#ReadISLA Flashback: Lola And The Boy Next Door

#ReadISLA Flashback: Lola And The Boy Next Door

 

Hey guys, today we're hanging out with Lola and Cricket!

b2ap3_thumbnail_16101168.jpg

 

Budding designer Lola Nolan doesn’t believe in fashion...she believes in costume. The more expressive the outfit--more sparkly, more fun, more wild--the better. But even though Lola’s style is outrageous, she’s a devoted daughter and friend with some big plans for the future. And everything is pretty perfect (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the dreaded Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood.

When Cricket--a gifted inventor--steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

 

*Review originally posted in October 2011* 

Lololololo-la! Sorry, can't help but hear the Kinks song in my head each time I hear the name, see the title...you get the picture. I thoroughly enjoyed ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS and was really looking forward to LOLA and I was not disappointed!

Once again author, Stephanie Perkins has created unique characters full of heart, passion and who are just plain fun to read! LOLA has all the love and heart pounding romance that ANNA did but with a couple of interesting twists thrown in. There's also a few unexpected guests who had me squealing with delight and I DO NOT squeal. (Really, I don't) Plus, Lola has not one, not two, but three cute boys... T-H-R-E-E! Let's take a peak at them shall we?

If you could take a rainbow, a few rays of sunshine, some shooting stars (for their sparkle factor), and maybe even a snowflake or two, mixed them all together and shook them out, Lola is what would you get. She's bright, colorful, full of life and has a sparkle that's all her own. 

Max is our resident rocker bad-boy. What makes him bad? Well, for starters, he's a "few" years older than Lola. Her two Dads aren't too thrilled with the idea of him but then again they're dads. He's cute, he sings and writes music, has multiple tattoos and engages in less desirable behavior (according to dear old "Dads) which, of course, makes him a total chick magnet.

Cricket is Lola's neighbor and childhood friend. He's not only cute, nice and super intelligent (he invents cool stuff like Barbie elevators) but he's tall - really, really tall. He's also the twin brother of Calliope Bell (aka figure skater extraordinaire/mean girl). Lola's parents like Cricket and there's a bit of history between he and Lola which isn't all happy, happy sunshine but no biggie, because he's the very definition of "Tall drink of water". Thirsty much? Yes.I.Am!

Whose the third cute guy? Well, now, that would just spoil the fun so you'll have to read it for yourself. *wink* *wink*

Lola struggles with making the right choices sometimes as a way to protect herself or those around her from getting hurt. This is familiar territory for her considering she's had her fair share of pain either from her mother's behavior or for being ostracized for her appearance. What she learns is that in order to be true to yourself, you have to "be" yourself, regardless of what others think...you have to live fully and without fear. (You wanna wear a pink wig, a sparkly tutu and combat boots? You go, girl!) 

She also discovers that some things are worth the risk if you're willing to give it a chance. Even if it's a second, or a third chance and she finds that when it comes to love, sometimes you have to go back to the start in order to cross the finish line.

 

LOLA chapter sample

 

 

GIVEAWAY

3 winners will win one of these ANNA, LOLA, ISLA button packs.

U.S. Only

b2ap3_thumbnail_ISLAbutton.jpg

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Rate this blog entry:
Map Reveal: Winterspell by Claire Legrand + Giveaw...
YA Authors as YAs: The Megan Whitmer Edition + Giv...

Related Posts

 

Comments 7

Vivien on Monday, 21 July 2014 12:44

This is the first contemporary that I fell head over heels!! Utterly amazing.

0
This is the first contemporary that I fell head over heels!! Utterly amazing.
Guest - AJ Pine on Monday, 21 July 2014 22:23

Etienne St. Clair. British accent. Speaks French. Buys Neruda poetry.

0
Etienne St. Clair. British accent. Speaks French. Buys Neruda poetry.
Guest - nardos on Monday, 21 July 2014 22:45

Because it amazing, its was my first stand alone romantic ya book and of course the lovable characters

0
Because it amazing, its was my first stand alone romantic ya book and of course the lovable characters
Kara on Tuesday, 22 July 2014 11:58

God, I love Anna and the French Kiss. The book gave a little knowledge & laughter. Anna was a character w/ faults, but I couldn't get mad at her. Her career choice was unique & OCD ways were cute. St. Clair and Anna kind of balanced each other out. I'm doing my best not to give spoilers here, but I love that they picked each other up in hard situations. They just clique and the romance didn't feel forced. I also loved she was pushing friendship first, so we felt their bond was stronger. I loved Anna & hope to love Isla even more.

0
God, I love Anna and the French Kiss. The book gave a little knowledge & laughter. Anna was a character w/ faults, but I couldn't get mad at her. Her career choice was unique & OCD ways were cute. St. Clair and Anna kind of balanced each other out. I'm doing my best not to give spoilers here, but I love that they picked each other up in hard situations. They just clique and the romance didn't feel forced. I also loved she was pushing friendship first, so we felt their bond was stronger. I loved Anna & hope to love Isla even more.
Jen Bruce on Wednesday, 23 July 2014 10:57

I loved how quirky and inside her own head Anna was. How she didn't want to complicate things with her new set of friends, so she just suffered her attraction to St. Clair in silence. Such a cute story! And the French setting...can't forget that!

0
I loved how quirky and inside her own head Anna was. How she didn't want to complicate things with her new set of friends, so she just suffered her attraction to St. Clair in silence. Such a cute story! And the French setting...can't forget that!
Guest - Samantha Lashley on Wednesday, 23 July 2014 19:49

What's not to love? Boy with foreign accent, the setting, the friends. I loved everything. Anna was so cute and quirky and I love rereading this book.

0
What's not to love? Boy with foreign accent, the setting, the friends. I loved everything. Anna was so cute and quirky and I love rereading this book.
L on Friday, 25 July 2014 21:23

haven't read it yet

0
haven't read it yet

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Premonition (The Division Series Book 1)
When Riley heads off to boarding school for a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
5.0
"Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it..."
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
 
5.0
"This story starts with Sahria and several other girls captured to be sold as slaves. Sahria becomes like a mentor..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
 
5.0
"Sam is the hall monitor at Eerie Elementary, but his job requires more than watching out for students doing things..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Calmer Girls
 
3.5
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Young love makes one foolish. The story: Samantha is not the girl people..."
A Round of Robins
 
4.0
"This picture book sized poetry book follows Mama and Dad bird as they hatch a clutch of eggs, supervise raising..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Challenge Accepted
 
4.8
"Readers will find 'Challenge Accepted' by Amanda Abram hard to put down. Her writing style perfectly captures teenage life, from..."
The Seismic Seven
 
4.0
"Kenzie, Brianna, Wyatt and Todd have all have won the opportunity to study with Dr. Grier in Yellowstone National Park,..."