Spotlight on The Vanishing Spark of Dust by Sara Baysinger, Plus Top 5 Alien Stories in Pop Culture, & Giveaway!

Screen-Shot-2018-01-18-at-9.34.54-A_20180118-145023_1

Today we're excited to spotlight The Vanishing Spark of Dust by Sara Baysinger! Read on for more about Sara and her book, plus the top 5 aliens in pop culture, and a giveaway! 

 

Meet Sara Baysinger!

Sara was born in the heart of the Andes Mountains in Ecuador where she spent her early life exploring uncharted lands and raising chickens. She now makes her home among the endless cornfields of Indiana with her husband and two children…and she still raises chickens. When not getting lost in a book, Sara can be found gardening, star-gazing, or drinking her favorite vanilla chai tea. You can visit her online at www.sarabaysinger.com .

Meet The Vanishing Spark of Dust!
 
 
Stand up. 

When Lark is stolen from Earth to be a slave on the planet Tavdora, she’s determined to find her way back home to her family, no matter the cost. Placed in the household of a notorious slave trader, Lark quickly learns her best assets are her eyes and ears. And if she’s brave enough, her voice.

Be heard. 

Kalen is the Tavdorian son of a slave trader and in line to inherit his father’s business. But his growing feelings for Lark, the new house slave who dares to speak of freedom, compel him to reveal his new plan for the slave ships returning to Earth—escape. Together, they just might spark a change that flares across the universe.

Fight back.
 
 

Top 5 Alien Stories in Pop Culture

I’m Sara Baysinger, the author of The Vanishing Spark of Dusk, which is a YA sci-fi story with a romance between a human named Lark and a 7 foot tall alien with violet eyes named Kallen. In order to celebrate the release of my book, I thought I’d talk about my top 5 alien stories across all types of pop culture.

 

BOOKS:

 

1.) The LUX series by Jennifer L. Armentrout

I read the first book in ONE NIGHT. Daemon Black is total #bookboyfriend material. I love the alien features that Armentrout created, and the tension between light and dark, and how that plays into real life. Much like THE VANISHING SPARK OF DUSK, these aliens are humanoids (well, they’re energy put in human bodies, but still), and it helped me feel not so alone in the alien romance genre. And the sexual tension in the LUX series! Good #swoonworthy material right there, folks.

 

MOVIES:

 

2.) Avatar

I was well underway with THE VANISHING SPARK OF DUSK when Avatar came out. There were few romantic alien movies to draw my inspirations from at the time, so I can’t even begin to describe my excitement when Avatar came out. And the story world is AMAZING. Those who read my book won’t be able to miss the similarities between both worlds, because who wouldn’t put bioluminescent plants in their story world?

 

 

3.) Star Wars

Confession time: I was not a huge fan of Star Wars growing up. Don’t get me wrong—I love the creativity and thought put into the worlds and cultures, but the storyline and characters never hooked me. I probably wouldn’t have watched the new movies, except that my husband is the ultimate Star Wars nerd and left me little choice. ;) I went with him to watch Episodes VII and VIII, and GUYS. I don’t care how much grief the new movies might get, I'm sold. I love the new characters, the diversity, the philosophy of the Force, ALL OF IT. The Last Jedi especially hit me in all the right places. I watched it twice, and CRIED BOTH TIMES, at different parts! Okay, I’ll stop gushing now.

 

TV:

 

4.) Stargate SG-1

Not a hugely popular show, but I kind of owe the beginning of my writing career to it. This is another one that my nerd husband practically forced me to watch. I didn’t like it at first because each episode was pretty much a standalone, and I’m more into the every-episode- ties-into-the-next type shows. But I eventually got into it, and after watching several seasons, I was inspired to create my own SciFi world with its own rules and cultures that no one could police me about, because I created it. ;)

 

 

5.) The Orville

Okay, I totally saved the best for last. This is a new show that just came out last year. And it’s SO FREAKING GOOD. It’s science fiction tied in with edgy humor. And while it’s more focused on comedy and adventure, there are also a few episodes that really make you think. I also love that they don’t just have weird aliens as key characters, but each alien has their own culture, their own games, their own way of looking at life, and the series shows all those aspects in a creative and fun way.

What are your fave alien stories in books, movies, and TV? 

 
 

 

The Vanishing Spark of Dust

By: Sara Baysinger

Release Date: January 8, 2018

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 

One winner will receive a $5 Amazon gift card (International).  

 
 
 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*
a Rafflecopter giveaway
Rate this blog entry:
Spotlight on Busted by Gina Ciocca, Plus Top 5 Boo...
January 2018 Book Haul

Related Posts

 

Comments 9

Marisa Fort on Friday, 26 January 2018 18:16

The cover is beautiful - the colors really pop! The synopsis sounds very exciting and adventurous!

0
The cover is beautiful - the colors really pop! The synopsis sounds very exciting and adventurous!
Emily on Monday, 12 February 2018 22:58

The cover is nice but the synopsis sounds amazing

0
The cover is nice but the synopsis sounds amazing
wendy rinebold on Tuesday, 13 February 2018 19:53

I love the Lux books! Jennifer Armentrout is amazing. This book sounds great too. I wish the giveaway was for a copy!

0
I love the Lux books! Jennifer Armentrout is amazing. This book sounds great too. I wish the giveaway was for a copy!
Nicole Baker on Tuesday, 13 February 2018 21:03

I just adore the cover. Reminds me of romantic walks on the beach. Wish the giveaway was for the book

0
I just adore the cover. Reminds me of romantic walks on the beach. Wish the giveaway was for the book:(
Kelly G on Wednesday, 14 February 2018 17:46

This is probably one of my favorite covers, and the book sounds so good!

0
This is probably one of my favorite covers, and the book sounds so good!
Danielle Hammelef on Wednesday, 14 February 2018 19:40

Love the cover and the synopsis sounds suspenseful and full of action and adventure to keep me reading.

0
Love the cover and the synopsis sounds suspenseful and full of action and adventure to keep me reading.
Dan Denman on Friday, 16 February 2018 10:33

The cover is romantic. This sounds like a really good alien abduction story.

0
The cover is romantic. This sounds like a really good alien abduction story.
Penny Olson on Friday, 16 February 2018 22:47

The cover is very beautiful. The story sounds really interesting.

0
The cover is very beautiful. The story sounds really interesting.
Lily M. on Sunday, 18 February 2018 06:11

This cover is very pretty, he blues on it ??

0
This cover is very pretty, he blues on it ??

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Finding-Elora.jpg
High school’s a whole new ballgame. Elora used...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

What the Night Sings
 
5.0
"Gerta Rausch didn’t know she was Jewish until she and her father were taken from their home in the middle..."
The Last First Daughter
 
3.5
"Intriguing and action packed. The Story: The country has been in a silent age for a decade after terrorists..."
Zombie Queen of Newbury High
 
4.3
"This book was probably the best book I have ever read. I loved the end so much I wished there..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"*I was given an e-galley.* Brandy Woods Snow is a wonderfully talented writer and plotter! This story has a..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"Aw yes, transparency. I’m but one of her brutal critique partners and friends. Will this book capture you..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"I COULD NOT STOP READING THIS BOOK! I fell in love with all the characters and secretly plotted the death..."
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
 
5.0
"THE KIDULT HANDBOOK is the perfect book to pull out on a boring day. It is packed with fun activities..."
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
 
4.7
"Insightful, engaging, and downright fun! LEGO hits on all the learning styles in this brilliantly interactive science primer. ..."
Switching Gears
 
3.7
"Lucas Nelson loved Emmy Martin, but he waited until a week before he died of cancer to tell her that...."
Sky in the Deep
 
4.7
"What worked: This is a highly engaging historical tale of a teen warrior who is taken by a rival clan..."
We Are All That's Left
 
5.0
" Zara feels shut off from her Bosnian born mother. She knows that her mother survived some..."
The Fault In Our Stars
 
5.0
"Seriously, is it possible to read this book without crying? Asking for allllllll offffff myyyyyyy friiiiiiiiiends."
Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
 
4.0
"In this story, Chris joins Sunny and Rue for a few friendly rounds of Rabbit Racers. (He’s never played before,..."
Frat Girl
 
4.0
"The writing style is what really stands out in this book-- SO easy to read, conversational, believable character interactions. It..."
Original Syn
 
5.0
"Got an ARC of this one and flew through it. So so good."
What I Leave Behind
 
5.0
"Will’s dad commits suicide. His childhood friend, Playa, is raped at a party. His mom works long over-night shifts as..."
When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel
 
4.5
"'When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel' by G. Neri, illustrated by David Litchfield, is an artistic..."
Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries
 
4.0
"'Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries' by Ammi-Joan Paquette and Laurie Ann Thompson is a fun read, chock..."
Watcher
 
4.3
"The story: Sawyer is an orphaned girl who lives in a world not unlike that of the Terminator movies,..."
Savage Beauty
 
5.0
"SAVAGE BEAUTY is a dark twist on the classic fairytale Sleeping Beauty. Aura and Luna are sisters, but they're the..."