy, Game of Thrones has had some influence on your storytelling. The epicness. The political intrigue. The savagery of the medieval setting. The narrative structure of following each of the different families and regions as their inner dynamics and larger ambitions unspool. The incredible integration of extremely limited, “believable” magic into what is otherwise very grounded in grisly stories of human machinations, desires, brutality, betrayal... The wolves. The wildings. The winters.

And, not to nerd-out, but GOT is more than just an awesome HBO series to get hooked on—it’s an actual master lesson in plot, character development, and world-building. The way in which every single one of the countless characters in George R. R. Martin’s series has a separate but clear motivation constantly moving them forward across the page and marching across kingdoms on screen. And on top of that, it takes a very trope-y aesthetic in the history of the fantasy genre—the medieval world—and makes it completely alive with texture and realism. There is nothing pretty or aspirational in it—and that’s thrilling in and of itself. It’s also liberating, if you’re looking for inspiration as a YA writer.

So much of YA fantasy in the past has been characterized by prettiness and wish- fulfillment. Lush dresses and sumptuous settings and happily-ever-afters. But in the past couple of years, we’ve seen that vision break down into much grittier, war- and politics- infused storytelling, with broader ambitions. Now, YA has space not just to tell fantastical stories set in worlds different from our own, but to create new ways through fantasy narratives to expose social injustice, to challenge expected roles of women and differently abled people, to pick apart the entire notion of “ever after” and look instead at the great scope of the rise and fall of kingdoms, the demise of rulers and the shuffling of rules that follow. The nuance of romance that takes place in the context of greater stakes.

So yeah, Game of Thrones definitely had a huge influence on me when I wrote my books! Here are some of the tropes that I embraced, that are cropping up everywhere in YA and with good reason and incredible results!

Trope 1: The shattering of innocence ... aka, TRAINING MONTAGE!
So clearly in my book, SPINDLE FIRE, Aurora starts out sheltered—a Sansa-esque princess (first season Sansa, of course) unaware of all the bad things going on in her kingdom.

 

 

But in my sequel, WINTER GLASS, she takes an Arya-like turn. Desperate for answers, vengeance, and ultimately justice, she’s willing to train at the hands of whoever will teach them, no matter the cost. Fiery, smart, and often overlooked.

 

 

Trope 2: The girl who’s wild at heart.
For me, it’s Isbe. For Martin, it’s Ygritte. No one would mistake either of these girls for a Disney princess.

 

Both girls find love in their life completely by accident. They’re resistant to what’s coming for them, even when a really cute boy is involved.

 

Trope 3: Twisted magic, at the hands of deliciously evil women
You know what I can’t get enough of? Dark, scary women with dark, scary magical powers. The wicked faerie, Malfleur from my books was very much inspired by Melisandre, from her dark magic, her devotion to her own power, and even her crumbling beautiful exterior.

 

Trope 4: Romance in dark times
This one requires no explanation.

 

 

Trope 5: Warrior-lady is the new princess

 
 
  
 
 
Rate this blog entry:
Spotlight on Questions I Want To Ask You by Michel...
Author Chat with Gennifer Choldenko (Al Capone Thr...

Related Posts

 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

You/Poet: Learn the Art. Speak Your Truth. Share Your Voice.
Offering a variety of advice for tapping into your creative...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Are You Scared, Darth Vader?
Darth Vader isn't scared! Nothing can scare Lord Vader. ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Star-Touched Stories
From New York Times bestselling author, Roshani Chokshi, comes Star-Touched...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
91HIpyhaW9L.jpg
The third book in the New York Times bestselling series...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
One Week of You
For Lizzy Winston, one week will change everything. Fifteen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Legacy (The Biodome Chronicles #1)
She is from the past, locked inside a world...
 
4.0
 
4.6 (3)
Grenade
It's 1945, and the world is in the grip...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Lines We Cross
Michael likes to hang out with his friends and...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Uncharted
Seventeen-year-old Annabeth prefers the fantasy of her books and...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dark Divide
Secrets have a way of coming out. Divided by...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Orphaned (Ape Quartet #4)
Before humans, and before human history, there were the...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Heirs of the Round Table: Reclaiming Camelot
Imagine discovering that your ancestors were part of King Arthur's...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Nix
A visually stunning, middle-grade classic in the making about Wicked...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journey of the Pale Bear
A runaway boy befriends a polar bear that’s being transported...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Camp Valor (Camp Valor #1)
When Wyatt gets framed for a friend’s crime, he thinks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Attack of the Plants: A Branches Book (The Magic School Bus Rides Again)
Next stop...The Magic School Bus heads to the Galapagos to...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

You/Poet: Learn the Art. Speak Your Truth. Share Your Voice.
 
5.0
"YOU/POET by Rayna Hutchison and Samuel Blake, the folks from HER HEART POETRY, is a tremendous gift to writers everywhere...."
Dare You to Lie
 
4.0
"DARE YOU TO LIE by Amber Lynn Natusch is a young adult suspense novel that follows Kylene after she moves..."
Are You Scared, Darth Vader?
 
5.0
" This is a fun, cute, beautifully illustrated childrens book. What scares Darth Vader? Not wolfman, vampires, ghosts or kids!..."
Star-Touched Stories
 
5.0
"STAR-TOUCHED STORIES brings you back into the world of STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN. For those who love the world Roshani Chokshi created,..."
Muse of Nightmares
 
5.0
"I honestly didn't think any book could top Strange the Dreamer, it was such a fantastic start to a new..."
Seize Today
 
4.3
"Seize Today is the thrilling conclusion to a fantastic dystopian series. I’ve been a huge fan of this series since..."
Clementine for Christmas
 
5.0
"Josie loves Christmas, especially making memories with her dog Clementine volunteering at the children's hospital. Oscar's parents are always fighting..."
Crossing the Line
 
4.3
"The story: In 1983, high school senior Laura Sherman was gunned down by a jealous classmate, who then turned..."
Orphaned (Ape Quartet #4)
 
4.7
"Snub is a young gorilla living in prehistoric times. She has a family that included Silverback, Brother, Wrinkle and Teased,..."
Wicked Nix
 
5.0
"Wicked Nix is the foulest of the fairies. He's also the protector of the forest and will keep people out..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"JOURNEY OF THE PALE BEAR is an inspiring and heartwarming story about a bear and a boy who develop a..."
Camp Valor (Camp Valor #1)
 
4.7
"Wyatt has a decent life, but when his dad takes off, it dissolves into chaos. His mother doesn't function well,..."
Bittersweet Wreckage
 
4.3
"A intense story of finding hope in the worst circumstances. The Story: Ivy's life has been anything but easy...."
 
4.0
"A cute YA romance! The story: Callie has only had one goal in life - get a college scholarship..."
Grenade
 
4.7
"Hideki is a 13-year-old Okinawan and Ray is a United States Marine. Both are play important roles in the "Love..."
The Attack of the Plants: A Branches Book (The Magic School Bus Rides Again)
 
4.0
"When Ms. Frizzle gets a job as a professor, her sister takes over her class as the new teacher. Arnold..."
Robot Farm (The Magic School Bus Rides Again)
 
4.0
"Wanda is putting together the Fall Fun Feast, but she forgot about the food! When she starts looking into ideas,..."
Soccer School Season 1: Where Soccer Explains (Rules) the World
 
4.3
" "Coaches" Alex and Ben introduce the reader to their school that is all about soccer. Every class, from biology..."
After the Green Withered
 
3.5
"The story: Enora lives in a world run dry, where what little water is left is used as currency and..."
The Homework Strike
 
4.0
"'The Homework Strike' by Greg Pincus is a relevant and worthwhile story about the power of standing up and fighting..."