It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: Dagger and Coin by Kathy MacMillan + Giveaway (US Only)

DaggerCoin-HC-final-header

Hi, YABCers!

Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for DAGGER AND COIN by Kathy MacMillan, releasing November 20, 2018 from Harper Teen. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Kathy: 

Greetings, YABC Readers! I am so excited to share with you the cover of Dagger and Coin, the companion novel to Sword and Verse. I call it a companion novel because, although it does pick up where Sword and Verse left off and many of the characters and themes of the first book reappear, this book follows a different protagonist and both books can be enjoyed as standalones. (Though I hope that you’ll read both, of course!)

When I learned that Colin Anderson, the artist who created the beautiful cover for Sword and Verse, was also working on the cover of Dagger and Coin, I was thrilled. And he’s done it again, creating a gorgeous image that incorporates so many elements of the story, from the ship that upends the fragile beginnings of peace in Qilara, to the coins that reflect Soraya’s attempts to assert power through economics, to the dagger that offers both protection and violence as Soraya finds her place in the new order.


~Kathy MacMillan




Ready to see?

Scroll, YABCers! Scroll!

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

Here it is!

 
 
 
 
 
 
 *** If you choose to share this image elsewhere, please include a courtesy link back to this page so that others can enter the giveaway. Thank you! ***

DAGGER AND COIN

By: Kathy MacMillan

Publisher: Harper Teen

Release Date: November 20, 2018

ISBN: 9780062324641

 
 
 
About the Book

Soraya Gamo was meant to be queen of Qilara, until an Arnath slave rebellion destroyed the monarchy and the capital city. Now, improbably, she sits on the new Ruling Council beside her former enemies, finally holding the political power she always wanted - but over a nation in ruins. As she works to rebuild Qilara, she can, at last, use what everyone once told her to hide: her brain.

But not everyone is ready to accept the new equality that the Ruling Council has decreed between the Arnathim and Qilarites. So when a slave ship arrives in the city, full of Arnathim captured before Qilara fell—the civil unrest that has been bubbling since the rebellion erupts.

Forced to confront her own prejudices, Soraya struggles to gain the trust of the Arnath people she once disregarded and establish peace in what has become chaos. With the threat of attacks high, Gelti, a former guard captain, trains Soraya in self-defense. As the two grow close, tension within the city ramps up, with danger, betrayal, and deception meeting Soraya everywhere she turns. Friends become foes, adversaries become companions, and the clashing of classes threatens to unravel all the good Soraya has been trying to do. Can Soraya, raised to be a proper Qilarite lady, learn to be a true leader? Or will the sins of her past forever haunt the footsteps of her future?


 
 
 
About the Author

Kathy MacMillan is a writer, American Sign Language interpreter, librarian, signing storyteller, and avowed Hufflepuff who lives near Baltimore, MD. Kathy is the founder of The Sweet Sixteens (www.thesweet16s.com) debut group and serves as co-Regional Advisor for the Maryland/Delaware/West Virginia Region of the Society for Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators. Her debut novel for young adults, Sword and Verse (HarperTeen), was a finalist for the Compton Crook Award. She has also published many books for educators, librarians, parents, and young children, including Little Hands and Big Hands: Children and Adults Signing Together (Huron Street Press) and Nita’s First Signs (Familius Press).

Website - Twitter - Facebook - YouTube - Instagram - Goodreads - Amazon - YABC Page

 

Giveaway Details

One lucky winner will receive a signed ARC of Dagger and Coin (when ARCs become available) and a personalized handmade bookmark with your name in the language of the gods.

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries:

What do you think about the cover and synopsis?

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Rate this blog entry:
Trailer Reveal: What the Valley Knows by Heather C...
Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Interview & Giveawa...
 

Comments 8

Precious J Hernandez on Tuesday, 13 February 2018 07:44

I love it! I can’t wait!

0
I love it! I can’t wait!
Marisa Fort on Thursday, 15 February 2018 01:52

The cover is beautiful, sets the mood. The book sounds so interesting, so much drama!

0
The cover is beautiful, sets the mood. The book sounds so interesting, so much drama!
Isabella Wojnarowicz on Monday, 19 February 2018 15:44

The cover is so pretty and the synopsis sounds amazing!

0
The cover is so pretty and the synopsis sounds amazing!
Hannah on Sunday, 25 February 2018 00:05

Love the cover, it really catches your attention

0
Love the cover, it really catches your attention
Courtney Gendreau on Tuesday, 27 February 2018 14:24

The synopsis sounds amazing! It sounds like an amazing read!

0
The synopsis sounds amazing! It sounds like an amazing read!
Kelly G on Friday, 02 March 2018 15:26

This is such a beautiful cover and it matches the synopsis so well. Can't wait for this one!

0
This is such a beautiful cover and it matches the synopsis so well. Can't wait for this one!
Penny Olson on Monday, 05 March 2018 00:07

Both the cover and the story convey great adventure.

0
Both the cover and the story convey great adventure.
Danielle Hammelef on Tuesday, 06 March 2018 15:34

Excellent and powerful cover. The synopsis sounds suspenseful and action-packed.

0
Excellent and powerful cover. The synopsis sounds suspenseful and action-packed.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

What the Night Sings
 
5.0
"Gerta Rausch didn’t know she was Jewish until she and her father were taken from their home in the middle..."
The Last First Daughter
 
3.5
"Intriguing and action packed. The Story: The country has been in a silent age for a decade after terrorists..."
Zombie Queen of Newbury High
 
4.3
"This book was probably the best book I have ever read. I loved the end so much I wished there..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"*I was given an e-galley.* Brandy Woods Snow is a wonderfully talented writer and plotter! This story has a..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"Aw yes, transparency. I’m but one of her brutal critique partners and friends. Will this book capture you..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"I COULD NOT STOP READING THIS BOOK! I fell in love with all the characters and secretly plotted the death..."
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
 
5.0
"THE KIDULT HANDBOOK is the perfect book to pull out on a boring day. It is packed with fun activities..."
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
 
4.7
"Insightful, engaging, and downright fun! LEGO hits on all the learning styles in this brilliantly interactive science primer. ..."
Switching Gears
 
3.7
"Lucas Nelson loved Emmy Martin, but he waited until a week before he died of cancer to tell her that...."
Sky in the Deep
 
4.7
"What worked: This is a highly engaging historical tale of a teen warrior who is taken by a rival clan..."
We Are All That's Left
 
5.0
" Zara feels shut off from her Bosnian born mother. She knows that her mother survived some..."
The Fault In Our Stars
 
5.0
"Seriously, is it possible to read this book without crying? Asking for allllllll offffff myyyyyyy friiiiiiiiiends."
Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
 
4.0
"In this story, Chris joins Sunny and Rue for a few friendly rounds of Rabbit Racers. (He’s never played before,..."
Frat Girl
 
4.0
"The writing style is what really stands out in this book-- SO easy to read, conversational, believable character interactions. It..."
Original Syn
 
5.0
"Got an ARC of this one and flew through it. So so good."
What I Leave Behind
 
5.0
"Will’s dad commits suicide. His childhood friend, Playa, is raped at a party. His mom works long over-night shifts as..."
When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel
 
4.5
"'When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel' by G. Neri, illustrated by David Litchfield, is an artistic..."
Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries
 
4.0
"'Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries' by Ammi-Joan Paquette and Laurie Ann Thompson is a fun read, chock..."
Watcher
 
4.3
"The story: Sawyer is an orphaned girl who lives in a world not unlike that of the Terminator movies,..."
Savage Beauty
 
5.0
"SAVAGE BEAUTY is a dark twist on the classic fairytale Sleeping Beauty. Aura and Luna are sisters, but they're the..."