Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Interview, & Giveaway: The Hearts We Sold (Emily Lloyd-Jones)

THE-HEARTS-WE-SOLD
Hello! Today YABC is hosting the blog tour stop for Emily Lloyd-Jones's The Hearts We Sold!
 
Read on for more about Emily, an interview and a tour-wide giveaway! 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Meet Emily Lloyd-Jones!
 

Emily Lloyd-Jones grew up on a vineyard in rural Oregon, where she played in evergreen forests and learned to fear sheep. After graduating from Western Oregon University with an English degree, she enrolled in the publishing program at Rosemont College just outside of Philadelphia. She currently resides in Northern California, working in a bookstore by day and writing by night. Illusive is her debut novel.

 

 

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads

 

 

 

 

Meet The Hearts We Sold!

When Dee Moreno makes a deal with a demon—her heart in exchange for an escape from a disastrous home life—she finds the trade may have been more than she bargained for. And becoming “heartless” is only the beginning. What lies ahead is a nightmare far bigger, far more monstrous than anything she could have ever imagined.


With reality turned on its head, Dee has only a group of other deal-making teens to keep her grounded, including the charming but secretive James Lancer. And as something grows between them amid an otherworldy ordeal, Dee begins to wonder: Can she give someone her heart when it’s no longer hers to give?

In THE HEARTS WE SOLD, author Lloyd-Jones returns with a complex, thought-provoking Faustian tale for the modern age that will capture your heart. With horror elements and fantasy elements set in a recognizable, semirealistic world, THE HEARTS WE SOLD is a great fit for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Holly Black. The book also

features a diverse breadth of topics, ranging from sexuality, transgender transitions, race, and familial abuse.

 

 Amazon | B&N | iBooks | TBD | Goodreads

 

 

 

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

I’m infamously bad at titling things. Mine usually consist of bad puns of some sort. In this book’s case, the working title was THAT HEART BOOK until I came up with something I actually liked.

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

There are a few scenes I love in this book but probably my favorite is when Dee, the main character, loses her heart. It’s a very emotional scene; Dee has to stare down the dangers she might face and decide if she truly wants to venture into that unknown. That scene also introduces one of my favorite characters, and there’s some delicious banter.

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

That no book is going to be perfect—and that’s all right. I’m always striving to create the best story I can, and every book turns out to be a little different than I envisioned. But that’s okay. Art can be a little messy and still be beautiful.

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

That title font! It’s so gorgeous. I love the embroidered look of it.

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2017-2018?

Gah. I’m supposed to choose just one? How about three? THE CRUEL PRINCE by Holly Black, YOU DON’T KNOW ME BUT I KNOW YOU by Rebecca Barrow, and THE BELLES by Dhonielle Clayton.

 

YABC:   What’s up next for you?

With any luck, more writing!

 

YABC:   Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Fun fact—there were originally two male side characters. But one of them seemed more interesting than the other, while the other one had necessary plot skills. I was stumped… until I mashed them into one character. Voila! The character problems were solved! And as an inside joke, I ended up combining their names, as well.

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

When I’m drafting, my answer would be “revising.” When I’m revising, my answer would be “drafting.” Distance makes the heart grow fonder, right? But seriously, I enjoy both for different reasons. Drafting is often where the magic happens—where the ideas run wild and scamper all over the pages. But revising is where the ideas are strengthened so they can stand on their own.

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

To remember utterly useless facts with perfect recall, yet forget the name of a person I’ve met at least ten times.

 

YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

I’m a cat lover, and I’ve always loved supporting shelters or organizations that help animals. The Cat Town Café in Oakland, California, is a wonderful organization that helps cats find homes. Also, you can sip coffee and play with cats! (http://www.cattownoakland.org/cat-town-cafe/)

 

 

 

 

 

The Hearts We Sold

By: Emily Lloyd-Jones

Publishing Date: August 8th, 2017 

Publisher: Little, Brown Books For Young Readers

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 Three winners will receive a copy of The Hearts We Sold (Emily Lloyd-Jones) US Only

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

 

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

8/7/2017- Owl Always Be ReadingExcerpt

8/8/2017- When Books Defy GravityReview

8/9/2017- YA Books CentralInterview

8/10/2017- Take Me Away To A Great ReadReview

8/11/2017- Angelic Book ReviewsInterview

Week Two:

8/14/2017- The Layaway DragonReview

8/15/2017- Two Chicks on BooksGuest Post

8/16/2017- Book BriefsReview

8/17/2017- Adventures of a Book JunkieInterview

8/18/2017- Stories & SweetiesReview

 

 

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
Author Chat with Chandler Baker (This is Not the E...
Featured Review: The Disappearances (Emily Bain Mu...

Related Posts

 

Comments 1

Kristy Petree on Wednesday, 09 August 2017 14:01

This sounds an amazing and very cool read. Thanks for the chance! From, a fellow cat lover.

0
This sounds an amazing and very cool read. Thanks for the chance! From, a fellow cat lover. :)

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Nightbooks
A boy is imprisoned by a witch and must tell...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Intoxic
When Alison Hayes walks into her storm-darkened trailer the afternoon...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Ranch Hero
Kid lit with a comic book twist! This is a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Black and White Ball
In a lush and bountiful woodland, teeming with magnificent wildlife,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Denis Ever After
Written by award-winning author Tony Abbott and perfect for...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Side by Side A Novel of Bonnie and Clyde
Texas: 1931. It’s the height of the Great Depression,...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
You May Now Kill the Bride
Two sisters, divided by time. Each with a terrible...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Hiding Lies
At Holden Prep, dirty little secrets always have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Shadow Wings
I will never be controlled again. A manipulative dragon...
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Into Darkness
Fifteen-year-old Alexandra Spencer's life was not supposed to turn...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Kai's summer changes when she gets a summer internship at...
 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)
Zoe is just your average teenage girl expecting another average,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Frango & Chicken
Some things seem impossible, but with the right attitude and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ruby Lane
Ruby is overexcited again, and her brain is spinning creative...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Ghost
A gripping psychological thriller. Inspired by a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Resist: 35 Profiles of Ordinary People Who Rose Up Against Tyranny and Injustice
A perfect tool for young readers as they grow into...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Nightbooks
 
5.0
"Alex describes himself as a kid who plays with "what ifs" while other kids are playing with dogs, and that..."
Intoxic
 
5.0
"This is strong writing from an author on the rise. Gallion's prose is a breath of fresh air. There is..."
 
4.3
"I can't wait to see where the next book goes!"
Sneaking Out
 
3.8
" ‘Sneaking Out’ is the first installment in the ‘Chase’ series. The setting is an elite New England..."
Bleeding Hearts
 
3.0
"The story: Nancy Miller is a poor, illiterate teenage girl scrounging out a meager living in Edinburgh. On the..."
All-American Liars
 
3.8
"'All-American Liars' by Emily Kazmierski shines a light on the lies people tell themselves and others to help save face..."
 
4.0
"A short and fun read. The story: Megera is in danger of having to leave her private school when..."
This Summer
 
4.0
"A sweet romance highlighting the fragile hearts of youth. The story: Hadley is determined to have a good summer..."
Emerge: The Heir (Immortals of Indriell Book 4)
 
5.0
"A shining star in a great series. The story: Picking up years after the last time we saw Allie..."
Resist: 35 Profiles of Ordinary People Who Rose Up Against Tyranny and Injustice
 
4.0
"This is a collection of brief biographies of people who stood up and resisted injustices and tyranny. There's a little..."
The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle
 
5.0
"Mason Buttle can't read all that well. And he sweats a lot. And writing isn't something he can do either...."
Side by Side A Novel of Bonnie and Clyde
 
4.3
"Bonnie Parker is waiting for Clyde to be released from prison. It's 1931 and she wants him to come..."
Voyage of the Dogs
 
5.0
"The Laika is on mission Stepping Stone, traveling outside the solar system to set up a new planet. In addition..."
Shorty & Clem Blast Off!
 
4.5
"'Shorty & Clem Blast Off!' by Michael Slack is a cute addition to Shorty and Clem's adventures. The first book..."
Bear's Spooky Book of Hidden Things: Halloween Seek-and-Find
 
3.5
"'Bear's Spooky Book of Hidden Things' by Gergely Dudas is for anyone who loves books like 'Where's Waldo?' Even adults..."
Here to Stay
 
4.7
"Bijan Majidi does okay in high school-- he has a good friend, Sean, is on the basketball team, and while..."
Funny Kid #2: Stand Up
 
4.5
"After his attempts to run for class president in Funny Kid for President, Max has decided that his identity is..."
Hiding Lies
 
5.0
"HIDING LIES is the second installment in the Eleanor Ames series. It begins with Ellie and Miles saying goodbye since..."
Yellow Submarine
 
4.0
"Twice upon a time, once in 1968 and once today, there was an unearthly paradise called Pepperland. In an elaboration..."
The Burning Maze (The Trials of Apollo, #3)
 
5.0
"Apollo, now known as a human teenager named Lester, must restore five Oracles that have gone dark in order to..."