Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Interview, & Giveaway: Cold Summer (Gwen Cole)

COLD-SUMMER

Title: COLD SUMMER

Author: Gwen Cole

Pub. Date: May 2, 2017

Publisher: Sky Pony Press

Pages: 256

Formats: Hardcover, eBook

Today, he’s a high school dropout with no future.

Tomorrow, he’s a soldier in World War II.

Kale Jackson has spent years trying to control his time-traveling ability but hasn’t had much luck. One day he lives in 1945, fighting in the war as a sharpshooter and helplessly watching soldiers—friends—die. Then the next day, he’s back in the present, where WWII has bled into his modern life in the form of PTSD, straining his relationship with his father and the few friends he has left. Every day it becomes harder to hide his battle wounds, both physical and mental, from the past.

When the ex-girl-next-door, Harper, moves back to town, thoughts of what could be if only he had a normal life begin to haunt him. Harper reminds him of the person he was before the PTSD, which helps anchor him to the present. With practice, maybe Kale could remain in the present permanently and never step foot on a battlefield again. Maybe he can have the normal life he craves.

But then Harper finds Kale’s name in a historical article—and he’s listed as a casualty of the war. Kale knows now that he must learn to control his time-traveling ability to save himself and his chance at a life with Harper. Otherwise, he’ll be killed in a time where he doesn’t belong by a bullet that was never meant for him. 

 

 

Amazon * Barnes & Noble * iBooks *  Goodreads

 

 

Meet Gwen Cole!

 

Gwen Cole writes Young Adult books and her debut novel, COLD SUMMER, will be released in the spring of 2017 with Sky Pony Press, an imprint of Skyhorse Publishing.

She grew up in upstate New York, moved to Virginia where she did not graduate college, and worked a various number of jobs including pharmacy technician, meat clerk, ranch hand, and a receiving specialist at Target. She may or may not have written a number of books while working at certain jobs.

At the age of eighteen, Gwen played bass in a hardcore band and later married the lead guitarist. She can also play piano, guitar, and wishes she could play the cello. Her favorite place to vacation is Wyoming, where she gets to wear a cowboy hat and pretend she actually is one.

Gwen now lives in Richmond, Virginia with her husband, daughter, and very large dog, where she longs to live in the country again.

 

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads



 

 

 

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

This is like picking a favorite child, but the easiest character to write was Kale’s best friend, Miles. He’s the only person from school that stayed his friend after he was expelled. Great hair, always happy, and loves demolition derbies.

 

YABC: Which came first, the title or the novel?

For me, the novel always comes first, then I usually think of the perfect title quarter or halfway through the book. But for Cold Summer, the title came easily after the first chapter.

YABC:Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

Stop worrying about things you can’t control and keep writing. Always keep writing!

YABC:What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I’ve loved my cover from the first time I saw it. Before my publisher asked for my thoughts on the cover process (which I’m so lucky they did because some don’t!) I had a very clear picture of what I wanted. And when they sent me the first sketches, I couldn’t believe how well they captured what I wanted. I love the water colors, the summer and winter opposite of each other, and even the font they chose. 

YABC:What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2017?

This is a tough one, but I have to say book #3 of the Illuminae Files by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff.

YABC:What was your favorite book in 2016?

I finally got around to reading A Darker Shade of Magic by VE Schwab. It was instantly added to my favorites shelf and I can’t wait to finish the series.

 

YABC:What’s up next for you?

My next standalone, RIDE ON, is set to come out spring 2018. A western set in the near future in which a teen outlaw crosses paths with a girl whose brother has been taken by the Lawmen gang. When a long-buried secret is revealed, her rescue mission becomes his quest for revenge.

YABC:Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

I love drafting! Creating new characters and new worlds is the best feeling ever. Not to say it isn’t difficult, because it definitely is, but it’s by far my favorite part.

 

 

 

Giveaway Details:

Two winners will receive a finished copy of COLD SUMMER, International.

Five winners will receive an ARC of COLD SUMMER, US Only.

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

Tour Schedule:

 

Week One:

4/24/2017- Brittany's Book RamblesInterview

4/25/2017- Just CommonlyReview

4/26/2017- Literary MeanderingsGuest Post

4/27/2017- Stories & SweetiesReview

4/28/2017- Adventures of a Book JunkieInterview

Week Two:

5/1/2017- Novel Novice - Review

5/2/2017- Fiction FareGuest Post

5/3/2017- Pretty Deadly ReviewsReview

5/4/2017- YA Books CentralInterview

5/5/2017- Owl Always Be ReadingReview

 

 

 

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
Giveaway: THE MONSTROUS CHILD (US Only)
It's Live!! Cover Reveal: Another D for DeeDee by ...

Related Posts

 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Premonition (The Division Series Book 1)
When Riley heads off to boarding school for a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
5.0
"Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it..."
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
 
5.0
"This story starts with Sahria and several other girls captured to be sold as slaves. Sahria becomes like a mentor..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
 
5.0
"Sam is the hall monitor at Eerie Elementary, but his job requires more than watching out for students doing things..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Calmer Girls
 
3.5
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Young love makes one foolish. The story: Samantha is not the girl people..."
A Round of Robins
 
4.0
"This picture book sized poetry book follows Mama and Dad bird as they hatch a clutch of eggs, supervise raising..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Challenge Accepted
 
4.8
"Readers will find 'Challenge Accepted' by Amanda Abram hard to put down. Her writing style perfectly captures teenage life, from..."
The Seismic Seven
 
4.0
"Kenzie, Brianna, Wyatt and Todd have all have won the opportunity to study with Dr. Grier in Yellowstone National Park,..."