Spotlight on Questions I Want To Ask You by Michelle Falkoff, Plus Top 5 Important Things To Know About Consent, Plus Giveaway!

Screen-Shot-2018-05-16-at-9.36.13-AM

Today we're excited to spotlight Question I Want To Ask You by Michelle Falkoff! Read on for more about Michelle and her book, plus guest post & giveaway! 

 

Meet Michelle Falkoff! 

Michelle Falkoff is the author of Playlist for the Dead, Pushing Perfect, and Questions I Want to Ask You. Her fiction and reviews have been published in ZYZZYVA, DoubleTake, and the Harvard Review, among other places. She is a graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop and currently serves as director of communication and legal reasoning at Northwestern University School of Law. Visit her online at www.michellefalkoff.com. 


 
 
 
Meet Questions I Want To Ask You!
 
   

A mystery about family, secrets, and how to move forward when the past keeps pulling you back, perfect for fans of David Arnold and Jeff Zentner.

Patrick “Pack” Walsh may not know where he’s going in life, but he’s happy where he is. Then, on his eighteenth birthday, a letter from his past changes everything.

As Pack begins a journey to uncover the truth about the parents he thought he knew, the family he didn’t know he had, and the future he never realized he wanted, he starts to have a whole different understanding of his life—and where he wants to go from here. 

 
 

Top Five Important Things to Know About Consent:

Here’s the thing: for a lot of us, talking about sex isn’t easy. It can be awkward and uncomfortable and strange; it can feel like a mood-killer; it can be embarrassing. But if sex is going to be worth having, and it’s going to be safe and enjoyable and satisfying for both people involved, it’s worth the risk of discomfort and embarrassment, and chances are talking about it is going to make it better. One of the most important conversations to have up front is about consent, so here are some things I’ve found it’s helpful to think about.

Words matter

I grew up with the slogan “No Means No,” and while it has its problems as a catchphrase, the intentions behind it were good. The idea was that we should listen to what people actually say instead of trying to guess what they mean. I’ve been pleased to see the shift to affirmative consent, with “Yes Means Yes” as a better slogan, but even that isn’t perfect. It’s really it’s all about whatever words work for people in the moment, and ultimately, it’s really all about communication.

Words are great but they’re not everything

I had a lot of fun in my new book, QUESTIONS I WANT TO ASK YOU, making my characters take the concept of affirmative consent literally—it’s become part of their relationship to ask permission for every single thing they want to do, and they’ve managed to make it sexy for them. That said, affirmative consent doesn’t mean there have to be words spoken at every stage of a sexual encounter. It means that the people involved should never have any doubt, at any point, that their partners wants them to proceed. This can include words, sure, and that can be part of what makes the experience pleasurable, but consent can come from other sounds, or touch, or whatever the people involved agree upon. It’s still about communication, whatever form that communication takes.

Consent is not a one-time thing

Anyone involved in a sexual encounter can withdraw consent at any time. Period. There are no exceptions to this. If someone wants to stop, it’s over. And just as with affirmative consent, words aren’t required. If one person stops participating, that can mean they’ve withdrawn consent, and it’s the other person’s responsibility to stop as well and figure out what the lack of participation means. This is true for subsequent encounters as well—just because someone’s said yes one time doesn’t mean yes the next time.

Consent isn’t gendered, either

Another thing I wanted to play around with in my book was flipping the consent script. Often conversations about consent emphasize boys making sure girls have provided consent, but it doesn’t have to go that way, whether in same-sex or opposite-sex relationships. The key is for everyone involved in a sexual encounter to be not just amenable but enthusiastic about it at all stages.

Consent itself is sexy

There aren’t a lot of things hotter than wanting someone who wants you back. I worry sometimes that we spend so much time talking about consent in the context of assault and coercion that we forget that love and sex can be healthy, romantic, good things, experiences we want, under the right circumstances, to encourage. If we don’t talk (and write) about the ways sex can be loving and good, and the ways consent is part of that, then we leave too much space for people to learn about sex from sources that can be damaging and harmful. If we treat sex as something inappropriate to discuss, then we make people afraid to talk about it, and that makes communication difficult, if not impossible. But if we treat it like something wonderful and fun, then talking about it can add to the pleasure, not detract from it. 

 
 
 
 
 

Questions I Want To Ask You

By: Michelle Falkoff

Release Date: May 29, 2018

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 

One winner will receive a copy of Questions I Want To Ask You (US & Canada only).

 
 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*
Rate this blog entry:
Bookstagrammer of the Month: Rebeca of @booknerdbe...
Spotlight on Winter Glass by Lexa Hillyer, Plus Gu...

Related Posts

 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

What the Night Sings
 
5.0
"Gerta Rausch didn’t know she was Jewish until she and her father were taken from their home in the middle..."
The Last First Daughter
 
3.5
"Intriguing and action packed. The Story: The country has been in a silent age for a decade after terrorists..."
Zombie Queen of Newbury High
 
4.3
"This book was probably the best book I have ever read. I loved the end so much I wished there..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"*I was given an e-galley.* Brandy Woods Snow is a wonderfully talented writer and plotter! This story has a..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"Aw yes, transparency. I’m but one of her brutal critique partners and friends. Will this book capture you..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"I COULD NOT STOP READING THIS BOOK! I fell in love with all the characters and secretly plotted the death..."
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
 
5.0
"THE KIDULT HANDBOOK is the perfect book to pull out on a boring day. It is packed with fun activities..."
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
 
4.7
"Insightful, engaging, and downright fun! LEGO hits on all the learning styles in this brilliantly interactive science primer. ..."
Switching Gears
 
3.7
"Lucas Nelson loved Emmy Martin, but he waited until a week before he died of cancer to tell her that...."
Sky in the Deep
 
4.7
"What worked: This is a highly engaging historical tale of a teen warrior who is taken by a rival clan..."
We Are All That's Left
 
5.0
" Zara feels shut off from her Bosnian born mother. She knows that her mother survived some..."
The Fault In Our Stars
 
5.0
"Seriously, is it possible to read this book without crying? Asking for allllllll offffff myyyyyyy friiiiiiiiiends."
Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
 
4.0
"In this story, Chris joins Sunny and Rue for a few friendly rounds of Rabbit Racers. (He’s never played before,..."
Frat Girl
 
4.0
"The writing style is what really stands out in this book-- SO easy to read, conversational, believable character interactions. It..."
Original Syn
 
5.0
"Got an ARC of this one and flew through it. So so good."
What I Leave Behind
 
5.0
"Will’s dad commits suicide. His childhood friend, Playa, is raped at a party. His mom works long over-night shifts as..."
When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel
 
4.5
"'When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel' by G. Neri, illustrated by David Litchfield, is an artistic..."
Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries
 
4.0
"'Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries' by Ammi-Joan Paquette and Laurie Ann Thompson is a fun read, chock..."
Watcher
 
4.3
"The story: Sawyer is an orphaned girl who lives in a world not unlike that of the Terminator movies,..."
Savage Beauty
 
5.0
"SAVAGE BEAUTY is a dark twist on the classic fairytale Sleeping Beauty. Aura and Luna are sisters, but they're the..."