The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Giveaway: Sirens by Janet S. Fox (US and Canada)

Giveaway: Sirens by Janet S. Fox (US and Canada)

Two girls. One gangster. A deadly secret.

When Josephine's father ships her off to live with her rich cousins on the glittering island of Manhattan, he says it's to find a husband. But Jo knows better—there's trouble brewing, and in 1925, all that glitters is not gold. Caught up in a swirl of her cousin's bobbed-hair set—and the men that court them—Jo soon realizes that this world of jazz and gangsters and their molls hides a nest of lies. But when she befriends the girlfriend of one of the most powerful and dangerous gangsters in town, Jo begins to uncover secrets that threaten an empire and could destroy everyone she loves. Jo is faced with a choice: hang on to her soul, or lose herself in the decade of decadence.

Fans of The Great Gatsby, Libba Bray's The Diviners, and Bright Young Things will be captivated by Janet Fox's Roaring Twenties tale.

Janet S. Fox is a writer, mom, and former high school English teacher. Her first young adult novel FAITHFUL (Speak/Penguin, 2010), is a 2011 Amelia Bloomer list pick. FORGIVEN, a companion YA novel (Speak/Penguin, 2011), is a Junior Library Guild selection and WILLA Literary Award finalist.  GET ORGANIZED WITHOUT LOSING IT, her middle grade self-help for kids (Free Spirit 2006) is a perennial best seller. She is a 2010 graduate of the MFA/Writing for Children and Young Adults program at Vermont College of Fine Arts and has been a Regional Advisor for the SCBWI. She loves chocolate, hiking, music and gardening. Janet lives with her husband in the mountains of Montana. To learn more, visit her website: http://janetsfox.com/

Giveaway Details

2 US or Canadian winners will receive a set of the following: a feather flapper-style headband, a feather hair clip, or a long string of faux pearls with a bookmark, a postcard, and an ARC.

Sirens giveaway3 feather headband compressed Sirens giveaway1 pearls compressed Sirens giveaway2 feather clip compressed

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Rate this blog entry:
Giveaway: False Memory by Dan Krokos (US and Canad...
Giveaway: Dear Teen Me (US and Canada)

Related Posts

Comments 48

 
Wendy Railey on Saturday, 01 December 2012 17:02

I believe she's called a flapper.

I believe she's called a flapper.
Vivien on Saturday, 01 December 2012 17:03

Molls

Molls
MrsErica Beaton on Saturday, 01 December 2012 20:24

They were called flappers.

They were called flappers.
YABC on Saturday, 01 December 2012 22:13

She would be a flapper

She would be a flapper
Becca on Sunday, 02 December 2012 18:43

Flapper

Flapper
YABC on Sunday, 02 December 2012 18:59

A flapper.

A flapper.
Sarah on Monday, 03 December 2012 12:33

A Flapper

A Flapper
Brooke on Monday, 03 December 2012 14:45

A flapper.

A flapper.
Stacy on Tuesday, 04 December 2012 18:40

Flapper :)

Flapper :)
alicia marie on Tuesday, 04 December 2012 21:40

a flapper : )

a flapper : )
YABC on Tuesday, 04 December 2012 23:43

Flapper

Flapper
Amber McKinney on Wednesday, 05 December 2012 10:24

Flapper ^_^

Flapper ^_^
Samantha Martin Hiatt on Wednesday, 05 December 2012 13:22

Flapper!!!!

Flapper!!!!
YABC on Wednesday, 05 December 2012 21:50

a flapper

a flapper
Kayla Beck on Thursday, 06 December 2012 08:43

She would be called a flapper! :-)

She would be called a flapper! :-)
Natalie on Saturday, 08 December 2012 00:16

A Flapper!

A Flapper!
Sydney Bragg on Saturday, 08 December 2012 00:59

A Flapper:)

A Flapper:)
Jessica Lynn Piazza on Sunday, 09 December 2012 09:06

A Flapper!!!

A Flapper!!!
Krista on Sunday, 09 December 2012 13:45

Flapper

Flapper
YABC on Sunday, 09 December 2012 14:31

Flapper

Flapper

Current Giveaways

 

  

   

   

   

   

    

    

   

  

   

   

   

   

   

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Breaker
Kyle Henry has a new name, a new school, and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first in a new fantasy series from the New...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gutless
With good speed and good hands, wide receiver Brock Ripley...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Metropolis
Peruse the postcard-like pages to discover cultural treasures, amazing architecture...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Other Boy
A beautifully heartfelt story about one boy’s journey toward acceptance....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tiger Tail (Or What Happened to Anya On Her First Day of School)
From the creative mind of rising star Mike Boldt comes...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Insert Coin to Continue
Bryan Biggins wakes up to find that his life has...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Love to Sing Along
The perfect first book for every preschooler! Introduce children to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Shining Sea Cover
Falling in love shouldn’t feel like drowning. ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Hidden Thing
Somewhere in the Badlands, embedded deep in centuries-buried rock and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phat Girl & The Sankara Parasite
Turning the traditional approach to bully situations on its head,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now that Tiffany Noboru is dead, being forced to become...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamology
Vibrantly offbeat and utterly original, Lucy Keating’s debut novel combines...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Memory Girl
In ShareHaven, death is not the end. Centuries ago the...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Falling Over Sideways
It's not easy being Claire. (Really.) Claire's...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dead Girl's Society
You are cordially invited to participate in a game of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)