Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Interview, & Giveaway: Blacksouls (Nicole Castroman)

Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Interview, & Giveaway: Blacksouls (Nicole Castroman)
Hello! Today YABC is hosting the blog tour stop for Nicole Castroman's 
 
Blacksouls
 
Read on for more about Nicole, an interview, and a tour-wide giveaway!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Meet Nicole Castroman!
Nicole was lucky enough to come with her very own best friend...she has a twin sister who can read her mind and finish her sentences for her. 

At the age of 13, she went to Europe for the first time and it changed her life. She loves learning about different people, languages and cultures and speaks fluent German. She knows enough Spanish to get herself into trouble and can still read the Cyrillic alphabet from when she studied Russian.

She received her B.A. from Brigham Young University and has lived in Germany, Austria and two different places called Georgia. One is located on the Black Sea. The other is the state of Georgia where she now lives with her handsome husband and two beautiful children who continue to amaze her.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Meet Blacksouls!
Blackbeard the pirate was known for striking fear in the hearts of the bravest of sailors. But once he was just a young man who dreamed of leaving his rigid life behind to chase adventure in faraway lands. Nothing could stop him—until he met the one girl who would change everything.

Edward "Teach" Drummond, son of one of Bristol's richest merchants, has just returned from a year-long journey on the high seas to find his life in shambles. Betrothed to a girl he doesn’t love and sick of the high society he was born into, Teach dreams only of returning to the vast ocean he’d begun to call home. There's just one problem: convincing his father to let him leave and never come back.

Following her parents' deaths, Anne Barrett is left penniless and soon to be homeless. Though she’s barely worked a day in her life, Anne is forced to take a job as a maid in the home of Master Drummond. Lonely days stretch into weeks, and Anne longs for escape. How will she ever realize her dream of sailing to Curaçao—where her mother was born—when she's stuck in England? 

From the moment Teach and Anne meet, they set the world ablaze. Drawn to each other, they’re trapped by society and their own circumstances. Faced with an impossible choice, they must decide to chase their dreams and go, or follow their hearts and stay.
 
 
 
 

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks

 

 

 

 

YABC:   What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

I had just parted ways with my first literary agent and my sweet husband suggested a family trip to Charleston, SC to cheer me up. I love history and did some research about the city of Charleston and discovered that at one point, the pirate Blackbeard held the entire city hostage. I then wanted to know more about Blackbeard and found out that only the last two years of Blackbeard's life are documented. Right there, the idea for BLACKHEARTS was born, a Blackbeard origin story. BLACKSOULS is a continuation of the story, because Blackbeard wasn't born a pirate. It's an evolution of his character.

 

 

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

Anne. Without a doubt, I love Anne. I needed a strong girl who could go toe-to-toe with the man who would one day become the most notorious pirate to sail the seas.

 

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

The novel. When I first queried my book and it went on submission to publishers, BLACKHEARTS was originally called THE LEGEND OF EDWARD TEACH. I still like the title, but I think BLACKHEARTS and BLACKSOULS are so much better!

 

 

YABC:   Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

I've learned to love the revision process. I LOVE REVISING. That's where the heart of the story and characters truly emerge. As important as it is to get something down on paper, it's so much more fun going through and adding nuances to the story.

 

 

 

YABC:   What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I truly believe I won the cover lottery. These books are historical fiction, but they're so modern and minimalistic. I love my cover aesthetics.

 

 

YABC:   What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2017?

I've already read the ARC, (and LOVED it) but I'm excited for the release of Nic Stone's DEAR MARTIN. I have my copy already pre-ordered and I think everyone else should pre-order it as well. Just like Angie Thomas's amazing THE HATE U GIVE, Nic's book deals with the issue of race. It's real and raw and so powerful.

 

YABC:   Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

There were a few scenes in BLACKSOULS that were emotional for me to write. As part of my research, I read the words of Frederick Douglass, a former slave who taught himself how to read and write and became an abolitionist, author and orator. I think his works should be required reading in high school.

 

 

YABC:  Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

The villains in BLACKSOULS gave me the most trouble. I tried to find something redeeming about them, but in the end, I couldn't do it. There is nothing redeeming about their actions. Their motivation is greed, pure and simple.

 

 

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

I enjoy both, but I've learned to appreciate the revision process so much more, especially working with a professional editor.

 

 

 

YABC:    What would you say is your superpower?

My family has learned that I'm right 95% of the time. I don't know if you can call it a superpower and I don't think we're supposed to "keep score" during discussions. But I'm typically right. :)

 

 

 

 

 

Blacksouls

By: Nicole Castroman

Publishing Date: April 11th, 2017 

Publisher: Simon Pulse

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 One winner will receive a signed copy of Blacksouls (Nicole Castroman)

 

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

 

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

4/10/2017- FiktshunGuest Post

4/11/2017- a GREAT readReview

4/12/2017- Adventures of a Book JunkieInterview

4/13/2017- The Cover ContessaReview

4/14/2017- Two Chicks on BooksInterview

Week Two:

4/17/2017- YA Book MadnessReview

4/18/2017- Good Choice ReadingGuest Post

4/19/2017-Mundie Moms-  Review

4/20/2017- YA Books CentralInterview

4/21/2017- Seeing Double In Neverland-Review

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
Giveaway: THE FALLEN STAR (US Only)
Author Chat with Joanne O'Sullivan, Plus Giveaway!

Related Posts

 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
Q: What do you need to become a great fairy...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drum Roll, Please
Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everless (Everless #1)
In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Would you risk it all for love? A high-ranking official’s...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kristen McDonald has dreamed of being crowned prom queen for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
FRANKIE FRETINI has had a horrible year. And, just when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jackson and Samantha live modestly in a small apartment in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"This is a book that you wish you could just sit down and read without interruption! Keeps you..."
Same But Different: Teen Life on the Autism Express
 
4.3
"SAME BUT DIFFERENT by twins Ryan Elizabeth Peete & RJ Peete is told in alternating narratives and loosely based on..."
The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
 
4.0
"Isabelle is a fairy-godmother-in-training and is so nervous that she's going to wind up being terrible like her mother was...."
Drum Roll, Please
 
4.0
"Even though Melly was forced to go to Camp Rockaway, it's just the escape she needs. Her parents are getting..."
Everless (Everless #1)
 
5.0
"Everless was my first read of the year and I do indeed feel guilty for reviewing it just now. The..."
Lifeline
 
4.0
"Eli has it all until he falls prey to the addiction of drugs. His last use of heroin nearly kills..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Need an adventure to get lost in? Read this book!! It is gripping from beginning to end with..."
Stealing Liberty
 
4.7
"I am amazed as to how versatile Jennifer Froelich is as an author. Each book is so creative and unique..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
5.0
"Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it..."
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
 
5.0
"This story starts with Sahria and several other girls captured to be sold as slaves. Sahria becomes like a mentor..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
 
5.0
"Sam is the hall monitor at Eerie Elementary, but his job requires more than watching out for students doing things..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."