Spotlight on Offsetting Penalties by Ally Matthews, Plus Top 5 YA Sports Romances, & Giveaway!

Spotlight on Offsetting Penalties by Ally Matthews, Plus Top 5 YA Sports Romances, & Giveaway!

Today we're excited to spotlight Offsetting Penalties by Ally Matthews, plus author guest post, and giveaway! 

 

Meet Ally Matthews!

 

Ally lives in Texas and is convinced her house is shrinking, possibly because she shares it with three kids, four dogs, two cats, a rabbit, and assorted reptiles. Oh, and her husband. She likes to curse in Russian because very few people know what she's saying, and spends most of what would be her spare time letting dogs in and out of the house and shuttling kids around. She has many stories in her head waiting for the opportunity to escape onto paper. 

When she’s not writing, you can find her reading or binge watching Psych, Scream, Younger, and superhero movies. She loves to cook but hates to clean up afterwards, and strongly believes that Disney World is truly magical. You can find Ally on her website ,Facebook , and Twitter , though she makes no claims of using any of them properly.

 
 

Meet Offsetting Penalties!

 
Isabelle Oster has dreamed of being a prima ballerina her entire life, so when the only male dancer backs out of the fall production, she’s devastated. Without a partner, she has no hope of earning a spot with the prestigious Ballet Americana company. Until hot jock Garret practicing stretches in one of the studios gives Izzy an idea, and she whips out her phone. But does she really want this badly enough to resort to blackmail?

All-state tight end Garret Mitchell will do anything to get a college football scholarship. Even taking ballet, which surprisingly isn’t so bad, because it means he gets to be up close and personal with the gorgeous Goth girl Izzy while learning moves to increase his flexibility. But Izzy needs him to perform with her for the Ballet Americana spot, and he draws the line at getting on stage. Especially wearing tights. 
  • Top 5 YA Sports Romances

    I thought my choice of subject, The Top 5 YA Sports Romances, would be a fun and easy topic to prepare, but I quickly discovered that we are in desperate need of more YA authors to write sports romances. Sports Romances that actually include both sports and romance in them, since many seem to skip one or the other of those rather important qualifications.There are literally tons of NA and adult sports romances that are quite popular, so I don’t understand why there are so few in YA, especially since high school is usually the time in the life of most people when they are most likely to play a sport.

    Rest assured that my recent YA debut, Offsetting Penalties, features both a football player and a ballerina, so it meets the rather lax requirements I created for this list. I also need to caution you that I decided to include ballet as a sport for purposes of this post. Agruing about whether ballet is a sport or an art is a subject for another day.

    I’ve read all five of the books on my list, and I promise they’re all worthy. In no particular order, they are:

    Until Friday Night by Abbi Glines

    This is the story of West Ashby and Maggie Carlton. West’s dad is a former pro football player who is dying of cancer, and Maggie has moved to town to live with her aunt and uncle after her father murdered her mother. So no, this is not a light and fluffy story, but it’s full of emotion, and football is what holds everything together. There are two other books in the series so far, but this is my favorite of the three.

    Whatever Life Throws at You by Julie Cross

    What I love best about this book is that both of the main characters are athletes. Serious athletes who have promising futures in their chosen sports. Annie Lucas is a high school track star, and Jason Brody is a nineteen-year-old rookie pitcher for the Kanasas City Royals, the team where her father was recently hired as the pitching coach. Since Jason is completely off limits to Annie, of course they end up secretly dating, but when her father finds out, he orders her to end all contact with him.

    Catching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally

    This is another book where both of the main characters are athletes and the balance between football and romance was well done. How can you go wrong with a romance where a girl is the quarterback and captain of the football team? Well, you’ll have to read the book to find out, because there’s a new boy in town, and he wants to nab the starting quarterback position. I also feel obligated to mention, for those of you who hate them, that this book has a love triangle.

    Tiny Pretty Things by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton

    This is the book that I arbitrarily decided to call a sports romance even though it’s about ballet dancers. Just go with it, please. At the very least, you have to admit that ballet requires tremendous athleticism. This book is set in a prestigious ballet school where three girls are vying to win the leading role. Make no mistake, these girls are talented, dedicated, manipulative, and willing to risk everything to win.

    The story does border on the melodramatic at times, but you can consider this book a guilty pleasure read if it helps.

     

     

    Dairy Queen by Catherine Gilbert Murdock

    Fifteen year old D.J. Schwenk lives in rural Wisconsin, and she’s had to take over the bulk of the chores on her family’s dairy farm since her dad broke his hip and her older brothers both left to attend college by way of football scholarships. When D.J. decides to try out for her high school football team, she becomes the talk of the town, which is a very uncomfortable position for a girl who doesn’t usually talk all that much.

    What books would you add to this list? Please tell me there are more sports romances that I’ve somehow missed. 

     

     

Offsetting Penalties

By: Ally Matthews

Release Date: November 6, 2017

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive an Offsetting Penalties swag pack + $5 Amazon gift card. (International). 

 
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Rate this blog entry:
YABC's Around the World in 30 Days with Bethany Wi...
YABC's Around the World in 30 Days with K.R. Conwa...

Related Posts

 

Comments 2

Emily on Tuesday, 28 November 2017 21:11

This sounds sweet and it’s co pared you Dairy Queen and I love that book.

0
This sounds sweet and it’s co pared you Dairy Queen and I love that book.
Amie Lambert-Gaudet on Wednesday, 06 December 2017 22:36

Cute cover. Great synopsis.

0
Cute cover. Great synopsis.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Words on Bathroom Walls
Adam has just been diagnosed with schizophrenia. He sees...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."
When Dimple Met Rishi
 
3.3
"A contemporary YA romance—heavy on the romance—with an Indian-American take on the attraction of opposites. The story is told..."
Stray
 
3.8
"'Stray' by Joni Johnson has an interesting premise. When Lila finds out that her father is about to kick her..."
The Digger and the Flower
 
4.5
"'The Digger and the Flower' by Joseph Kuefler shows the power of goodness when everything else seems to be overtaking..."
It's Not Me, It's You
 
3.7
"'It's Not Me, It's You' by Stephanie Kate Strohm provides a unique and somewhat irregular look into the dynamics of..."