Spotlight on Valiant (Merrie Destefano), Excerpt, and Giveaway!

37638290

 Today we're excited to spotlight Valiant by Merrie Destefano.

 Read on for more about Merrie and her book, an excerpt, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Merrie Destefano!

Merrie Destefano

Born in the Midwest, former magazine editor Merrie Destefano currently lives in Southern California with her husband, two German shepherds, a Siamese cat, and the occasional wandering possum. Her favorite hobbies are reading speculative fiction and watching old Star Trek episodes, and her incurable addiction is writing. She loves to camp in the mountains, walk on the beach, watch old movies, and listen to alternative music―although rarely all at the same time.

 

 

 Website * Facebook * Twitter

 

 

 

 

 

Meet Valiant!

The Valiant was supposed to save us. Instead, it triggered the end of the world.

Earth is in shambles. Everyone, even the poorest among us, invested in the Valiant’s space mining mission in the hopes we’d be saved from ourselves. But the second the ship leaves Earth’s atmosphere, our fate is sealed. The alien invasion begins. They pour into cities around the world through time portals, possessing humans, forcing us to kill one another.

And for whatever reason, my brother is their number one target.

Now the fate of the world lies in the hands of me, a seventeen-year-old girl, but with the help of my best friend, Justin―who’s suddenly starting to feel like more―maybe if we save my brother, we can save us all…

 

 

 Amazon * B & N * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

 

 

~ Excerpt ~

 

 

Justin and I are alone, and I’m trying to remember him. But there’s a blank spot in my memory.

I nod and, without meaning to, I run a slow gaze over him. Pictures flash through my mind, almost like a Gov-Net program. They’re all pictures of him.

I see him as a young boy in grade school, before anyone could tell he was a Genetic. He smiled and laughed a lot back then.

I see him in middle school, when his genetic alterations came to the surface and other kids started to tease him.

I never teased him, though. I actually got in a fight with two girls my age one day, because they were calling him a Jenny. One of them got a black eye. The other one got a bloody nose.

“I think I beat up two girls once because they made fun of you,” I say. “In middle school.”

He swallows, then he blinks like his eyes sting, like he’s been in the sun too long. “Did you?” he asks. “You never told me about that.”

Then I see him when we’re older, high school age. He and I are laughing. We’re at the beach, playing Frisbee, and every time he gets close to me my heart beats faster and I wish…

I wish he would kiss me.

But he didn’t.

We were friends, we were always friends, but there was something beneath the surface, like he might be the boy I could fall in love with.

If only…

Then I started traveling through time.

I sink backward, my eyes widening, my stomach churning, and it all comes back. So many images of what I’ve lost, all the battles, all the death, the unending heartache. And the horrible knowledge that it’s all my fault.

“Sara, are you okay?” he asks.

It hurts so much to remember.

I touch the center of my chest.

“I can still feel it, here. Like there’s too much, too many thoughts and emotions, and it aches and it’s hard for me to think about anything else.”

A tortured expression flickers through his eyes, and he slowly, carefully, sits beside me.

“I remember you,” I say. “I remember…us.”

He puts his hand in mine.

“Good. Because I could never forget you,” he says. “Ever. You’re the best part of all of this. You always have been.” It feels like I’ve waited a hundred lifetimes to hear him say that.

“I almost lost you. I thought you were dead, back in Snake City.”

“I’m not dead. I’m here.” He lifts my hand to his lips. “I’m right here and I’m so in love with you.”

He turns toward me then, his gaze on my eyes, then my lips. Usually he smiles, but not this time. Instead, he pulls me toward him and he kisses me and it’s different than any other kiss. This kiss says more than I love you, it says I need you and I can’t breathe when you’re not around and Never do that again, never almost die, ever…

I melt into his arms, and I hope neither one of us dies in this war, but I just don’t know.

This moment might be all we have, and it’ll never be enough.

 

 

 

 

 

Valiant

By: Merrie Destefano

Publisher: Entangled Publishing

Release Date: December 4th, 2018

 

 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

One winner will receive a copy of Valiant (Merrie Destefano) ~ (US Only) 

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
4th Annual 12 Days of Christmas Giveaway Extravaga...
Waiting On Wednesday ~ December 5th, 2018

Related Posts

 

Comments 2

Debra Branigan on Sunday, 16 December 2018 21:04

This book is exciting and I cannot wait to read it. The cover is gorgeous. Good luck with this novel.

0
This book is exciting and I cannot wait to read it. The cover is gorgeous. Good luck with this novel.
Laura L on Monday, 17 December 2018 10:31

Sounds so intriguing!! and I love the cover!

0
Sounds so intriguing!! and I love the cover!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ghoulia
Ghoulia lives in Crumbling Manor with her Auntie Departed and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
In the vein of Eloise, Olivia, and Fancy Nancy, Carmen...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, Life, and the List
Seventeen-year-old Abby Turner’s summer isn’t going the way she’d planned....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
Arkansas, 1984: The town of Griffin Flat is known for...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
Discover how science, nature and history connect in this fast-paced,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
When the speediest family in the world finds a sweet,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Little Golden Book About the Solar System
Little Golden Books introduces your young reader to the solar...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enlightenment by Reno Ursal
When Dorothy Dizon meets the mysterious Adrian Rosario and his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
My name is Barry Allen. You probably know me as...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
When Lady Katherine's father is killed for being an illegally...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blood Spell
Blue de la Cour has her life planned: hide the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ogre Enchanted
In this prequel to Ella Enchanted, which can stand on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Home and Away
Tasia Quirk is young, Black, and fabulous. She's a senior,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mirage
In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dactyl Hill Squad
It's 1863 and dinosaurs roam the streets of New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
 
5.0
"Hilde is at it again to get a factual story for the newspaper. This time, it's a mysterious flash of..."
Ghoulia
 
4.0
"To Ghoulia, she's just the average girl. To us, she's something completely different: a zombie. Ghoulia's aunt wants her to..."
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
 
3.5
"Lights Camera Carmen is a quick-to-read tale of a zealous and outspoken kid destined to make it big. ..."
Going Wild #3: Clash of Beasts
 
4.0
" Charlie, Mac, and Maria are back, having defeated Dr. Gray's army in Predator Vs. Prey. Kelly and Miko, however,..."
Gamer Army
 
4.0
"In a futuristic society where almost everything has gone online, Rogan spends a lot of his time playing the game..."
Love, Life, and the List
 
4.3
"Abby's goal in life is to become a serious artist. Her hope is to get into a special art camp...."
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
 
3.0
"It's 1984 and Laura Ratliff is a high school student with issues beyond a typical sixteen-year-old. Her mom and her..."
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
 
5.0
"ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING includes factual information on our world history. It's divided by time periods and eras of importance. This book..."
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
 
5.0
"Amy's family rushes for everything. "They walked fast, drove fast, shopped fast, and ate fast." This upsets Amy because there..."
My Little Golden Book About the Solar System
 
5.0
"My Little Golden Book About the Solar System is the perfect way to introduce the planets. The pictures are vibrant..."
Beyond a Darkened Shore
 
4.7
"Top 4 Reasons to Grab BEYOND A DARKENED SHORE immediately: 1.) Historical fantasy worldbuilding: My biggest genre weakness..."
Onyx and Ivory
 
4.0
"Top 5 Reasons to Read Onyx and Ivory: 1.) The magic: Kate lives in a world where there are..."
Soccer School Season 2: Where Soccer Explains (Saves) the World
 
4.3
"In this second Soccer School book, the first chapter is about pee rather than poop (as the first book was)!..."
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
 
5.0
"THE FLASH: THE SECRET FILES OF BARRY ALLEN is the perfect guide for the Flash tv show. The layout of..."
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
 
4.0
"AN ASSASSIN’S GUIDE TO LOVE & TREASON by Virginia Boecker is such a breath of fresh air. It’s a YA..."
Giant Days
 
4.7
"Susan, Daisy and Esther are very different women, but they become fast friends after meeting on their college dorm floor...."
Holes
 
5.0
"Important message. Unique perspective."
The Namarielle (Chronicles of Lashai Book 1)
 
5.0
"The Namarielle is the perfect addition to any fantasy novel collection. The world is so well imagined in the little..."
The Blood Spell
 
5.0
"Blue de la Cour enjoys her quiet life with her father, passing the days by working in the shop and..."
 
5.0
"The Channeler is the first book in a new YA fantasy series written by William H. Kline IV. Tommy,..."