The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Giveaway: Sirens by Janet S. Fox (US and Canada)

Posted by on in Giveaways
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 3433
  • 48 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

Two girls. One gangster. A deadly secret.

When Josephine's father ships her off to live with her rich cousins on the glittering island of Manhattan, he says it's to find a husband. But Jo knows better—there's trouble brewing, and in 1925, all that glitters is not gold. Caught up in a swirl of her cousin's bobbed-hair set—and the men that court them—Jo soon realizes that this world of jazz and gangsters and their molls hides a nest of lies. But when she befriends the girlfriend of one of the most powerful and dangerous gangsters in town, Jo begins to uncover secrets that threaten an empire and could destroy everyone she loves. Jo is faced with a choice: hang on to her soul, or lose herself in the decade of decadence.

Fans of The Great Gatsby, Libba Bray's The Diviners, and Bright Young Things will be captivated by Janet Fox's Roaring Twenties tale.

Janet S. Fox is a writer, mom, and former high school English teacher. Her first young adult novel FAITHFUL (Speak/Penguin, 2010), is a 2011 Amelia Bloomer list pick. FORGIVEN, a companion YA novel (Speak/Penguin, 2011), is a Junior Library Guild selection and WILLA Literary Award finalist.  GET ORGANIZED WITHOUT LOSING IT, her middle grade self-help for kids (Free Spirit 2006) is a perennial best seller. She is a 2010 graduate of the MFA/Writing for Children and Young Adults program at Vermont College of Fine Arts and has been a Regional Advisor for the SCBWI. She loves chocolate, hiking, music and gardening. Janet lives with her husband in the mountains of Montana. To learn more, visit her website: http://janetsfox.com/

Giveaway Details

2 US or Canadian winners will receive a set of the following: a feather flapper-style headband, a feather hair clip, or a long string of faux pearls with a bookmark, a postcard, and an ARC.

Sirens giveaway3 feather headband compressed Sirens giveaway1 pearls compressed Sirens giveaway2 feather clip compressed

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Rate this blog entry:

Comments

Leave your comment

Guest Saturday, 23 August 2014

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Madeline Usher has been buried alive. The doomed heroine comes to the fore in this eerie reimagining of Edgar Allan...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
When Edy Phelps falls hard for her best friend, she knows nothing can come from it. Forget actual chemistry, or...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 1789, with the starving French people on the brink of revolution, orphaned Celie Rosseau, an amazing artist and a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Strange things are happening in Village Drowning, and a terrifying encounter has eleven-year-old Rye O'Chanter convinced that the monstrous, supposedly...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
In this clever twist on the age-old belief that there’s no such thing as unicorns, Uni the unicorn is told...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
A superhero, dystopian adventure. Scarlett Shortt is just an average 18-year-old girl, but then her life takes an extraordinary...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Here's what Margo McKenna knows about genies: She's seen Aladdin more times than she can count; she's found a magic...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The X-Men meets Ocean's Eleven in this edge-of-your-seat sci-fi adventure about a band of "super" criminals. When the MK virus...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
'It came from the woods. Most strange things do.' Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this timeless new trilogy about love and sacrifice, a princess must find her place in a reborn world. In...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
What really happened after the clock struck midnight? Jane Montjoy is tired of being a lady. She's tired of pretending...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
One kid's trash is another kid's terror in this spooky supernatural mystery. When Cassidy Bean leaves New York to...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Mike was seven when his father was killed in mysterious circumstances in Afghanistan. Eight years later, the family still...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Everything about him warned me to stay away. I'd seen bad boys before, but he had it all and more....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Fashion is Minnie's passion! And, as a result, she's been invited to show her bows on the runways of Paris!...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Weeks pass before Melody finally gets her big break when senior partner at Lazlo, Marshdon and Brown assigns her first...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All Eva ever wanted was the chance to be herself. But in the Americas, to be hybrid—to share your body...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Boomerang.com, the dating site for the millennial gen with its no-fuss, no-commitments matchups, and where work is steamier...
 
3.7 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
In this haunting, fast-paced sequel to the New York Times bestselling photo-illustrated novel Asylum, three teens must unlock some long-buried...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s too late for you. You’re dead. Those words continue to haunt Claire Cain months after she barely survived a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)