The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Giveaway: Dear Teen Me (US and Canada)

Posted by on in Giveaways
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 2951
  • 21 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

How many times have you looked back on your teenage years and cringed, wishing you could offer your younger self some guidance? This book of nearly 70 letters by top young adult authors—including bestselling writers Lauren Oliver, Ellen Hopkins, and Nancy Holder—does just that, and today’s teens will benefit.

This is a must-have book! And you could win a copy right here, right now. 

 

Giveaway Details

5 lucky US and Canadian winners will receive a copy of DEAR TEEN ME

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Rate this blog entry:
Tagged in: Dear Teen Me Giveaway

Comments

  • MrsErica Beaton
    MrsErica Beaton Saturday, 01 December 2012

    I'd remind myself not to be too self-critical. Things'll work out. :)

  • YABC
    YABC Sunday, 02 December 2012

    I would just like to share a wonderful review my lovely colleague Jill wrote on the book/concept on our SDSU Children's Literature blog:
    http://sdsuchildlit.blogspot.com/2012/10/dear-teen-me.html

  • Stacy
    Stacy Tuesday, 04 December 2012

    It's not the end of the world.....

  • YABC
    YABC Wednesday, 05 December 2012

    Be spontaneous once in a while...

  • Amber McKinney
    Amber McKinney Wednesday, 05 December 2012

    Calm down, and don't be so obsessed with good grades. Have more fun with your friends and spend less time worrying about projects and papers. It's all going to be ok. :)

  • Tabatha Perry
    Tabatha Perry Tuesday, 11 December 2012

    Dear Teen Me, There is no power in giving your power away to another person. Say "no" and put some force behind it!
    Love, the 40 yr old YOU!

  • YABC
    YABC Tuesday, 11 December 2012

    I would tell teen me, not to care what others think so much, and definitely not to listen to anything negative!

  • YABC
    YABC Tuesday, 11 December 2012

    I would ensure my teen self that it's okay to be smart, there are great reasons to earn great grades, get scholarships, and go to a good college. Being brainy is cool (as an adult!)

  • Courtney Gendreau
    Courtney Gendreau Wednesday, 12 December 2012

    keep calm things will get better

  • YABC
    YABC Thursday, 13 December 2012

    Wait five minutes.

  • YABC
    YABC Sunday, 16 December 2012

    i would like to remember to take a deep breath and do something fun, different and especial once in a while.

  • cassandra mccann
    cassandra mccann Tuesday, 18 December 2012

    wait to have sex until you find the right person and your older

  • YABC
    YABC Thursday, 20 December 2012

    have more fun

  • Kierra
    Kierra Friday, 21 December 2012

    I would tell myself to try to have fun and relax with friends every once and a while.

  • Theresa Nowaczyk
    Theresa Nowaczyk Saturday, 22 December 2012

    I WOULD TELL MYSELF TO MAKE HEALTHIER CHOICES- AND TO LIVE IN THE MOMENT INSTEAD OF ALWAYS THINKING ABOUT THE FUTURE: THANKS FOR THE GIVEAWAY :)

  • Heather
    Heather Sunday, 23 December 2012

    After just finishing my teen years I would just want myself to remember that taking more chances probably would have benefited me more. And advice for the future: just go for it, and don't let anyone stop you from achieving your dream.

  • YABC
    YABC Tuesday, 25 December 2012

    Dear younger me,
    Yes, it's considered bullying. You know what I mean. Stay away from boys, you'll get there eventually. Talk to your sisters like they're people. Don't stop treating your little brothers like they're awesome. They are.

  • YABC
    YABC Wednesday, 26 December 2012

    I would tell my teen self to keep writing poetry. I'll laugh at my self-indulgence later, but also see how much I've grown from it.

  • Andrea Diaz
    Andrea Diaz Thursday, 27 December 2012

    Since I'm still a teen, I want my adult self to remember all the pain that I've endured and to remember that it will always get better.

  • Stacy
    Stacy Friday, 28 December 2012

    I would just say to keep writing and never give up on your dreams

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Monday, 31 August 2015

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • First in Line--Press Release

      RANDOM HOUSE CHILDREN’S BOOKS LAUNCHES NEW YOUNG ADULT PROGRAM “FIRST IN LINE” First In Line offers YA readers exclusive advance access to authors and behind-the-book content. New York, NY—Random House Children ...

  • YABC August Book Haul

    It's here! It's Here! The August Book Haul is finally here! Enjoy this mountain of wordy-filled goodness.  Yay for books! ...

  • Giveaway: Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials (US Only)

    MAZE RUNNER: THE SCORCH TRIALS 20th Century Fox In theaters September 18, 2015   The Maze was just the beginning! See Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials in theaters September 18   In this next chapter of the epic “Maze Runner” saga, Thomas (Dylan O’Brien) a ...

  • Celebrating National Dog Day with Richard Torrey!

    TOO COOL TO BRAG. TORREY’S MY DOG, BOB, INTRODUCES KIDS TO A DIFFERENT WAY TO BE GREAT Raab Associates   Quiet dignity is vastly underrated, but it’s a quality shared by those who are truly fortunate to have learne ...

  • Author Trisha Leigh's TOP 5 OTPs

    Today we welcome Trisha Leigh, author of RETURN ONCE MORE, to the blog to share with us her top 5 OTPs!  RETURN ONCE MORE is a book about a teenage girl caught between her responsibility to document the past and her desire to use time travel in order to meet her one true love—even if he ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Emerge: The Edge by Melissa A. Craven + Giveaway (US Only)

    Welcome to today's cover reveal! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for EMERGE: THE EDGE by Melissa A. Craven, releasing September 29, 2015 from Midnight Hour Studio. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Melissa:   Hello YABCers! And welc ...

  • On the Horizon

      DC Comics’ Lois Lane Returns in Lois Lane: Double Down from Switch Press  Second Book in the New Young Adult Series by Gwenda Bond   MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. (August 24, 2015) – DC Comics’ iconic character Lois Lane will be back for more in Lois Lane: Dou ...

  • What's New in YA--August 25, 2015

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       Inspired by Victor Hugo’s classic, Les Miserables, A Little in Love beautifully conveys the heartbreaking story of street girl Eponine.   Paris, 1832 ...

  • Exclusive Sneak Peek at LIGHTLESS by C.A. Higgins + Giveaway (US Only)

    LIGHTLESS by C.A. Higgins Release Date: September 29, 2015 Publisher: Ballantine / Del Rey Hardcover   About the Book With deeply moving human drama, nail-biting suspense—and bold speculation informed by a degree in physics—C. A. Higgins spins a riveting science fict ...

  • Love Letters to Literature #1

      Contributed by Kayla King, Blog Manager and Staff Reviewer   Dear J.K. Rowling,   I suppose the best way to begin this letter would be to say thank you! Many readers might say that you changed their lives with the inception of your boy wizard. I'm su ...

  • Letters to the Living

      Contriubted by Joanne Mumley   Our very own Joanne Mumley, interviewed Ava Dellaira, author of Love Letters to the Dead, at Comic Con. This wonderful book and Joanne's interview, which you can find below, inspired all of us here at YABC! Don't believe us? Read on to f ...

  • Giveaway: The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall by Katie Alender (US & Canada Only)

    THE DEAD GIRLS OF HYSTERIA HALL  by Katie Alender  Release Date: August 25, 2015   About the Book Asylum meets Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, in this riveting tale of ghosts, secrets, and family, from master of suspense Katie Alender. D ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

A girl’s dark destiny could cause the unraveling of the world in this spellbinding novel from the author of A...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
"A publisher in New York asked me to write down what I know about the Greek gods, and I was...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
17 year old Ember Denning has made an art of isolating herself. She prefers the dead. She spends her days...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
n this exciting and action-packed adventure by an award-winning author, a young girl discovers her secret ancient bloodline. The fate...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
ELIDAIRE_The_Tome_of_Knowledge_COVER.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
Four years after the murder of his mother, Revel Harcourt, leader of a group of an ancient race of demon-hunting...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Metal crumpled, screamed as the force sent bodies in all directions. Instant stink of burnt rubber, glimpse of an arm...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes, blackmail is the only weapon a girl has… Haley Patterson has had a crush on...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the sequel to the award-winning Killer of Enemies, Apache teen Lozen and her family are looking for a place...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
nspired by Victor Hugo's classic, Les Miserables, A Little in Love beautifully conveys the heartbreaking story...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
13 days.jpg
When Luke Manchett’s estranged father dies unexpectedly, he leaves his son a dark inheritance: a collection...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The world is a far different place in 2259. Thirty years of world war, rampant bombing, and the melting of...
 
0.0
 
4.9 (3)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Leia Swanson has always believed in monsters, especially after one killed her parents when she was seven years old. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in the gripping Wanted series, this Western revenge epic is a must-read for...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The whimsical "autobiography" of an imaginary friend who doesn't know he's imaginary—perfect for fans of The Miraculous Journey of Edward...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When seventeen-year-old Lilliana Young enters the Metropolitan Museum of Art one morning during spring break, the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Remarque, a lonely boy raised by his grandfather, discovers a gateway that could lead him to everything he's ever wanted......
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kamran Smith has it all. He's the star of the football team, dates the most popular...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Blink—and you’ll miss her. Mei Barrett has been hiding all of her life. Raised in solitude by her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The eagerly-awaited sequel to the best-selling The Glass Sentence -- a historical, fantastical adventure perfect for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's a fairy-tale nightmare . . . One girl is kept in a room where every...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)