Featured Review: The Dark Army (The Starblade Chronicles #2) by Joseph Delaney

Featured Review: The Dark Army (The Starblade Chronicles #2) by Joseph Delaney

About this book:

 

The second book in a new trilogy from Joseph Delaney, the author of the internationally best-selling Last Apprentice series. Tom Ward is now spook of the county, and with his apprentice, Jenny, he continues the fight against boggarts, witches, and terrifying new creatures of the dark. Together with the witch assassin, Grimalkin, Tom and Jenny lead an army into battle against a dangerous enemy—but it all goes catastrophically wrong. The situation seems hopeless until Alice—Tom’s lost love and a powerful witch—appears. But Alice had turned to the dark: can Tom trust her now? Joseph Delaney’s deliciously scary imagination continues Tom’s saga, introducing new readers to the struggle against the encroaching dark and taking longtime fans back to familiar settings, where they will find old friends—and old enemies. Perfect for every reader who loves thrills, chills, action, and adventure—no prior knowledge of the Last Apprentice series is necessary!

 

*Review Contributed by Karen Yingling, Staff 

Reviewer*

 

Read A New Darkness FIRST!!!

**Spoiler Alert**
Because of the nature of A New Darkness, which includes a plot twist that has made me and most of my students want to fling the book across the room in anger, this review contains spoilers. Do not continue if you haven't read the first book in this trilogy!

 

For many magical reasons, Tom is returned to the realm of the living, and Prince Stanislaw is determined to immediately press him back into action. He decides to attack the kulad (tower) at Valkarky, but Tom would much rather go home. To assure he doesn't, Grimalkin kidnaps Jenny and sends her off with Prince Kaylar. Things go badly in a battle, but Jenny manages to escape and get back to warn Tom, but he and Grimalkin are attacked. They are saved by a welcome but unexpected person from Tom's past, and find that Lukastra is dead but Lenklewth is still a major force to be reckoned with. While the battle is raging around them, Tom and Lenklewth get transported into another dimension where just the two of them can battle it out, and even though a vartek comes with him, Lenklewth is defeated and Tom makes his way back to Chippenden. He and Jenny hope that they can return to their regular life of dispatching boggarts and witches, but when a local farmer is killed by a Golgoth, they know that the battle is coming their way. Luckily, Tom has his returned ally to help him, even though he loses another one.

 

GOOD POINTS:

This series is much more gruesome that The Last Apprentice, and the monsters that Tom and Jenny encounter are vicious and deadly. Even the ghosts that Jenny tries to neutralize at Prince Stanislaw's castle are more demon than ghost! There are constant battles which frequently end in substantial wounds being delivered to main characters, and also several violent ends that fairly main characters meet. Still, the violence is predominantly performed by supernatural creatures whose sole purpose is to destroy, which makes it seem less horrible than if other humans were purposefully inflicting harm on each other!

 

I was glad to see that even though most of the effort expended had to go toward defeating the Kabalos and the god Talkus as they made their way closer and closer to Chippenden, there were still some nice turns where Jenny got to learn about ghosts and send them on their way. 

 

The best part of these books for me is always the relationships. Tom's long lost ally just about broke my heart, even if Jenny wasn't the biggest fan. There were also some nice touches with the former spook's love, Meg, returning to Chippenden to spend time with John Gregory. There's a lot of discussion about what makes individuals good or evil, and how no one is all of one with none of the other. 

 

While devotees of the first series certainly must pick this up, and there is a lot of crossover interest from fans of John Flanagan's The Ranger's Apprentice series, the inclusion of so much fighting will appeal to readers of Nielsen's The False Prince or Spradlin's The Youngest Templar series. 

 

*Find more info on this book HERE!*

Rate this blog entry:
It's Live!! Cover Reveal: Ultimatum (K.M. Walton) ...
Author Of The Week: Chat with Kami Garcia (The Lov...
 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter
Based on some of literature’s horror and science fiction classics,...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Disappearances
What if the ordinary things in life suddenly…disappeared? ...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Everything All at Once
Lottie Reeves has always struggled with anxiety, and when her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lucky in Love
Maddie doesn't believe in luck. She's all about hard work...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
She's So Boss
Whether you already have an idea for a business or...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wesley James Ruined My Life
Sixteen-year-old Quinn Hardwick’s having a rough summer. Her beloved grandmother...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Beanstalker and Other Hilarious Scarytales
Once upon a time, a girl skipped into the forest...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Obsidian and Stars
In the sequel to Ivory and Bone—the prehistoric fantasy...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Maybe In Paris
Keira Braidwood lands in Paris with her autistic brother,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Revolt: Book Four of the Resistance Series
The Explosive Conclusion to the Award-Winning Resistance Series To...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
16 Ways to Break A Heart
Unfolding through letters, texts, and chats, Lauren Strasnick’s smart,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Changes in Latitudes
A "road" trip romance that takes place at sea!...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
First We Were IV
A group of friends start a secret society in...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Orphan is the highly anticipated sequel in the ORB trilogy....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The World Between the Trees
Jake Hunter has disappeared without a trace and when his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jupiter Storm
Only a week ago Grey Alexander thought she and her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter
 
3.7
"‘The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter’ follows, Mary Jekyll. Mary is Dr. Jekyll’s daughter (of Dr.Jekyll and Mr. Hyde)...."
The Disappearances
 
4.3
"WWII is in full force. Aila and Miles’ mother has just died. When their father is drafted, they have no..."
The Maze Runner
 
4.7
"Nice story that unfolds really fast, and in an interesting way. I enjoyed this first part to the trilogy...."
Dragonwatch: A Fablehaven Adventure
 
4.0
"DRAGONWATCH is a captivating, action-packed story that is filled with all type of creatures such as trolls, goblins, dragons, nipsies,..."
Geekerella
 
4.3
"I was in SDCC last weekend so I had to hold off reading. I finally got to finish reading this..."
Lucky in Love
 
3.7
"Everyone has asked themselves at least once, “what would you do if you won the lotto”. LUCKY IN LOVE is..."
The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue
 
5.0
"What can I say that hasn't already been said about this magnificent book? The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue..."
She's So Boss
 
4.0
"SHE’S SO BOSS by Stacy Kravetz is a non-fiction guide for young female entrepreneurs who are looking to start or..."
Wesley James Ruined My Life
 
4.0
"This was such a cutesy read! Imagine spending your summer working on a Tudor Times themed restaurant with your worst,..."
First We Were IV
 
4.0
"Remind me again to never read YA Thrillers at night. First We Were IV is a book that has haunted..."
They Both Die at the End
 
5.0
"I think we all know what to expect from a book entitled They Both Die at the End; nevertheless, reading..."
Eliza and Her Monsters
 
5.0
"This was one of my most anticipated spring/summer releases and it didn't disappoint. First, the cover is gorgeous. I love..."
Unbecoming
 
4.7
"What I Loved: Though the story is about three women–Mary the grandmother, Caroline the mother, and Katie the daughter–we get..."
Once Upon a Cruise
 
4.0
"What I Loved: After Ainsley’s mom took a cruise director job aboard what is essentially a mockbuster Disney cruise, Ainsley..."
Eliza and Her Monsters
 
5.0
"What I Loved: Eliza, secret creator of a massive webcomic, is an eighteen-year-old ball of anxieties with much more going..."
Dreamthief
 
5.0
"This was an excellent and captivating fantasy book! Olive Kennedy has lived half her life in the magical..."
Washed Ashore
 
4.0
"One confusing passage involved Willie and Mr Wallace, fisherman and harbor master. Critical piece of the plot, but I had..."
Maybe In Paris
 
4.0
"Keira Braidwood's whole dream is to go to Paris. She's saved for this event and has images of the French..."
It's Not Like It's a Secret
 
3.3
"IT’S NOT LIKE IT’S A SECRET by Misa Sugiura follows the story of Sana Kiyohara as she grapples with identity,..."
Five Elements #2: The Shadow City
 
4.0
"THE SHADOW CITY starts off where I expected it to. The elementals are trying to decide on their next move...."