The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Rootless Blog Tour: Review and International Giveaway!

Posted by on in Giveaways
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 4048
  • 39 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

For Day 4 of the ROOTLESS Blog Tour, I give you my review of ROOTLESS:

I didn't know what to expect when I first cracked open ROOTLESS. I knew a few things about the book - that it was about a young nomad, Banyan, who lives in a post-apocalyptic world where nothing can grow except genetically-modified corn, and to maintain some semblance of the "old world," Banyan builds trees out of scrap for those willing to pay the right price. I also knew that Banyan's particular love story starts out with his love interest shooting him in the arm with a nail gun. 

It sounded like my kind of crazy. 

I normally leave the reviewing up to the other YABC staff reviewers, since I'm usually too busy managing YABC from behind the scenes, but after a few pages of ROOTLESS, I wasn't about to let this one out of my hands. 

Howard plunges the reader into Banyan's world from page one - no lengthy backstory, no council meetings catching us up to speed. Banyan's story moves at a rapid pace, and I was sucked in immediately. Turn after turn, twist after twist, we follow Banyan on a psychedelic journey across an American landscape we hardly recognize. Without trees to clean the air, people find it hard to breathe and some suffer from damaged lungs. Without roots to hold the soil in place, the coasts have eroded away into surging seas. And did I mention there were man-eating locusts plaguing the GMO cornfields of what was once the Midwest? 

ROOTLESS is one intoxicating, crazy thrill ride. Although I did see a few minor twists coming regarding characters, I never knew where Banyan's journey would lead him next. Howard has created a trippy, freak show of a world, and I mean that in the best possible way. After the ending (which I never once saw coming), I couldn't stop talking about Banyan's story for days. ROOTLESS is a book that sinks its hooks into your brain and won't let go. It demands to be read.

 

Good Points
Fully fleshed-out characters, strong cultural diversity, and a non-preachy environmental message that will resonate with every human. I'm just so in love with this book, and cannot wait for the next in the series.
 
For those who like a bit of romance in your YA, ROOTLESS has a satisfying amount, although it's not the main focus of the story. Banyan and Alpha share a uniquely respectful relationship that I haven't found too often in YA books. Banyan is a unique character as well -- he has a deep respect for all women and regards them as equals in every way. As a woman, I really appreciated this addition of Howard's. We need more YA boys like Banyan!

This book is rated for ages 14 and up. There's a little bit of everything: drugs, sex, and rock and roll. But it's a great combination for most teens (and adults!).
 
 
Bad Points
Only one teensy niggle for me: There were times I needed a bit more description during some of the action scenes to fully understand what went down, but that could just be my personal reading style, because I struggle with visualizing action in most fantasy books, if the world isn't like our own. If you don't have a problem with that, then this book should be a solid 5 stars for you!


rootless giveaway PIC

rootless T shirts

1 international winner will receive a signed copy of ROOTLESS, signed bookmarks, and a limited edition ROOTLESS t-shirt! Fill out the form below to enter. 


a Rafflecopter giveaway

 
 

Check back each day for a new stop on the tour! Each blog has exclusive content for your reading pleaure. Check out this rad blog lineup:

Monday Oct 29 - Tour Kickoff at YABooksCentral.com/blog - Q&A with Chris Howard, author of ROOTLESS

Tuesday Oct 30 - VLOG from Chris at BookNerd.ca - The Inspiration Behind ROOTLESS

Wednesday Oct 31 - Q&A with Laura Rennert, Chris's agent at RamblingsofaWannabeScribe.blogspot.com

Thursday Nov 1 - Release Day Book Review at YABooksCentral.com/blog

Friday Nov 2 - How Do You Write? (An Interview with Chris) at BookandLatte.com

Saturday Nov 3 - The World of ROOTLESS at YAHighway.com

Sunday Nov 4 - Q&A with Mallory Kass (Chris's Editor at Scholastic) at CynthiaLeitichSmith.blogspot.com

Monday Nov 5 - VLOG from Chris at PageTurnersBlog.com - Chris's Thoughts about Release Day

Tuesday Nov 6 - Q&A with Phil Falco (ROOTLESS's book designer) at NovelNovice.com

Wednesday Nov 7 - Character Interview with Crow BookLove101.com

Thursday Nov 8 - Q&A with Nick Podehl (ROOTLESS's audio book narrator) at TheBookCellarX.blogspot.com

Friday Nov 9 - The Science of ROOTLESS at LiteraryRambles.com

Saturday Nov 10 - The Music of ROOTLESS at ReadingTeen.net (plus an exclusive song download, recorded by Chris!)

Sunday Nov 11 - Final Reader Q&A at YABooksCentral.com/blog - Chris answers the questions YOU submitted during the tour!

 

 

 

 

Rate this blog entry:

Comments

  • Natalie Aguirre
    Natalie Aguirre Thursday, 01 November 2012

    Sounds like a great book. So excited to be a part of Chris' blog tour.

  • Lauren Giova Dixon
    Lauren Giova Dixon Friday, 02 November 2012

    Sounds like my kind of crazy too!

  • Lauren Giova Dixon
    Lauren Giova Dixon Friday, 02 November 2012

    Chris, are you a big fan of post-apocalyptic books? If so, which one is your favorite?

  • Margaly
    Margaly Friday, 02 November 2012

    This book sounds awesome. What's the hardest part about writing a post-apocalyptic/dystopian novel?

  • Jennifer Howard McCoy
    Jennifer Howard McCoy Friday, 02 November 2012

    Would you be able to survive in a post-apocalyptic world??

  • YABC
    YABC Friday, 02 November 2012

    Chris what is your favorite book?

  • Jason Gallaher, Editor
    Jason Gallaher, Editor Friday, 02 November 2012

    Where did you get the idea for this book?

  • Jonathan
    Jonathan Saturday, 03 November 2012

    Will there be a sequel?

  • Casog
    Casog Saturday, 03 November 2012

    Was it hard writing this book?

  • Amy Quinn
    Amy Quinn Sunday, 04 November 2012

    Do you like Nirvana? I can't help but think of the lyrics to 'Breed', "...We can build a tree..."

  • Brandi
    Brandi Sunday, 04 November 2012

    What would you tell your teen self?

  • Sam
    Sam Monday, 05 November 2012

    Have you ever been to a creative writing workshop?

  • YABC
    YABC Monday, 05 November 2012

    Hi Chris!

    How did you get the idea of "metal trees"? Have you been watching the Lorax? ;)

  • Ashley
    Ashley Monday, 05 November 2012

    How did you become interested in writing books?

  • Holly
    Holly Monday, 05 November 2012

    What is the thing you miss the most about the UK?

  • Christina Kitroeff
    Christina Kitroeff Tuesday, 06 November 2012

    Christina K. in the rafflecopter

    If you were to have a tree built, which one would you choose?

    Thank you:)

  • Stéphanie
    Stéphanie Tuesday, 06 November 2012

    How important is helping the environmental to you?

  • Margie Cortina
    Margie Cortina Wednesday, 07 November 2012

    What inspired you to write a dystopian story?

  • YABC
    YABC Wednesday, 07 November 2012

    What was your initial thought when you saw your cover for the first time?

  • Roxane Diaz
    Roxane Diaz Wednesday, 07 November 2012

    What was the hardest part about writing this story?

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Friday, 19 December 2014

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)