Guest Post: Leora Krygier (Keep Her)

Guest Post: Leora Krygier (Keep Her)

 

A Landlubber Like Me

How a non-sailor wrote a novel with a ship, the ocean and whales

 

By: Leora Krygier, author of Keep Her

Landlubber. That’s what they call people who are “unseasoned” sailors. The word itself makes me think of a clumsy nerd who won’t get on a ship and “lubs” or bumbles around. Or worse yet, an insult Johnny Depp’s Jack Sparrow might say in Pirates of the Caribbean. Arghhh. Kind of awful, right? But that’s me. I love the beach, but that’s as far as I go. Just try to get me on a sailboat or even an ocean liner. Not happening. The most seafaring I’d done was on a boat ride on a manmade river in Disneyland and even then I held on to the railing.

 

So, how did I do it – write a novel that included a ship, an ocean and saving whales? And why did I do it? After all, one of the cardinal rules of writing is “write what you know.” But sometimes a writer aspires to write about something they haven’t experienced or seen but something they see in their mind’s eye. And sometimes it’s okay to deviate from that rule.

 

Much of my novel, Keep Her, takes place in Los Angeles, where I live, and a place I’m very familiar with. But my imagination also took me somewhere else. I’d read about a ship called the Esperanza and it’s 2008 mission to save whales in the Southern Ocean off the coast of New Zealand. And I imagined one of my characters, Aiden, my very handsome, but heartbroken protagonist, writing letters to his dead brother, Alex, while aboard this ship. Having never actually experienced a mission like that, what was a landlubber like me supposed to do?

 

I did what every writer does no matter what experiences she has or hasn’t had – I researched and researched and researched. I watched the Esperanza’s web cam for hours, studied diagrams of the ship, and virtually walked myself through every deck and cubbyhole of the ship. I poured over maps of the Southern Ocean and followed the ship’s route. I read personal accounts of the 2008 mission and looked at typical weather reports for that season. I also scoured the Internet for every photograph and video I could get my hands on of the ship, the crew and the equipment they used.

 

After awhile, I could almost feel myself on the ship itself. I could taste the salt in the air. I even got a little seasick a couple of times just sitting at my very land-based computer at home. But that was the awesome thing about it. That’s what both reading and writing is all about – transporting you to a different time and place. There I was on that ship, at the bottom of the world, surrounded by water.

 

Doing the research for the novel inspired me. I haven’t exactly crossed the Atlantic on a sailboat yet, but I recently mustered up the courage for a speedboat ride to a couple of islands off the coast of Italy. And you know what? It was great.

 

Don’t get me wrong. I’m still a land lover and not a full-fledged sailor just yet, but I’m doing it. I’m slowly rubbing away at the landlubber in me.

Leora Krygier is the author of When She Sleeps (Toby Press), as well as the YA contemporary novel Keep Her (September 6, 2016; She Writes Press), which is based on the 2008 Greenpeace mission to save the whales in the Southern Ocean.

 

 

Meet Keep Her!!

Keep Her

Destiny doesn t factor into seventeen-year-old adoptee Maddie s rational world, where numbers and scientific probability have always proven to be the only things she can count on as safe and reliable. Still, Maddie is also an artist who draws on instinct and intuition to create the collages she makes from photographs and the castoff scraps she saves. But when her brother falls in with a Los Angeles street gang, Maddie loses her ability to create art. Then fate deals Maddie a card she can t ignore: Aiden, a young filmmaker she meets when a water main bursts inside a camera store. Aiden is haunted by the death of his younger brother, and a life-changing decision he must now make whether or not to keep his baby daughter. Caught in a whirlpool of love and loss, Maddie and Aiden find that art and numbers, a mission to save endangered whales, and a worn-out copy of Moby Dick all collide to heal and save them both."

 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

Meet Leora Krygier!!

I think I wrote my first story at the age of eight, a micro-autobiography. Micro? Because, well, how much can you say at the age of eight? But I guess I was hooked. I also love to take photos with my cameras and iPhone, which is always snug in my back pocket. 

For me, every photo has a story, and every story is a snapshot.

I'm the author of "When She Sleeps" (Toby Press) a New York Public Library Selection for “Best Books for the Teen Age,” and about which Newsweek said, “Krygier’s luminous prose transports the reader.” 

I'm also a former Los Angeles Superior Court judge and the author of "Juvenile Court: A Judge’s Guide for Young Adults and their Parents" (Scarecrow Press). 

I live in Los Angeles with my husband. When I'm not not writing, I love to go to the beach, walk the Santa Monica Mountain trails, and snap lots and lots of photographs.

 

 

Website * Twitter * Facebook

 

 

 

 

 

Keep Her

By: Leora Krygier

Release Date: September 6, 2016 

Publisher: She Writes Press

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
FLASH GIVEAWAY ~ The Cabin (Natasha Preston)!!
Featured Review: And the Trees Crept In by Dawn Ku...
 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Phoenix Descending (Curse of the Phoenix #1)
 
5.0
"Phoenix Descending was a really interesting fantasy novel filled with action, adventure and a strong female character. Tori Kagari's family..."
Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
The Epic Crush of Genie Lo
 
5.0
"It took me awhile to really get into this book. I think a big part of it was that..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."