Featured Review: The Upside Of Unrequited (Becky Albertalli)

Featured Review: The Upside Of Unrequited (Becky Albertalli)

About This Book:

Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love. No matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly's totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie's new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. If Molly can win him over, she'll get her first kiss and she'll get her twin back. 

There's only one problem: Molly's coworker, Reid. He's a chubby Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there's absolutely no way Molly could fall for him. 

Right? 

 

 

 

*Review Contributed By Jacklin Updegraft Staff Reviewer*

 

 

It's so fluffy I'm gonna die

I don’t even know how to explain how much I loved THE UPSIDE OF UNREQUITED. This was the first book I have ready by Becky, and I was worried but I am so glad to say that I am officially hooked. So much so that I went out and bought Simon. The Upside of Unrequited was just everything I want when I read a contemporary novel. It was cute and fun, but it had these amazing moments, where it talked about deeper issues. 

There were so many reasons why I fell in love with this book, but let me start with the three biggest reasons. They way Becky handles tough issues to talk about/the relationships. Not only was Molly's mom's amazing at handling the issues when they came up, but the way that Molly is able to talk to them is something I loved seeing. So many times in YA we see parents who aren’t even there or ones who don’t talk/listen to their kids. So I loved seeing parents who actually listened and didn’t try to control everything. They also talk about birth control, sex, drinking, love, anxiety, etc. These are issues that mostly get glossed over in YA, or get dealt with in the absolute wrong way, were handled so beautifully in UPSIDE. To go into a book, and see an accurate representation of a girl who has anxiety was amazing. 

The second reason, the amount of diversity in this book. Not only in sexuality, but in race as well. I loved that a majority of this cast was on the LGBTQIA spectrum. Pansexual, bisexual, there’s even a mention of asexual. I loved seeing a book that acknowledges all the amazing ways that people differ from each other, without harming or using typical stereotypes. You had these amazing characters, who have all different preferences and it’s the most natural beautiful thing in the world. Several times this book made me cry because of how amazing the rep was in it. So many different types of characters and you can’t help but fall in love with each one. 

And the third reason, now it may not seem like much to others, but Molly is fat. Let me repeat that. MOLLY IS FAT. Growing up I dealt a lot with being fat and feeling unwanted. I spent my life surrounded by skinny MCs and to have a fat MC who isn’t ashamed of her body, it made me cry. Not only is she not ashamed but she isn’t focused on being skinny, and she actively talks about her love for food. Reading this book was so unreal to me, because every thought in Molly’s head, every comment someone has made to her, has happened to me. And to see the beautiful way that her family, and even Molly herself, stand up to these people made me really proud to read this book. This may be a small reason for a lot of people, but for me, it was the entire reason I picked up this book. And it just feels so good being able to see me in a character like Molly. 

Everything about this book worked really well. Accurate representation, diversity, tough issues, fat main character. Everything was just so spot on with this book that it has instantly become one of my absolute favorites. Becky gets people. Never have a read a book where I came out liking every character, but that’s exactly what happened with Upside. Becky just writes characters who get to the heart of you. She gives you characters who remind you of being 17, lost and alone in this world. She gives you adult characters who are wise and amazing and who make you want to be that type of parent for your kids (if you plan on having any). She deals with tough issues in a beautiful and heartfelt way that you can’t help but get all warm and fuzzy on the inside. This book is one of the happiest and feel-good books I’ve read in a very long time. I recommend this one with all my heart, and I can’t wait to see what Becky writes next. This book has instantly solidified her as one of my fave authors.

 

 

*Find More Info On This Book HERE!!*

Rate this blog entry:
YABC's Blogger Of The Month ~ Julie (Julie Caught ...
Top Ten Tuesday ~ Top Ten Things That Make Me Inst...

Related Posts

 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
ALEX HUNT and the Chase for Rhapta
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Elect
 
4.0
"The story: Seventeen-year-old August is a weapon, a mindless tool of the government of Belstrana, helping to put down..."
My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
 
5.0
"I had high hopes for MY WEIRD SCHOOL FAST FACTS: EXPLORERS, PRESIDENTS, and TOILETS after reading Dan's other book and..."
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
 
5.0
"MY WEIRD SCHOOL FAST FACTS: SPACE, HUMANS, AND FARTS makes learning more interesting and fun. Using the weird-but-true theme is..."
Fragile Chaos
 
5.0
"When Cassia is unwillingly sacrificed to the War God, she's shocked when it's someone she's already met. Theo doesn't want..."
Phoenix Descending (Curse of the Phoenix #1)
 
5.0
"Phoenix Descending was a really interesting fantasy novel filled with action, adventure and a strong female character. Tori Kagari's family..."
Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
The Epic Crush of Genie Lo
 
5.0
"It took me awhile to really get into this book. I think a big part of it was that..."