Spotlight on The Sidekicks by Will Kostakis, Plus Excerpt & Giveaway!

Spotlight on The Sidekicks by Will Kostakis, Plus Excerpt & Giveaway!

Today we're excited to spotlight The Sidekicks by Will Kostakis, plus author guest post, and giveaway! 

 

Meet Will Kostakis!

 

Will Kostakis lives in Sydney, where he writes books for teens and the adults who like to read about them. In his native Australia, he’s a critically acclaimed and award-winning author having won the Gold Inky Award, and was shortlisted for both the Prime Minister’s Literary and the Children’s Book Council Australia Book of the Year for his sophomore novel, The First Third. The Sidekicks is his American debut. 

 
 
 
 

Meet The Sidekicks!

 

Ryan, Harley and Miles are very different people—the swimmer, the rebel and the nerd. All they've ever had in common is Isaac, their shared best friend.

When Isaac dies unexpectedly, the three boys must come to terms with their grief and the impact Isaac had on each of their lives. In his absence, Ryan, Harley and Miles discover things about one another they never saw before, and realize there may be more tying them together than just Isaac.

In this intricately woven story told in three parts, award-winning Australian author Will Kostakis makes his American debut with a heartwarming, masterfully written novel about grief, self-discovery and the connections that tie us all together. 

 

WHY DO I WRITE YA?

by Will Kostakis

It’s one of the most common questions I’m asked when I tour: Why do I write YA? It comes in different shapes—sometimes, it’s a question about what inspires me to tell stories about young adults, other times, it’s one about when I’ll “graduate” to writing books for adults.

My answer has evolved as I’ve gotten older. I signed my first Australian book deal in my senior year of high school. I was writing the stories I wanted to read as a teenager, reflecting my own experiences – being a young adult author made complete sense.

A decade has since passed. With The Sidekicks, I’m still writing YA, and it still makes complete sense to me.

When you write about teenagers, there’s so much to talk about ... Young adult novels are often books filled with firsts—exciting and terrifying new experiences that make for rich stories. Whether it’s contemporary realism or science fiction, the stakes are always so high because YA protagonists are on the edge of the rest of their lives. They’re not only discovering who they are, but they’re realising who they’d like to be.

The Sidekicks is about four boys, but they’re not four best friends, they’re three boys with the same best friend. Then that best friend dies, and those three boys have to rebuild their lives. This is the first time they’re grappling with the death of a peer. It inspires a whole lot of soul-searching, and reshapes the ways they look at the world and how they live in it.

When you write about teenagers, you reconnect with your teen self ... While there’s more to writing fiction than simply revisiting your own experiences, bringing teenage characters to life often requires you to rediscover who you used to be, the good aspects and the bad. That means mining old social media posts, revisiting chat histories and email accounts you’ve long since abandoned. It’s the closest thing to time travel. You laugh, you cringe, but you’re reminded of who you were and how far you’ve come. Sometimes in life, you can’t see the forest for the trees. Immersing yourself in your past with the knowledge of your present allows you to make more sense of the trajectory of your life.

The Sidekicks was borne out of heartbreak—one of my closest friends passed away when I was a teenager. It devastated me and the lives of those around me. In the thick of it, I couldn’t see myself moving past it. With some distance, I not only recognise my own resilience, but also, how the experience shaped me and my life. The heart breaks, but the heart heals. It just beats a little differently.

When you write about teenagers, you’re welcomed into a wonderful community ... The international YA community is so incredible. There’s always someone to prop you up, be it an author who’ll be generous with advice, and more importantly, help you draft a challenging kissing scene (I’m looking at you, Amie Kaufman), or a reader who’ll toss an encouraging message over social media. I experienced the community first as an avid reader, and then as a writer ... We’re a family, bonded by our shared love of young adult books. No matter how far I travel, I always find someone to trade recommendations with (“A S King, Laurie Halse Anderson, Adam Silvera, Patrick Ness, how about you?”), someone to debate endings with, someone to ask questions, and someone to ask questions of me.

And when they ask, “Why do you write YA?” I tell them, “The answer’s you.” 

  
 
 
 

The Sidekicks

By: Will Kostakis

Release Date: October 17, 2017

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a hardcover copy of House of Ash (US only).  

 
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Rate this blog entry:
Teen Read Week 2017: Author Chat with Paula Stokes...
It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: The Truth Lies Here by L...

Related Posts

 

Comments 5

Mindy on Sunday, 15 October 2017 18:17

I like this cover. Based on the synopsis, I feel like this book might make me ugly cry

0
I like this cover. Based on the synopsis, I feel like this book might make me ugly cry
Shannon Mizikoski on Sunday, 22 October 2017 23:17

The cover is nice, definitely seems to fit with the story. I think this one is going to be FULL of feels!

0
The cover is nice, definitely seems to fit with the story. I think this one is going to be FULL of feels!
John on Monday, 23 October 2017 16:44

The cover looks well-designed, and the plot sounds intriguing!

0
The cover looks well-designed, and the plot sounds intriguing!
Danielle Hammelef on Saturday, 11 November 2017 17:57

I like the cover but I love the emotional and friendship-based synopsis.

0
I like the cover but I love the emotional and friendship-based synopsis.
Penny Olson on Saturday, 11 November 2017 23:35

The bright orange and red really capture my eye and the story sounds interesting and important.

0
The bright orange and red really capture my eye and the story sounds interesting and important.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."
When Dimple Met Rishi
 
3.3
"A contemporary YA romance—heavy on the romance—with an Indian-American take on the attraction of opposites. The story is told..."
Stray
 
3.8
"'Stray' by Joni Johnson has an interesting premise. When Lila finds out that her father is about to kick her..."