The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Giveaway: Diverse Energies (US Only)

Posted by on in Giveaways
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 2912
  • 23 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

“No one can doubt that the wave of the future is not the conquest of the world by a single dogmatic creed but the liberation of the diverse energies of free nations and free men. No one can doubt that cooperation in the pursuit of knowledge must lead to freedom of the mind and freedom of the soul.”
—President John F. Kennedy, from a speech at University of California, March 23, 1962

In a world gone wrong, heroes and villains are not always easy to distinguish and every individual has the ability to contribute something powerful.

In this stunning collection of original and rediscovered stories of tragedy and hope, the stars are a diverse group of students, street kids, good girls, kidnappers, and child laborers pitted against their environments, their governments, differing cultures, and sometimes one another as they seek answers in their dystopian worlds. Take a journey through time from a nuclear nightmare of the past to society’s far future beyond Earth with these eleven stories by masters of speculative fiction. Includes stories by Paolo Bacigalupi, Ursula K. Le Guin, Malinda Lo, Cindy Pon, Daniel H. Wilson, and more.

 

Giveaway Details

5 US winners will receive a copy of DIVERSE ENERGIES

a Rafflecopter giveaway



Rate this blog entry:

Comments

  • MrsErica Beaton
    MrsErica Beaton Thursday, 01 November 2012

    As a history teacher, I've been talking with my students about the parallels between the past and today. We notice similar trends with new innovations, so I imagine we'll be dealing with the same issues of humanity with new methods of industry, transportation, and communication to throw us for a loop.

  • Lauren Giova Dixon
    Lauren Giova Dixon Friday, 02 November 2012

    Polluted and over-populated!

  • YABC
    YABC Friday, 02 November 2012

    Very crowded like New York City!!

  • Wendy Railey
    Wendy Railey Friday, 02 November 2012

    I imagine the world will be hungry. I think with the way things are going, we will have to fight our neighbors just for a piece of bread. No one will be safe.

  • Jonathan
    Jonathan Saturday, 03 November 2012

    I imagine no electricity!

  • Nayeli Briones
    Nayeli Briones Saturday, 03 November 2012

    Very hi-tech, definitely, but troubled.

  • alicia marie
    alicia marie Saturday, 03 November 2012

    Probably technology will have taken over everything by then :P

  • Vivien
    Vivien Sunday, 04 November 2012

    Very very different. I can't even imagine it. The technology will either be out of this world, or we'll go backwards and avoid it altogether.

  • YABC
    YABC Thursday, 08 November 2012

    i think tha maybe there will bw so much more technololgy, but somehow, something will happpen with the overpopulation and stuff.

  • YABC
    YABC Friday, 09 November 2012

    100 years from now, I truly hope that we will have learned to respect each other and learn from each other. We will be working very hard to restore the balance in nature, and technology will be helping us wit that. Oh yeah, everyone will still be reading books on paper as well as electronically:)

  • K. Lea Hudson
    K. Lea Hudson Wednesday, 14 November 2012

    A lot different than it does today. Polar icecaps will have probably all melted and possibly even the deconstruction of governmental systems.

  • YABC
    YABC Thursday, 15 November 2012

    living in spaceships like in walle

  • Samantha Martin Hiatt
    Samantha Martin Hiatt Friday, 16 November 2012

    A hundred years from now is so hard to imagine. I do not think it will be so much different then know. Just more technology that will replace what humans do.

  • Taylor Zebrowski
    Taylor Zebrowski Friday, 16 November 2012

    I think 100 years from now will be a world completely taken over by technology. Humans won't have to do much of anything.

  • Kierra
    Kierra Saturday, 17 November 2012

    I think that everything will be controlled by technology and we will become very lazy and fat. And then the power will go out and we will have to try to survive without technology.

  • YABC
    YABC Tuesday, 20 November 2012

    could be another ice age or the movie "waterworld" may be in our future.

  • YABC
    YABC Monday, 26 November 2012

    It'll have more technology.

  • Christine Simons
    Christine Simons Monday, 26 November 2012

    Probably overwhelmed with technology!

  • April Byrum
    April Byrum Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    Like the Jetsons!

  • YABC
    YABC Wednesday, 28 November 2012

    Too many people; too few resources.

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Thursday, 18 December 2014

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)