Giveaway: The How-To Handbook (US/Canada)

b2ap3_thumbnail_How-To-Handbook---FRONT-cover---WEB.jpg

 

The How-To Handbook: Shortcuts and Solutions for the Problems of Everyday Life

by Martin Oliver and Alexandra Johnson

Release Date: 4/23/13
 

 

There are certain things that everyone just has to know how to do in life: unjamming a jar, for instance, fixing a flat tire, and removing a particularly embarrassing stain. They may seem simple in retrospect, but you don’t have to turn all your laundry pink more than once before you learn that it’s best to just get things right the first time. The How-To Handbook packs over 50 essential life skills into one handy reference book and uses dozens of illustrations to show readers the very best ways to thread a needle, pitch a tent, tie a tie, chop an onion, and more!

 

Giveaway Details

Win one of 15 copies of the book by entering the form below. 
US/Canada only

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Rate this blog entry:
Giveaway: ICONS Prize Pack by Margaret Stohl (US/C...
Interview with Christian Schoon, author of Zenn Sc...

Related Posts

 

Comments 19

YABC on Wednesday, 01 May 2013 20:38

I think every person must learn to be kind to others.

0
I think every person must learn to be kind to others.
Kathryn Lynn Frank on Wednesday, 01 May 2013 21:53

I think people should know basic car maintenance.

0
I think people should know basic car maintenance.
Amanda Collins on Wednesday, 01 May 2013 23:24

I think everyone needs to learn to multi task.

0
I think everyone needs to learn to multi task.
YABC on Wednesday, 01 May 2013 23:34

I think an essential life skill is money management.

0
I think an essential life skill is money management.
Sam on Thursday, 02 May 2013 02:27

To survive off the land! or wild or whatever u want to call it.

0
To survive off the land! or wild or whatever u want to call it.
Tressa (Wishful Endings) on Thursday, 02 May 2013 13:33

I'm thinking very basic here - to boil water. I've known some people who really can't.

1
I'm thinking very basic here - to boil water. I've known some people who really can't. :)
Karen G. on Thursday, 02 May 2013 13:48

I think it is vital to develop some common sense and then apply it to all areas of your life.

0
I think it is vital to develop some common sense and then apply it to all areas of your life.
MrsErica Beaton on Thursday, 02 May 2013 18:35

As a teacher, I can see how it's essential for people to learn to read. Illiteracy closes doors of opportunity and success.

0
As a teacher, I can see how it's essential for people to learn to read. Illiteracy closes doors of opportunity and success.
Alexis Cain on Thursday, 02 May 2013 21:59

I sewing is a pretty important skill to learn, because there are so many instances in life where its needed. Of course there are others, but this one seemed to jump out first in my mind.

0
I sewing is a pretty important skill to learn, because there are so many instances in life where its needed. Of course there are others, but this one seemed to jump out first in my mind.
Elizabeth on Friday, 03 May 2013 09:08

How to listen and communicate well with others.

0
How to listen and communicate well with others.
Sasha Shamblen on Friday, 03 May 2013 15:53

how to communicate with people

0
how to communicate with people
YABC on Saturday, 04 May 2013 13:19

I think it's essential to know the basics in living on your own in the world and wilderness.

0
I think it's essential to know the basics in living on your own in the world and wilderness.
YABC on Saturday, 04 May 2013 16:29

how to cook

0
how to cook
Amber Hsu on Sunday, 05 May 2013 18:56

Self defence. I believe that everyone needs to know how to protect themselves from dangers.

0
Self defence. I believe that everyone needs to know how to protect themselves from dangers.
Margaret on Monday, 20 May 2013 19:30

I hope there's a section on manners!

0
I hope there's a section on manners!
Kelly on Tuesday, 21 May 2013 16:42

Lock-picking. And lying.

0
Lock-picking. And lying.
Wendy on Sunday, 26 May 2013 00:23

I feel an important life skill is to learn to be humble.

0
I feel an important life skill is to learn to be humble. :)
Brown on Sunday, 26 May 2013 17:43

Learn how to manage money

0
Learn how to manage money
Victoria on Tuesday, 28 May 2013 13:11

I believe it's important for everyone to know how to sew.

0
I believe it's important for everyone to know how to sew.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Premonition (The Division Series Book 1)
When Riley heads off to boarding school for a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Stealing Liberty
 
4.7
"I am amazed as to how versatile Jennifer Froelich is as an author. Each book is so creative and unique..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
5.0
"Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it..."
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
 
5.0
"This story starts with Sahria and several other girls captured to be sold as slaves. Sahria becomes like a mentor..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
 
5.0
"Sam is the hall monitor at Eerie Elementary, but his job requires more than watching out for students doing things..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Calmer Girls
 
3.5
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Young love makes one foolish. The story: Samantha is not the girl people..."
A Round of Robins
 
4.0
"This picture book sized poetry book follows Mama and Dad bird as they hatch a clutch of eggs, supervise raising..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Challenge Accepted
 
4.8
"Readers will find 'Challenge Accepted' by Amanda Abram hard to put down. Her writing style perfectly captures teenage life, from..."