The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Rift by Chris Howard + Giveaway (US/Canada)

Posted by on in Cover Reveals
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 3319
  • 25 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

 

Hello, YABCers! We have another great cover reveal this week!

Today we're super excited to reveal the cover for THE RIFT (ROOTLESS #2) by Chris Howard releasing on Arbor Day, April 25, 2014. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Chris:

 

Hi there!
 
YABC hosted the cover reveal for my debut novel, ROOTLESS, and now that the second book in the trilogy, THE RIFT, is almost available, we’ve decided to keep this tradition alive! I’m thrilled the book will soon be in the hands of readers, I’m thrilled about this cover, and I’m thrilled to be sharing it for the first time, right here…
 
~ Chris Howard (THE RIFT)
 

 

 

Ready to see?

Scroll, YABCers! Scroll!

...

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

Here it is!

b2ap3_thumbnail_THE_RIFT_Howard_Rootless2_web.jpg

*** If you choose to share this image elsewhere, please include a courtesy link back to this page so others can enter Chris's giveaway. Thank you! ***

 

THE RIFT

by Chris Howard
Release date: April 25, 2014
 

About the Book

“There's a brilliant madness to this deadly post­apocalyptic world, filled with complex characters, shifting loyalties, and layers of mystery... a nonstop adventure” ­ Publishers Weekly, starred review of ROOTLESS
 
Banyan was once a tree builder, creating scrap­metal forests for rich clients in a barren burned­out world. Now he's traded his scaffolds for lookouts, his tools for guns. On a stolen boat, surrounded by a mutinous crew, Banyan has escaped from Promise Island with the last living trees on earth, and he's desperate to smuggle them to safety.
 
But powerful enemies are in pursuit, seeking to claim the trees for themselves. To reach a safe haven, Banyan will need the help of the pirate girl he loves, Alpha, his broken friend, Crow, and his troubled sister, Zee. Only together can they cross the mysterious molten wasteland of THE RIFT. And when Banyan discovers a new threat to Alpha's life, he fears he'll lose not only the trees they sacrificed so much to find, but the girl who inspires him and gives him hope.
 
Howard's "gift for the phantasmagoric" (Kirkus) is on full display in this thrilling second book of the Rootless trilogy.
 

b2ap3_thumbnail_chris_howard_pic_BW.jpgAbout the Author

Before he wrote stories, Chris Howard wrote songs, studied natural resources management, worked for the National Park Service, and spent eight years leading wilderness adventure trips for high school students. He was born and raised in the UK, but now lives in Denver, CO, with his wife. He is the author of ROOTLESS.

Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Web | Tumblr | Pinterest | YouTube
 

 

 

 

 

Giveaway Details

  • Three winners will receive a signed copy of ROOTLESS (ROOTLESS #1) or THE RIFT (ROOTLESS #2), winner's choice, plus some ROOTLESS bookmarks.
  •  
Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries:

What do you think about the cover and synopsis?

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Rate this blog entry:

Comments

  • Joshua David Bellin
    Joshua David Bellin Thursday, 17 April 2014

    Love the continuity with ROOTLESS (especially the silhouettes)!

  • Guest
    Natasha Thursday, 17 April 2014

    I love the cover and it sounds amazing!!
    Thanks for the chance to win!

  • Guest
    Sandy Thursday, 17 April 2014

    I love all the shapes and designs on the cover. The colors are awesome too. I will need to start with the first book in this series though before I read this one. Thanks for the review.

  • Susan T.
    Susan T. Thursday, 17 April 2014

    I love the cover because the mountains look just like home! :) I really want to read these books because the characters sound so interesting!

  • AvidAbbie
    AvidAbbie Friday, 18 April 2014

    Looks really spectacular and interesting. Looking forward to reading, even if I don't win!

  • Sarah Zane Kellar
    Sarah Zane Kellar Friday, 18 April 2014

    The cover is really pretty. I can't wait to read this.

  • Agustina Gonzalez
    Agustina Gonzalez Friday, 18 April 2014

    spectacular and interesting :D

  • Clara
    Clara Friday, 18 April 2014

    Love the cover! Thanks for this giveaway

  • Guest
    Christopher Kyle Friday, 18 April 2014

    What do you think of the cover and synopsis?- I love it!
    -Christopher Kyle

  • Rachael
    Rachael Saturday, 19 April 2014

    The cover looks beautiful, the plot intriguing. Trees are very important and I like that they seem to be the main focus in this novel.

  • Caroline Lambert
    Caroline Lambert Monday, 21 April 2014

    I thought that the cover was very nice and I liked the cool tones that it uses. The synopsis could use a little more meat, though.

  • Lisa Trinh
    Lisa Trinh Monday, 21 April 2014

    Cover and Sypnosis looks interesting

  • Dee Tee
    Dee Tee Tuesday, 22 April 2014

    Love the cover as well as the synopses.

  • Molly
    Molly Thursday, 24 April 2014

    Very cool cover!

  • Kim Heimbuch
    Kim Heimbuch Saturday, 26 April 2014

    While the cover is vibrant, I feel when paired up to other books in this genre, it lacks the quality of professional design. I would tone down the transparent fog in the foreground as it makes the 2 profiles appear squashed in this zone of total darkness, something obviously not viable due to the overall brightness of the background and foreground. If using profiles instead of actual people, the lighting needs to be consistent with the foreground also being pitch black. I would also differentiate the font colors and style from that of the cover, making it POP. These are both easy fixes that would infuse a higher quality of visual awareness as well as professionalism provided by big name publishers and cover designers.
    The synopsis provides readers with an interesting peak into the premise of the book. Having not read the prior book, I am not sure whom he was escaping from as it doesn't imply he was a prisoner, but just a tree builder. How does one end up amongst a mutinous crew? Does he know them? Is Alpha a pirate with this crew? And what have they sacrificed? I think providing readers with a bit deeper synopsis would really hook readers into this who otherwise might not pick it up on first glance!

  • L
    L Sunday, 27 April 2014

    Nice cover; interesting book

  • elizabeth
    elizabeth Monday, 28 April 2014

    the cover is gorgeous, not what i was expecting when i read the synopsis a few months ago. Glad it doesn't feature a random female model.

  • Guest
    Tea Monday, 28 April 2014

    It's not what I expected. When I first heard about The Rift in the first book it was described to be a hot wasteland with molten lava everywhere so I figured the cover would have the same color scheme as Rootless. The synopsis was such a tease and I can't wait to read it! You're awesome Chris!!!

  • Guest
    Meredith Richardson Friday, 02 May 2014

    The cover is gorgeous, I love looking at book covers because they always tell a story of their own.

  • Sam
    Sam Friday, 02 May 2014

    Well I already (and LOVED) Rootless so I know I'm love Rift! :D

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Thursday, 18 December 2014

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)