Spotlight on Questions I Want To Ask You by Michelle Falkoff, Plus Top 5 Important Things To Know About Consent, Plus Giveaway!

Screen-Shot-2018-05-16-at-9.36.13-AM

Today we're excited to spotlight Question I Want To Ask You by Michelle Falkoff! Read on for more about Michelle and her book, plus guest post & giveaway! 

 

Meet Michelle Falkoff! 

Michelle Falkoff is the author of Playlist for the Dead, Pushing Perfect, and Questions I Want to Ask You. Her fiction and reviews have been published in ZYZZYVA, DoubleTake, and the Harvard Review, among other places. She is a graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop and currently serves as director of communication and legal reasoning at Northwestern University School of Law. Visit her online at www.michellefalkoff.com. 


 
 
 
Meet Questions I Want To Ask You!
 
   

A mystery about family, secrets, and how to move forward when the past keeps pulling you back, perfect for fans of David Arnold and Jeff Zentner.

Patrick “Pack” Walsh may not know where he’s going in life, but he’s happy where he is. Then, on his eighteenth birthday, a letter from his past changes everything.

As Pack begins a journey to uncover the truth about the parents he thought he knew, the family he didn’t know he had, and the future he never realized he wanted, he starts to have a whole different understanding of his life—and where he wants to go from here. 

 
 

Top Five Important Things to Know About Consent:

Here’s the thing: for a lot of us, talking about sex isn’t easy. It can be awkward and uncomfortable and strange; it can feel like a mood-killer; it can be embarrassing. But if sex is going to be worth having, and it’s going to be safe and enjoyable and satisfying for both people involved, it’s worth the risk of discomfort and embarrassment, and chances are talking about it is going to make it better. One of the most important conversations to have up front is about consent, so here are some things I’ve found it’s helpful to think about.

Words matter

I grew up with the slogan “No Means No,” and while it has its problems as a catchphrase, the intentions behind it were good. The idea was that we should listen to what people actually say instead of trying to guess what they mean. I’ve been pleased to see the shift to affirmative consent, with “Yes Means Yes” as a better slogan, but even that isn’t perfect. It’s really it’s all about whatever words work for people in the moment, and ultimately, it’s really all about communication.

Words are great but they’re not everything

I had a lot of fun in my new book, QUESTIONS I WANT TO ASK YOU, making my characters take the concept of affirmative consent literally—it’s become part of their relationship to ask permission for every single thing they want to do, and they’ve managed to make it sexy for them. That said, affirmative consent doesn’t mean there have to be words spoken at every stage of a sexual encounter. It means that the people involved should never have any doubt, at any point, that their partners wants them to proceed. This can include words, sure, and that can be part of what makes the experience pleasurable, but consent can come from other sounds, or touch, or whatever the people involved agree upon. It’s still about communication, whatever form that communication takes.

Consent is not a one-time thing

Anyone involved in a sexual encounter can withdraw consent at any time. Period. There are no exceptions to this. If someone wants to stop, it’s over. And just as with affirmative consent, words aren’t required. If one person stops participating, that can mean they’ve withdrawn consent, and it’s the other person’s responsibility to stop as well and figure out what the lack of participation means. This is true for subsequent encounters as well—just because someone’s said yes one time doesn’t mean yes the next time.

Consent isn’t gendered, either

Another thing I wanted to play around with in my book was flipping the consent script. Often conversations about consent emphasize boys making sure girls have provided consent, but it doesn’t have to go that way, whether in same-sex or opposite-sex relationships. The key is for everyone involved in a sexual encounter to be not just amenable but enthusiastic about it at all stages.

Consent itself is sexy

There aren’t a lot of things hotter than wanting someone who wants you back. I worry sometimes that we spend so much time talking about consent in the context of assault and coercion that we forget that love and sex can be healthy, romantic, good things, experiences we want, under the right circumstances, to encourage. If we don’t talk (and write) about the ways sex can be loving and good, and the ways consent is part of that, then we leave too much space for people to learn about sex from sources that can be damaging and harmful. If we treat sex as something inappropriate to discuss, then we make people afraid to talk about it, and that makes communication difficult, if not impossible. But if we treat it like something wonderful and fun, then talking about it can add to the pleasure, not detract from it. 

 
 
 
 
 

Questions I Want To Ask You

By: Michelle Falkoff

Release Date: May 29, 2018

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 

One winner will receive a copy of Questions I Want To Ask You (US & Canada only).

 
 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*
Rate this blog entry:
Bookstagrammer of the Month: Rebeca of @booknerdbe...
Spotlight on Winter Glass by Lexa Hillyer, Plus Gu...

Related Posts

 

Comments 4

Kara S on Sunday, 03 June 2018 12:51

I am so excited about this books; I think the themes addressed are so important. It sounds like they are dealt with in a compelling way with appropriate depth. So synopsis is awesome, and I like the cover too!

0
I am so excited about this books; I think the themes addressed are so important. It sounds like they are dealt with in a compelling way with appropriate depth. So synopsis is awesome, and I like the cover too!
Marisa Fort on Monday, 04 June 2018 19:11

The cover is breathtaking and the synopsis sounds amazing!

0
The cover is breathtaking and the synopsis sounds amazing!
Danielle Hammelef on Tuesday, 12 June 2018 18:27

The cover has my favorite colors and reminds me of gorgeous sunsets and sunrises. I am a huge fan of Jeff Zentner so this book sounds extra exciting.

0
The cover has my favorite colors and reminds me of gorgeous sunsets and sunrises. I am a huge fan of Jeff Zentner so this book sounds extra exciting.
Penny Olson on Friday, 15 June 2018 20:16

The cover is atmospheric and the story sounds intriguing.

0
The cover is atmospheric and the story sounds intriguing.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Truth Lies Here
In small town Michigan, Penny, an aspiring journalist, teams up...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Scream All Night
A darkly hilarious contemporary realistic young adult novel about growing...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet the Sky
From award-winning author McCall Hoyle comes a new young adult...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A Touch of Gold
King Midas once had the ability to turn all he...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Dog in King Arthur’s Court (Cavall in Camelot #1)
In Camelot, King Arthur’s dog encounters a world of danger...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Fray
She's been trained for battle but is she ready for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emergence (Kindred Ties: Book Two)
The fight for order has only just begun… Fletcher, Ariana...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All Summer Long.jpg
A coming-of-age middle-grade graphic novel about summer and friendships, written...
 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
They Say Blue
Caldecott and Printz Honor-winning illustrator Jillian Tamaki brings us a...
 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
Lady Knight (Crystal Journals) Book 3
Shortlisted 2018-19 "Chocolate Lily Book Award"... ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pharaoh's Tomb (Crystal Journals) Book 2
So begins the next adventure for Susan Sinclair, the young...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The 13th Key
When the fate of Talisker relies on a solitary teenage...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Turnaway Girls
Delphernia Undersea wants to sing. But everyone on Blightsend knows...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Looking Glass
GIRLS IN TROUBLE. That’s what...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twilight of the Elves (The Adventurers Guild #2)
I should probably start at the beginning, Zed wrote, when...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Button War: A Tale of The Great War
Twelve-year-old Patryk knows little of the world beyond his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Truth Lies Here
 
4.0
"THE TRUTH LIES HERE by Lindsey Klingele is a young adult, sci-fi novel set in Bone Lake, Michigan. This little..."
Scream All Night
 
5.0
"I am NOT a Horror fan. I am a big scaredy cat when it comes to the genre, be it..."
Meet the Sky
 
4.3
"Meet the Sky is an ably-written, well-paced contemporary YA—one which is perhaps best described as a pleasantly stormy beach read...."
A Touch of Gold
 
4.0
"When I read the synopsis for this book I was immediately intrigued. I love retellings and this book seemed right..."
Pretty Dead Girls
 
3.0
""Pretty Dead Girls" was an interesting YA thriller following Penelope (Pen/Penny) in the aftermath of a death of a frenemy,..."
Relic
 
4.0
" “Relic” is a historical paranormal novel about Maggie, a teenaged girl who lives with her brother, sister and parents..."
A Dog in King Arthur’s Court (Cavall in Camelot #1)
 
5.0
"A DOG IN KING ARTHUR'S COURT is told from the point of view of a dog named Cavall. While out..."
Awakening of Fire (Dragon Born, #1)
 
4.0
"Felicia never thought her life could be turned upside down by taking a trip to the mall. But when she's..."
All Summer Long
 
4.0
" Austin and Bina have been inseparable friends since they were in diapers. The summer going into the eighth..."
They Say Blue
 
4.0
"Breathtaking is the only way to describe this book. Intricately detailed, beautifully colored artwork takes the reader through a journey..."
The Gods of Men
 
5.0
"The story: A childhood tragedy forces Sable to flee her home, change her identity, and eke out a meager..."
The Darkest Legacy
 
4.3
"Five years have passed since the 'rehabilitation' camps have been shut down. Suzume 'Zu' is now seventeen years old and..."
The Turnaway Girls
 
3.7
"Delphernia lives in a cloister of turnaway girls on the island of Blightsend, and she's unable to do the one..."
The Looking Glass
 
4.0
"THE LOOKING GLASS by Janet McNally is a young adult novel set in the highly competitive world of aspiring New..."
Twilight of the Elves (The Adventurers Guild #2)
 
5.0
"TWILIGHT OF THE ELVES is the second installment in the Adventurers Guild. With Freestone overpopulated with the elves, tensions are..."
Brightly Burning
 
3.3
"An ambitious work of YA speculative fiction—a post-apocalyptic premise fused with the plot of a beloved classic. I’d like..."
Give Me Some Truth
 
4.3
"Carson Mastick and Magpie "Maggi" Bokoni are two Native American high school students living on a reservation outside of Niagara..."
House of Ash
 
5.0
"I’m just going to go ahead and say it. I LOVED THIS BOOK. I absolutely devoured it from start to..."
Airports, Exes, and Other Things I'm Over
 
4.7
"'Airports, Exes, and Other Things I'm Over' by Shani Petroff captures the angst of romantic hardships and misunderstandings. When eighteen-year-old..."
The Opposite of Innocent
 
5.0
"'The Opposite of Innocent' is yet another fantastic novel-in-verse by the illustrious Sonya Sones. The story will draw readers in..."