Giveaway: The How-To Handbook (US/Canada)

b2ap3_thumbnail_How-To-Handbook---FRONT-cover---WEB.jpg

 

The How-To Handbook: Shortcuts and Solutions for the Problems of Everyday Life

by Martin Oliver and Alexandra Johnson

Release Date: 4/23/13
 

 

There are certain things that everyone just has to know how to do in life: unjamming a jar, for instance, fixing a flat tire, and removing a particularly embarrassing stain. They may seem simple in retrospect, but you don’t have to turn all your laundry pink more than once before you learn that it’s best to just get things right the first time. The How-To Handbook packs over 50 essential life skills into one handy reference book and uses dozens of illustrations to show readers the very best ways to thread a needle, pitch a tent, tie a tie, chop an onion, and more!

 

Giveaway Details

Win one of 15 copies of the book by entering the form below. 
US/Canada only

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Rate this blog entry:
Giveaway: ICONS Prize Pack by Margaret Stohl (US/C...
Interview with Christian Schoon, author of Zenn Sc...

Related Posts

 

Comments 19

YABC on Wednesday, 01 May 2013 20:38

I think every person must learn to be kind to others.

0
I think every person must learn to be kind to others.
Kathryn Lynn Frank on Wednesday, 01 May 2013 21:53

I think people should know basic car maintenance.

0
I think people should know basic car maintenance.
Amanda Collins on Wednesday, 01 May 2013 23:24

I think everyone needs to learn to multi task.

0
I think everyone needs to learn to multi task.
YABC on Wednesday, 01 May 2013 23:34

I think an essential life skill is money management.

0
I think an essential life skill is money management.
Sam on Thursday, 02 May 2013 02:27

To survive off the land! or wild or whatever u want to call it.

0
To survive off the land! or wild or whatever u want to call it.
Tressa (Wishful Endings) on Thursday, 02 May 2013 13:33

I'm thinking very basic here - to boil water. I've known some people who really can't.

1
I'm thinking very basic here - to boil water. I've known some people who really can't. :)
Karen G. on Thursday, 02 May 2013 13:48

I think it is vital to develop some common sense and then apply it to all areas of your life.

0
I think it is vital to develop some common sense and then apply it to all areas of your life.
MrsErica Beaton on Thursday, 02 May 2013 18:35

As a teacher, I can see how it's essential for people to learn to read. Illiteracy closes doors of opportunity and success.

0
As a teacher, I can see how it's essential for people to learn to read. Illiteracy closes doors of opportunity and success.
Alexis Cain on Thursday, 02 May 2013 21:59

I sewing is a pretty important skill to learn, because there are so many instances in life where its needed. Of course there are others, but this one seemed to jump out first in my mind.

0
I sewing is a pretty important skill to learn, because there are so many instances in life where its needed. Of course there are others, but this one seemed to jump out first in my mind.
Elizabeth on Friday, 03 May 2013 09:08

How to listen and communicate well with others.

0
How to listen and communicate well with others.
Sasha Shamblen on Friday, 03 May 2013 15:53

how to communicate with people

0
how to communicate with people
YABC on Saturday, 04 May 2013 13:19

I think it's essential to know the basics in living on your own in the world and wilderness.

0
I think it's essential to know the basics in living on your own in the world and wilderness.
YABC on Saturday, 04 May 2013 16:29

how to cook

0
how to cook
Amber Hsu on Sunday, 05 May 2013 18:56

Self defence. I believe that everyone needs to know how to protect themselves from dangers.

0
Self defence. I believe that everyone needs to know how to protect themselves from dangers.
Margaret on Monday, 20 May 2013 19:30

I hope there's a section on manners!

0
I hope there's a section on manners!
Kelly on Tuesday, 21 May 2013 16:42

Lock-picking. And lying.

0
Lock-picking. And lying.
Wendy on Sunday, 26 May 2013 00:23

I feel an important life skill is to learn to be humble.

0
I feel an important life skill is to learn to be humble. :)
Brown on Sunday, 26 May 2013 17:43

Learn how to manage money

0
Learn how to manage money
Victoria on Tuesday, 28 May 2013 13:11

I believe it's important for everyone to know how to sew.

0
I believe it's important for everyone to know how to sew.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."
When Dimple Met Rishi
 
3.3
"A contemporary YA romance—heavy on the romance—with an Indian-American take on the attraction of opposites. The story is told..."
Stray
 
3.8
"'Stray' by Joni Johnson has an interesting premise. When Lila finds out that her father is about to kick her..."