It's Live!! Cover Reveal: Rebel Seoul by Axie Oh + Giveaway (US Only)

It's Live!! Cover Reveal: Rebel Seoul by Axie Oh + Giveaway (US Only)

Hi, YABCers!

Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for REBEL SEOUL by Axie Oh, releasing September 2017 from Tu Books, an imprint of Lee & Low Books. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Axie:

Hi YABC! Thank you so much for having me here today to reveal the cover of REBEL SEOUL! I’m so pleased with this cover for many reasons: an Asian boy, front and center, the cool juxtaposition of old and futuristic architecture, and also, the colors, red and blue, remind me of the South Korean flag! All that I asked of my publisher—Tu Books—with regards to the cover, they delivered, and I am so grateful for their support and continued enthusiasm. Special thanks to the cover’s illustrator, Sebastien Hue, and to the designer, Elizabeth Casal, for creating a cover that conveys the rebellious spirit of my novel so beautifully. Again, much love to the YABC readers, and I hope you look forward to REBEL SEOUL! 

~Axie Oh (REBEL SEOUL, Tu Books)

 

Ready to see?

Scroll, YABCers! Scroll!

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

Here it is!

 
 
 
 
 
  

*** If you choose to share this image elsewhere, please include a courtesy link back to this page so others can enter Axie's giveaway. Thank you! ***

REBEL SEOUL

by: Axie Oh
Release date: September 2017
Publisher: Tu Books, an imprint of Lee & Low Books
 ISBN: 978-1620142998
 
About the Book

EAST ASIA, 2199. After a great war, the East Pacific is in ruins. In brutal Neo Seoul, where status comes from success in combat, ex-gang member Lee Jaewon is a talented pilot rising in the academy’s ranks. Abandoned as a child in the slums of Old Seoul by his rebel father, Jaewon desires only to escape his past.

When Jaewon is recruited into the most lucrative weapons development division in Neo Seoul, he is eager to claim his best shot at military glory. But the mission becomes more complicated when he meets Tera, a test subject in the government’s supersoldier project. Tera was trained for one purpose: to pilot one of the lethal God Machines, massive robots for a never-ending war.

With secret orders to report on Tera, Jaewon becomes Tera’s partner, earning her reluctant respect. But as respect turns to love, Jaewon begins to question his loyalty to an oppressive regime that creates weapons out of humans. As the project prepares to go public amidst rumors of a rebellion, Jaewon must decide where he stands—as a soldier of the Republic, or a rebel of the people.

Pacific Rim meets Korean action dramas in this mind-blowing, New Visions Award-winning science fiction debut. 


 
About the Author

Axie Oh is a first-generation Korean American, born in New York City and raised in New Jersey. She studied Korean history and creative writing as an undergrad at the University of California San Diego and holds an MFA in Writing for Young People from Lesley University. Her passions include K-pop, anime, stationery supplies, and milk tea, and she currently resides in Las Vegas, Nevada, with her puppy, Toro (named after Totoro).

Website - Twitter - Instagram - Goodreads - Tumblr - Preorder

Giveaway Details

Two winners will each receive an ARC of REBEL SEOUL, when available.

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries:

What do you think about the cover and synopsis?

Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Rate this blog entry:
Giveaway: VAMPIRINA AT THE BEACH (US Only)
Sneak Peek + Giveaway: LETTERS TO THE LOST (US and...

Related Posts

 

Comments 9

John on Friday, 07 April 2017 20:33

I love the cover art's sense of mood and mystery, and the synopsis was inspired!

0
I love the cover art's sense of mood and mystery, and the synopsis was inspired!
Linda Romer on Tuesday, 11 April 2017 16:12

Rebel seoul sounds great and I love the confident cover. Thank you

0
Rebel seoul sounds great and I love the confident cover. Thank you
Jennifer Lancaster on Tuesday, 25 April 2017 12:52

Pacific Rim meets Korean action dramas - I'm sold! My half Korean side is gidding with joy on what it's about. The cover I'm not sold on.

0
Pacific Rim meets Korean action dramas - I'm sold! My half Korean side is gidding with joy on what it's about. The cover I'm not sold on.
Danielle Hammelef on Sunday, 30 April 2017 12:51

I love the cover with all of it's juxtapositions. The synopsis sounds exciting with all the action and even romance.

0
I love the cover with all of it's juxtapositions. The synopsis sounds exciting with all the action and even romance.
Lily M. on Monday, 01 May 2017 03:57

This synopsis sounds very good, it got my attention specially because I'm currently listening to a lot of K-pop, I'm obsessed, anyway it sounds good and I'm liking the cover ?

0
This synopsis sounds very good, it got my attention specially because I'm currently listening to a lot of K-pop, I'm obsessed, anyway it sounds good and I'm liking the cover ?
Adreana on Thursday, 04 May 2017 17:16

The synopsis sounds so amazing. Added it to my Goodreads TBR first time I read it! And the cover is gorgeous, really says something about the tone & setting

0
The synopsis sounds so amazing. Added it to my Goodreads TBR first time I read it! And the cover is gorgeous, really says something about the tone & setting
Shelly Hart on Thursday, 04 May 2017 21:17

Sounds good!Nice cover!

0
Sounds good!Nice cover!
Penny Olson on Sunday, 07 May 2017 15:29

I like the futuristic, modern cover and the synopsis makes it sound like a great sci-fi read.

0
I like the futuristic, modern cover and the synopsis makes it sound like a great sci-fi read.
Shenwei Chang on Sunday, 07 May 2017 22:43

I love the contrast between the foreground and the background of the cover; it really brings the sci-fi dystopian atmosphere into relief. The synopsis sounds like everything I could want from sci-fi YA, and I'm super excited to read another dystopian YA set in East Asia.

0
I love the contrast between the foreground and the background of the cover; it really brings the sci-fi dystopian atmosphere into relief. The synopsis sounds like everything I could want from sci-fi YA, and I'm super excited to read another dystopian YA set in East Asia. :)

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Premonition (The Division Series Book 1)
When Riley heads off to boarding school for a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Stealing Liberty
 
4.7
"I am amazed as to how versatile Jennifer Froelich is as an author. Each book is so creative and unique..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
5.0
"Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it..."
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
 
5.0
"This story starts with Sahria and several other girls captured to be sold as slaves. Sahria becomes like a mentor..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
 
5.0
"Sam is the hall monitor at Eerie Elementary, but his job requires more than watching out for students doing things..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Calmer Girls
 
3.5
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Young love makes one foolish. The story: Samantha is not the girl people..."
A Round of Robins
 
4.0
"This picture book sized poetry book follows Mama and Dad bird as they hatch a clutch of eggs, supervise raising..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Challenge Accepted
 
4.8
"Readers will find 'Challenge Accepted' by Amanda Abram hard to put down. Her writing style perfectly captures teenage life, from..."