The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Giveaway: Diverse Energies (US Only)

Posted by on in Giveaways
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 3051
  • 23 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

“No one can doubt that the wave of the future is not the conquest of the world by a single dogmatic creed but the liberation of the diverse energies of free nations and free men. No one can doubt that cooperation in the pursuit of knowledge must lead to freedom of the mind and freedom of the soul.”
—President John F. Kennedy, from a speech at University of California, March 23, 1962

In a world gone wrong, heroes and villains are not always easy to distinguish and every individual has the ability to contribute something powerful.

In this stunning collection of original and rediscovered stories of tragedy and hope, the stars are a diverse group of students, street kids, good girls, kidnappers, and child laborers pitted against their environments, their governments, differing cultures, and sometimes one another as they seek answers in their dystopian worlds. Take a journey through time from a nuclear nightmare of the past to society’s far future beyond Earth with these eleven stories by masters of speculative fiction. Includes stories by Paolo Bacigalupi, Ursula K. Le Guin, Malinda Lo, Cindy Pon, Daniel H. Wilson, and more.

 

Giveaway Details

5 US winners will receive a copy of DIVERSE ENERGIES

a Rafflecopter giveaway



Rate this blog entry:

Comments

  • MrsErica Beaton
    MrsErica Beaton Thursday, 01 November 2012

    As a history teacher, I've been talking with my students about the parallels between the past and today. We notice similar trends with new innovations, so I imagine we'll be dealing with the same issues of humanity with new methods of industry, transportation, and communication to throw us for a loop.

  • Lauren Giova Dixon
    Lauren Giova Dixon Friday, 02 November 2012

    Polluted and over-populated!

  • YABC
    YABC Friday, 02 November 2012

    Very crowded like New York City!!

  • Wendy Railey
    Wendy Railey Friday, 02 November 2012

    I imagine the world will be hungry. I think with the way things are going, we will have to fight our neighbors just for a piece of bread. No one will be safe.

  • Jonathan
    Jonathan Saturday, 03 November 2012

    I imagine no electricity!

  • Nayeli Briones
    Nayeli Briones Saturday, 03 November 2012

    Very hi-tech, definitely, but troubled.

  • alicia marie
    alicia marie Saturday, 03 November 2012

    Probably technology will have taken over everything by then :P

  • Vivien
    Vivien Sunday, 04 November 2012

    Very very different. I can't even imagine it. The technology will either be out of this world, or we'll go backwards and avoid it altogether.

  • YABC
    YABC Thursday, 08 November 2012

    i think tha maybe there will bw so much more technololgy, but somehow, something will happpen with the overpopulation and stuff.

  • YABC
    YABC Friday, 09 November 2012

    100 years from now, I truly hope that we will have learned to respect each other and learn from each other. We will be working very hard to restore the balance in nature, and technology will be helping us wit that. Oh yeah, everyone will still be reading books on paper as well as electronically:)

  • K. Lea Hudson
    K. Lea Hudson Wednesday, 14 November 2012

    A lot different than it does today. Polar icecaps will have probably all melted and possibly even the deconstruction of governmental systems.

  • YABC
    YABC Thursday, 15 November 2012

    living in spaceships like in walle

  • Samantha Martin Hiatt
    Samantha Martin Hiatt Friday, 16 November 2012

    A hundred years from now is so hard to imagine. I do not think it will be so much different then know. Just more technology that will replace what humans do.

  • Taylor Zebrowski
    Taylor Zebrowski Friday, 16 November 2012

    I think 100 years from now will be a world completely taken over by technology. Humans won't have to do much of anything.

  • Kierra
    Kierra Saturday, 17 November 2012

    I think that everything will be controlled by technology and we will become very lazy and fat. And then the power will go out and we will have to try to survive without technology.

  • YABC
    YABC Tuesday, 20 November 2012

    could be another ice age or the movie "waterworld" may be in our future.

  • YABC
    YABC Monday, 26 November 2012

    It'll have more technology.

  • Christine Simons
    Christine Simons Monday, 26 November 2012

    Probably overwhelmed with technology!

  • April Byrum
    April Byrum Tuesday, 27 November 2012

    Like the Jetsons!

  • YABC
    YABC Wednesday, 28 November 2012

    Too many people; too few resources.

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Wednesday, 06 May 2015

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Endure by Sara B. Larson + Giveaway (US Only)

    Hello, everyone! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for ENDURE by Sara B. Larson, releasing January 5, 2016 from Scholastic. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Sara:   Hi YABCers!! I am so thrilled to be here today to share with you the cover ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land ...

  • Blog Tour: All the Rage by Courtney Summers

      The YABC tour is thrilled to be revealing a quote from Courtney Summers' newest YA novel, All the Rage, as part of the book's blog tour!   Are you ready for that quote we mentioned above?   Just keep scrolling...   ---   & ...

  • Live Chat with Ally Carter

      There is an exciting event for Ally Carter fans taking place this upcoming Tuesday! Scholastic will be hosting a LIVE video chat with the New York Times bestselling author of the Heist Society and Gallagher Girls series alongside some special guest stars. Did you lo ...

  • Diversify Your Shelves with WNDB

      Column by Karen Sandler I’m so delighted to have the opportunity to blog here on YABC. There isn’t much I love more than talking about books, and in particular talking about diversity and inclusiveness in kidlit. And since my favorite genre is ...

  • Giveaway: The Originals - Resurrection by Julie Plec (US & Canada Only)

    The Originals: The Resurrection by Julie Plec Release Date: Tuesday, May 26   About the Book The Originals: The Rise: Family is power. The Original vampire family swore it to each other a thousand years ago. They pledged to remain together always and forever. But even wh ...

  • Giveaway: Overtaken by Mark Kruger (US Only)

    Overtaken by Mark H. Kruger Release Date: May 5th     About the Book Nica struggles to decipher the nefarious forces ruling her small town in this electrifying sequel to Overpowered, which VOYA says “offers all the conspiracy and intrigue of the best dystopian ...

  • Giveaway: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey (US & Canada Only)

    The Girl At Midnight by Melissa Grey Release Date: 4/28/2015     About the Book Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidde ...

  • Giveaway: Gabby Duran and the Unsittables by Elise Allen and Daryle Conners (US Only)

    GABBY DURAN AND THE UNSITTABLES by Elise Allen and Daryle Conners In stores May 12th   About the Book Case File: The First Unsittable   Summary: The Association Linking Intergalatics and Earthlings (hereby known as A.L.I.E.N.) has a new member. After months of i ...

  • Giveaway: Tracked by Jenny Martin (US Only)

    TRACKED by Jenny Martin Release Date: May 5, 2015   About the Book   On corporately controlled Castra, rally racing is a high-stakes game that seventeen-year-old Phoebe Van Zant knows all too well. Phee’s legendary racer father disappeared mysteriously, but that h ...

  • Giveaway: Zeroboxer by Fonda Lee (US & Canada Only)

    Zeroboxer   by Fonda Lee Release Date: April 8, 2015   About the Book A rising star in the weightless combat sport of zeroboxing, Carr “the Raptor” Luka dreams of winning the championship title. Recognizing his talent, the Zero Gravity Fighting Association a ...

  • Giveaway: Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman (US Only)

    CHALLENGER DEEP by NEAL SHUSTERMAN Release Date: 4/21/15   About the Book New York Times bestselling author Neal Shusterman has a devoted and passionate following of young fans worldwide because his novels and stories get to the heart of young people’s experiences.  ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Vic Howard never wanted to go to the party. He's the Invisible Guy at school, a special kind of hell...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Juliet Newman has it all. A picture-perfect family; a handsome, loving boyfriend; and a foolproof life plan: ace her SATs,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
deviate.jpg
Tormented after a daring escape, Cora Sandoval must find a way to stop the Arrazi from murdering innocent people and...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
In all of Tyme, from the Redlands to the Grey, no one is as lucky as Rapunzel. She lives in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Introducing Tor Maddox, a heroine for our times with book I in the series, Tor Maddox: UNLEASHED. When sixteen-year...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of If I Stay or Imaginary Girls, Dust to Dust is the mysterious, thoughtful, and poignant sequel...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What is Normal? For Trevor normal was fast guitar licks, catching game-winning passes and partying all night. Until a car...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lois Lane is starting a new life in Metropolis. An Army brat, Lois has lived all over--and seen all kinds...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Surfing is sixteen-year-old Iris's world, and when the ultra-talented Zeke walks into her life, it soon becomes her passion. Over...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling author Julie Cross teams up with Ford model Mark Perini to pen a poignant and gritty YA novel about...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lola Carlyle is lonely, out of sorts, and in for a boring summer. So when her best friend, Sydney, calls...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The hilarious new YA from acclaimed author Tina Connolly. Camellia's adopted mother wants Cam to grow up to be just...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Will it be a summer of fresh starts or second chances? For Lucy, the Jersey Shore isn't just the perfect...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Gia Montgomery's boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom, she decides to do...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the majestic halls of a crystal palace lies a secret that could destroy an entire kingdom… Bryn Aven refuses...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He can summon demons. But can he win a war? Fletcher is working as a blacksmith's apprentice when he discovers...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, this third book in the Jamieson Brothers trilogy will have readers...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A romantic comedy about high school, heartbreak, and having all the answers. What if the secrets of dating and love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
First, we feared them. Then we fought them. Now they might be our only hope. Sixteen-year-old Lyric Walker’s life is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kiera Cass's #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series has enchanted readers from the very first page. In this fourth...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)