Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Interview, & Giveaway: The Hearts We Sold (Emily Lloyd-Jones)

Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Interview, & Giveaway: The Hearts We Sold (Emily Lloyd-Jones)
Hello! Today YABC is hosting the blog tour stop for Emily Lloyd-Jones's The Hearts We Sold!
 
Read on for more about Emily, an interview and a tour-wide giveaway! 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Meet Emily Lloyd-Jones!
 

Emily Lloyd-Jones grew up on a vineyard in rural Oregon, where she played in evergreen forests and learned to fear sheep. After graduating from Western Oregon University with an English degree, she enrolled in the publishing program at Rosemont College just outside of Philadelphia. She currently resides in Northern California, working in a bookstore by day and writing by night. Illusive is her debut novel.

 

 

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads

 

 

 

 

Meet The Hearts We Sold!

When Dee Moreno makes a deal with a demon—her heart in exchange for an escape from a disastrous home life—she finds the trade may have been more than she bargained for. And becoming “heartless” is only the beginning. What lies ahead is a nightmare far bigger, far more monstrous than anything she could have ever imagined.


With reality turned on its head, Dee has only a group of other deal-making teens to keep her grounded, including the charming but secretive James Lancer. And as something grows between them amid an otherworldy ordeal, Dee begins to wonder: Can she give someone her heart when it’s no longer hers to give?

In THE HEARTS WE SOLD, author Lloyd-Jones returns with a complex, thought-provoking Faustian tale for the modern age that will capture your heart. With horror elements and fantasy elements set in a recognizable, semirealistic world, THE HEARTS WE SOLD is a great fit for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Holly Black. The book also

features a diverse breadth of topics, ranging from sexuality, transgender transitions, race, and familial abuse.

 

 Amazon | B&N | iBooks | TBD | Goodreads

 

 

 

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

I’m infamously bad at titling things. Mine usually consist of bad puns of some sort. In this book’s case, the working title was THAT HEART BOOK until I came up with something I actually liked.

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

There are a few scenes I love in this book but probably my favorite is when Dee, the main character, loses her heart. It’s a very emotional scene; Dee has to stare down the dangers she might face and decide if she truly wants to venture into that unknown. That scene also introduces one of my favorite characters, and there’s some delicious banter.

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

That no book is going to be perfect—and that’s all right. I’m always striving to create the best story I can, and every book turns out to be a little different than I envisioned. But that’s okay. Art can be a little messy and still be beautiful.

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

That title font! It’s so gorgeous. I love the embroidered look of it.

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2017-2018?

Gah. I’m supposed to choose just one? How about three? THE CRUEL PRINCE by Holly Black, YOU DON’T KNOW ME BUT I KNOW YOU by Rebecca Barrow, and THE BELLES by Dhonielle Clayton.

 

YABC:   What’s up next for you?

With any luck, more writing!

 

YABC:   Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Fun fact—there were originally two male side characters. But one of them seemed more interesting than the other, while the other one had necessary plot skills. I was stumped… until I mashed them into one character. Voila! The character problems were solved! And as an inside joke, I ended up combining their names, as well.

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

When I’m drafting, my answer would be “revising.” When I’m revising, my answer would be “drafting.” Distance makes the heart grow fonder, right? But seriously, I enjoy both for different reasons. Drafting is often where the magic happens—where the ideas run wild and scamper all over the pages. But revising is where the ideas are strengthened so they can stand on their own.

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

To remember utterly useless facts with perfect recall, yet forget the name of a person I’ve met at least ten times.

 

YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

I’m a cat lover, and I’ve always loved supporting shelters or organizations that help animals. The Cat Town Café in Oakland, California, is a wonderful organization that helps cats find homes. Also, you can sip coffee and play with cats! (http://www.cattownoakland.org/cat-town-cafe/)

 

 

 

 

 

The Hearts We Sold

By: Emily Lloyd-Jones

Publishing Date: August 8th, 2017 

Publisher: Little, Brown Books For Young Readers

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 Three winners will receive a copy of The Hearts We Sold (Emily Lloyd-Jones) US Only

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

 

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

8/7/2017- Owl Always Be ReadingExcerpt

8/8/2017- When Books Defy GravityReview

8/9/2017- YA Books CentralInterview

8/10/2017- Take Me Away To A Great ReadReview

8/11/2017- Angelic Book ReviewsInterview

Week Two:

8/14/2017- The Layaway DragonReview

8/15/2017- Two Chicks on BooksGuest Post

8/16/2017- Book BriefsReview

8/17/2017- Adventures of a Book JunkieInterview

8/18/2017- Stories & SweetiesReview

 

 

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
Author Chat with Chandler Baker (This is Not the E...
Featured Review: The Disappearances (Emily Bain Mu...

Related Posts

 

Comments 1

Kristy Petree on Wednesday, 09 August 2017 14:01

This sounds an amazing and very cool read. Thanks for the chance! From, a fellow cat lover.

0
This sounds an amazing and very cool read. Thanks for the chance! From, a fellow cat lover. :)

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Growing Friendships: A Kids' Guide to Making and Keeping Friends
From psychologist and children's friendships expert Eileen Kennedy-Moore and parenting...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sword and Scion 01: Into the Dark Mountains
How lost one feels when his own character remains a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Pirates of Brisa (Wyrms of Pasandir #2)
When young Eskandar leaves his ship with the tough broomrider...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Building a Trade Empire (Wyrms of Pasandir #4)
Trade had been Shaw’s life, her dream, her future –...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journeys: Young Readers’ Letters to Authors Who Changed Their Lives
Books can change lives — and here are more than...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Moonlight Meeting: The Nocturnals
In The Moonlight Meeting, Tobin, a sweet pangolin, Bismark, a...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hidden Kingdom: The Nocturnals Book 4
A group of veiled creatures--a chameleon, stick bugs and assorted...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sight of Stars
Seventeen-year-old Klee’s father was the center of his life. He...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Bokkaners of the North (Wyrms of Pasandir #3)
Against all odds, Eskandar and his bunch of ragtag youngsters...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Road to Kalbakar (Wyrms of Pasandir #1)
Seventeen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Air and Ash (TIDES Book 1)
Master and Commander meets Sarah J Maas in a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wolf Hour
Welcome, my little lambs, to the Puszcza. It's an...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Dragon Orb
The fate of a kingdom rests on the shoulders...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fragile Chaos
A GOD OF WAR SEEKING RESTORATION. AN UNWILLING SACRIFICIAL...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Batman: Nightwalker (DC Icons #2)
Before he was Batman, he was Bruce Wayne. A...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Nice Try, Jane Sinner
The only thing 17-year-old Jane Sinner hates more than...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Growing Friendships: A Kids' Guide to Making and Keeping Friends
 
4.0
"Utilizing plain language and a kid-friendly presentation, Growing Friendships examines and addresses a wide range of socially detrimental issues such..."
Legacy (The Biodome Chronicles #1)
 
4.8
"Writing: 4.5 Story: 5 Character Development: 4.5 Cover: 5 Editing: 4.5 This book is a rare gem. You know,..."
Joshua and the Magical Forest
 
4.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central An enchanting fantasy. The story: Joshua thinks his father is dead. He's been..."
Ghosts of Bliss Bayou
 
5.0
"Captivating story, smooth writing style, well executed."
Uglies (Uglies #1)
 
5.0
"I loved how different this book was to most that I have read. The plot and the story line are..."
Legacy (The Biodome Chronicles #1)
 
5.0
"I went into this book with a pretty vague idea of what it was about-a sci-fi novel revolving around a..."
Wicked (A Wicked Saga #1)
 
5.0
"I read a TON of fae fiction and A WICKED TRILOGY by Jennifer L. Armentrout is so hilarious and refershing...."
Elements (The Biodome Chronicles #2)
 
5.0
"Where do I begin?! I love Legacy. I was immediately sucked into the world and characters and was more than..."
Moonburner
 
4.7
" "The moon cannot enslave the sun, nor make the day its mistress." I absolutely loved this dark yet..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
4.7
" This is one of the most beautifully written books I've read in a long, long while. I found myself..."
Bloodline (Forgotten Origins Trilogy #1)
 
4.8
"INFECTED began with a viral pandemic which turns the human body and mind into a host. Although I enjoyed the..."
The "Wonderful" Wizard of Futhermucking Oz
 
5.0
"Although highly irreverent throughout, what I loved most about Arabella is that she doesn't just go along with the social..."
The Secrets of Islayne
 
4.3
"The Secrets of Islayne by Kari Lynn West 4 out of 5 stars Summary Islayne is a..."
Journeys: Young Readers’ Letters to Authors Who Changed Their Lives
 
5.0
"Journeys is a collection of letters from the “Letters About Literature” program sponsored by the Library of Congress Center for..."
The Moonlight Meeting: The Nocturnals
 
3.0
"In this "Grow and Read" level two early reader book, the characters from Nocturnals World meet each other. Bismark is..."
The Hidden Kingdom: The Nocturnals Book 4
 
3.0
"Dawn, a fox; Tobin, a pangolin; and Bismark, an energetic sugar glider are all friends who have adventures. When there..."
Ignite
 
3.5
"The story: Phoenyx Blake, a teenage girl, awakens in a locked dungeon with only a girl named Lily for..."
In Sight of Stars
 
5.0
"IN SIGHT OF STARS is Gae Polisner’s latest young adult novel. It’s a contemporary story that tackles mental health in..."
First Year (The Black Mage Book 1)
 
4.0
"This is a very good series introduction. From the critical side, my first impression was that Rachel Carter broke..."
Batman: Nightwalker (DC Icons #2)
 
4.0
"I am in love! The DC Icon series is turning me into a fan of superheroes, and Marie Lu's take..."