The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Meet Our Editors: Jill Van Leer


There are several official Editors (staff reviewers or Review Ninjas, if you will) at Young Adult Books Central, and they all have their own taste in books. While one might give a certain book 5 stars, another might only give it 3. We like that kind of diversity here, because we know every reader is different. Every reader's opinion is valid.

But we also know it's helpful to read reviews by those who share your same interests, especially when you're looking for recommendations.

So which YABC Editor has your taste in books? Find out in this new blog series, Meet Our Editors! Each month, I'll be spotlighting one of our editors. When you find one that shares your same taste in books, movies, TV, even food, then make sure to check out the books that editor has reviewed favorably. 

See how it works? Great! 


First up, I did a Fast Faves interview with Kim Baccellia, who has been with YABC the longest. 

Second was a Fast Faves interview with our newest editor, Christina Franke

Then we did a Fast Faves interview with CJ Redwine

Here is the Fast Faves with Megan Kelly

Fast Faves with Jason Gallaher


This month's Editor is Jill Van Leer. Jill has been an immeasurable support these past few years, helping me get YABC's feet on the ground. When I took over YABC back in 2009, I was swamped with books for review and couldn't get to them all by myself. I needed more volunteer reviewers and Jill was kind enough to help out. Although she'll be the first to tell you she's a reader, not a reviewer, she tackled the job for her dear old friend, and I couldn't be more grateful. I suppose that's what great friends do for one another, especially friends who've known each other, and stuck by each other, since preschool. I'm forever appreciative of her support for YABC and all the volunteers here. She's been the best cheerleader a person could ask for, and as long as she has time for reviewing, I'll keep sending books her way. 
Thank you, Jilly!
Jill, tell us a little about yourself.
I'm a stay at home mom of 3 awesome children. I love to read, garden, and spend time with my family.  
Which types of books are your favorites to read/review?
I love to read dystopian, romance, supernatural, steampunk, contemporary and picture books!  

Which types of books do you hate to read?
I'm not a big fan of the middle grade books, I think it's just the phase of life I'm in. I'm sure once my eldest gets a couple years older, I'll be all over the middle grade!  

What do you think about writing negative reviews?
I hate writing reviews on books I didn't enjoy.  I never want to upset the author, or bash a book. I try to make the review positive, while still stating why I didn't enjoy the book.  

Why are reviews important to share online?
I think reviews are important to share online not only to hype up a book, but to find people who share your interests.  When I read a really amazing book, I want to find others who enjoyed it as well. I love to "squee" over books with fellow bloggers!  

Now it's time for Fast Faves with Jill! 


~ Movies ~
Most loved –  The Princess Bride
Most hated –  I can't think of one... :( I know there are some.
Can recite by heart – Twilight (LOL)
Wish more people had seen it –  Luther
~ Books From Childhood ~
Most loved – Mother Goose's Nursery Rhymes
Most hated – Those Scare you in the Dark series...gross
Haven’t read, but probably should – Roald Dahl books
Can remember where you were when you first read it – Charlotte's Web
Wish more people had read it – Bridge to Terabithia
~ Foods ~
Most loved - Chicken Strips
Most hated – saurkraut
Haven’t eaten, but probably should – Kale
Would eat anytime, anywhere – Fries
Best fuel for writing – chips
~ TV Shows ~
Most loved –  Gilmore Girls
Most hated – 2 1/2 Men
Haven’t watched, but probably should – Doctor Who
Can remember where you were when you saw it – Friends
Wish more people had seen it – Parenthood
~ Items in Your Closet ~
Most loved – Jeans
Most hated – Jeans (lol)
Haven’t worn in forever, probably should throw it out – spaghetti strap shirts
Wish you’d never thrown them out – old jeans
Why do I have so many – jeans
~ Life ~
Best moment/memory - My Wedding and birth of my 3 children
Worst/most embarrassing moment - All of high school
Haven't accomplished yet, but one day I'll - see Paul McCartney
Childhood toy you'll never get rid of - Umm...I don't have any left
Wish I had more time for this guilty pleasure - reading ;)


To read Jill's book reviews and see her favorite books list, check out her profile here.

Tweet Jill: @jvanleer


So? How much do you have in common with Jill? Let us know in the comments. And stay tuned next month for another editor interview!




Rate this blog entry:
Interview with Kathryn Fitzmaurice, Author of DEST...
Giveaway: Win a Doctor Who Prize Pack! (Books+DVDs...

Related Posts

Comments 3

YABC on Friday, 19 April 2013 14:12

You totally got to see Paul McCartney since you filled out this interview! Woot! And I totally snorted when I saw your most embarrassing moment was "all of high school." LOL!

You totally got to see Paul McCartney since you filled out this interview! Woot! And I totally snorted when I saw your most embarrassing moment was "all of high school." LOL!
Sasha Shamblen on Friday, 19 April 2013 18:25

Hmm, my sister could probably recite all of twilight;)

Hmm, my sister could probably recite all of twilight;)
Jen on Saturday, 20 April 2013 19:20

"It's called an adrenaline rush. You can Google it." ;)

"It's called an adrenaline rush. You can Google it." ;)

Current Giveaways


















Latest Book Listings Added

Enzo's Very Scary Halloween
Enzo, the lovable mutt from Garth Stein’s New York Times...
0.0 (0)
The Romantics
Perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Rainbow Rowell, The...
0.0 (0)
the storm.jpg
As this evocative picture book begins, a little boy is...
0.0 (0)
The Snake Fight (Battle Bugs #8)
The Battle Bugs have discovered a tunnel that leads directly...
0.0 (0)
Lucy is a small dog without a home. She had...
0.0 (0)
The Secret Diary of Lydia Bennet
In the tradition of Longbourn, Mr. Darcy's Diary, and...
0.0 (0)
Moon Chosen (Tales of a New World #1)
Mari is an Earth Walker, heir to the unique...
0.0 (0)
The Stranger Game
The Stranger Game is a dark, suspenseful, and twisty...
0.0 (0)
The Last Gatekeeper
Two worlds. A queen determined to rule both. And...
0.0 (0)
No Holding Back
A romantic European vacation is the perfect excuse to...
0.0 (0)
Paws Off the Pearl! (Geronimo Stilton Cavemice #12)
In the lagoon near Old Mouse City, cavemice have discovered...
0.0 (0)
and the only way the doctors can help is...
0.0 (0)
If anyone saw the prom boards Amelia Blanco makes on...
0.0 (0)
Is there a line between gifted and insane? How do...
0.0 (0)
Time-shifted to the past, three twenty-first century children fight to...
0.0 (0)
The Last Cherry Blossom
Yuriko is happy growing up in Hiroshima when it's just...
0.0 (0)