The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Looking for a Book to Read? Grab These Recent Award Winners!

Looking for a Book to Read? Grab These Recent Award Winners!

The American Library Association just had its midwinter conference in Seattle. Monday brought some big award reveals, so if you're looking for a suggestion or two on a new book to read, check out one of these recent award winners!

John Newbery Medal Winner:

One and Only Ivan

The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate

Newbery Honor Recipients:

Splendors and Glooms

Splendors and Glooms by Laura Amy Schlitz

Bomb

Bomb: The Race to Build - and Steal - the World's Most Dangerous Weapon by Steve Sheinkin

Three Times Lucky

Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage

Michael L. Printz Award Winner:

In Darkness

In Darkness by Nick Lake

Printz Honor Recipients:

Aristotle and Dante

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

Code Name Verity

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

Dodger

Dodger by Terry Pratchett

The White Bicycle

The White Bicycle by Beverley Brenna

Rate this blog entry:
Giveaway: Writing with a Heavy Heart (Internationa...
Cover Reveal: Deception by CJ Redwine (plus intern...

Related Posts

Comments 1

 
Sasha Shamblen on Thursday, 14 March 2013 18:39

Code Name Verify looks really good

Code Name Verify looks really good

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Starflight
Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
summer marked.jpg
Fresh off a break-up with her boyfriend, Kadie's glad to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)