Spotlight on Echoes by Alice Reeds, Plus Excerpt & Giveaway!

Screen-Shot-2018-08-08-at-6.26.48-AM

Today we're excited to spotlight Echoes by Alice Reeds! Read on for more about Alice and her book, plus an excerpt & giveaway! 

 

Meet Alice Reeds! 

Alice Reeds was born in a small town in Germany but spent her first eight years in Florida, USA. Later on, she moved back to Europe, where her family moved around a lot. She was raised trilingual and has a basic understanding of Russian, read and spoken. After getting her International Baccalaureate Diploma, Alice is studying English Language and Literature at University. In her free time Alice mostly writes, reads, figure and/or roller skates, or watches countless let's plays and figure skating videos. 

 
 
Meet Echoes!
 

They wake on a deserted island. Fiona and Miles, high school enemies now stranded together. No memory of how they got there. No plan to follow, no hope to hold on to.

Each step forward reveals the mystery behind the forces that brought them here. And soon, the most chilling discovery: something else is on the island with them.

Something that won't let them leave alive.

Echoes is a thrilling adventure about confronting the impossible, discovering love in the most unexpected places, and, above all, finding hope in the face of the unknown. 


 
Excerpt
“Come on, you’re the one with the bad-girl reputation, this amazing and brave fighter you supposedly are, something title here and something trophy there—or was all of that just made up?”

I resisted the urge to kick him. Who did he think he was? I’d fought for those awards, very much literally, and I surely wasn’t going to let some rich, snobby asshole question my achievements.

“One more word and I’ll throw you in the ocean,” I threatened, my voice the closest thing to cold I could muster.

“You’re awfully stubborn. Has anyone ever told you that?” I smirked. “Says the donkey.”

Even as I argued, I knew I’d lost. He wasn’t in any shape to do anything. He probably couldn’t even make it to the edge of the jungle, even if he crawled, let alone wander through it for possibly hours.

Hours of wandering alone...

But what choice did I have?

“Fine,” I conceded. “I’ll go, and you get in the fuselage.

Stay out of the sun.”

I tried to help him, but he shrugged me off. To his credit, he got to his feet and made it to our broken half of the plane with me just following. Good, he wasn’t totally helpless.

Once he was sitting inside, I turned toward the jungle.

Cracked my neck. Quietly sighed.

I so didn’t sign up for any of this.

“Just do it,” he said. “The quicker you go, the sooner you’ll find the pilot, radio for help, and we’ll be out of here. I’ll be fine.” Groan. “Just get it done.”

Gut punch.

He sounded straight up like my father—the sort of person who never really cared about fears or why something frightened me. No. According to him, I was simply supposed to do it and that would teach me that there was no reason for me to be afraid, because obviously that was a much better way to go about these things than taking two minutes to talk to me and tell me that it would be okay.

No, that was Mom’s job. Dad pushed me. Mom consoled me.

Push. Pull. Rinse. Repeat.

Miles was right, though. I had to go in there. I had to pull myself together. It was just trees. Walls of giant plants, hot and dank and teeming with danger and death and horrors I didn’t want to imagine. I shivered. I needed a dis- traction. Something to focus on. Something. Anything else.

Normally, I’d focus on my opponent, whoever was in front of me in the ring. But here? Miles. I could focus on how much I hated him. How much I hated that he was right. Yeah, that was better. 

 

 
 
 
 

Echoes

By: Alice Reeds

Release Date: August 7, 2018

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

Two winners will each receive a copy of Echoes (US only).

 
 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*
Rate this blog entry:
Featured Review: Torrent by Megan Linski!
Waiting On Wednesday ~ August 8th, 2018

Related Posts

 

Comments 11

Dianna G. on Saturday, 11 August 2018 09:11

Well, this one sounds creepy as all get out!
The cover didn't give me chills, though.

0
Well, this one sounds creepy as all get out! The cover didn't give me chills, though.
Marisa Fort on Sunday, 12 August 2018 16:45

The cover is awesome and the synopsis sounds amazing!

0
The cover is awesome and the synopsis sounds amazing!
Janell Goode on Monday, 13 August 2018 12:03

love the cover and the synopsis

0
love the cover and the synopsis
Shannon Mizikoski on Monday, 13 August 2018 21:02

I think the cover is super pretty! And the synopsis sounds awesome and mysterious- and I have heard great things about the book already!

0
I think the cover is super pretty! And the synopsis sounds awesome and mysterious- and I have heard great things about the book already!
Candice Gigous on Friday, 17 August 2018 08:38

The cover is dark and mysterious. The synopsis is very interesting. Sounds like a thrilling read.

0
The cover is dark and mysterious. The synopsis is very interesting. Sounds like a thrilling read.
Danielle Hammelef on Saturday, 01 September 2018 16:11

The cover is brilliant and matches this mysterious and exciting synopsis.

0
The cover is brilliant and matches this mysterious and exciting synopsis.
Renee Moore on Saturday, 01 September 2018 16:59

Looks and sounds intriguing!

0
Looks and sounds intriguing!
Dan Denman on Sunday, 02 September 2018 13:49

I like the design of the book cover. This sounds like an interesting and exciting story of survival.

0
I like the design of the book cover. This sounds like an interesting and exciting story of survival.
Penny Olson on Tuesday, 04 September 2018 23:34

The cover and story are spooky and chilling.

0
The cover and story are spooky and chilling.
Erin Nation on Wednesday, 05 September 2018 16:46

Looks and sounds very interesting.

0
Looks and sounds very interesting.
John on Saturday, 08 September 2018 15:21

"What do you think about the cover and the synopsis?" The cover looks haunting! I am intrigued by the characters' situation!

0
"What do you think about the cover and the synopsis?" The cover looks haunting! I am intrigued by the characters' situation!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ghoulia
Ghoulia lives in Crumbling Manor with her Auntie Departed and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
In the vein of Eloise, Olivia, and Fancy Nancy, Carmen...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, Life, and the List
Seventeen-year-old Abby Turner’s summer isn’t going the way she’d planned....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
Arkansas, 1984: The town of Griffin Flat is known for...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
Discover how science, nature and history connect in this fast-paced,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
When the speediest family in the world finds a sweet,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Little Golden Book About the Solar System
Little Golden Books introduces your young reader to the solar...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enlightenment by Reno Ursal
When Dorothy Dizon meets the mysterious Adrian Rosario and his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
My name is Barry Allen. You probably know me as...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
When Lady Katherine's father is killed for being an illegally...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blood Spell
Blue de la Cour has her life planned: hide the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ogre Enchanted
In this prequel to Ella Enchanted, which can stand on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Home and Away
Tasia Quirk is young, Black, and fabulous. She's a senior,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mirage
In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dactyl Hill Squad
It's 1863 and dinosaurs roam the streets of New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
 
5.0
"Hilde is at it again to get a factual story for the newspaper. This time, it's a mysterious flash of..."
Ghoulia
 
4.0
"To Ghoulia, she's just the average girl. To us, she's something completely different: a zombie. Ghoulia's aunt wants her to..."
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
 
3.5
"Lights Camera Carmen is a quick-to-read tale of a zealous and outspoken kid destined to make it big. ..."
Going Wild #3: Clash of Beasts
 
4.0
" Charlie, Mac, and Maria are back, having defeated Dr. Gray's army in Predator Vs. Prey. Kelly and Miko, however,..."
Gamer Army
 
4.0
"In a futuristic society where almost everything has gone online, Rogan spends a lot of his time playing the game..."
Love, Life, and the List
 
4.3
"Abby's goal in life is to become a serious artist. Her hope is to get into a special art camp...."
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
 
3.0
"It's 1984 and Laura Ratliff is a high school student with issues beyond a typical sixteen-year-old. Her mom and her..."
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
 
5.0
"ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING includes factual information on our world history. It's divided by time periods and eras of importance. This book..."
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
 
5.0
"Amy's family rushes for everything. "They walked fast, drove fast, shopped fast, and ate fast." This upsets Amy because there..."
My Little Golden Book About the Solar System
 
5.0
"My Little Golden Book About the Solar System is the perfect way to introduce the planets. The pictures are vibrant..."
Beyond a Darkened Shore
 
4.7
"Top 4 Reasons to Grab BEYOND A DARKENED SHORE immediately: 1.) Historical fantasy worldbuilding: My biggest genre weakness..."
Onyx and Ivory
 
4.0
"Top 5 Reasons to Read Onyx and Ivory: 1.) The magic: Kate lives in a world where there are..."
Soccer School Season 2: Where Soccer Explains (Saves) the World
 
4.3
"In this second Soccer School book, the first chapter is about pee rather than poop (as the first book was)!..."
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
 
5.0
"THE FLASH: THE SECRET FILES OF BARRY ALLEN is the perfect guide for the Flash tv show. The layout of..."
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
 
4.0
"AN ASSASSIN’S GUIDE TO LOVE & TREASON by Virginia Boecker is such a breath of fresh air. It’s a YA..."
Giant Days
 
4.7
"Susan, Daisy and Esther are very different women, but they become fast friends after meeting on their college dorm floor...."
Holes
 
5.0
"Important message. Unique perspective."
The Namarielle (Chronicles of Lashai Book 1)
 
5.0
"The Namarielle is the perfect addition to any fantasy novel collection. The world is so well imagined in the little..."
The Blood Spell
 
5.0
"Blue de la Cour enjoys her quiet life with her father, passing the days by working in the shop and..."
 
5.0
"The Channeler is the first book in a new YA fantasy series written by William H. Kline IV. Tommy,..."