Giveaway: FLYING IN A CAGE (US Only)

Flying-in-a-Cage_ebook

Flying in a Cage (US Only)

by: Melody J. Bremen

Release Date: March 26, 2018

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

 

About the Book:

 

A song tugs inside me,

like a string pulling on my heart.

It wants to fly free.

 

Ivory Strade lives in a world of song.

As she goes to school, as she eats breakfast, as she walks down the road, she creates melodies in her mind. Every sound she hears - a distant birdsong, the wind in the trees - becomes a symphony.

No one knows about her music because Ivory is not like other ten-year-olds. When people speak to her, it's difficult for her to untangle the words in her mind and she retreats into her own private world.

Without the words to explain what she hears, the music stays trapped inside her until, one day, an amazing music teacher shows her how to set her music free.

Fans of Sharon Draper's Out of My Mind and Ellie Terry's Forget Me Not will enjoy this novel-in-verse that follows a young girl who finds her place despite being different.

About the Author:

Melody J. Bremen spent most of her childhood in her imagination. She has written several novels for middle grade readers and one young adult fantasy novel, The Prince of Korin. She lives in New Jersey with her family and a faithful computer named Oswald. Visit her website at www.melodyjbremen.com to learn more.

Learn More:

Website | Goodreads | Author Newsletter

 

Author Interview:

Who is your favorite character in the book?

Miss Reeves, the teacher who is the first to tap into Ivory's potential, has a special place in my heart. She is unique because she doesn't only do what she has to do, or what she's paid to do. She goes above and beyond to do what she felt her student needed. She is what I think every teacher can be: someone with the power to impact a child's life an a very powerful way.

Which came first, the title or the novel?

Definitely the novel. The title went though a few iterations until I found the right one. Originally it was called "The Sound of Wind Chimes," then that was shortened to "Wind Chimes." That whole line of thinking was scrapped and I switched to "Can't Fly in a Cage," which came from a line in the story. That was flipped around to "Flying in a Cage." I was well into the editing process by the time I settled on the title.

Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

One of the things that was really difficult for me way back when I started writing (before I was anywhere near being published) was accepting criticism. I had a hard time understanding that just because everything made sense and sounded good in my head, that didn't mean it translated well for the reader. Over the years, I've become a lot better at listening to critique without taking it personally. I'm at the point where I love to hear constructive criticism so much, I get excited about it. I know it will make my story better.

What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I love how the rays of light and the floating music notes look like how I imagine the protagonist, Ivory, sees the world. It's like you're getting a glimpse into her head.

What was your favorite book in 2017?

The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill was one of the most memorable books I read in 2017. It's so magical and beautifully written. I recommend it to everyone of all ages, particularly those who enjoy fairy tales.

Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Ivory's mom was a hard character to get right. I needed her to be flawed without becoming a "villain". It needed to be clear that her heart was in the right place even if she made some wrong choices. I ended going back after I wrote the first draft to edit a lot of her dialogue to help keep that balance.

Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Drafting is my favorite part. I love creating characters and writing fun dialogue. Going back and fixing up all the issues? Not as much fun.

Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

I really admire the efforts of SBSK, which stands for Special Books by Special Kids. They feature interviews with different people from all around the globe (mostly children, but adults as well) who have different diagnoses. They help spread awareness about different syndromes, some rare, some more common, such as dwarfism, cerebral palsy, and autism. You can see these interviews on their YouTube channel.

What’s up next for you?

I am currently working on a middle grade road trip novel called Plan B. It is the companion novel to one of my other books, Room 42. I also plan to begin working on the sequel to my young adult fantasy novel, The Prince of Korin, very soon.

What would you say is your superpower?

I don't drink coffee. I just get up and go.

 

Giveaway Details:

2 winners will each receive a copy of FLYING IN A CAGE.

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they’ll be answering in the comments below for extra entries: What do you think of the cover & synopsis?

*Click the Rafflecopter link to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What's Hot in KU
Featured Review: Oshun Rising: Trinity Forest Book...

Related Posts

 

Comments 6

Already Registered? Login Here
Marisa Fort on Friday, 17 August 2018 12:17

The cover is amazing and the synopsis sounds awesome!

0
The cover is amazing and the synopsis sounds awesome!
Danielle Hammelef on Monday, 10 September 2018 09:18

I love the cover and the unique synopsis.

0
I love the cover and the unique synopsis.
Debra Branigan on Tuesday, 11 September 2018 14:01

The cover fits your character and helps us see inside her. The synopsis sounds good. I have always like these stories. So many kids need that teacher who connects.

0
The cover fits your character and helps us see inside her. The synopsis sounds good. I have always like these stories. So many kids need that teacher who connects.
Dan Denman on Thursday, 13 September 2018 09:58

I like the colorful book cover. Ivory sounds like a great character in a really good story.

0
I like the colorful book cover. Ivory sounds like a great character in a really good story.
Penny Olson on Friday, 14 September 2018 23:46

The cover is beautiful. The story sounds interesting and exciting.

0
The cover is beautiful. The story sounds interesting and exciting.
Andrea Carroll on Sunday, 16 September 2018 21:38

A mystical cover... my YA readers will enjoy Ivory.

0
A mystical cover... my YA readers will enjoy Ivory.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Remarkably You
New York Times bestselling author Pat Zietlow Miller celebrates individuality...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Our Little Love Bug! (Heart-felt Books)
You're the precious gift we dreamed of. You...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bird Watch
From the author of the acclaimed Tap the Magic Tree!...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
What About Harry?
From New York Times bestselling illustrator Derek Anderson comes the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roary the Lion Roars Too Loud (Wee Beasties)
Help little ones learn how to use their inside voices...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
It’s the year 2191 and the last known civilization hides...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Haunted
Clean slate. That's what Hendricks Becker-O'Malley's parents said when they...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Art of Losing
On one terrible night, 17-year-old Harley Langston’s life changes...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Beyond a Darkened Shore
The ancient land of Éirinn is mired in war....
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Step-Spinsters
Once upon a time, in a land far, far...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Glamour of Midnight
Fae bounty hunter Loftin’s life depends on him finding...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Just For Clicks
Mommy blogs are great . . . unless the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Black Enough: Stories of Being Young and Black in America
Edited by National Book Award finalist Ibi Zoboi, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
i am Elephant, i am Butterfly
When sixteen-year-old Simone Wheeler is accepted into the elite Camp...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mike
MEET FLOYD. He's a tennis star. Possibly good enough to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Remarkably You
 
5.0
""You have your own spirit, unparalleled flair. So rock what you've got-everyday, everywhere." REMARKABLY YOU celebrates the uniqueness of..."
Our Little Love Bug! (Heart-felt Books)
 
4.0
"This adorable board book features touchable pages along with messages of love. The left side features large words and a..."
Bird Watch
 
4.0
"BIRD WATCH teaches about some birds you might see if you look close enough. First, you have to step outside...."
What About Harry?
 
5.0
"Sam and Harry are best friends and they do everything together. One day, they decide to be kings and make..."
Roary the Lion Roars Too Loud (Wee Beasties)
 
4.5
"This delightful board book teaches children about vocal volume in an entertaining and easy way. Roary loves to use his..."
The Once and Future Geek (The Camelot Code #1)
 
4.0
"Guinevere and Arthur get along quite well, practicing their fighting and trying to stay out of the way of the..."
How to Defeat a Wizard (Marty Pants #3)
 
4.5
"Marty is still at war with Simon, and irritated beyond belief that everyone thinks the other boy is charming when..."
The Terrible Two's Last Laugh
 
4.5
"Mile and Niles, pranksters extraordinaire, are back for their last year at their school. They start the year off right,..."
Fairest Son
 
4.0
"A well-written and unique take on an old tale. The Story: The prince of the Seelie court is the..."
The Blood Spell
 
4.0
"Based loosely on the tale of Cinderella, The Blood Spell is the fourth standalone installment for the Ravenspire series of..."
The Haunted
 
3.0
"Hendricks and her family buy an old building in Drearford, New York after an incident. Her family 'hopes' this will..."
The Other Side of Freedom
 
5.0
"I loved The Other Side of the Freedom - the writing, the story, the close-knit Italian family, and the early..."
Just For Clicks
 
5.0
"Claire and her twin sister, Poppy, are ‘internet famous’. Every part of their lives have been blogged, photographed, and recorded..."
The Crystal of Gaea. Aki and the Spheres of Time #5
 
5.0
"Aki and Lilith are off on another exciting adventure, this time to the world of Ancient Greek mythology. This..."
Obsidian (Lux #1)
 
5.0
"That's why I love paranormal romances :D"
On the Fence
 
5.0
"I'm a sucker for YA and Friends to Lovers romance, and Kasie West is one of my favorite YA author..."
EVERY BOY IS A BOOK
 
5.0
"I loved this story so much I didn’t want to stop reading... I wish this book never ended! It’s such..."
Alienated (Alienated #1)
 
4.7
"I think I fell in love! Aelyx and Cara’s romance is of the slow-burn kind.... simply swoony! The..."
P.S. I Like You
 
4.7
"Be yourself, even when you don’t fit in! Two teenagers who both felt like something was missing in their lives..."
City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1)
 
5.0
"NYC will never be the same after reading this great Urban Fantasy... Even my heart will never be the same..."