The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Giveaway: Meant to Be by Lauren Morrill (US/Canada)

Posted by on in Giveaways
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 3634
  • 72 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

b2ap3_thumbnail_MTB-Cover.jpg

 

Meant to Be by Lauren Morrill

Release Date: November 2012
 

 

Meant to be or not meant to be . . . that is the question. 

It's one thing to fall head over heels into a puddle of hazelnut coffee, and quite another to fall for the—gasp—wrong guy. Straight-A junior Julia may be accident prone, but she's queen of following rules and being prepared. That's why she keeps a pencil sharpener in her purse and a pocket Shakespeare in her, well, pocket. And that's also why she's chosen Mark Bixford, her childhood crush, as her MTB ("meant to be").

But this spring break, Julia's rules are about to get defenestrated (SAT word: to be thrown from a window) when she's partnered with her personal nemesis, class-clown Jason, on a school trip to London. After one wild party, Julia starts receiving romantic texts . . . from an unknown number! Jason promises to help discover the identity of her mysterious new suitor if she agrees to break a few rules along the way. And thus begins a wild goose chase through London, leading Julia closer and closer to the biggest surprise of all: true love.

Because sometimes the things you least expect are the most meant to be.

"If you're into swoony romances with a little bit of history thrown in, you'll love Meant to Be."--HelloGiggles.com 

"Fun, fresh and irresistibly romantic. STB (SURE to be) loved!"--Sarah Mlynowski

"Readers of Jennifer E. Smith and Stephanie Perkins will revel in this debate about love ruled by the stars or as a matter of the heart."--Shelf Awareness

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Lauren-Morrill-headshot-2013.jpg

About the author:

Lauren Morrill grew up in Maryville, TN, where she was a short-term Girl Scout, a (not so) proud member of the marching band, and a trouble-making editor for the school newspaper.

She graduated from Indiana University with a major in history and a minor in rock & roll, and now lives in Macon, GA with her husband and their dog, Lucy.

When she’s not writing, she spends a lot of hours getting knocked around playing roller derby.

Find out more at www.laurenmorrill.com

 

 

Giveaway Details

 

1 US/Canada winner will receive a finished copy, annotated and signed by Lauren,
with some fun notes written in by some surprise authors!

To enter, fill out the form below. 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
0

Comments

  • Heather
    Heather Wednesday, 01 May 2013

    I think so.

  • Breana M.
    Breana M. Wednesday, 01 May 2013

    Of course! ;)

  • Danielle Schneider
    Danielle Schneider Wednesday, 01 May 2013

    I'd like to think everyone has a meant to be :)

  • YABC
    YABC Wednesday, 01 May 2013

    I might be a bit cynical but I don't think so. I think you can find people you get along with and love but I don't think there is a cosmic craziness and that there is only 1 person you are meant to be with.

  • Bonnie Yee
    Bonnie Yee Wednesday, 01 May 2013

    I am not sure if everyone has a "meant to be" person for them.

  • YABC
    YABC Wednesday, 01 May 2013

    I do think so!

  • YABC
    YABC Wednesday, 01 May 2013

    No, I don't. I think there are people that fit together better than others.

  • Lauren Andreas
    Lauren Andreas Thursday, 02 May 2013

    I do think everyone has a meant to be. :)

  • Alyssa
    Alyssa Thursday, 02 May 2013

    Some do, and some don't. I was lucky and found mine :)

  • Sam
    Sam Thursday, 02 May 2013

    I am honestly not sure.......

  • Tressa (Tressa's Wishful Endings)
    Tressa (Tressa's Wishful Endings) Thursday, 02 May 2013

    I don't think so. I think there can be a couple of options for everyone and we end up with someone based on our choices. I also believe that two dedicated people can make any relationship work and can love each other.

  • YABC
    YABC Thursday, 02 May 2013

    I do believe it yes! I was married then divorce. The first marriage was not my "one". But the guy I am marrying now is and always will be!

  • Deidra
    Deidra Thursday, 02 May 2013

    Yes. To a degree I suppose.

  • MrsErica Beaton
    MrsErica Beaton Thursday, 02 May 2013

    I think that we all make choices, but there are times in our lives when we're meant to be aligned with one person. My grandmother, while widowed at a young age, was fortunate to have more than one soulmate.

  • Jamie
    Jamie Thursday, 02 May 2013

    I don't think so. I don't believe in just one right person. Love is a choice. Everyday I CHOOSE my husband. Maybe that doesn't sound romantic to some that believe in fate or just one person, but I think it's terribly romantic. :)

  • YABC
    YABC Thursday, 02 May 2013

    yes :)

  • Meagan Cooke
    Meagan Cooke Thursday, 02 May 2013

    I think everyone has a "meant to be" I found mine....everyone can. And it's usually when you stop looking that fate sends you "the sign". :-)

  • YABC
    YABC Friday, 03 May 2013

    Not everyone, but I think that if you pray hard enough, you will find your "meant to be" with person.

  • Susan Light
    Susan Light Friday, 03 May 2013

    For most people, yes.

  • Sasha Shamblen
    Sasha Shamblen Friday, 03 May 2013

    I want to believe that

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Friday, 19 December 2014

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)