Giveaway: FLYING IN A CAGE (US Only)

Flying-in-a-Cage_ebook

Flying in a Cage (US Only)

by: Melody J. Bremen

Release Date: March 26, 2018

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

 

About the Book:

 

A song tugs inside me,

like a string pulling on my heart.

It wants to fly free.

 

Ivory Strade lives in a world of song.

As she goes to school, as she eats breakfast, as she walks down the road, she creates melodies in her mind. Every sound she hears - a distant birdsong, the wind in the trees - becomes a symphony.

No one knows about her music because Ivory is not like other ten-year-olds. When people speak to her, it's difficult for her to untangle the words in her mind and she retreats into her own private world.

Without the words to explain what she hears, the music stays trapped inside her until, one day, an amazing music teacher shows her how to set her music free.

Fans of Sharon Draper's Out of My Mind and Ellie Terry's Forget Me Not will enjoy this novel-in-verse that follows a young girl who finds her place despite being different.

About the Author:

Melody J. Bremen spent most of her childhood in her imagination. She has written several novels for middle grade readers and one young adult fantasy novel, The Prince of Korin. She lives in New Jersey with her family and a faithful computer named Oswald. Visit her website at www.melodyjbremen.com to learn more.

Learn More:

Website | Goodreads | Author Newsletter

 

Author Interview:

Who is your favorite character in the book?

Miss Reeves, the teacher who is the first to tap into Ivory's potential, has a special place in my heart. She is unique because she doesn't only do what she has to do, or what she's paid to do. She goes above and beyond to do what she felt her student needed. She is what I think every teacher can be: someone with the power to impact a child's life an a very powerful way.

Which came first, the title or the novel?

Definitely the novel. The title went though a few iterations until I found the right one. Originally it was called "The Sound of Wind Chimes," then that was shortened to "Wind Chimes." That whole line of thinking was scrapped and I switched to "Can't Fly in a Cage," which came from a line in the story. That was flipped around to "Flying in a Cage." I was well into the editing process by the time I settled on the title.

Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

One of the things that was really difficult for me way back when I started writing (before I was anywhere near being published) was accepting criticism. I had a hard time understanding that just because everything made sense and sounded good in my head, that didn't mean it translated well for the reader. Over the years, I've become a lot better at listening to critique without taking it personally. I'm at the point where I love to hear constructive criticism so much, I get excited about it. I know it will make my story better.

What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I love how the rays of light and the floating music notes look like how I imagine the protagonist, Ivory, sees the world. It's like you're getting a glimpse into her head.

What was your favorite book in 2017?

The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill was one of the most memorable books I read in 2017. It's so magical and beautifully written. I recommend it to everyone of all ages, particularly those who enjoy fairy tales.

Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Ivory's mom was a hard character to get right. I needed her to be flawed without becoming a "villain". It needed to be clear that her heart was in the right place even if she made some wrong choices. I ended going back after I wrote the first draft to edit a lot of her dialogue to help keep that balance.

Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Drafting is my favorite part. I love creating characters and writing fun dialogue. Going back and fixing up all the issues? Not as much fun.

Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

I really admire the efforts of SBSK, which stands for Special Books by Special Kids. They feature interviews with different people from all around the globe (mostly children, but adults as well) who have different diagnoses. They help spread awareness about different syndromes, some rare, some more common, such as dwarfism, cerebral palsy, and autism. You can see these interviews on their YouTube channel.

What’s up next for you?

I am currently working on a middle grade road trip novel called Plan B. It is the companion novel to one of my other books, Room 42. I also plan to begin working on the sequel to my young adult fantasy novel, The Prince of Korin, very soon.

What would you say is your superpower?

I don't drink coffee. I just get up and go.

 

Giveaway Details:

2 winners will each receive a copy of FLYING IN A CAGE.

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they’ll be answering in the comments below for extra entries: What do you think of the cover & synopsis?

*Click the Rafflecopter link to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What's Hot in KU
Featured Review: Oshun Rising: Trinity Forest Book...

Related Posts

 

Comments 6

Already Registered? Login Here
Marisa Fort on Friday, 17 August 2018 12:17

The cover is amazing and the synopsis sounds awesome!

0
The cover is amazing and the synopsis sounds awesome!
Danielle Hammelef on Monday, 10 September 2018 09:18

I love the cover and the unique synopsis.

0
I love the cover and the unique synopsis.
Debra Branigan on Tuesday, 11 September 2018 14:01

The cover fits your character and helps us see inside her. The synopsis sounds good. I have always like these stories. So many kids need that teacher who connects.

0
The cover fits your character and helps us see inside her. The synopsis sounds good. I have always like these stories. So many kids need that teacher who connects.
Dan Denman on Thursday, 13 September 2018 09:58

I like the colorful book cover. Ivory sounds like a great character in a really good story.

0
I like the colorful book cover. Ivory sounds like a great character in a really good story.
Penny Olson on Friday, 14 September 2018 23:46

The cover is beautiful. The story sounds interesting and exciting.

0
The cover is beautiful. The story sounds interesting and exciting.
Andrea Carroll on Sunday, 16 September 2018 21:38

A mystical cover... my YA readers will enjoy Ivory.

0
A mystical cover... my YA readers will enjoy Ivory.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the desert...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Tin
Tin
In an alternative England of the 1930s where the laws...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stolen Girl
Nadia is haunted by World War II. Her memories of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Iliad
More than three thousand years ago, two armies faced each...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Light Amongst Shadows
James Spencer is hardly the typical troubled youth who ends...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
the orphan fixed.jpg
Sometimes the ones who save us are the ones we...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Astrid the Unstoppable
Pippi Longstocking meets Heidi meets Anne Shirley in this tale...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamland
In his sleep, Louie starts visiting a magical world where...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Me, Shakespeare and the Anti-Love Club
Heartbroken and spurned Kassidy starts an Anti-Love Club in response...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Hope (The Raging Ones, #2)
Sacrifice all you have to survive. ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
NewBookCover.jpg
The Akakies, a peaceful, technologically advanced alien species known as...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
A new, revised edition of Edward Willett’s multi-award-winning young adult...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Love at First Fight
Band Geek vs Quarterback... One humiliating photo, a stupid...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ellie Quinn has spent most of her sixteen years behind...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
King Geek vs the Cheerleader Julia Farrow...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gamer vs Player Some girls have a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Virtue of Sin
 
3.7
"Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven from the evil outside. She's taught to be submissive and obedient to their..."
Tin
Tin
 
5.0
"Christopher is an orphan boy who works for Mr. Absalom, an engineer who creates mechanicals, a 1930s version of robots...."
The Light Jar
 
4.0
"Nate and his mother leave their home in the middle of the night to get away from Gary, an emotionally..."
Stolen Girl
 
4.0
"Nadia and Marusia arrive in Canada after being in Displaced Persons camps in Europe. They are Ukrainian, and Nadia is..."
Because of the Rabbit
 
4.0
"Emma's father is a game warden, and when she accompanies him on a rabbit rescue, she falls in love with..."
No Place Like Here
 
4.0
"NO PLACE LIKE HERE is an engaging and summery YA contemporary that emphasizes healing and friendship. Ashlyn is at the..."
Mage's Apprentice
 
4.0
"Aspen lives in New York City where the Mage's council oversee the well being of the people in it. As..."
 
5.0
"Feedback I absolutely loved this book and looking back I’m honestly a little surprised. Hear me out! This book..."
The Iliad
 
3.7
"Long ago in Ancient Greece, a prince of Troy, Paris, steals the most beautiful woman in the world from another..."
Plague of Death Anchoress Series Book Two
 
4.5
"Van, Paley, and Brux are back in D.L. Armillei‘s Plague of Death, the second book in the Anchoress series. I..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"It’s no secret that I enjoy a good fairytale retelling and Golden Curse by M. Lynn is that. This book..."
A Bond of Venom and Magic
 
4.0
"Diamond is a half-fae and is considered an abomination. When her home is attacked and her father is killed, she..."
The Crimson Deathbringer
 
5.0
"It will be weird for me to review my own book, so instead, I am going to post one of..."
Astrid the Unstoppable
 
5.0
"Nine-year-old Astrid is the only child in her Norwegian village, and she's called the little thunderbolt by the adults living..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
4.0
"After a tragedy that changes the community of Twin Rivers forever, Peyton finds herself coping with it the way a..."
Second Star (The Neverland Transmissions)
 
3.0
"SECOND STAR alternates POV between Peter and Wendy. It starts off with Peter sabotaging Captain Hooke's ship and stranding them..."
Shadow Realms: A Vampire Hunter Novel
 
5.0
"When Kali's brother Mason is taken by the demons, she has no choice but to turn into the very monster..."
Shock of Fate: Anchoress Series Book One
 
4.0
"Shock of Fate by D.L. Armillei is the first in the Anchoress series. Aside from the gorgeous cover (y’all seriously,..."
The Last Hope (The Raging Ones, #2)
 
4.7
"THE LAST HOPE is a thrilling conclusion to the THE RAGING ONES duology. As we know from the first book,..."
Love at First Fight
 
5.0
"Take everything you think you know about the geek-and-jock-fall-in-love trope and throw it away because this book does not follow..."