Featured Review: Magic Bound by G.K. DeRosa

magic-bound

About This Book:

Discovering a supernatural hunter wants you dead isn’t the worst thing that could happen at seventeen, right? I’m Aria Negrescu, and I just shot fireballs out of my hands. And I have no idea how. My whole life I was the poor little orphan girl who bounced around foster homes, each worse than the one before. But all that changed the night I met him. Now an unstoppable hunter wants me dead, and if I’m going to survive I have to discover who I am. And that means trusting a mysterious stranger who always shows up the moment I need him. Apparently, a whole supernatural world exists right under my nose, and I’m about to become a part of it. Whether I like it or not. If you loved the magic of Beautiful Creatures and the epic romance of The Vampire Diaries then you’ll get hooked on Magic Bound, the spellbinding first book in The Hybrid Trilogy.

 

*Review Contributed By Kelly St. Clare, Staff Reviewer*

Urban Fantasy Lovers - Just Get This Book

Magic Bound: The Hybrid Trilogy by G.K. DeRosa

The Story: Forced to take care of herself from a young age, when Aria receives a letter saying she’s been accepted into Oak Bluff College with all tuition and housing paid for, she instinctively distrusts it. Unbeknown to her, taking the offer will require Aria to step into the supernatural world. It may even solve the mysteries about who she is and why she was abandoned - while unleashing more trouble and danger.

The Characters: Aria is an distrusting, New York City hardened young woman who is constantly scraping the barrel. The thick skin she’s developed from her sad childhood is equalled by sharp survival smarts. One of the best things about this character is her intelligence in dangerous situations. She doesn’t get in cars with people she’s not sure of, she doesn’t needlessly put herself in harms way - this book is refreshing for many reasons, but for this reason in particular.

Ricky is Aria’s gay best friend. His snappy dialogue keeps the reader entertained throughout, and it is nice to see good depth to this character later on in the book. Often the best friend gets left behind when the main character jumps off into a secret world, and this is not the case in Magic Bound. Ricky is featured often throughout the story and is an integral part of the ending.

The World: G.K. DeRosa fans, you are in for a treat. This series is a spin-off series from her original Wilder series. We meet fairies, witches, vampires, werewolves, and some brand new supernatural originals from this author. The world is explained clearly, believably, and with a confidence that tells us the author has done this before. Set in the current day, teens will find it easy to relate to the main characters with the modern references and attention-grabbing dialogue. 

The Readability: Having read this author’s first published work a while back and knowing we would see awesome things in the future from her, I am happy to say G.K. DeRosa has hit all of the nails on the head in this novel. Magic Bound is unpredictable, well thought out, emotionally engaging, and has the best love triangle I have seen in a long, long time. Lovers of urban fantasy will appreciate this read for giving them all their favorite ingredients in a completely new way!

Final Verdict: Just get it.

Favorite Quote: “I was silent for the remainder of the car ride, not really knowing what a person who had been hypnotized by a possible vampire was supposed to act like.”

 

*Find More Info On This Book HERE!*

Rate this blog entry:
It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: Relative Strangers by Pa...
Blog Tour & Review: Snappsy The Alligator and His ...

Related Posts

 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."
When Dimple Met Rishi
 
3.3
"A contemporary YA romance—heavy on the romance—with an Indian-American take on the attraction of opposites. The story is told..."
Stray
 
3.8
"'Stray' by Joni Johnson has an interesting premise. When Lila finds out that her father is about to kick her..."