The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Giveaway: The How-To Handbook (US/Canada)

Posted by on in Giveaways
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 2024
  • 19 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

b2ap3_thumbnail_How-To-Handbook---FRONT-cover---WEB.jpg

 

The How-To Handbook: Shortcuts and Solutions for the Problems of Everyday Life

by Martin Oliver and Alexandra Johnson

Release Date: 4/23/13
 

 

There are certain things that everyone just has to know how to do in life: unjamming a jar, for instance, fixing a flat tire, and removing a particularly embarrassing stain. They may seem simple in retrospect, but you don’t have to turn all your laundry pink more than once before you learn that it’s best to just get things right the first time. The How-To Handbook packs over 50 essential life skills into one handy reference book and uses dozens of illustrations to show readers the very best ways to thread a needle, pitch a tent, tie a tie, chop an onion, and more!

 

Giveaway Details

Win one of 15 copies of the book by entering the form below. 
US/Canada only

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Rate this blog entry:
0

Comments

  • YABC
    YABC Wednesday, 01 May 2013

    I think every person must learn to be kind to others.

  • Kathryn Lynn Frank
    Kathryn Lynn Frank Wednesday, 01 May 2013

    I think people should know basic car maintenance.

  • Amanda Collins
    Amanda Collins Wednesday, 01 May 2013

    I think everyone needs to learn to multi task.

  • YABC
    YABC Wednesday, 01 May 2013

    I think an essential life skill is money management.

  • Sam
    Sam Thursday, 02 May 2013

    To survive off the land! or wild or whatever u want to call it.

  • Tressa (Tressa's Wishful Endings)
    Tressa (Tressa's Wishful Endings) Thursday, 02 May 2013

    I'm thinking very basic here - to boil water. I've known some people who really can't. :)

    Reply Cancel
  • Karen G.
    Karen G. Thursday, 02 May 2013

    I think it is vital to develop some common sense and then apply it to all areas of your life.

  • MrsErica Beaton
    MrsErica Beaton Thursday, 02 May 2013

    As a teacher, I can see how it's essential for people to learn to read. Illiteracy closes doors of opportunity and success.

  • Alexis Cain
    Alexis Cain Thursday, 02 May 2013

    I sewing is a pretty important skill to learn, because there are so many instances in life where its needed. Of course there are others, but this one seemed to jump out first in my mind.

  • Elizabeth
    Elizabeth Friday, 03 May 2013

    How to listen and communicate well with others.

  • Sasha Shamblen
    Sasha Shamblen Friday, 03 May 2013

    how to communicate with people

  • YABC
    YABC Saturday, 04 May 2013

    I think it's essential to know the basics in living on your own in the world and wilderness.

  • YABC
    YABC Saturday, 04 May 2013

    how to cook

  • Amber Hsu
    Amber Hsu Sunday, 05 May 2013

    Self defence. I believe that everyone needs to know how to protect themselves from dangers.

  • Margaret
    Margaret Monday, 20 May 2013

    I hope there's a section on manners!

  • Kelly
    Kelly Tuesday, 21 May 2013

    Lock-picking. And lying.

  • Wendy
    Wendy Sunday, 26 May 2013

    I feel an important life skill is to learn to be humble. :)

  • Brown
    Brown Sunday, 26 May 2013

    Learn how to manage money

  • Victoria
    Victoria Tuesday, 28 May 2013

    I believe it's important for everyone to know how to sew.

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Thursday, 18 December 2014

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Every touch has its price Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)