It's Live!! Cover Reveal: Welcome Home, edited by Eric Smith + Giveaway (US Only)

It's Live!! Cover Reveal: Welcome Home, edited by Eric Smith + Giveaway (US Only)

Hi, YABCers!

Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for WELCOME HOME, edited by Eric Smith, releasing September 5, 2017 from Flux.  Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Eric:

A few years ago, I was lucky enough to do a We Need Diverse Books panel with several YA authors I adore, a few hours outside of Philadelphia. I.W. Gregorio (None of the Above), Randy Ribay (An Infinite Number of Parallel Universes), E.C. Myers (The Silence of Six)… and the bunch of us talked to some fantastic school librarians about kid-lit and diversity, and the difficulty and frustration of growing up without seeing ourselves in what we read.

I made some silly joke about how there aren’t any books about “the geeky adopted brown teenager being raised by an Irish Catholic family.”

And E.C. Myers, exclaimed “there still isn’t!”

We all had a good laugh at my weirdly specific request, but the crazy thing is, it’s true. It’s hard to find those books about adopted kids. I feel like we’ve been lucky lately, with recent books like Autofocus by Lauren Gibaldi and See No Color by Shannon Gibney hitting the shelves. But adopted teens are still hard to spot in books. I wrote a little bit about this here.

And well, I wanted to help change that a bit. And thus, Welcome Home was born, after a late-night, rambling email to my literary agent. I wanted to try and pull in as many authors I could to write about the many sides of adoption, and whenever possible, get authors to pull from a real, genuine place.

It took a while to find them. It’s not like every kid-lit author has a Wikipedia page that screams “I’m adopted!” on it, you know?

See, a lot of the authors in the collection have particularly close ties to adoption. Some of us are adoptees. Others have adopted children, or have worked with foster kids. Some pull from the stories of those close to them, family and the like. And I’m just so proud of the resulting collection.

And to share the cover with you all.

Some of you who have been following the collection might have caught wind of the news that it almost gotten canceled, when the original press, Jolly Fish Press, announced they were shuttering. They were bought, and thankfully are still in action, and the collection was streamed up to Flux. Which is just a thrill for me, as I love that press.

So this is a bit of a cover reveal, and a bit of a publisher reveal, I suppose.

Here we go. I hope you like it, and I hope you’ll join us on this adventure when the book comes out in September.

~Eric Smith (WELCOME HOME, Flux)

 

Ready to see?

Scroll, YABCers! Scroll!

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

Here it is!

 
 
 
 
  

*** If you choose to share this image elsewhere, please include a courtesy link back to this page so others can enter Eric's giveaway. Thank you! ***

WELCOME HOME

by Eric Smith
Release date: September 5, 2017
Publisher: Flux
 ISBN: 9781635830040
 
About the Book
Welcome Home collects a number of adoption-themed fictional short stories, and brings them together in one anthology from a diverse range of celebrated Young Adult authors. The all-star roster includes Edgar-award winner Mindy McGinnis, New York Times best-selling authors C.J. Redwine (The Shadow Queen) and William Ritter (Jackaby), and acclaimed YA authors across all genres, like Adi Alsaid, Lauren Gibaldi, Sangu Mandanna, Karen Akins, and many more.
 
 
 
About the Author

Eric Smith is a young adult author and literary agent who grew up in the wilds of New Jersey. When he isn't working on books (his and other peoples), he can be found writing about books for places like Book Riot and Paste Magazine. He lives with his wife, Nena, and their legion of small furry animals. Find him online at www.ericsmithrocks.com or on Twitter at @ericsmithrocks.

 Twitter: @ericsmithrocks - Facebook - Instagram - Goodreads - Website

Giveaway Details

Three winners will each recieve an ARC of WELCOME HOME, when available.

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries:

What do you think about the cover and synopsis?

Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Rate this blog entry:
Waiting On Wednesday ~ March 29th, 2017
Top Ten Tuesday ~ Top Ten Authors I'm Dying To Mee...

Related Posts

 

Comments 7

Rebecca Whelan on Wednesday, 29 March 2017 12:48

I like the cover. Simple and nice. Maybe a different background color though.
I think the synopsis would be better if it stated why the authors were involved in the book. Not details, but just stating that they all have some ties to adoption. I think it would be more pertinent information than listing rewards and previous books.

0
I like the cover. Simple and nice. Maybe a different background color though. I think the synopsis would be better if it stated why the authors were involved in the book. Not details, but just stating that they all have some ties to adoption. I think it would be more pertinent information than listing rewards and previous books.
John on Wednesday, 29 March 2017 18:44

The cover has a certain retro-look, and the subject matter might be of interest!

0
The cover has a certain retro-look, and the subject matter might be of interest!
Linda Canniff on Wednesday, 29 March 2017 20:04

I love simple color block art design covers. The synopsis is very heartwarming. I am looking forward to reading this collection. Thanks for the giveaway.

0
I love simple color block art design covers. The synopsis is very heartwarming. I am looking forward to reading this collection. Thanks for the giveaway. :)
Heidi Wong on Thursday, 06 April 2017 17:10

The cover may be simple, but it looks as if it has a lot more to it than I can see. The synopsis sounds like I might cry before I finish the book.

0
The cover may be simple, but it looks as if it has a lot more to it than I can see. The synopsis sounds like I might cry before I finish the book.
Shannon Mizikoski on Tuesday, 11 April 2017 00:18

The author line-up for this is epic, and the subject matter is going to be so, so emotional I am sure! I cannot wait! I love the cover, too, it has such a retro feel, which is fun! Thanks for the chance!

0
The author line-up for this is epic, and the subject matter is going to be so, so emotional I am sure! I cannot wait! I love the cover, too, it has such a retro feel, which is fun! Thanks for the chance!
Kelly G on Thursday, 13 April 2017 15:40

I love how simplistic the background is, and I really look forward to this amazing collection of stories!

0
I love how simplistic the background is, and I really look forward to this amazing collection of stories!
Danielle Hammelef on Saturday, 22 April 2017 15:29

The cover is perfect for this exciting anthology! I love the idea of this book.

0
The cover is perfect for this exciting anthology! I love the idea of this book.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Finding-Elora.jpg
High school’s a whole new ballgame. Elora used...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Deadly Exodus
Their love is forbidden…their lives in danger… ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Front Cover
Join Clementine on a Winter Adventure in the Great Outdoors!...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Front cover
Growing up as a biracial child, Maggy Williams had three...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
hanna_final.jpg
Inspired by real Holocaust events, this poignant debut novel is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
51MO7YjcihL.jpg
Twins Finn and Eric’s peaceful lives are turned upside down...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
This series is part of Scholastic's early chapter book line,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

What the Night Sings
 
5.0
"Gerta Rausch didn’t know she was Jewish until she and her father were taken from their home in the middle..."
The Last First Daughter
 
3.5
"Intriguing and action packed. The Story: The country has been in a silent age for a decade after terrorists..."
Zombie Queen of Newbury High
 
4.3
"This book was probably the best book I have ever read. I loved the end so much I wished there..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"*I was given an e-galley.* Brandy Woods Snow is a wonderfully talented writer and plotter! This story has a..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"Aw yes, transparency. I’m but one of her brutal critique partners and friends. Will this book capture you..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"I COULD NOT STOP READING THIS BOOK! I fell in love with all the characters and secretly plotted the death..."
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
 
5.0
"THE KIDULT HANDBOOK is the perfect book to pull out on a boring day. It is packed with fun activities..."
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
 
4.7
"Insightful, engaging, and downright fun! LEGO hits on all the learning styles in this brilliantly interactive science primer. ..."
Switching Gears
 
3.7
"Lucas Nelson loved Emmy Martin, but he waited until a week before he died of cancer to tell her that...."
Sky in the Deep
 
4.7
"What worked: This is a highly engaging historical tale of a teen warrior who is taken by a rival clan..."
We Are All That's Left
 
5.0
" Zara feels shut off from her Bosnian born mother. She knows that her mother survived some..."
The Fault In Our Stars
 
5.0
"Seriously, is it possible to read this book without crying? Asking for allllllll offffff myyyyyyy friiiiiiiiiends."
Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
 
4.0
"In this story, Chris joins Sunny and Rue for a few friendly rounds of Rabbit Racers. (He’s never played before,..."
Frat Girl
 
4.0
"The writing style is what really stands out in this book-- SO easy to read, conversational, believable character interactions. It..."
Original Syn
 
5.0
"Got an ARC of this one and flew through it. So so good."
What I Leave Behind
 
5.0
"Will’s dad commits suicide. His childhood friend, Playa, is raped at a party. His mom works long over-night shifts as..."
When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel
 
4.5
"'When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel' by G. Neri, illustrated by David Litchfield, is an artistic..."
Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries
 
4.0
"'Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries' by Ammi-Joan Paquette and Laurie Ann Thompson is a fun read, chock..."
Watcher
 
4.3
"The story: Sawyer is an orphaned girl who lives in a world not unlike that of the Terminator movies,..."
Savage Beauty
 
5.0
"SAVAGE BEAUTY is a dark twist on the classic fairytale Sleeping Beauty. Aura and Luna are sisters, but they're the..."