Spotlight on Dolphins: Voices in the Ocean by Susan Casey, Plus Top 5 Amazing Facts About Dolphins & a Giveaway!

Screen-Shot-2018-02-08-at-8.48.23-AM

Today we're excited to spotlight Dolphins: Voices in the Ocean by Susan Casey! Read on for more about Susan and her book, plus the top 5 amazing facts about dolphins, and a giveaway! 

 

Meet Susan Casey!

 
Susan Casey is the author of the New York Times bestseller Voices in the Ocean: A Journey into the Wild and Haunting World of DolphinsThe Devil’s Teeth: A True Story of Obsession and Survival Among America’s Great White Sharks; and The Wave: In Pursuit of the Rogues, Freaks, and Giants of the Ocean, and is a National Magazine Award-winning journalist. Susan Casey lives in Maui. Visit her online at susancasey.com and follow her on Facebook and Instagram.
 
 
 
Meet Dolphins: Voices in the Ocean!
 
 

Based on Susan Casey’s bestselling adult work Voices in the Ocean: A Journey into the Wild and Haunting World of Dolphins, this young readers adaptation, which includes an 8-page photo insert, explores the extraordinary world of dolphins in an interesting and accessible format that engages as well as entertains. Inspired by an encounter with a pod of spinner dolphins off the coast of Maui, author Susan Casey embarked on a two-year global adventure to study these remarkable beings. Casey details the extraordinary connection between dolphins and humans, including shared characteristics such as capacity for emotion, playfulness, sociability, and intelligence, the sophisticated navigation ability innate in dolphins, and the dangers they face from people who aim to profit by putting them in captivity or far worse.DOLPHINS: VOICES IN THE OCEAN is perfect for middle grade readers interested in science, dolphins, STEM, and sea life.

 

Top 5 Amazing Facts About Dolphins

 

1.) Dolphins call themselves by name

Each dolphin has his own signature whistle, which he uses to identify himself. In an experiment, scientists also learned that if a dolphin whistles another dolphin’s name, that dolphin responds—in the same way we would if someone were calling to us. This raises interesting questions about how dolphins communicate, because it seems unlikely they’d have names for themselves, but not for anything else around them. Researcher Denise Herzing, of the Wild Dolphin Project has been working with a pod of dolphins on the Bahama Banks, trying to decode their mysterious language. Someday we may know more about what they are saying to one another.

 

2.)  The Dolphin Brain is Like Our Brain—And Completely Different, Too

Like the human brain, the dolphin brain has two hemispheres, and is large and complex. Unlike humans, however, the dolphins are able to operate both sides of their brains independently. For instance, when dolphins sleep, they don’t completely nod off, the way we do. They simply switch off one side of their brain to rest, while the other side stays awake and alert. The reason for that is because, as air- breathing mammals who live underwater, they are voluntary breathers: each breath they take is a conscious choice. If they’re knocked out or become unconscious underwater, they will drown. We humans, on the other hand, breathe involuntarily. Even when we’re unconscious, our bodies keep taking in air.

The dolphin brain also contains a mysterious extra lobe in the limbic system, the area that governs emotion. It is a large, elaborate structure, which leads scientists to believe that dolphins process their emotions in highly sophisticated ways. And here is another big difference between their brain and ours: the modern dolphin brain is about 35 million years old, while the modern human brain is only about 200,000 years old.

 

3.) Dolphins Form Strong Friendships that Can Last for Decades

Like us, dolphins form intense, long-term relationships with others and maintain them over time, even when separated for extended periods. Scientist Jason Bruck proved that dolphins recognize their friends’ signature whistles even after twenty years apart. Their bonds are so strong that when dolphins are in trouble they will not leave one another even if it costs them their lives. And when dolphins do lose a loved one, they behave in ways that suggest deep grief.

 

4.) Dolphins Navigate the Ocean by Relying on Sound

Dolphins use echolocation, or biological sonar, as their main sense underwater. They have good eyesight as well, but in the depths of the oceans, and when they’re hunting at night, they obviously can’t rely on their vision. To use their sonar, dolphins generate ultrasonic clicks using structures in their nasal passages (near their blowhole); a fat-filled sac in their foreheads called a melon focuses the sound. When the clicks hit an object the dolphins receive the echoes back through their lower jaws, which are also lined with fatty liquids. From the jaws, the acoustic feedback is transmitted up to their ears and into their

brain, where it’s then interpreted by their other senses, such as vision. Using this amazing sense, dolphins can detect the finest details about their surroundings. During one experiment, scientists blindfolded dolphins and watched them swim through a maze to locate a scrap of fish. In another test, the blindfolded dolphins were able to tell the difference between a sheet of copper and a sheet of aluminum, even at a distance. Even the most sophisticated manmade sonar systems are nowhere near as accurate and powerful as the dolphins’ biological sonar.

 

5.) Dolphins Love to Surf

It’s common to see an entire pod hovering at the edge of a surf break—just like surfers on their boards—waiting for waves. They’ll ride a wave altogether, and then peel off at the end, just like we do. As far as scientists can tell, the dolphins do this purely for fun! 

 
 
 
 

Dolphins: Voices in the Ocean

By: Susan Casey

Release Date: January 23, 2018

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 

Three winners will receive a copy of Dolphins: Voices in the Ocean (US only).  

 
 
 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*
a Rafflecopter giveaway
Rate this blog entry:
Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Interview & Giveawa...
Featured Review: The Rise of the Dawnstar by Farah...

Related Posts

 

Comments 4

Marisa Fort on Thursday, 15 February 2018 01:49

Love the cover, dolphins are so beautiful! I can't wait to read this book with my son.

0
Love the cover, dolphins are so beautiful! I can't wait to read this book with my son.
Penny Olson on Monday, 05 March 2018 00:03

I love the vivid dolphins on the cover. My daughter and I would both like to learn more about dolphins.

0
I love the vivid dolphins on the cover. My daughter and I would both like to learn more about dolphins.
Dan Denman on Tuesday, 06 March 2018 13:29

The book cover is beautiful. This sounds like an informative and fun story.

0
The book cover is beautiful. This sounds like an informative and fun story.
Danielle Hammelef on Tuesday, 06 March 2018 15:36

The cover is stunning. I love dolphins so this sounds like a fun book to read.

0
The cover is stunning. I love dolphins so this sounds like a fun book to read.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

What the Night Sings
 
5.0
"Gerta Rausch didn’t know she was Jewish until she and her father were taken from their home in the middle..."
The Last First Daughter
 
3.5
"Intriguing and action packed. The Story: The country has been in a silent age for a decade after terrorists..."
Zombie Queen of Newbury High
 
4.3
"This book was probably the best book I have ever read. I loved the end so much I wished there..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"*I was given an e-galley.* Brandy Woods Snow is a wonderfully talented writer and plotter! This story has a..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"Aw yes, transparency. I’m but one of her brutal critique partners and friends. Will this book capture you..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"I COULD NOT STOP READING THIS BOOK! I fell in love with all the characters and secretly plotted the death..."
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
 
5.0
"THE KIDULT HANDBOOK is the perfect book to pull out on a boring day. It is packed with fun activities..."
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
 
4.7
"Insightful, engaging, and downright fun! LEGO hits on all the learning styles in this brilliantly interactive science primer. ..."
Switching Gears
 
3.7
"Lucas Nelson loved Emmy Martin, but he waited until a week before he died of cancer to tell her that...."
Sky in the Deep
 
4.7
"What worked: This is a highly engaging historical tale of a teen warrior who is taken by a rival clan..."
We Are All That's Left
 
5.0
" Zara feels shut off from her Bosnian born mother. She knows that her mother survived some..."
The Fault In Our Stars
 
5.0
"Seriously, is it possible to read this book without crying? Asking for allllllll offffff myyyyyyy friiiiiiiiiends."
Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
 
4.0
"In this story, Chris joins Sunny and Rue for a few friendly rounds of Rabbit Racers. (He’s never played before,..."
Frat Girl
 
4.0
"The writing style is what really stands out in this book-- SO easy to read, conversational, believable character interactions. It..."
Original Syn
 
5.0
"Got an ARC of this one and flew through it. So so good."
What I Leave Behind
 
5.0
"Will’s dad commits suicide. His childhood friend, Playa, is raped at a party. His mom works long over-night shifts as..."
When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel
 
4.5
"'When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel' by G. Neri, illustrated by David Litchfield, is an artistic..."
Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries
 
4.0
"'Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries' by Ammi-Joan Paquette and Laurie Ann Thompson is a fun read, chock..."
Watcher
 
4.3
"The story: Sawyer is an orphaned girl who lives in a world not unlike that of the Terminator movies,..."
Savage Beauty
 
5.0
"SAVAGE BEAUTY is a dark twist on the classic fairytale Sleeping Beauty. Aura and Luna are sisters, but they're the..."