The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Introducing YABC Indie!

Posted by on in News & Updates
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 4901
  • 7 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

I have some good news and bad news.

Good news: YABC's traffic continues to grow by leaps and bounds each month. We are seeing incredible numbers and the YABC Community continues to grow each day. This is AWESOME.

 

More good news: Because we're growing so quickly, we're receiving hundreds of book listing submissions daily, most of which are small press or self-published books. Which is also AWESOME.

 

Bad news: The more submissions we receive, the longer it takes to manually approve each one. Some listings are waiting for weeks to be approved. Sometimes months. This is not so awesome.

 

But there is a fix! Hooray!

 

To help speed things along and help small press and self-published books gain the exposure they deserve, we've decided to roll out a whole new feature called YABC Indie.

Now, from here on out, anyone who qualifies as a small press or self-published author can bypass the manual approval process by purchasing a paid listing (just $3.99!). The listing will be automatically approved (no more waiting!) and posted live to our site in our new Indie section. (That nifty new link up there in the top navigation bar.)

Why are we so excited about this? Because now small press and self-published books won't get buried among mainstream titles on YABC. They'll stand out, making them more accessible for our readers. And our readers ARE looking for small press and self-published books. I get asked for recommendations all the time. Teens, especially, are looking for the more affordable reads they can download on their e-readers.

We love indie books here at YABC. In fact, several members of our staff have published indie titles, myself included. Independent publishing is a fast-growing market and it deserves a fair playing field. We're happy to make that happen on YABooksCentral.com.

We still have a long way to go, but we'll continue trying to make YABC bigger and better.

Now go check out the new small press and self-published books in the new Indie Section!

 

And one more celebratory animated gif for the road... (I can't help myself.)

Rate this blog entry:

Comments

  • Jen
    Jen Thursday, 17 May 2012

    1) Yay for ALL OF THIS!!
    2) Not gonna tell you how long it took me before I saw the "Indie" link on the navbar *insert Jeopardy theme*. 0_o
    3) Saw the first .gif & immediately thought, "Do the chickens have large talons?" ;).

  • MG Buehrlen, Site Manager
    MG Buehrlen, Site Manager Thursday, 17 May 2012

    Ha! I've hidden it well from you. ;-)

  • CJ Redwine, Staff and Social Media Manager
    CJ Redwine, Staff and Social Media Manager Thursday, 17 May 2012

    This is fabulous exposure for our indie titles! So many really amazing books are coming out from indie presses, and this gives us a place to showcase those and easily find them. I love it!!

  • Claire Johnson, Staff Reviewer
    Claire Johnson, Staff Reviewer Thursday, 17 May 2012

    This seems like a "win" for everyone! And like Jen, after seeing the first .gif I have started quoting that movie...to myself. "I want that."

  • Francesca	Amendolia
    Francesca Amendolia Thursday, 17 May 2012

    I'm getting to used to hanging out on FB. I wanted to click "like!" for this. But maybe better that I actually type w00T! and yay! and that this sounds great. Also, hooray for YABC leaping and bounding.

  • Francesca	Amendolia
    Francesca Amendolia Thursday, 17 May 2012

    Um, "too." "Too used to" I meant oo, not o. Chalk it up to typing on the IPad which is a squirrely sort of typing at the best of times. :p

  • Megan Kelly
    Megan Kelly Sunday, 20 May 2012

    I love anything that involves Andy from Parks and Rec!

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Saturday, 29 August 2015

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • Giveaway: Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials (US Only)

    MAZE RUNNER: THE SCORCH TRIALS 20th Century Fox In theaters September 18, 2015   The Maze was just the beginning! See Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials in theaters September 18   In this next chapter of the epic “Maze Runner” saga, Thomas (Dylan O’Brien) a ...

  • Celebrating National Dog Day with Richard Torrey!

    TOO COOL TO BRAG. TORREY’S MY DOG, BOB, INTRODUCES KIDS TO A DIFFERENT WAY TO BE GREAT Raab Associates   Quiet dignity is vastly underrated, but it’s a quality shared by those who are truly fortunate to have learne ...

  • Author Trisha Leigh's TOP 5 OTPs

    Today we welcome Trisha Leigh, author of RETURN ONCE MORE, to the blog to share with us her top 5 OTPs!  RETURN ONCE MORE is a book about a teenage girl caught between her responsibility to document the past and her desire to use time travel in order to meet her one true love—even if he ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Emerge: The Edge by Melissa A. Craven + Giveaway (US Only)

    Welcome to today's cover reveal! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for EMERGE: THE EDGE by Melissa A. Craven, releasing September 29, 2015 from Midnight Hour Studio. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Melissa:   Hello YABCers! And welc ...

  • On the Horizon

      DC Comics’ Lois Lane Returns in Lois Lane: Double Down from Switch Press  Second Book in the New Young Adult Series by Gwenda Bond   MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. (August 24, 2015) – DC Comics’ iconic character Lois Lane will be back for more in Lois Lane: Dou ...

  • What's New in YA--August 25, 2015

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       Inspired by Victor Hugo’s classic, Les Miserables, A Little in Love beautifully conveys the heartbreaking story of street girl Eponine.   Paris, 1832 ...

  • Exclusive Sneak Peek at LIGHTLESS by C.A. Higgins + Giveaway (US Only)

    LIGHTLESS by C.A. Higgins Release Date: September 29, 2015 Publisher: Ballantine / Del Rey Hardcover   About the Book With deeply moving human drama, nail-biting suspense—and bold speculation informed by a degree in physics—C. A. Higgins spins a riveting science fict ...

  • Love Letters to Literature #1

      Contributed by Kayla King, Blog Manager and Staff Reviewer   Dear J.K. Rowling,   I suppose the best way to begin this letter would be to say thank you! Many readers might say that you changed their lives with the inception of your boy wizard. I'm su ...

  • Letters to the Living

      Contriubted by Joanne Mumley   Our very own Joanne Mumley, interviewed Ava Dellaira, author of Love Letters to the Dead, at Comic Con. This wonderful book and Joanne's interview, which you can find below, inspired all of us here at YABC! Don't believe us? Read on to f ...

  • Giveaway: The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall by Katie Alender (US & Canada Only)

    THE DEAD GIRLS OF HYSTERIA HALL  by Katie Alender  Release Date: August 25, 2015   About the Book Asylum meets Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, in this riveting tale of ghosts, secrets, and family, from master of suspense Katie Alender. D ...

  • Giveaway: The Appearance of Annie van Sinderen by Katherine Howe (US only)

    THE APPEARANCE OF ANNIE VAN SINDEREN by Katherine Howe  Release Date: September 15, 2015   About the Book A haunting, contemporary love story from the New York Times bestselling author of Conversion It’s July in New York City, and aspiring filmmaker Wes A ...

  • Giveaway: Jillian Cade: Fake Paranormal Investigator by Jen Klein (US & Canada Only)

    JILLIAN CADE: (FAKE) PARANORMAL INVESTIGATOR by Jen Klein  Release date: September 1, 2015   About the Book When rebel outsider Jillian Cade finds an obituary — HER future obituary — in her locker, she ends up teaming with the cryptic (and hot!) Sky Ramsey to sol ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

ELIDAIRE_The_Tome_of_Knowledge_COVER.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
Four years after the murder of his mother, Revel Harcourt, leader of a group of an ancient race of demon-hunting...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Metal crumpled, screamed as the force sent bodies in all directions. Instant stink of burnt rubber, glimpse of an arm...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes, blackmail is the only weapon a girl has… Haley Patterson has had a crush on...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the sequel to the award-winning Killer of Enemies, Apache teen Lozen and her family are looking for a place...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
nspired by Victor Hugo's classic, Les Miserables, A Little in Love beautifully conveys the heartbreaking story...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
13 days.jpg
When Luke Manchett’s estranged father dies unexpectedly, he leaves his son a dark inheritance: a collection...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The world is a far different place in 2259. Thirty years of world war, rampant bombing, and the melting of...
 
0.0
 
4.9 (3)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Leia Swanson has always believed in monsters, especially after one killed her parents when she was seven years old. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in the gripping Wanted series, this Western revenge epic is a must-read for...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The whimsical "autobiography" of an imaginary friend who doesn't know he's imaginary—perfect for fans of The Miraculous Journey of Edward...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When seventeen-year-old Lilliana Young enters the Metropolitan Museum of Art one morning during spring break, the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Remarque, a lonely boy raised by his grandfather, discovers a gateway that could lead him to everything he's ever wanted......
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kamran Smith has it all. He's the star of the football team, dates the most popular...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Blink—and you’ll miss her. Mei Barrett has been hiding all of her life. Raised in solitude by her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The eagerly-awaited sequel to the best-selling The Glass Sentence -- a historical, fantastical adventure perfect for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's a fairy-tale nightmare . . . One girl is kept in a room where every...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheInstitute-ebook-webuse.png
Category: Young Adult Indie
Living in constant fear. Always looking over your shoulder. The source of your fear? The Institute. Allira Daniels will...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (5)
In this asylum, your mind plays tricks on you all the time ... Delia's new house...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Book Two of a Thrilling Trilogy Mysteries and secrets continue in this twisted romantic series... New school,...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (3)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Book One of a Thrilling Trilogy Gifted or cursed? A yearning to be normal. And an unsolved murder refusing...
 
0.0
 
4.6 (3)