Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Interview, & Giveaway: The Hearts We Sold (Emily Lloyd-Jones)

Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Interview, & Giveaway: The Hearts We Sold (Emily Lloyd-Jones)
Hello! Today YABC is hosting the blog tour stop for Emily Lloyd-Jones's The Hearts We Sold!
 
Read on for more about Emily, an interview and a tour-wide giveaway! 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Meet Emily Lloyd-Jones!
 

Emily Lloyd-Jones grew up on a vineyard in rural Oregon, where she played in evergreen forests and learned to fear sheep. After graduating from Western Oregon University with an English degree, she enrolled in the publishing program at Rosemont College just outside of Philadelphia. She currently resides in Northern California, working in a bookstore by day and writing by night. Illusive is her debut novel.

 

 

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads

 

 

 

 

Meet The Hearts We Sold!

When Dee Moreno makes a deal with a demon—her heart in exchange for an escape from a disastrous home life—she finds the trade may have been more than she bargained for. And becoming “heartless” is only the beginning. What lies ahead is a nightmare far bigger, far more monstrous than anything she could have ever imagined.


With reality turned on its head, Dee has only a group of other deal-making teens to keep her grounded, including the charming but secretive James Lancer. And as something grows between them amid an otherworldy ordeal, Dee begins to wonder: Can she give someone her heart when it’s no longer hers to give?

In THE HEARTS WE SOLD, author Lloyd-Jones returns with a complex, thought-provoking Faustian tale for the modern age that will capture your heart. With horror elements and fantasy elements set in a recognizable, semirealistic world, THE HEARTS WE SOLD is a great fit for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Holly Black. The book also

features a diverse breadth of topics, ranging from sexuality, transgender transitions, race, and familial abuse.

 

 Amazon | B&N | iBooks | TBD | Goodreads

 

 

 

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

I’m infamously bad at titling things. Mine usually consist of bad puns of some sort. In this book’s case, the working title was THAT HEART BOOK until I came up with something I actually liked.

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

There are a few scenes I love in this book but probably my favorite is when Dee, the main character, loses her heart. It’s a very emotional scene; Dee has to stare down the dangers she might face and decide if she truly wants to venture into that unknown. That scene also introduces one of my favorite characters, and there’s some delicious banter.

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

That no book is going to be perfect—and that’s all right. I’m always striving to create the best story I can, and every book turns out to be a little different than I envisioned. But that’s okay. Art can be a little messy and still be beautiful.

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

That title font! It’s so gorgeous. I love the embroidered look of it.

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2017-2018?

Gah. I’m supposed to choose just one? How about three? THE CRUEL PRINCE by Holly Black, YOU DON’T KNOW ME BUT I KNOW YOU by Rebecca Barrow, and THE BELLES by Dhonielle Clayton.

 

YABC:   What’s up next for you?

With any luck, more writing!

 

YABC:   Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Fun fact—there were originally two male side characters. But one of them seemed more interesting than the other, while the other one had necessary plot skills. I was stumped… until I mashed them into one character. Voila! The character problems were solved! And as an inside joke, I ended up combining their names, as well.

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

When I’m drafting, my answer would be “revising.” When I’m revising, my answer would be “drafting.” Distance makes the heart grow fonder, right? But seriously, I enjoy both for different reasons. Drafting is often where the magic happens—where the ideas run wild and scamper all over the pages. But revising is where the ideas are strengthened so they can stand on their own.

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

To remember utterly useless facts with perfect recall, yet forget the name of a person I’ve met at least ten times.

 

YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

I’m a cat lover, and I’ve always loved supporting shelters or organizations that help animals. The Cat Town Café in Oakland, California, is a wonderful organization that helps cats find homes. Also, you can sip coffee and play with cats! (http://www.cattownoakland.org/cat-town-cafe/)

 

 

 

 

 

The Hearts We Sold

By: Emily Lloyd-Jones

Publishing Date: August 8th, 2017 

Publisher: Little, Brown Books For Young Readers

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 Three winners will receive a copy of The Hearts We Sold (Emily Lloyd-Jones) US Only

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

 

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

8/7/2017- Owl Always Be ReadingExcerpt

8/8/2017- When Books Defy GravityReview

8/9/2017- YA Books CentralInterview

8/10/2017- Take Me Away To A Great ReadReview

8/11/2017- Angelic Book ReviewsInterview

Week Two:

8/14/2017- The Layaway DragonReview

8/15/2017- Two Chicks on BooksGuest Post

8/16/2017- Book BriefsReview

8/17/2017- Adventures of a Book JunkieInterview

8/18/2017- Stories & SweetiesReview

 

 

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
Author Chat with Chandler Baker (This is Not the E...
Featured Review: The Disappearances (Emily Bain Mu...

Related Posts

 

Comments 1

Kristy Petree on Wednesday, 09 August 2017 14:01

This sounds an amazing and very cool read. Thanks for the chance! From, a fellow cat lover.

0
This sounds an amazing and very cool read. Thanks for the chance! From, a fellow cat lover. :)

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Let's Investigate with Nate #1: The Water Cycle
Bill Nye the Science Guy meets The Magic School Bus!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The 12 Dares of Christa
Christa is a holiday junkie. What’s not to love? There’s...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year she’ll...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See Fred Run
Learning to read has never been more fun than it...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Monster of Selkirk Book I: The Duality of Nature
Monsters come in many forms, and not everyone knows a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
The amazing original that set off the worldwide search for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, makes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Being Fishkill
Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goldeline
Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Speak Easy, Speak Love
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mr. Biddles
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Brigette Barrager reunite to bring us...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Black Bird of the Gallows
simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Now, Not Ever
The sequel to The Only Thing Worse than Me Is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Prince and the Dressmaker
Paris, at the dawn of the modern age: ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Let's Investigate with Nate #1: The Water Cycle
 
5.0
"In LET'S INVESTIGATE WITH NATE, the doors of the Science Museum become a portal to another world, but only an..."
This Savage Song
 
4.0
"This Savage Song is a uniquely peculiar novel that cleverly combines magic, monsters and music. Dark, violent and monstrous, the..."
The 12 Dares of Christa
 
4.3
"'The 12 Dares of Christa' by Marissa Burt is a sweet story of friendship, determination, strength, and forgiveness. Main character..."
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
 
5.0
"'Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes' by Booki Vivat is an adorable, illustrated story that not only proves a fast..."
See Fred Run
 
3.5
"'See Fred Run' by Kevin Bolger, and illustrated by Ben Hodson, is a story about main character Fred and his..."
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
 
5.0
"Where's Waldo is an iconic search and find activity book that has been entertaining people for 30 years. This 30th..."
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
 
4.5
"THE LITTLE GIRL WHO DIDN'T WANT TO GO TO BED is about a girl who will do anything to stay..."
Mr. Biddles
 
5.0
"MR. BIDDLES stars a cat named Mr. Biddles who is an inventor. He creates all types of new gadgets and..."
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
 
4.5
"In UNI THE UNICORN AND THE DREAM COME TRUE, magic is weakening amongst the unicorns because of the never-ending rain...."
Pashmina
 
3.5
"Priyanka Das’s mother does not like Priyanka asking questions about India and her life there, but that doesn’t stop Pri..."
How to Disappear
 
5.0
"I am so absolutely in love with Sharon Huss Roat. Her books are funny, relatable, and so easily devoured. I..."
Penguins Love Their ABC's
 
4.0
"In PENGUINS LOVE THEIR ABC'S, Mama Penguin hides ABC's in the snow for her six children to seek out. They..."
David Inside Out
 
5.0
"David Inside Out is a novel about a teenager (David) who is discovering he is gay. In David's high school,..."
Even Fairies Fart
 
5.0
"EVEN FAIRIES FART teaches that nobody's perfect. As children, we listen to fairy tales and dream of having perfect lives..."
Little Penguin and the Lollipop
 
4.5
"LITTLE PENGUIN AND THE LOLLIPOP is interactive and encourages the reader to help Little Penguin by being silly. It makes..."
The Rest of Us Just Live Here
 
3.7
"I have to admit, it took me a while to get into this one. The characters seemed to me to..."
The Curtain-Twitcher's Handbook
 
4.5
"Whipped through this one as it's a really chatty, easy read. After a while it's like listening to your best..."
The Book Thief
 
4.7
"Death as a narrator? What an idea! It was so interesting to see the Second World War from a German..."
Ferocious (Vicarious #2)
 
5.0
"*WARNING: There are no spoilers for FEROCIOUS, but there are spoilers for book 1, VICARIOUS* As a reader, sequels always..."
Rebel's Blade
 
4.8
"A fantasy of the highest quality that checks every box and still pushes the bounds of originality. The..."