Featured Review: The Secret Diary Of Lydia Bennett (Natasha Farrant)

Featured Review: The Secret Diary Of Lydia Bennett (Natasha Farrant)

About This Book:

In the tradition of Longbourn, Mr. Darcy's Diary, and Prom and Prejudice...

Lydia is the youngest of the five Bennet girls. She's stubborn, never listens, and can't seem to keep her mouth shut--not that she would want to anyway. She's bored with her country life and wishes her older sisters would pay her attention . . . for once!

Luckily, the handsome Wickham arrives at Longbourn to sweep her off her feet. Lydia's not going to let him know THAT, of course, especially since he only seems to be interested in friendship. But when they both decide to summer in the fasionable seaside town of Brighton, their paths become entangled again. 

At the seaside, Lydia also finds exciting new ways of life and a pair of friends who offer her a future she never dreamed of. Lydia finally understands what she really wants. But can she get it? 

A fresh, funny, and spirited reimagining of Jane Austen's beloved Pride and Prejudice, The Secret Diary of Lydia Bennet brings the voice of the wildest Bennet sister alive and center stage like never before.

 

 

*Review Contributed by Samantha Randolph, Promotions Manager*

 

Quirky and endearing

Lydia Bennet is not a fan of the country life. Her older sisters do their own things, and she’s left bored. When a regimen arrives in town, Lydia is ready for some excitement. The handsome Wickham is the perfect entertainment, except he seems to be more interested in her sister than her. When Lydia travels to Brighton for the summer, she runs into Wickham again and finds new friends that show her a world she always dreamed of. Lydia must decide what will really make her happy before it’s too late. 

THE SECRET DIARY OF LYDIA BENNET is a hilarious, touching take on the life of one Lydia Bennet, youngest daughter of the Bennets. Natasha Farrant is a master storyteller and captures Lydia’s voice and personality perfectly. Lydia is an incredibly complex combination of stubborn, fierce, naïve, enthusiastic, and passionate, but her quirky determination is what makes her so easy to root for. Her journey, though it involves Wickham, is clearly her own. Farrant doesn’t shy away from showing Wickham both as swoony and problematic, and their relationship evolves in a very realistic way. 

While I enjoy the inclusion of all the other Bennet sisters and the timeline of the original Pride and Prejudice, there were times when the story seemed to focus too much on Lizzie and Jane than Lydia. However, once Lydia goes to Brighton, she takes a firm center stage. The dynamic between her and Kitty is also wonderfully explored through letters once Lydia departs. 

Readers who love quirky and endearing takes on classics will adore THE SECRET DIARY OF LYDIA BENNET. Lydia’s voice comes to life on page as she navigates sisterhood, romance, and a society that isn’t ready for her yet. 

 

 

*Find more info on this book HERE!*

Rate this blog entry:
Waiting On Wednesday ~ October 26, 2016
Author Chat with Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Plus Giveaw...
 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Wicked Nix
A visually stunning, middle-grade classic in the making about Wicked...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journey of the Pale Bear
A runaway boy befriends a polar bear that’s being transported...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Camp Valor (Camp Valor #1)
When Wyatt gets framed for a friend’s crime, he thinks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Grenade
It's 1945, and the world is in the grip of...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Attack of the Plants: A Branches Book (The Magic School Bus Rides Again)
Next stop...The Magic School Bus heads to the Galapagos to...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Robot Farm (The Magic School Bus Rides Again)
Wanda proudly hosts this year's school harvest feast, but she...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Aphra's Child
Tula is a chimera in a world where chimera are...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One week on an Alaskan cruise, three teens, and an...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Homework Strike
Gregory K. has too much homework. ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Knock Knock
Knock Knock is a fresh and innovative method of humorous...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Thisstoryisalie.jpg
A YA thriller described as The Curious Incident of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Are The Everything
Can you want something—or someone—so badly that it changes your...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seeing Red (Whatever After #12)
I really want the magic mirror in...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Girl At The Grave
In Girl at the Grave, debut author Teri Bailey Black...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Golden Boy
Meg has it made. She has money to spare,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sadie
A missing girl on a journey of revenge and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Wicked Nix
 
5.0
"Wicked Nix is the foulest of the fairies. He's also the protector of the forest and will keep people out..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"JOURNEY OF THE PALE BEAR is an inspiring and heartwarming story about a bear and a boy who develop a..."
Camp Valor (Camp Valor #1)
 
4.7
"Wyatt has a decent life, but when his dad takes off, it dissolves into chaos. His mother doesn't function well,..."
Bittersweet Wreckage
 
4.3
"A intense story of finding hope in the worst circumstances. The Story: Ivy's life has been anything but easy...."
 
4.0
"A cute YA romance! The story: Callie has only had one goal in life - get a college scholarship..."
Grenade
 
4.7
"Hideki is a 13-year-old Okinawan and Ray is a United States Marine. Both are play important roles in the "Love..."
The Attack of the Plants: A Branches Book (The Magic School Bus Rides Again)
 
4.0
"When Ms. Frizzle gets a job as a professor, her sister takes over her class as the new teacher. Arnold..."
Robot Farm (The Magic School Bus Rides Again)
 
4.0
"Wanda is putting together the Fall Fun Feast, but she forgot about the food! When she starts looking into ideas,..."
Soccer School Season 1: Where Soccer Explains (Rules) the World
 
4.3
" "Coaches" Alex and Ben introduce the reader to their school that is all about soccer. Every class, from biology..."
After the Green Withered
 
3.5
"The story: Enora lives in a world run dry, where what little water is left is used as currency and..."
The Homework Strike
 
4.0
"'The Homework Strike' by Greg Pincus is a relevant and worthwhile story about the power of standing up and fighting..."
Knock Knock
 
4.5
"'Knock Knock' by Tammi Sauer, illustrated by Guy Francis, is a cute picture book about a bear getting prepared for..."
The Glass Arrow
 
4.7
"Original Review: http://www.literarychaos.com/ I was really cautious going into this book. I knew from the synopsis that it had..."
The Orphan Queen (The Orphan Queen #1)
 
N/A
"original review at: http://www.literarychaos.com/ In the spirit of honesty, I would never have picked this book up for myself...."
The Wood
 
3.7
"I bought this by impulse. Seeing as this book was primarily a cover-buy, I did not have many expectations..."
You Are The Everything
 
4.0
"Elyse Schmidt has the biggest crush on Josh Harris, but he has no idea. When tragedy strikes on their plane..."
Apex Predator (Horizon, Book 4)
 
4.0
" Both the members of the robotics team whose plane went down and the members of the Cub-Tones from the..."
Seeing Red (Whatever After #12)
 
4.0
"Abby is excited that her nana is coming to stay with her and Jonah while her parents are away, but..."
The Phantom Bandit (Geronimo Stilton #70)
 
4.0
"As fall approaches, Geronimo is busy working in his newspaper office when he starts to see strange things-- his co..."
Girl At The Grave
 
4.0
"Valentine was only six years old when her murder was hung for murder. After the death, she's basically taken care..."