Featured Review: The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl: Squirrel Meets World (Shannon Hale & Dean Hale)

Featured Review: The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl: Squirrel Meets World (Shannon Hale & Dean Hale)

About This Book:

Fourteen-year-old Doreen Green moved from sunny California to the suburbs of New Jersey. She must start at a new school, make new friends, and continue to hide her tail. Yep, Doreen has the powers of . . . a squirrel! After failing at several attempts to find her new BFF, Doreen feels lonely and trapped, liked a caged animal. Then one day Doreen uses her extraordinary powers to stop a group of troublemakers from causing mischief in the neighborhood, and her whole life changes. Everyone at school is talking about it! Doreen contemplates becoming a full-fledged Super Hero. And thus, Squirrel Girl is born! She saves cats from trees, keeps the sidewalks clean, and dissuades vandalism. All is well until a real-life Super Villain steps out of the shadows and declares Squirrel Girl his archenemy. Can Doreen balance being a teenager and a Super Hero? Or will she go . . . NUTS?

 

 

*Review Contributed By Karen Yingling, Staff Reviewer*

 

 

Super Squirrels!

Doreen Green (who loves that her name rhymes) moves from California to the suburbs of New York City and has a little bit of trouble fitting in-- and not just because she has a squirrel tail that she must keep hidden! She eventually makes friends at school with Ana Sofia, who is deaf. It helps that Doreen has a cousin who is deaf, so she knows some sign language, although Ana Sofia is proficient in lip reading and the two often communicate through texting. Things are not all good in Doreen's neighborhood, and Ana Sofia tells her to be careful, and to not walk home alone after she babysits. Doreen can communicate with squirrels, and makes friends with one called Tippy-Toes, whom she rescues from a trap in a tree. Tippy-Toes also warns her of the evil going on in the neighborhood, which seems to be centered on the activities of a character called the Micro-Manager. Doreen uses her super strength and ability to jump, along with her ability to communicate with the squirrels, to make her neighborhood safe again.

Good Points
Quirky and fun, with snarky footnotes and engaging page decorations of squirrels, Squirrel Girl is an introduction to the long running Marvel comic book character. We learn about her background and family, see her settling in to a new community, and find out her likes (Babies! Iron Man!) and dislikes (Evil doers! Jeans!). 

The main characters are well developed, and I particularly liked Ana Sofia. Doreen is an exuberant young lady, and won't be brushed off, which is the only way to break through Ana Sofia's shell. The supporting characters are fairly one dimensional but serve their purpose of advancing the various plots, whether it is at school or battling the forces of evil. 

Readers who enjoy Lisa Yee's Super Hero High Books will be glad to see this novelization of the Marvel comic book character Squirrel Girl, as will anyone who is looking for a fun, quirky story about girl power and squirrels. My dog and I greatly enjoyed the promotional hat that came with the book, and plan to use it to great effect when keeping an eye on the squirrels around our house!

 

 

 

*Find Out More Info On This Book HERE!!*

Rate this blog entry:
It's Live!! Cover Reveal: Flashtide by Jenny Moyer...
Blog Tour, Excerpt & Giveaway: Dark Days Pact (Ali...
 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

   

   

   

    

   

   

   

Latest Book Listings Added

Silent
For fans of The Book Thief and Raiders of the...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
House of Furies
An all-new gothic horror series from the New York Times...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Theshipbeyondtime.jpg
The breathtaking sequel to the acclaimed The Girl from...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfall
A Nightmare on Elm Street meets Inception in this...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
10 Things I Can See From Here
Think positive. Don’t worry; be happy. Keep calm and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The History of Hilary Hambrushina
Hilary has one goal for her first year in junior...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Posted.png
From John David Anderson, author of the acclaimed Ms....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kat Richardson isn’t running away from grief; she’s just hiding...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wonder of Us
Riya and Abby are: Best friends. Complete opposites. Living...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Slope Rules
Fifteen-year old Cally accepted her fate as one of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Alex, Approximately
In this delightfully charming...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
31618483.jpg
A new action-packed adventure series for young fans of Alex...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Maybe, just maybe, if I can convince Dad that I’m...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Shae is sure the icy rage that claws at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a future where time travel has been outlawed, a...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4)
The fourth and final installment in the spellbinding series from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)