It's Live!! Cover Reveal: SASQUATCH, LOVE, AND OTHER IMAGINARY THINGS by Betsy Aldredge and Carrie DuBois-Shaw + Giveaway (US Only)

It's Live!! Cover Reveal: SASQUATCH, LOVE, AND OTHER IMAGINARY THINGS by Betsy Aldredge and Carrie DuBois-Shaw + Giveaway (US Only)

Hi, YABCers!

Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for SASQUATCH, LOVE, AND OTHER IMAGINARY THINGS by Betsy Aldredge and Carrie DuBois-Shaw, releasing August 4, 2017 from Merit Press. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from the authors:

HI YABC! 

Welcome to our cover reveal! We're Betsy and Carrie, co-authors of SASQUATCH, LOVE, AND OTHER IMAGINARY THINGS. We went to NYU together where we studied theater, lived in a haunted dorm, and were secretly happy to be mistaken for literature majors. After graduation, we did some off-off-off Broadway productions together, including dystopian Shakespeare in a former deli on the Lower East Side. After trading in our tap shoes for typewriters, we decided to write a YA retelling of Pride and Prejudice about a family of Jewish Bigfoot hunters. Because Jane Austen prefers Sasquatch to Zombies. Just ask her. To our amazement and delight, our geeky, quirky, nerdtastic book, has found a home and now has an awesome cover inspired by vintage travel posters from national parks. We hope you'll check it out this summer. 

Cheers!

~Betsy and Carrie (SASQUATCH, LOVE, AND OTHER IMAGINARY THINGS, Merit Press)

 

Ready to see?

Scroll, YABCers! Scroll!

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

Here it is!

 
 
 
  

*** If you choose to share this image elsewhere, please include a courtesy link back to this page so others can enter the authors' giveaway. Thank you! ***

SASQUATH, LOVE, AND OTHER IMAGINARY THINGS

by Betsy Aldredge and Carrie DuBois-Shaw
Release date: August 4, 2017
Publisher: Merit Press
 ISBN: 978-1507202806
 
About the Book

Seventeen-year-old Samantha Berger is pretty sure most nice Jewish girls don’t have parents who force them to search for Bigfoot, especially on national T.V.  Just when Sam thinks she couldn’t be more humiliated, she meets the competition: a team of snobby anthropology students from Netherfield Academy who are set on wiping the floor with her “Squatch” loving family.

 The captain of the other team, Devan Das, is impossibly cute — until he opens his perfect British mouth and calls her family a bunch of low-class dolts. Sam’s no longer just embarrassed. She’s livid, and determined to beat the ascot off Devan and his crew. After all, the prize money will allow her to study pre-med at the college of her dreams, far from Yetis and future Yalies.

 Teamed up by the producers for a special challenge, Sam and Devan bond over family pressures, geek out over fantasy fiction, and learn to rely on each other. In a moment of honesty, Devan admits that Netherfield’s dean is threatening to withhold a vital college recommendation if his team fails and Sam worries about paying for college if she doesn’t win. Before they know it, understanding leads to attraction and a steamy snogging session. Now, as the competition heats up, Sam must choose between her ridiculous family and Devan. Suddenly, finding Bigfoot is the smallest of Sam’s hairy problems.


 
 
 
 
About the Authors

Betsy Aldredge is a former magazine editor turned communications professional. She’s worked at a library and at two independent bookstores. Born a book nerd, she is happy to pass on the tradition. Her six year old daughter is named after a Harry Potter character and already insists on sleeping with piles of books in her bed. She lives and works in New York. 


Carrie DuBois-Shaw has had two plays for young audiences produced in New York City and spearheaded the new play development program at The New Victory Theater, a performing arts venue in Times Square dedicated to engaging and entertaining kids and families. She recently relocated to San Francisco where she is enjoying the abundance of independent bookstores, sourdough bread, and fog.

Giveaway Details

There will be three winners. One will receive a Bigfoot action figure. One will receive a Bigfoot themed mug. One will receive an ARC, when available.

The shadowbox will be an 8x10 shadowbox with the book cover cut out of paper and layered to give a 3-D effect.

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries:

What do you think about the cover and synopsis?

Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Rate this blog entry:
Neil Gaiman Event Recap
Featured Review: The Wish Granter by C.J. Redwine
 

Comments 5

John on Saturday, 18 February 2017 02:49

The cover had nice graphics, and I was interested to learn about this book!

0
The cover had nice graphics, and I was interested to learn about this book!
Maggie on Wednesday, 01 March 2017 00:22

I love both! This book sounds amazing!

0
I love both! This book sounds amazing!
Penny Olson on Monday, 13 March 2017 23:15

I lover the colorful cover. The story sounds different and interesting.

0
I lover the colorful cover. The story sounds different and interesting.
Nancy Hernandez on Wednesday, 15 March 2017 01:35

Love the cover and searching for bigfoot I'm hooked.

0
Love the cover and searching for bigfoot I'm hooked.
Danielle Hammelef on Wednesday, 15 March 2017 10:45

I like the cover--it's throwback colors. I also think the tension and unique plot line of this book makes it current and will be fun to read.

0
I like the cover--it's throwback colors. I also think the tension and unique plot line of this book makes it current and will be fun to read.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."
When Dimple Met Rishi
 
3.3
"A contemporary YA romance—heavy on the romance—with an Indian-American take on the attraction of opposites. The story is told..."
Stray
 
3.8
"'Stray' by Joni Johnson has an interesting premise. When Lila finds out that her father is about to kick her..."