The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Giveaway: Sirens by Janet S. Fox (US and Canada)

Posted by on in Giveaways
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 3623
  • 48 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

Two girls. One gangster. A deadly secret.

When Josephine's father ships her off to live with her rich cousins on the glittering island of Manhattan, he says it's to find a husband. But Jo knows better—there's trouble brewing, and in 1925, all that glitters is not gold. Caught up in a swirl of her cousin's bobbed-hair set—and the men that court them—Jo soon realizes that this world of jazz and gangsters and their molls hides a nest of lies. But when she befriends the girlfriend of one of the most powerful and dangerous gangsters in town, Jo begins to uncover secrets that threaten an empire and could destroy everyone she loves. Jo is faced with a choice: hang on to her soul, or lose herself in the decade of decadence.

Fans of The Great Gatsby, Libba Bray's The Diviners, and Bright Young Things will be captivated by Janet Fox's Roaring Twenties tale.

Janet S. Fox is a writer, mom, and former high school English teacher. Her first young adult novel FAITHFUL (Speak/Penguin, 2010), is a 2011 Amelia Bloomer list pick. FORGIVEN, a companion YA novel (Speak/Penguin, 2011), is a Junior Library Guild selection and WILLA Literary Award finalist.  GET ORGANIZED WITHOUT LOSING IT, her middle grade self-help for kids (Free Spirit 2006) is a perennial best seller. She is a 2010 graduate of the MFA/Writing for Children and Young Adults program at Vermont College of Fine Arts and has been a Regional Advisor for the SCBWI. She loves chocolate, hiking, music and gardening. Janet lives with her husband in the mountains of Montana. To learn more, visit her website: http://janetsfox.com/

Giveaway Details

2 US or Canadian winners will receive a set of the following: a feather flapper-style headband, a feather hair clip, or a long string of faux pearls with a bookmark, a postcard, and an ARC.

Sirens giveaway3 feather headband compressed Sirens giveaway1 pearls compressed Sirens giveaway2 feather clip compressed

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Rate this blog entry:

Comments

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Wednesday, 28 January 2015

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
n Stripes of All Types, author and illustrator Susan Stockdale brings to life a patterned parade of animals, showing young...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Nonfiction
Up close with the ocean's most fearsome and famous predator and the scientists who study them—just thirty miles from San...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Nonfiction
See New York unfold in this stunning first title from Inside and Out, a series of double-sided wall charts that...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Constance is a wild, stubborn young girl growing up poor in a small industrial town. But beneath her thread-worn exterior...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
They say before seeking revenge you should first dig two graves. But what the hell do they know? When the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Wyatt Fox and his friend Eli live in a world where everything, from clothes and cars to weather and weapons,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
For high school sophomore Aiden Storm, Jasmine is everything a teenager could ever want in a girlfriend. But all he...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
When Savannah "Van Demon" Diamond comes to town she ruins everything for Mick. She takes over his favorite hang out,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
All Mick Bogerman wanted to do was teach his little brother how to swim in the coolest swimming pool in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
cover_file_How_to_Navigate_Zombie_Cave_and_defeat_Pirate_Pete_MBogermanxs.JPG
Category: Kids Indie
Armed with a pitchfork, miner's hat, and map, Mick Bogerman dares to hunt for pirate treasure in Zombie Cave. His...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A Work of Art cover
What if the one who should protect you is the one who betrays you most of all? Tera is seventeen,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Nina-the-philosopher.jpg
An over-thinking tween suspects grownups don't really know what they're doing. Full of witty observations, logical questions and laugh-out-loud illustrations,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Luce is too used to people leaving her life. When nineteen year-old Luce receives an unexpected invitation from her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emily's House Cover
Category: Young Adult Indie
What Reviewers Are Saying About Emily's House: "Excellent! Five stars! A fun, action-packed book with depth!" ~Great Summer Reads...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
HALF_TheDeepBeneath_COVER
Category: Young Adult Indie
Do you know the dangers that lurk in the Deep Beneath you? H.A.L.F. 9 has taken his first breath...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emily's Heart Book Trailer
Category: Young Adult Indie
Seventeen-year-old Emily Adams unintentionally unleashed a shadow god's dark energy power into the world and started an Apocalypse. But Emily...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cover of Emily's Trial by Natalie Wright
Category: Young Adult Indie
Two years ago, Emily journeyed to Ireland and became a modern Celtic Priestess. Emily was entrusted with the powerful magic...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
EggandSpoon.jpg
Elena Rudina lives in the impoverished Russian countryside. Her father has been dead for years. One of her brothers has...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
What Lacey needs is a miracle. What she gets is a genie with rules. Lacey Linden is hiding the truth...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)