#ReadISLA Flashback: Lola And The Boy Next Door

#ReadISLA Flashback: Lola And The Boy Next Door

 

Hey guys, today we're hanging out with Lola and Cricket!

b2ap3_thumbnail_16101168.jpg

 

Budding designer Lola Nolan doesn’t believe in fashion...she believes in costume. The more expressive the outfit--more sparkly, more fun, more wild--the better. But even though Lola’s style is outrageous, she’s a devoted daughter and friend with some big plans for the future. And everything is pretty perfect (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the dreaded Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood.

When Cricket--a gifted inventor--steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

 

*Review originally posted in October 2011* 

Lololololo-la! Sorry, can't help but hear the Kinks song in my head each time I hear the name, see the title...you get the picture. I thoroughly enjoyed ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS and was really looking forward to LOLA and I was not disappointed!

Once again author, Stephanie Perkins has created unique characters full of heart, passion and who are just plain fun to read! LOLA has all the love and heart pounding romance that ANNA did but with a couple of interesting twists thrown in. There's also a few unexpected guests who had me squealing with delight and I DO NOT squeal. (Really, I don't) Plus, Lola has not one, not two, but three cute boys... T-H-R-E-E! Let's take a peak at them shall we?

If you could take a rainbow, a few rays of sunshine, some shooting stars (for their sparkle factor), and maybe even a snowflake or two, mixed them all together and shook them out, Lola is what would you get. She's bright, colorful, full of life and has a sparkle that's all her own. 

Max is our resident rocker bad-boy. What makes him bad? Well, for starters, he's a "few" years older than Lola. Her two Dads aren't too thrilled with the idea of him but then again they're dads. He's cute, he sings and writes music, has multiple tattoos and engages in less desirable behavior (according to dear old "Dads) which, of course, makes him a total chick magnet.

Cricket is Lola's neighbor and childhood friend. He's not only cute, nice and super intelligent (he invents cool stuff like Barbie elevators) but he's tall - really, really tall. He's also the twin brother of Calliope Bell (aka figure skater extraordinaire/mean girl). Lola's parents like Cricket and there's a bit of history between he and Lola which isn't all happy, happy sunshine but no biggie, because he's the very definition of "Tall drink of water". Thirsty much? Yes.I.Am!

Whose the third cute guy? Well, now, that would just spoil the fun so you'll have to read it for yourself. *wink* *wink*

Lola struggles with making the right choices sometimes as a way to protect herself or those around her from getting hurt. This is familiar territory for her considering she's had her fair share of pain either from her mother's behavior or for being ostracized for her appearance. What she learns is that in order to be true to yourself, you have to "be" yourself, regardless of what others think...you have to live fully and without fear. (You wanna wear a pink wig, a sparkly tutu and combat boots? You go, girl!) 

She also discovers that some things are worth the risk if you're willing to give it a chance. Even if it's a second, or a third chance and she finds that when it comes to love, sometimes you have to go back to the start in order to cross the finish line.

 

LOLA chapter sample

 

 

GIVEAWAY

3 winners will win one of these ANNA, LOLA, ISLA button packs.

U.S. Only

b2ap3_thumbnail_ISLAbutton.jpg

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Rate this blog entry:
Map Reveal: Winterspell by Claire Legrand + Giveaw...
YA Authors as YAs: The Megan Whitmer Edition + Giv...

Related Posts

 

Comments 7

Vivien on Monday, 21 July 2014 12:44

This is the first contemporary that I fell head over heels!! Utterly amazing.

0
This is the first contemporary that I fell head over heels!! Utterly amazing.
Guest - AJ Pine on Monday, 21 July 2014 22:23

Etienne St. Clair. British accent. Speaks French. Buys Neruda poetry.

0
Etienne St. Clair. British accent. Speaks French. Buys Neruda poetry.
Guest - nardos on Monday, 21 July 2014 22:45

Because it amazing, its was my first stand alone romantic ya book and of course the lovable characters

0
Because it amazing, its was my first stand alone romantic ya book and of course the lovable characters
Kara on Tuesday, 22 July 2014 11:58

God, I love Anna and the French Kiss. The book gave a little knowledge & laughter. Anna was a character w/ faults, but I couldn't get mad at her. Her career choice was unique & OCD ways were cute. St. Clair and Anna kind of balanced each other out. I'm doing my best not to give spoilers here, but I love that they picked each other up in hard situations. They just clique and the romance didn't feel forced. I also loved she was pushing friendship first, so we felt their bond was stronger. I loved Anna & hope to love Isla even more.

0
God, I love Anna and the French Kiss. The book gave a little knowledge & laughter. Anna was a character w/ faults, but I couldn't get mad at her. Her career choice was unique & OCD ways were cute. St. Clair and Anna kind of balanced each other out. I'm doing my best not to give spoilers here, but I love that they picked each other up in hard situations. They just clique and the romance didn't feel forced. I also loved she was pushing friendship first, so we felt their bond was stronger. I loved Anna & hope to love Isla even more.
Jen Bruce on Wednesday, 23 July 2014 10:57

I loved how quirky and inside her own head Anna was. How she didn't want to complicate things with her new set of friends, so she just suffered her attraction to St. Clair in silence. Such a cute story! And the French setting...can't forget that!

0
I loved how quirky and inside her own head Anna was. How she didn't want to complicate things with her new set of friends, so she just suffered her attraction to St. Clair in silence. Such a cute story! And the French setting...can't forget that!
Guest - Samantha Lashley on Wednesday, 23 July 2014 19:49

What's not to love? Boy with foreign accent, the setting, the friends. I loved everything. Anna was so cute and quirky and I love rereading this book.

0
What's not to love? Boy with foreign accent, the setting, the friends. I loved everything. Anna was so cute and quirky and I love rereading this book.
L on Friday, 25 July 2014 21:23

haven't read it yet

0
haven't read it yet

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The 12 Dares of Christa
Christa is a holiday junkie. What’s not to love? There’s...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year she’ll...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See Fred Run
Learning to read has never been more fun than it...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Monster of Selkirk Book I: The Duality of Nature
Monsters come in many forms, and not everyone knows a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
The amazing original that set off the worldwide search for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, makes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Being Fishkill
Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goldeline
Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Speak Easy, Speak Love
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mr. Biddles
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Brigette Barrager reunite to bring us...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Black Bird of the Gallows
simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Now, Not Ever
The sequel to The Only Thing Worse than Me Is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Prince and the Dressmaker
Paris, at the dawn of the modern age: ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pashmina
Priyanka Das has so many unanswered questions: Why did her...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The 12 Dares of Christa
 
4.3
"'The 12 Dares of Christa' by Marissa Burt is a sweet story of friendship, determination, strength, and forgiveness. Main character..."
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
 
5.0
"'Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes' by Booki Vivat is an adorable, illustrated story that not only proves a fast..."
See Fred Run
 
3.5
"'See Fred Run' by Kevin Bolger, and illustrated by Ben Hodson, is a story about main character Fred and his..."
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
 
5.0
"Where's Waldo is an iconic search and find activity book that has been entertaining people for 30 years. This 30th..."
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
 
4.5
"THE LITTLE GIRL WHO DIDN'T WANT TO GO TO BED is about a girl who will do anything to stay..."
Mr. Biddles
 
5.0
"MR. BIDDLES stars a cat named Mr. Biddles who is an inventor. He creates all types of new gadgets and..."
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
 
4.5
"In UNI THE UNICORN AND THE DREAM COME TRUE, magic is weakening amongst the unicorns because of the never-ending rain...."
Pashmina
 
3.5
"Priyanka Das’s mother does not like Priyanka asking questions about India and her life there, but that doesn’t stop Pri..."
How to Disappear
 
5.0
"I am so absolutely in love with Sharon Huss Roat. Her books are funny, relatable, and so easily devoured. I..."
Penguins Love Their ABC's
 
4.0
"In PENGUINS LOVE THEIR ABC'S, Mama Penguin hides ABC's in the snow for her six children to seek out. They..."
David Inside Out
 
5.0
"David Inside Out is a novel about a teenager (David) who is discovering he is gay. In David's high school,..."
Even Fairies Fart
 
5.0
"EVEN FAIRIES FART teaches that nobody's perfect. As children, we listen to fairy tales and dream of having perfect lives..."
Little Penguin and the Lollipop
 
4.5
"LITTLE PENGUIN AND THE LOLLIPOP is interactive and encourages the reader to help Little Penguin by being silly. It makes..."
The Rest of Us Just Live Here
 
3.7
"I have to admit, it took me a while to get into this one. The characters seemed to me to..."
The Curtain-Twitcher's Handbook
 
4.5
"Whipped through this one as it's a really chatty, easy read. After a while it's like listening to your best..."
The Book Thief
 
4.7
"Death as a narrator? What an idea! It was so interesting to see the Second World War from a German..."
Ferocious (Vicarious #2)
 
5.0
"*WARNING: There are no spoilers for FEROCIOUS, but there are spoilers for book 1, VICARIOUS* As a reader, sequels always..."
Rebel's Blade
 
4.8
"A fantasy of the highest quality that checks every box and still pushes the bounds of originality. The..."
Blight
 
4.7
"BLIGHT by Alexandra Duncan is the next young adult dystopian novel that will set your world on fire. Torrest Tempest..."
The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking #1)
 
5.0
"This book was so unusual and satisfying in so many ways. Then there was the one bit - if you've..."