The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Giveaway: Sirens by Janet S. Fox (US and Canada)

Posted by on in Giveaways
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 3561
  • 48 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

Two girls. One gangster. A deadly secret.

When Josephine's father ships her off to live with her rich cousins on the glittering island of Manhattan, he says it's to find a husband. But Jo knows better—there's trouble brewing, and in 1925, all that glitters is not gold. Caught up in a swirl of her cousin's bobbed-hair set—and the men that court them—Jo soon realizes that this world of jazz and gangsters and their molls hides a nest of lies. But when she befriends the girlfriend of one of the most powerful and dangerous gangsters in town, Jo begins to uncover secrets that threaten an empire and could destroy everyone she loves. Jo is faced with a choice: hang on to her soul, or lose herself in the decade of decadence.

Fans of The Great Gatsby, Libba Bray's The Diviners, and Bright Young Things will be captivated by Janet Fox's Roaring Twenties tale.

Janet S. Fox is a writer, mom, and former high school English teacher. Her first young adult novel FAITHFUL (Speak/Penguin, 2010), is a 2011 Amelia Bloomer list pick. FORGIVEN, a companion YA novel (Speak/Penguin, 2011), is a Junior Library Guild selection and WILLA Literary Award finalist.  GET ORGANIZED WITHOUT LOSING IT, her middle grade self-help for kids (Free Spirit 2006) is a perennial best seller. She is a 2010 graduate of the MFA/Writing for Children and Young Adults program at Vermont College of Fine Arts and has been a Regional Advisor for the SCBWI. She loves chocolate, hiking, music and gardening. Janet lives with her husband in the mountains of Montana. To learn more, visit her website: http://janetsfox.com/

Giveaway Details

2 US or Canadian winners will receive a set of the following: a feather flapper-style headband, a feather hair clip, or a long string of faux pearls with a bookmark, a postcard, and an ARC.

Sirens giveaway3 feather headband compressed Sirens giveaway1 pearls compressed Sirens giveaway2 feather clip compressed

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Rate this blog entry:

Comments

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Wednesday, 26 November 2014

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
Molly Lennox is a typical teenager, living a typical teenage life on the planet of Mars. Her alien sister, Pirra,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
For seventeen-year-old Lena, living in the trailer park with the rest of town’s throwaways isn’t exactly paradise. Dealing with a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Murphy wants to help Sally and Mama build a new life in Nome, but life in the mining town is...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Ian Fleming's treasured classic soars in a deluxe edition featuring John Burningham's vibrant, full-color original illustrations. Famous for creating James...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Miles Murphy is not happy to be moving to Yawnee Valley, a sleepy town that’s famous for one thing and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Amy Green is finally turning fourteen, and her mother and Dave are getting married on her birthday! Wedding fever is...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Flat Stanley is back to save the day in the twelfth exciting Worldwide Adventures chapter book, just in time to...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
In their third adventure, Bramble and Maggie explore a new season together — fall! Leaves crunch underfoot. Acorns ping off...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Amy Namey, Ace Reporter, is on the hunt for a good news story. But not a lot happens in the...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marissa tells lies. To herself, about the fact that her brother abandoned her. To her grandmother, when she says “everything’s...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Caitlyn is planning on having a carefree summer before she goes off to college. She has left the past behind...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
After Wendy is kidnapped by her own mother, the only way she can survive wartime Germany is with the help...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Flipping Scales-thumb.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
Meredith and Marina’s lives have been flipped upside down. When the translucent skirt that straight-A-student Meredith finds hidden...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Monarch TN.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
Some small town secrets need to be told . . . Stealing the family car is not 14-year-old Darby Fletcher’s...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tandem cover thumbnail.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
An ex-con. A tandem bicycle. And a bike trip through the mountains. Not exactly the ideal conditions for a father-son...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Sword and its Servant Title (with age warning)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Between Our World and Hel, Uncover... Deep lore, Dark intrigue, Depraved enemies. The links between the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
legendary
Aliana Fagan spent her childhood traveling the world, dreaming of legendary heroes and mythical lands. But after the sudden death...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Juniper Sawfeather is choosing which college to attend after graduation. She wants to get as far away from her environmental...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Top Five Things That Are Ruining Chloe’s Day 5) Working the 6:30 a.m. shift at GoodFoods Market 4) Crashing a...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
Amber Vaughn is a good girl. She sings solos at church, babysits her nephew after school, and spends every Friday...
 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)