Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Interview, & Giveaway: The Hearts We Sold (Emily Lloyd-Jones)

Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Interview, & Giveaway: The Hearts We Sold (Emily Lloyd-Jones)
Hello! Today YABC is hosting the blog tour stop for Emily Lloyd-Jones's The Hearts We Sold!
 
Read on for more about Emily, an interview and a tour-wide giveaway! 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Meet Emily Lloyd-Jones!
 

Emily Lloyd-Jones grew up on a vineyard in rural Oregon, where she played in evergreen forests and learned to fear sheep. After graduating from Western Oregon University with an English degree, she enrolled in the publishing program at Rosemont College just outside of Philadelphia. She currently resides in Northern California, working in a bookstore by day and writing by night. Illusive is her debut novel.

 

 

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads

 

 

 

 

Meet The Hearts We Sold!

When Dee Moreno makes a deal with a demon—her heart in exchange for an escape from a disastrous home life—she finds the trade may have been more than she bargained for. And becoming “heartless” is only the beginning. What lies ahead is a nightmare far bigger, far more monstrous than anything she could have ever imagined.


With reality turned on its head, Dee has only a group of other deal-making teens to keep her grounded, including the charming but secretive James Lancer. And as something grows between them amid an otherworldy ordeal, Dee begins to wonder: Can she give someone her heart when it’s no longer hers to give?

In THE HEARTS WE SOLD, author Lloyd-Jones returns with a complex, thought-provoking Faustian tale for the modern age that will capture your heart. With horror elements and fantasy elements set in a recognizable, semirealistic world, THE HEARTS WE SOLD is a great fit for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Holly Black. The book also

features a diverse breadth of topics, ranging from sexuality, transgender transitions, race, and familial abuse.

 

 Amazon | B&N | iBooks | TBD | Goodreads

 

 

 

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

I’m infamously bad at titling things. Mine usually consist of bad puns of some sort. In this book’s case, the working title was THAT HEART BOOK until I came up with something I actually liked.

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

There are a few scenes I love in this book but probably my favorite is when Dee, the main character, loses her heart. It’s a very emotional scene; Dee has to stare down the dangers she might face and decide if she truly wants to venture into that unknown. That scene also introduces one of my favorite characters, and there’s some delicious banter.

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

That no book is going to be perfect—and that’s all right. I’m always striving to create the best story I can, and every book turns out to be a little different than I envisioned. But that’s okay. Art can be a little messy and still be beautiful.

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

That title font! It’s so gorgeous. I love the embroidered look of it.

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2017-2018?

Gah. I’m supposed to choose just one? How about three? THE CRUEL PRINCE by Holly Black, YOU DON’T KNOW ME BUT I KNOW YOU by Rebecca Barrow, and THE BELLES by Dhonielle Clayton.

 

YABC:   What’s up next for you?

With any luck, more writing!

 

YABC:   Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Fun fact—there were originally two male side characters. But one of them seemed more interesting than the other, while the other one had necessary plot skills. I was stumped… until I mashed them into one character. Voila! The character problems were solved! And as an inside joke, I ended up combining their names, as well.

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

When I’m drafting, my answer would be “revising.” When I’m revising, my answer would be “drafting.” Distance makes the heart grow fonder, right? But seriously, I enjoy both for different reasons. Drafting is often where the magic happens—where the ideas run wild and scamper all over the pages. But revising is where the ideas are strengthened so they can stand on their own.

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

To remember utterly useless facts with perfect recall, yet forget the name of a person I’ve met at least ten times.

 

YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

I’m a cat lover, and I’ve always loved supporting shelters or organizations that help animals. The Cat Town Café in Oakland, California, is a wonderful organization that helps cats find homes. Also, you can sip coffee and play with cats! (http://www.cattownoakland.org/cat-town-cafe/)

 

 

 

 

 

The Hearts We Sold

By: Emily Lloyd-Jones

Publishing Date: August 8th, 2017 

Publisher: Little, Brown Books For Young Readers

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 Three winners will receive a copy of The Hearts We Sold (Emily Lloyd-Jones) US Only

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

 

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

8/7/2017- Owl Always Be ReadingExcerpt

8/8/2017- When Books Defy GravityReview

8/9/2017- YA Books CentralInterview

8/10/2017- Take Me Away To A Great ReadReview

8/11/2017- Angelic Book ReviewsInterview

Week Two:

8/14/2017- The Layaway DragonReview

8/15/2017- Two Chicks on BooksGuest Post

8/16/2017- Book BriefsReview

8/17/2017- Adventures of a Book JunkieInterview

8/18/2017- Stories & SweetiesReview

 

 

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
Author Chat with Chandler Baker (This is Not the E...
Featured Review: The Disappearances (Emily Bain Mu...

Related Posts

 

Comments 1

Kristy Petree on Wednesday, 09 August 2017 14:01

This sounds an amazing and very cool read. Thanks for the chance! From, a fellow cat lover.

0
This sounds an amazing and very cool read. Thanks for the chance! From, a fellow cat lover. :)

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Dear Martin
ustyce McAllister is top of his class and set for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Come Home, Angus
Angus woke up mad and knew today was not his...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rulers of the Playground
A stunning picture book about sharing, friendship, and kindness in...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
June Sparrow and the Million Dollar Penny
June Sparrow and her best friend—a miniature pig named Indigo...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Story Sparks:  Finding Your Best Story Ideas & Turning Them into Compelling Fiction
Find rock-solid story ideas before you start writing ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Girl in the Tower
A remarkable young woman blazes her own trail, from the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Coming Up For Air
Swim. Eat. Shower. School. Snack. Swim. Swim. Swim. Dinner. Homework....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Landscape with Invisible Hand
National Book Award winner M. T. Anderson returns to future...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
26091228.jpg
Follow-up to the New York Times bestselling novel, Forget Tomorrow!...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Follow Me (Amateurs #2)
It was the perfect night for a party. That is,...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding
Prosper is the only unexceptional Redding in his old...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fireblood
Against all odds, Ruby has defeated the villainous Frost...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nothing
From Annie Barrows, the acclaimed #1 New York Times–bestselling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome Home
Welcome Home collects a number of adoption-themed fictional short...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Even the Darkest Stars
The first in a sweeping and action-packed debut fantasy...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hunting Prince Dracula (Stalking Jack the Ripper #2)
In this hotly anticipated sequel to the haunting #1...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Dear Martin
 
5.0
"Justyce is at the top of his class, captain of the debate team, and on track to attend a prestigious..."
A Court of Wings and Ruin
 
5.0
"Alright warning time. As with most books that I read, this has been labeled problematic. Though this one is completely..."
Wintersong
 
1.0
"This is going to be more like a rant/review than just a review. I am honestly proud that I finished..."
Enshadowed (Nevermore #2)
 
5.0
"First off... that freaking cliffhanger!? I can't even... I could not imagine having read this the year it came out..."
Nevermore (Nevermore #1)
 
4.7
" It's great! What I love the most is how dark and gritty the world felt. It was so cool..."
House of Night: Hunted
 
3.3
"So the Nerd Herd is now underground and hiding away from Kalona. Aphrodite and Stevie-Rae have imprinted, Stark is an..."
House of Night: Untamed
 
3.3
"So this one picks up right where the other left off and don't worry if you haven't read the others..."
House of Night: Chosen
 
3.3
"Zoey now knows that her old mentor is not what she claims to be. She's hiding something and doing things..."
House of Night: Betrayed
 
3.3
"This one picks up not far where Marked left off. Zoey is now in charge of the Daughters of Darkness...."
Roar (Stormheart #1)
 
N/A
"DNF PAGE 133 - I hate DNFing a book. I hardly ever do it. I personally feel like I'm giving..."
Truthers
 
3.3
"So, I've said before that for some reason I love conspiracy theories. Do I believe any of them? No. I..."
Mask of Shadows
 
3.3
"Okay I loved the premise of this book and I love the fact that it features a Genderfluid MC but..."
Hunted
 
3.7
"What I love most about this book is the setting. Medieval Russia, like hell yeah sign me up! I love..."
Come Home, Angus
 
5.0
"Most of us have days when we just get mad. We don’t know why. We don’t know who is to..."
Rulers of the Playground
 
4.5
"Jonah wants to rule the playground. And he’s a good ruler. Except when he’s not. The problem is that Lennox..."
Plant the Tiny Seed
 
4.5
" This book relies on the interactive nature of read-alouds for young children. Beginning with a single zinnia seed, the..."
The Hanging Girl
 
4.0
"The Hanging Girl was a quick, suspenseful read. Author Eileen Cook has a great writing style. The story picked up..."
June Sparrow and the Million Dollar Penny
 
3.5
"In JUNE SPARROW AND THE MILLION DOLLAR PENNY, June Sparrow is a very rich pre-teen living in New York City..."
Princess Breeze
 
4.3
"This is the second book in a very adorable, fun series. This story starts with Breeze Brannigan's end of the..."
Story Sparks:  Finding Your Best Story Ideas & Turning Them into Compelling Fiction
 
4.0
"This is an easy to read reference book on how to take creative ideas and thoughts and turn them into..."