Guest Post: Leora Krygier (Keep Her)

Guest Post: Leora Krygier (Keep Her)

 

A Landlubber Like Me

How a non-sailor wrote a novel with a ship, the ocean and whales

 

By: Leora Krygier, author of Keep Her

Landlubber. That’s what they call people who are “unseasoned” sailors. The word itself makes me think of a clumsy nerd who won’t get on a ship and “lubs” or bumbles around. Or worse yet, an insult Johnny Depp’s Jack Sparrow might say in Pirates of the Caribbean. Arghhh. Kind of awful, right? But that’s me. I love the beach, but that’s as far as I go. Just try to get me on a sailboat or even an ocean liner. Not happening. The most seafaring I’d done was on a boat ride on a manmade river in Disneyland and even then I held on to the railing.

 

So, how did I do it – write a novel that included a ship, an ocean and saving whales? And why did I do it? After all, one of the cardinal rules of writing is “write what you know.” But sometimes a writer aspires to write about something they haven’t experienced or seen but something they see in their mind’s eye. And sometimes it’s okay to deviate from that rule.

 

Much of my novel, Keep Her, takes place in Los Angeles, where I live, and a place I’m very familiar with. But my imagination also took me somewhere else. I’d read about a ship called the Esperanza and it’s 2008 mission to save whales in the Southern Ocean off the coast of New Zealand. And I imagined one of my characters, Aiden, my very handsome, but heartbroken protagonist, writing letters to his dead brother, Alex, while aboard this ship. Having never actually experienced a mission like that, what was a landlubber like me supposed to do?

 

I did what every writer does no matter what experiences she has or hasn’t had – I researched and researched and researched. I watched the Esperanza’s web cam for hours, studied diagrams of the ship, and virtually walked myself through every deck and cubbyhole of the ship. I poured over maps of the Southern Ocean and followed the ship’s route. I read personal accounts of the 2008 mission and looked at typical weather reports for that season. I also scoured the Internet for every photograph and video I could get my hands on of the ship, the crew and the equipment they used.

 

After awhile, I could almost feel myself on the ship itself. I could taste the salt in the air. I even got a little seasick a couple of times just sitting at my very land-based computer at home. But that was the awesome thing about it. That’s what both reading and writing is all about – transporting you to a different time and place. There I was on that ship, at the bottom of the world, surrounded by water.

 

Doing the research for the novel inspired me. I haven’t exactly crossed the Atlantic on a sailboat yet, but I recently mustered up the courage for a speedboat ride to a couple of islands off the coast of Italy. And you know what? It was great.

 

Don’t get me wrong. I’m still a land lover and not a full-fledged sailor just yet, but I’m doing it. I’m slowly rubbing away at the landlubber in me.

Leora Krygier is the author of When She Sleeps (Toby Press), as well as the YA contemporary novel Keep Her (September 6, 2016; She Writes Press), which is based on the 2008 Greenpeace mission to save the whales in the Southern Ocean.

 

 

Meet Keep Her!!

Keep Her

Destiny doesn t factor into seventeen-year-old adoptee Maddie s rational world, where numbers and scientific probability have always proven to be the only things she can count on as safe and reliable. Still, Maddie is also an artist who draws on instinct and intuition to create the collages she makes from photographs and the castoff scraps she saves. But when her brother falls in with a Los Angeles street gang, Maddie loses her ability to create art. Then fate deals Maddie a card she can t ignore: Aiden, a young filmmaker she meets when a water main bursts inside a camera store. Aiden is haunted by the death of his younger brother, and a life-changing decision he must now make whether or not to keep his baby daughter. Caught in a whirlpool of love and loss, Maddie and Aiden find that art and numbers, a mission to save endangered whales, and a worn-out copy of Moby Dick all collide to heal and save them both."

 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

Meet Leora Krygier!!

I think I wrote my first story at the age of eight, a micro-autobiography. Micro? Because, well, how much can you say at the age of eight? But I guess I was hooked. I also love to take photos with my cameras and iPhone, which is always snug in my back pocket. 

For me, every photo has a story, and every story is a snapshot.

I'm the author of "When She Sleeps" (Toby Press) a New York Public Library Selection for “Best Books for the Teen Age,” and about which Newsweek said, “Krygier’s luminous prose transports the reader.” 

I'm also a former Los Angeles Superior Court judge and the author of "Juvenile Court: A Judge’s Guide for Young Adults and their Parents" (Scarecrow Press). 

I live in Los Angeles with my husband. When I'm not not writing, I love to go to the beach, walk the Santa Monica Mountain trails, and snap lots and lots of photographs.

 

 

Website * Twitter * Facebook

 

 

 

 

 

Keep Her

By: Leora Krygier

Release Date: September 6, 2016 

Publisher: She Writes Press

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
FLASH GIVEAWAY ~ The Cabin (Natasha Preston)!!
Featured Review: And the Trees Crept In by Dawn Ku...
 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

What the Night Sings
 
5.0
"Gerta Rausch didn’t know she was Jewish until she and her father were taken from their home in the middle..."
The Last First Daughter
 
3.5
"Intriguing and action packed. The Story: The country has been in a silent age for a decade after terrorists..."
Zombie Queen of Newbury High
 
4.3
"This book was probably the best book I have ever read. I loved the end so much I wished there..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"*I was given an e-galley.* Brandy Woods Snow is a wonderfully talented writer and plotter! This story has a..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"Aw yes, transparency. I’m but one of her brutal critique partners and friends. Will this book capture you..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"I COULD NOT STOP READING THIS BOOK! I fell in love with all the characters and secretly plotted the death..."
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
 
5.0
"THE KIDULT HANDBOOK is the perfect book to pull out on a boring day. It is packed with fun activities..."
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
 
4.7
"Insightful, engaging, and downright fun! LEGO hits on all the learning styles in this brilliantly interactive science primer. ..."
Switching Gears
 
3.7
"Lucas Nelson loved Emmy Martin, but he waited until a week before he died of cancer to tell her that...."
Sky in the Deep
 
4.7
"What worked: This is a highly engaging historical tale of a teen warrior who is taken by a rival clan..."
We Are All That's Left
 
5.0
" Zara feels shut off from her Bosnian born mother. She knows that her mother survived some..."
The Fault In Our Stars
 
5.0
"Seriously, is it possible to read this book without crying? Asking for allllllll offffff myyyyyyy friiiiiiiiiends."
Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
 
4.0
"In this story, Chris joins Sunny and Rue for a few friendly rounds of Rabbit Racers. (He’s never played before,..."
Frat Girl
 
4.0
"The writing style is what really stands out in this book-- SO easy to read, conversational, believable character interactions. It..."
Original Syn
 
5.0
"Got an ARC of this one and flew through it. So so good."
What I Leave Behind
 
5.0
"Will’s dad commits suicide. His childhood friend, Playa, is raped at a party. His mom works long over-night shifts as..."
When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel
 
4.5
"'When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel' by G. Neri, illustrated by David Litchfield, is an artistic..."
Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries
 
4.0
"'Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries' by Ammi-Joan Paquette and Laurie Ann Thompson is a fun read, chock..."
Watcher
 
4.3
"The story: Sawyer is an orphaned girl who lives in a world not unlike that of the Terminator movies,..."
Savage Beauty
 
5.0
"SAVAGE BEAUTY is a dark twist on the classic fairytale Sleeping Beauty. Aura and Luna are sisters, but they're the..."