The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Introducing YABC Indie!

I have some good news and bad news.

Good news: YABC's traffic continues to grow by leaps and bounds each month. We are seeing incredible numbers and the YABC Community continues to grow each day. This is AWESOME.

 

More good news: Because we're growing so quickly, we're receiving hundreds of book listing submissions daily, most of which are small press or self-published books. Which is also AWESOME.

 

Bad news: The more submissions we receive, the longer it takes to manually approve each one. Some listings are waiting for weeks to be approved. Sometimes months. This is not so awesome.

 

But there is a fix! Hooray!

 

To help speed things along and help small press and self-published books gain the exposure they deserve, we've decided to roll out a whole new feature called YABC Indie.

Now, from here on out, anyone who qualifies as a small press or self-published author can bypass the manual approval process by purchasing a paid listing (just $3.99!). The listing will be automatically approved (no more waiting!) and posted live to our site in our new Indie section. (That nifty new link up there in the top navigation bar.)

Why are we so excited about this? Because now small press and self-published books won't get buried among mainstream titles on YABC. They'll stand out, making them more accessible for our readers. And our readers ARE looking for small press and self-published books. I get asked for recommendations all the time. Teens, especially, are looking for the more affordable reads they can download on their e-readers.

We love indie books here at YABC. In fact, several members of our staff have published indie titles, myself included. Independent publishing is a fast-growing market and it deserves a fair playing field. We're happy to make that happen on YABooksCentral.com.

We still have a long way to go, but we'll continue trying to make YABC bigger and better.

Now go check out the new small press and self-published books in the new Indie Section!

 

And one more celebratory animated gif for the road... (I can't help myself.)

Rate this blog entry:
New to YABC? Here's How to Begin
Trailer Tuesday: Hemlock and No Safety in Numbers

Related Posts

Comments 7

 
Jen on Thursday, 17 May 2012 09:09

1) Yay for ALL OF THIS!!
2) Not gonna tell you how long it took me before I saw the "Indie" link on the navbar *insert Jeopardy theme*. 0_o
3) Saw the first .gif & immediately thought, "Do the chickens have large talons?" ;).

1) Yay for ALL OF THIS!! 2) Not gonna tell you how long it took me before I saw the "Indie" link on the navbar *insert Jeopardy theme*. 0_o 3) Saw the first .gif & immediately thought, "Do the chickens have large talons?" ;).
MG Buehrlen, Site Manager on Thursday, 17 May 2012 10:14

Ha! I've hidden it well from you. ;-)

Ha! I've hidden it well from you. ;-)
CJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager on Thursday, 17 May 2012 10:21

This is fabulous exposure for our indie titles! So many really amazing books are coming out from indie presses, and this gives us a place to showcase those and easily find them. I love it!!

This is fabulous exposure for our indie titles! So many really amazing books are coming out from indie presses, and this gives us a place to showcase those and easily find them. I love it!!
Claire Johnson, Staff Reviewer on Thursday, 17 May 2012 15:33

This seems like a "win" for everyone! And like Jen, after seeing the first .gif I have started quoting that movie...to myself. "I want that."

This seems like a "win" for everyone! And like Jen, after seeing the first .gif I have started quoting that movie...to myself. "I want that."
Francesca Amendolia on Thursday, 17 May 2012 16:32

I'm getting to used to hanging out on FB. I wanted to click "like!" for this. But maybe better that I actually type w00T! and yay! and that this sounds great. Also, hooray for YABC leaping and bounding.

I'm getting to used to hanging out on FB. I wanted to click "like!" for this. But maybe better that I actually type w00T! and yay! and that this sounds great. Also, hooray for YABC leaping and bounding.
Francesca Amendolia on Thursday, 17 May 2012 16:33

Um, "too." "Too used to" I meant oo, not o. Chalk it up to typing on the IPad which is a squirrely sort of typing at the best of times. :p

Um, "too." "Too used to" I meant oo, not o. Chalk it up to typing on the IPad which is a squirrely sort of typing at the best of times. :p
Megan Kelly on Sunday, 20 May 2012 09:10

I love anything that involves Andy from Parks and Rec!

I love anything that involves Andy from Parks and Rec!

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

The Cabinet of Souls (R.L. Stine's Monsterville #1)
Dare to enter a mysterious realm where the cost of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Genie in a Bottle (Whatever After #9)
Abby and her little brother, Jonah, have a magic mirror...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hour of Magic (Geronimo Stilton and the Kingdom of Fantasy #8)
I, Geronimo Stilton, was amazed to find myself called back...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Enemy Above
In 1942 twelve-year-old Anton, his family, and their small community...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Skeleth
For the lords of the north, land is power. The...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mayhem (Lawless #3)
M Freeman has been a star pupil at the Lawless...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)
The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ask Me How I Got Here
Addie has always known what she was running toward. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Time We Were Us
A passionate summer love story about a girl, her childhood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Way Back To You
In this witty, heart-tugging novel, two teens take a spontaneous...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)