Giveaway: Diverse Energies (US Only)

Giveaway: Diverse Energies (US Only)

“No one can doubt that the wave of the future is not the conquest of the world by a single dogmatic creed but the liberation of the diverse energies of free nations and free men. No one can doubt that cooperation in the pursuit of knowledge must lead to freedom of the mind and freedom of the soul.”
—President John F. Kennedy, from a speech at University of California, March 23, 1962

In a world gone wrong, heroes and villains are not always easy to distinguish and every individual has the ability to contribute something powerful.

In this stunning collection of original and rediscovered stories of tragedy and hope, the stars are a diverse group of students, street kids, good girls, kidnappers, and child laborers pitted against their environments, their governments, differing cultures, and sometimes one another as they seek answers in their dystopian worlds. Take a journey through time from a nuclear nightmare of the past to society’s far future beyond Earth with these eleven stories by masters of speculative fiction. Includes stories by Paolo Bacigalupi, Ursula K. Le Guin, Malinda Lo, Cindy Pon, Daniel H. Wilson, and more.

 

Giveaway Details

5 US winners will receive a copy of DIVERSE ENERGIES

a Rafflecopter giveaway



Rate this blog entry:
Giveaway: Out of Reach by Carrie Arcos (US or Cana...
Giveaway: REBEL HEART By Moira Young (US Only)

Related Posts

 

Comments 23

MrsErica Beaton on Thursday, 01 November 2012 21:37

As a history teacher, I've been talking with my students about the parallels between the past and today. We notice similar trends with new innovations, so I imagine we'll be dealing with the same issues of humanity with new methods of industry, transportation, and communication to throw us for a loop.

0
As a history teacher, I've been talking with my students about the parallels between the past and today. We notice similar trends with new innovations, so I imagine we'll be dealing with the same issues of humanity with new methods of industry, transportation, and communication to throw us for a loop.
Lauren Giova Dixon on Friday, 02 November 2012 11:35

Polluted and over-populated!

0
Polluted and over-populated!
YABC on Friday, 02 November 2012 15:19

Very crowded like New York City!!

0
Very crowded like New York City!!
Wendy Railey on Friday, 02 November 2012 19:50

I imagine the world will be hungry. I think with the way things are going, we will have to fight our neighbors just for a piece of bread. No one will be safe.

0
I imagine the world will be hungry. I think with the way things are going, we will have to fight our neighbors just for a piece of bread. No one will be safe.
Jonathan on Saturday, 03 November 2012 09:51

I imagine no electricity!

0
I imagine no electricity!
Nayeli Briones on Saturday, 03 November 2012 18:33

Very hi-tech, definitely, but troubled.

0
Very hi-tech, definitely, but troubled.
alicia marie on Saturday, 03 November 2012 21:40

Probably technology will have taken over everything by then :P

0
Probably technology will have taken over everything by then :P
Vivien on Sunday, 04 November 2012 11:20

Very very different. I can't even imagine it. The technology will either be out of this world, or we'll go backwards and avoid it altogether.

0
Very very different. I can't even imagine it. The technology will either be out of this world, or we'll go backwards and avoid it altogether.
YABC on Thursday, 08 November 2012 23:46

i think tha maybe there will bw so much more technololgy, but somehow, something will happpen with the overpopulation and stuff.

0
i think tha maybe there will bw so much more technololgy, but somehow, something will happpen with the overpopulation and stuff.
YABC on Friday, 09 November 2012 21:56

100 years from now, I truly hope that we will have learned to respect each other and learn from each other. We will be working very hard to restore the balance in nature, and technology will be helping us wit that. Oh yeah, everyone will still be reading books on paper as well as electronically

0
100 years from now, I truly hope that we will have learned to respect each other and learn from each other. We will be working very hard to restore the balance in nature, and technology will be helping us wit that. Oh yeah, everyone will still be reading books on paper as well as electronically:)
K. Lea Hudson on Wednesday, 14 November 2012 14:33

A lot different than it does today. Polar icecaps will have probably all melted and possibly even the deconstruction of governmental systems.

0
A lot different than it does today. Polar icecaps will have probably all melted and possibly even the deconstruction of governmental systems.
YABC on Thursday, 15 November 2012 20:00

living in spaceships like in walle

0
living in spaceships like in walle
Samantha Martin Hiatt on Friday, 16 November 2012 10:08

A hundred years from now is so hard to imagine. I do not think it will be so much different then know. Just more technology that will replace what humans do.

0
A hundred years from now is so hard to imagine. I do not think it will be so much different then know. Just more technology that will replace what humans do.
Taylor Zebrowski on Friday, 16 November 2012 20:41

I think 100 years from now will be a world completely taken over by technology. Humans won't have to do much of anything.

0
I think 100 years from now will be a world completely taken over by technology. Humans won't have to do much of anything.
Kierra on Saturday, 17 November 2012 17:12

I think that everything will be controlled by technology and we will become very lazy and fat. And then the power will go out and we will have to try to survive without technology.

0
I think that everything will be controlled by technology and we will become very lazy and fat. And then the power will go out and we will have to try to survive without technology.
YABC on Tuesday, 20 November 2012 18:14

could be another ice age or the movie "waterworld" may be in our future.

0
could be another ice age or the movie "waterworld" may be in our future.
YABC on Monday, 26 November 2012 00:34

It'll have more technology.

0
It'll have more technology.
Christine Simons on Monday, 26 November 2012 22:15

Probably overwhelmed with technology!

0
Probably overwhelmed with technology!
April Byrum on Tuesday, 27 November 2012 14:47

Like the Jetsons!

0
Like the Jetsons!
YABC on Wednesday, 28 November 2012 01:50

Too many people; too few resources.

0
Too many people; too few resources.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
 
5.0
"I had high hopes for MY WEIRD SCHOOL FAST FACTS: EXPLORERS, PRESIDENTS, and TOILETS after reading Dan's other book and..."
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
 
5.0
"MY WEIRD SCHOOL FAST FACTS: SPACE, HUMANS, AND FARTS makes learning more interesting and fun. Using the weird-but-true theme is..."
Fragile Chaos
 
5.0
"When Cassia is unwillingly sacrificed to the War God, she's shocked when it's someone she's already met. Theo doesn't want..."
Phoenix Descending (Curse of the Phoenix #1)
 
5.0
"Phoenix Descending was a really interesting fantasy novel filled with action, adventure and a strong female character. Tori Kagari's family..."
Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
The Epic Crush of Genie Lo
 
5.0
"It took me awhile to really get into this book. I think a big part of it was that..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."