It's Live!! Cover Reveal: Rebel Seoul by Axie Oh + Giveaway (US Only)

It's Live!! Cover Reveal: Rebel Seoul by Axie Oh + Giveaway (US Only)

Hi, YABCers!

Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for REBEL SEOUL by Axie Oh, releasing September 2017 from Tu Books, an imprint of Lee & Low Books. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Axie:

Hi YABC! Thank you so much for having me here today to reveal the cover of REBEL SEOUL! I’m so pleased with this cover for many reasons: an Asian boy, front and center, the cool juxtaposition of old and futuristic architecture, and also, the colors, red and blue, remind me of the South Korean flag! All that I asked of my publisher—Tu Books—with regards to the cover, they delivered, and I am so grateful for their support and continued enthusiasm. Special thanks to the cover’s illustrator, Sebastien Hue, and to the designer, Elizabeth Casal, for creating a cover that conveys the rebellious spirit of my novel so beautifully. Again, much love to the YABC readers, and I hope you look forward to REBEL SEOUL! 

~Axie Oh (REBEL SEOUL, Tu Books)

 

Ready to see?

Scroll, YABCers! Scroll!

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

Here it is!

 
 
 
 
 
  

*** If you choose to share this image elsewhere, please include a courtesy link back to this page so others can enter Axie's giveaway. Thank you! ***

REBEL SEOUL

by: Axie Oh
Release date: September 2017
Publisher: Tu Books, an imprint of Lee & Low Books
 ISBN: 978-1620142998
 
About the Book

EAST ASIA, 2199. After a great war, the East Pacific is in ruins. In brutal Neo Seoul, where status comes from success in combat, ex-gang member Lee Jaewon is a talented pilot rising in the academy’s ranks. Abandoned as a child in the slums of Old Seoul by his rebel father, Jaewon desires only to escape his past.

When Jaewon is recruited into the most lucrative weapons development division in Neo Seoul, he is eager to claim his best shot at military glory. But the mission becomes more complicated when he meets Tera, a test subject in the government’s supersoldier project. Tera was trained for one purpose: to pilot one of the lethal God Machines, massive robots for a never-ending war.

With secret orders to report on Tera, Jaewon becomes Tera’s partner, earning her reluctant respect. But as respect turns to love, Jaewon begins to question his loyalty to an oppressive regime that creates weapons out of humans. As the project prepares to go public amidst rumors of a rebellion, Jaewon must decide where he stands—as a soldier of the Republic, or a rebel of the people.

Pacific Rim meets Korean action dramas in this mind-blowing, New Visions Award-winning science fiction debut. 


 
About the Author

Axie Oh is a first-generation Korean American, born in New York City and raised in New Jersey. She studied Korean history and creative writing as an undergrad at the University of California San Diego and holds an MFA in Writing for Young People from Lesley University. Her passions include K-pop, anime, stationery supplies, and milk tea, and she currently resides in Las Vegas, Nevada, with her puppy, Toro (named after Totoro).

Website - Twitter - Instagram - Goodreads - Tumblr - Preorder

Giveaway Details

Two winners will each receive an ARC of REBEL SEOUL, when available.

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries:

What do you think about the cover and synopsis?

Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Rate this blog entry:
Giveaway: VAMPIRINA AT THE BEACH (US Only)
Sneak Peek + Giveaway: LETTERS TO THE LOST (US and...

Related Posts

 

Comments 9

John on Friday, 07 April 2017 20:33

I love the cover art's sense of mood and mystery, and the synopsis was inspired!

0
I love the cover art's sense of mood and mystery, and the synopsis was inspired!
Linda Romer on Tuesday, 11 April 2017 16:12

Rebel seoul sounds great and I love the confident cover. Thank you

0
Rebel seoul sounds great and I love the confident cover. Thank you
Jennifer Lancaster on Tuesday, 25 April 2017 12:52

Pacific Rim meets Korean action dramas - I'm sold! My half Korean side is gidding with joy on what it's about. The cover I'm not sold on.

0
Pacific Rim meets Korean action dramas - I'm sold! My half Korean side is gidding with joy on what it's about. The cover I'm not sold on.
Danielle Hammelef on Sunday, 30 April 2017 12:51

I love the cover with all of it's juxtapositions. The synopsis sounds exciting with all the action and even romance.

0
I love the cover with all of it's juxtapositions. The synopsis sounds exciting with all the action and even romance.
Lily M. on Monday, 01 May 2017 03:57

This synopsis sounds very good, it got my attention specially because I'm currently listening to a lot of K-pop, I'm obsessed, anyway it sounds good and I'm liking the cover ?

0
This synopsis sounds very good, it got my attention specially because I'm currently listening to a lot of K-pop, I'm obsessed, anyway it sounds good and I'm liking the cover ?
Adreana on Thursday, 04 May 2017 17:16

The synopsis sounds so amazing. Added it to my Goodreads TBR first time I read it! And the cover is gorgeous, really says something about the tone & setting

0
The synopsis sounds so amazing. Added it to my Goodreads TBR first time I read it! And the cover is gorgeous, really says something about the tone & setting
Shelly Hart on Thursday, 04 May 2017 21:17

Sounds good!Nice cover!

0
Sounds good!Nice cover!
Penny Olson on Sunday, 07 May 2017 15:29

I like the futuristic, modern cover and the synopsis makes it sound like a great sci-fi read.

0
I like the futuristic, modern cover and the synopsis makes it sound like a great sci-fi read.
Shenwei Chang on Sunday, 07 May 2017 22:43

I love the contrast between the foreground and the background of the cover; it really brings the sci-fi dystopian atmosphere into relief. The synopsis sounds like everything I could want from sci-fi YA, and I'm super excited to read another dystopian YA set in East Asia.

0
I love the contrast between the foreground and the background of the cover; it really brings the sci-fi dystopian atmosphere into relief. The synopsis sounds like everything I could want from sci-fi YA, and I'm super excited to read another dystopian YA set in East Asia. :)

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."
When Dimple Met Rishi
 
3.3
"A contemporary YA romance—heavy on the romance—with an Indian-American take on the attraction of opposites. The story is told..."
Stray
 
3.8
"'Stray' by Joni Johnson has an interesting premise. When Lila finds out that her father is about to kick her..."