Giveaway: FRESH INK: AN ANTHOLOGY (US Only)

FRESH-INK

FRESH INK: AN ANTHOLOGY (US Only)

Edited by: Lamar Giles

Release Date: August 14, 2018

Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers

About the Book:

Careful—you are holding fresh ink. And not hot-off-the-press, still-drying-in-your-hands ink. Instead, you are holding twelve stories with endings that are still being written—whose next chapters are up to you.

Because these stories are meant to be read. And shared.

Thirteen of the most accomplished YA authors deliver a label-defying anthology that includes ten short stories, a graphic novel, and a one-act play from Walter Dean Myers never before in-print. This collection addresses topics like gentrification, acceptance, untimely death, coming out, and poverty and ranges in genre from contemporary realistic fiction to adventure and romance. It will inspire you to break conventions, bend the rules, and color outside the lines. All you need is fresh ink.

AUTHORS INCLUDE: Schuyler Bailar, Melissa de la Cruz, Sara Farizan, Sharon G. Flake, Eric Gansworth, Malindo Lo, Walter Dean Myers, Daniel José Older, Thien Pham, Jason Reynolds, Aminah Mae Safi, Gene Luen Yang, and Nicola Yoon.

About the Editor:

LAMAR GILES writes novels and short stories for teens and adults. He is the author of the Edgar Award nominees Fake ID and Endangered, as well as the YA novel Overturned. He is a founding member of We Need Diverse Books, and he resides in Virginia with his wife. Check him out online at lamargiles.com, or follow @LRGiles on Twitter.

WE NEED DIVERSE BOOKS™ is a grassroots organization of children’s book lovers that advocates for essential changes in the publishing industry to produce and promote literature that reflects and honors the lives of all young people. Their mission is to put more books featuring diverse characters into the hands of all children.

Learn More:

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook

Giveaway Details:

One winner will receive a copy of FRESH INK.

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they’ll be answering in the comments below for extra entries: What do you think of the cover & synopsis?

*Click the Rafflecopter link to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Rate this blog entry:
Featured Review: Ink and Ivy (Sara Martin)
Author Chat with Katrin van Dam (Come November), P...

Related Posts

 

Comments 9

Debra Branigan on Saturday, 10 November 2018 21:24

This sounds so exciting! Good luck with the anthology.

0
This sounds so exciting! Good luck with the anthology.
Kara S on Monday, 19 November 2018 17:54

The cover is unusually eye-catching, and this line-up of authors plus the one-of-a-kind theme of this anthology make it irresistible to me! Thanks for this chance to win, Kara S

0
The cover is unusually eye-catching, and this line-up of authors plus the one-of-a-kind theme of this anthology make it irresistible to me! Thanks for this chance to win, Kara S
Lily M. on Saturday, 01 December 2018 04:22

I've been curious about his book ?

0
I've been curious about his book ?
Amy Bernal on Monday, 03 December 2018 22:37

Love, Love, love this cover!! It's an amazing cover. This sounds like a one of a kind book and I really can't wait to read this book!!!

0
Love, Love, love this cover!! It's an amazing cover. This sounds like a one of a kind book and I really can't wait to read this book!!!
Penny Olson on Tuesday, 04 December 2018 23:01

The cover is just bursting with color. Very eye catching. This sounds like a great collection of stories.

0
The cover is just bursting with color. Very eye catching. This sounds like a great collection of stories.
Danielle Hammelef on Friday, 07 December 2018 15:42

I love the cover's colors. The synopsis sounds inspirational and emotional.

0
I love the cover's colors. The synopsis sounds inspirational and emotional.
Jayda on Friday, 07 December 2018 20:26

The colors on the cover make it really pop. The synopsis sounds very interesting.

0
The colors on the cover make it really pop. The synopsis sounds very interesting.
Nancy Hernandez on Friday, 07 December 2018 22:12

Love the neon colors makes me think of a party.

0
Love the neon colors makes me think of a party.
Cynthia M. Parkhill on Sunday, 09 December 2018 14:03

I'm a big fan of anthologies for the variety in viewpoints, and in this case, in format and genre. (A graphic novel! A one-act play!) I'm disappointed that this giveaway no longer accepts entries on the listed expiration date (as opposed to that date being THE LAST DAY on which entries can be submitted).

As a woman on the autism spectrum who works in a library, I have both personal and professional investment in respectfully-diverse books.

Publishing has a depressingly poor record regarding its treatment of ability. Characters with disabilities are frequently described via ableist terms and assumptions, but in this case, they simply seem absent. Maybe I'm wrong, but what struck me is that nothing in the synopsis communicated to me that ability is included in the anthology.

0
I'm a big fan of anthologies for the variety in viewpoints, and in this case, in format and genre. (A graphic novel! A one-act play!) I'm disappointed that this giveaway no longer accepts entries on the listed expiration date (as opposed to that date being THE LAST DAY on which entries can be submitted). As a woman on the autism spectrum who works in a library, I have both personal and professional investment in respectfully-diverse books. Publishing has a depressingly poor record regarding its treatment of ability. Characters with disabilities are frequently described via ableist terms and assumptions, but in this case, they simply seem absent. Maybe I'm wrong, but what struck me is that nothing in the synopsis communicated to me that ability is included in the anthology.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ghoulia
Ghoulia lives in Crumbling Manor with her Auntie Departed and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
In the vein of Eloise, Olivia, and Fancy Nancy, Carmen...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, Life, and the List
Seventeen-year-old Abby Turner’s summer isn’t going the way she’d planned....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
Arkansas, 1984: The town of Griffin Flat is known for...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
Discover how science, nature and history connect in this fast-paced,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
When the speediest family in the world finds a sweet,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Little Golden Book About the Solar System
Little Golden Books introduces your young reader to the solar...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enlightenment by Reno Ursal
When Dorothy Dizon meets the mysterious Adrian Rosario and his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
My name is Barry Allen. You probably know me as...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
When Lady Katherine's father is killed for being an illegally...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blood Spell
Blue de la Cour has her life planned: hide the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ogre Enchanted
In this prequel to Ella Enchanted, which can stand on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Home and Away
Tasia Quirk is young, Black, and fabulous. She's a senior,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mirage
In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dactyl Hill Squad
It's 1863 and dinosaurs roam the streets of New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
 
5.0
"Hilde is at it again to get a factual story for the newspaper. This time, it's a mysterious flash of..."
Ghoulia
 
4.0
"To Ghoulia, she's just the average girl. To us, she's something completely different: a zombie. Ghoulia's aunt wants her to..."
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
 
3.5
"Lights Camera Carmen is a quick-to-read tale of a zealous and outspoken kid destined to make it big. ..."
Going Wild #3: Clash of Beasts
 
4.0
" Charlie, Mac, and Maria are back, having defeated Dr. Gray's army in Predator Vs. Prey. Kelly and Miko, however,..."
Gamer Army
 
4.0
"In a futuristic society where almost everything has gone online, Rogan spends a lot of his time playing the game..."
Love, Life, and the List
 
4.3
"Abby's goal in life is to become a serious artist. Her hope is to get into a special art camp...."
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
 
3.0
"It's 1984 and Laura Ratliff is a high school student with issues beyond a typical sixteen-year-old. Her mom and her..."
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
 
5.0
"ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING includes factual information on our world history. It's divided by time periods and eras of importance. This book..."
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
 
5.0
"Amy's family rushes for everything. "They walked fast, drove fast, shopped fast, and ate fast." This upsets Amy because there..."
My Little Golden Book About the Solar System
 
5.0
"My Little Golden Book About the Solar System is the perfect way to introduce the planets. The pictures are vibrant..."
Beyond a Darkened Shore
 
4.7
"Top 4 Reasons to Grab BEYOND A DARKENED SHORE immediately: 1.) Historical fantasy worldbuilding: My biggest genre weakness..."
Onyx and Ivory
 
4.0
"Top 5 Reasons to Read Onyx and Ivory: 1.) The magic: Kate lives in a world where there are..."
Soccer School Season 2: Where Soccer Explains (Saves) the World
 
4.3
"In this second Soccer School book, the first chapter is about pee rather than poop (as the first book was)!..."
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
 
5.0
"THE FLASH: THE SECRET FILES OF BARRY ALLEN is the perfect guide for the Flash tv show. The layout of..."
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
 
4.0
"AN ASSASSIN’S GUIDE TO LOVE & TREASON by Virginia Boecker is such a breath of fresh air. It’s a YA..."
Giant Days
 
4.7
"Susan, Daisy and Esther are very different women, but they become fast friends after meeting on their college dorm floor...."
Holes
 
5.0
"Important message. Unique perspective."
The Namarielle (Chronicles of Lashai Book 1)
 
5.0
"The Namarielle is the perfect addition to any fantasy novel collection. The world is so well imagined in the little..."
The Blood Spell
 
5.0
"Blue de la Cour enjoys her quiet life with her father, passing the days by working in the shop and..."
 
5.0
"The Channeler is the first book in a new YA fantasy series written by William H. Kline IV. Tommy,..."