Spotlight on Questions I Want To Ask You by Michelle Falkoff, Plus Top 5 Important Things To Know About Consent, Plus Giveaway!

Screen-Shot-2018-05-16-at-9.36.13-AM

Today we're excited to spotlight Question I Want To Ask You by Michelle Falkoff! Read on for more about Michelle and her book, plus guest post & giveaway! 

 

Meet Michelle Falkoff! 

Michelle Falkoff is the author of Playlist for the Dead, Pushing Perfect, and Questions I Want to Ask You. Her fiction and reviews have been published in ZYZZYVA, DoubleTake, and the Harvard Review, among other places. She is a graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop and currently serves as director of communication and legal reasoning at Northwestern University School of Law. Visit her online at www.michellefalkoff.com. 


 
 
 
Meet Questions I Want To Ask You!
 
   

A mystery about family, secrets, and how to move forward when the past keeps pulling you back, perfect for fans of David Arnold and Jeff Zentner.

Patrick “Pack” Walsh may not know where he’s going in life, but he’s happy where he is. Then, on his eighteenth birthday, a letter from his past changes everything.

As Pack begins a journey to uncover the truth about the parents he thought he knew, the family he didn’t know he had, and the future he never realized he wanted, he starts to have a whole different understanding of his life—and where he wants to go from here. 

 
 

Top Five Important Things to Know About Consent:

Here’s the thing: for a lot of us, talking about sex isn’t easy. It can be awkward and uncomfortable and strange; it can feel like a mood-killer; it can be embarrassing. But if sex is going to be worth having, and it’s going to be safe and enjoyable and satisfying for both people involved, it’s worth the risk of discomfort and embarrassment, and chances are talking about it is going to make it better. One of the most important conversations to have up front is about consent, so here are some things I’ve found it’s helpful to think about.

Words matter

I grew up with the slogan “No Means No,” and while it has its problems as a catchphrase, the intentions behind it were good. The idea was that we should listen to what people actually say instead of trying to guess what they mean. I’ve been pleased to see the shift to affirmative consent, with “Yes Means Yes” as a better slogan, but even that isn’t perfect. It’s really it’s all about whatever words work for people in the moment, and ultimately, it’s really all about communication.

Words are great but they’re not everything

I had a lot of fun in my new book, QUESTIONS I WANT TO ASK YOU, making my characters take the concept of affirmative consent literally—it’s become part of their relationship to ask permission for every single thing they want to do, and they’ve managed to make it sexy for them. That said, affirmative consent doesn’t mean there have to be words spoken at every stage of a sexual encounter. It means that the people involved should never have any doubt, at any point, that their partners wants them to proceed. This can include words, sure, and that can be part of what makes the experience pleasurable, but consent can come from other sounds, or touch, or whatever the people involved agree upon. It’s still about communication, whatever form that communication takes.

Consent is not a one-time thing

Anyone involved in a sexual encounter can withdraw consent at any time. Period. There are no exceptions to this. If someone wants to stop, it’s over. And just as with affirmative consent, words aren’t required. If one person stops participating, that can mean they’ve withdrawn consent, and it’s the other person’s responsibility to stop as well and figure out what the lack of participation means. This is true for subsequent encounters as well—just because someone’s said yes one time doesn’t mean yes the next time.

Consent isn’t gendered, either

Another thing I wanted to play around with in my book was flipping the consent script. Often conversations about consent emphasize boys making sure girls have provided consent, but it doesn’t have to go that way, whether in same-sex or opposite-sex relationships. The key is for everyone involved in a sexual encounter to be not just amenable but enthusiastic about it at all stages.

Consent itself is sexy

There aren’t a lot of things hotter than wanting someone who wants you back. I worry sometimes that we spend so much time talking about consent in the context of assault and coercion that we forget that love and sex can be healthy, romantic, good things, experiences we want, under the right circumstances, to encourage. If we don’t talk (and write) about the ways sex can be loving and good, and the ways consent is part of that, then we leave too much space for people to learn about sex from sources that can be damaging and harmful. If we treat sex as something inappropriate to discuss, then we make people afraid to talk about it, and that makes communication difficult, if not impossible. But if we treat it like something wonderful and fun, then talking about it can add to the pleasure, not detract from it. 

 
 
 
 
 

Questions I Want To Ask You

By: Michelle Falkoff

Release Date: May 29, 2018

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 

One winner will receive a copy of Questions I Want To Ask You (US & Canada only).

 
 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*
Rate this blog entry:
Bookstagrammer of the Month: Rebeca of @booknerdbe...
Spotlight on Winter Glass by Lexa Hillyer, Plus Gu...

Related Posts

 

Comments 4

Kara S on Sunday, 03 June 2018 12:51

I am so excited about this books; I think the themes addressed are so important. It sounds like they are dealt with in a compelling way with appropriate depth. So synopsis is awesome, and I like the cover too!

0
I am so excited about this books; I think the themes addressed are so important. It sounds like they are dealt with in a compelling way with appropriate depth. So synopsis is awesome, and I like the cover too!
Marisa Fort on Monday, 04 June 2018 19:11

The cover is breathtaking and the synopsis sounds amazing!

0
The cover is breathtaking and the synopsis sounds amazing!
Danielle Hammelef on Tuesday, 12 June 2018 18:27

The cover has my favorite colors and reminds me of gorgeous sunsets and sunrises. I am a huge fan of Jeff Zentner so this book sounds extra exciting.

0
The cover has my favorite colors and reminds me of gorgeous sunsets and sunrises. I am a huge fan of Jeff Zentner so this book sounds extra exciting.
Penny Olson on Friday, 15 June 2018 20:16

The cover is atmospheric and the story sounds intriguing.

0
The cover is atmospheric and the story sounds intriguing.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

91HIpyhaW9L.jpg
The third book in the New York Times bestselling series...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
One Week of You
For Lizzy Winston, one week will change everything. Fifteen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Legacy (The Biodome Chronicles #1)
She is from the past, locked inside a world...
 
4.0
 
4.6 (3)
Grenade
It's 1945, and the world is in the grip...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Lines We Cross
Michael likes to hang out with his friends and...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Uncharted
Seventeen-year-old Annabeth prefers the fantasy of her books and...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dark Divide
Secrets have a way of coming out. Divided by...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Orphaned (Ape Quartet #4)
Before humans, and before human history, there were the...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Heirs of the Round Table: Reclaiming Camelot
Imagine discovering that your ancestors were part of King Arthur's...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Nix
A visually stunning, middle-grade classic in the making about Wicked...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journey of the Pale Bear
A runaway boy befriends a polar bear that’s being transported...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Camp Valor (Camp Valor #1)
When Wyatt gets framed for a friend’s crime, he thinks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Attack of the Plants: A Branches Book (The Magic School Bus Rides Again)
Next stop...The Magic School Bus heads to the Galapagos to...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Robot Farm (The Magic School Bus Rides Again)
Wanda proudly hosts this year's school harvest feast, but she...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Aphra's Child
Tula is a chimera in a world where chimera are...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One week on an Alaskan cruise, three teens, and an...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Muse of Nightmares
 
5.0
"I honestly didn't think any book could top Strange the Dreamer, it was such a fantastic start to a new..."
Seize Today
 
4.3
"Seize Today is the thrilling conclusion to a fantastic dystopian series. I’ve been a huge fan of this series since..."
Clementine for Christmas
 
5.0
"Josie loves Christmas, especially making memories with her dog Clementine volunteering at the children's hospital. Oscar's parents are always fighting..."
Crossing the Line
 
4.3
"The story: In 1983, high school senior Laura Sherman was gunned down by a jealous classmate, who then turned..."
Orphaned (Ape Quartet #4)
 
4.7
"Snub is a young gorilla living in prehistoric times. She has a family that included Silverback, Brother, Wrinkle and Teased,..."
Wicked Nix
 
5.0
"Wicked Nix is the foulest of the fairies. He's also the protector of the forest and will keep people out..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"JOURNEY OF THE PALE BEAR is an inspiring and heartwarming story about a bear and a boy who develop a..."
Camp Valor (Camp Valor #1)
 
4.7
"Wyatt has a decent life, but when his dad takes off, it dissolves into chaos. His mother doesn't function well,..."
Bittersweet Wreckage
 
4.3
"A intense story of finding hope in the worst circumstances. The Story: Ivy's life has been anything but easy...."
 
4.0
"A cute YA romance! The story: Callie has only had one goal in life - get a college scholarship..."
Grenade
 
4.7
"Hideki is a 13-year-old Okinawan and Ray is a United States Marine. Both are play important roles in the "Love..."
The Attack of the Plants: A Branches Book (The Magic School Bus Rides Again)
 
4.0
"When Ms. Frizzle gets a job as a professor, her sister takes over her class as the new teacher. Arnold..."
Robot Farm (The Magic School Bus Rides Again)
 
4.0
"Wanda is putting together the Fall Fun Feast, but she forgot about the food! When she starts looking into ideas,..."
Soccer School Season 1: Where Soccer Explains (Rules) the World
 
4.3
" "Coaches" Alex and Ben introduce the reader to their school that is all about soccer. Every class, from biology..."
After the Green Withered
 
3.5
"The story: Enora lives in a world run dry, where what little water is left is used as currency and..."
The Homework Strike
 
4.0
"'The Homework Strike' by Greg Pincus is a relevant and worthwhile story about the power of standing up and fighting..."
Knock Knock
 
4.5
"'Knock Knock' by Tammi Sauer, illustrated by Guy Francis, is a cute picture book about a bear getting prepared for..."
The Glass Arrow
 
4.7
"Original Review: http://www.literarychaos.com/ I was really cautious going into this book. I knew from the synopsis that it had..."
The Orphan Queen (The Orphan Queen #1)
 
N/A
"original review at: http://www.literarychaos.com/ In the spirit of honesty, I would never have picked this book up for myself...."
The Wood
 
3.7
"I bought this by impulse. Seeing as this book was primarily a cover-buy, I did not have many expectations..."