The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Meet Our Editors: Jill Van Leer

Posted by on in News & Updates
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 1034
  • 3 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

 

There are several official Editors (staff reviewers or Review Ninjas, if you will) at Young Adult Books Central, and they all have their own taste in books. While one might give a certain book 5 stars, another might only give it 3. We like that kind of diversity here, because we know every reader is different. Every reader's opinion is valid.

But we also know it's helpful to read reviews by those who share your same interests, especially when you're looking for recommendations.

So which YABC Editor has your taste in books? Find out in this new blog series, Meet Our Editors! Each month, I'll be spotlighting one of our editors. When you find one that shares your same taste in books, movies, TV, even food, then make sure to check out the books that editor has reviewed favorably. 

See how it works? Great! 

~~~~~

First up, I did a Fast Faves interview with Kim Baccellia, who has been with YABC the longest. 

Second was a Fast Faves interview with our newest editor, Christina Franke

Then we did a Fast Faves interview with CJ Redwine

Here is the Fast Faves with Megan Kelly

Fast Faves with Jason Gallaher

~~~~~

b2ap3_thumbnail_Screen-Shot-2013-04-19-at-1.46.15-PM.png
This month's Editor is Jill Van Leer. Jill has been an immeasurable support these past few years, helping me get YABC's feet on the ground. When I took over YABC back in 2009, I was swamped with books for review and couldn't get to them all by myself. I needed more volunteer reviewers and Jill was kind enough to help out. Although she'll be the first to tell you she's a reader, not a reviewer, she tackled the job for her dear old friend, and I couldn't be more grateful. I suppose that's what great friends do for one another, especially friends who've known each other, and stuck by each other, since preschool. I'm forever appreciative of her support for YABC and all the volunteers here. She's been the best cheerleader a person could ask for, and as long as she has time for reviewing, I'll keep sending books her way. 
 
Thank you, Jilly!
 
 
 
Jill, tell us a little about yourself.
 
I'm a stay at home mom of 3 awesome children. I love to read, garden, and spend time with my family.  
 
 
Which types of books are your favorites to read/review?
 
I love to read dystopian, romance, supernatural, steampunk, contemporary and picture books!  


Which types of books do you hate to read?
 
I'm not a big fan of the middle grade books, I think it's just the phase of life I'm in. I'm sure once my eldest gets a couple years older, I'll be all over the middle grade!  


What do you think about writing negative reviews?
 
I hate writing reviews on books I didn't enjoy.  I never want to upset the author, or bash a book. I try to make the review positive, while still stating why I didn't enjoy the book.  
 

Why are reviews important to share online?
 
I think reviews are important to share online not only to hype up a book, but to find people who share your interests.  When I read a really amazing book, I want to find others who enjoyed it as well. I love to "squee" over books with fellow bloggers!  
 
 
 

Now it's time for Fast Faves with Jill! 

 

~ Movies ~
 
 
 
Most loved –  The Princess Bride
 
Most hated –  I can't think of one... :( I know there are some.
 
Can recite by heart – Twilight (LOL)
 
Wish more people had seen it –  Luther
 
 
~ Books From Childhood ~
 
 
Most loved – Mother Goose's Nursery Rhymes
 
Most hated – Those Scare you in the Dark series...gross
 
Haven’t read, but probably should – Roald Dahl books
 
Can remember where you were when you first read it – Charlotte's Web
 
Wish more people had read it – Bridge to Terabithia
 
 
~ Foods ~
 
 
Most loved - Chicken Strips
 
Most hated – saurkraut
 
Haven’t eaten, but probably should – Kale
 
Would eat anytime, anywhere – Fries
 
Best fuel for writing – chips
 
 
 
~ TV Shows ~
 
Most loved –  Gilmore Girls
 
Most hated – 2 1/2 Men
 
Haven’t watched, but probably should – Doctor Who
 
Can remember where you were when you saw it – Friends
 
Wish more people had seen it – Parenthood
 
 
 
~ Items in Your Closet ~
 
Most loved – Jeans
 
Most hated – Jeans (lol)
 
Haven’t worn in forever, probably should throw it out – spaghetti strap shirts
 
Wish you’d never thrown them out – old jeans
 
Why do I have so many – jeans
 
 
 
~ Life ~
 
Best moment/memory - My Wedding and birth of my 3 children
 
Worst/most embarrassing moment - All of high school
 
Haven't accomplished yet, but one day I'll - see Paul McCartney
 
Childhood toy you'll never get rid of - Umm...I don't have any left
 
Wish I had more time for this guilty pleasure - reading ;)
 
 
 
 
 

 

To read Jill's book reviews and see her favorite books list, check out her profile here.

Tweet Jill: @jvanleer

 

So? How much do you have in common with Jill? Let us know in the comments. And stay tuned next month for another editor interview!

 

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
0

Comments

  • YABC
    YABC Friday, 19 April 2013

    You totally got to see Paul McCartney since you filled out this interview! Woot! And I totally snorted when I saw your most embarrassing moment was "all of high school." LOL!

  • Sasha Shamblen
    Sasha Shamblen Friday, 19 April 2013

    Hmm, my sister could probably recite all of twilight;)

    Reply Cancel
  • Jen, Editor
    Jen, Editor Saturday, 20 April 2013

    "It's called an adrenaline rush. You can Google it." ;)

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Thursday, 18 December 2014

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)