Featured Review: Kingsbane (Claire LeGrand)

40523458

About This Book:

In this sequel to the instant New York Times bestseller Furyborn, two queens, separated by a thousand years, connected by secrets and lies, must continue their fight amid deadly plots and unthinkable betrayals that will test their strength—and their hearts.

Rielle Dardenne has been anointed Sun Queen, but her trials are far from over. The Gate keeping the angels at bay is falling. To repair it, Rielle must collect the seven hidden castings of the saints. Meanwhile, to help her prince and love Audric protect Celdaria, Rielle must spy on the angel Corien—but his promises of freedom and power may prove too tempting to resist.

Centuries later, Eliana Ferracora grapples with her new reality: She is the Sun Queen, humanity's long-awaited savior. But fear of corruption—fear of becoming another Rielle—keeps Eliana's power dangerous and unpredictable. Hunted by all, racing against time to save her dying friend Navi, Eliana must decide how to wear a crown she never wanted—by embracing her mother's power, or rejecting it forever.

 

 

*Review Contributed By Olivia Farr Staff Reviewer*

 

 

 

This exciting and fast-paced sequel picks up right where the first book left off. For that reason, this book does not work as a stand-alone and catching up on previous events is helpful before heading into this sequel. 

KINGSBANE follows several points-of-view, similar to the first book, mostly fluctuating between the two queens, Rielle and Eliana, who are separated by a thousand years. As we know, Rielle was named the Sun Queen based on a prophecy which told of two queens who would save or destroy the world. Rielle lives in a time of magic. Angels, who had been warring with humans before being trapped in another world, are beginning to break through the shield separating the worlds and are siding with or against humans. Empirium, the magic that exists throughout the world, embodies certain people with power of an element. As the Sun Queen, Rielle has the power of all the elements. 

Her daughter, Eliana, was taken after her birth and moved through time by the marque Simon, accidentally to a thousand years in the future. Eliana was an assassin before Simon was able to locate her and begin to train her to save the world. In this time, magic is viewed as a myth of the past and Angels control the world, destroying and oppressing humans. Eliana is fighting within herself at knowing Rielle was her mother and the terrible things that Rielle had done as well as against the idea that she should lead or be able to save humanity. We follow Rielle and Eliana in alternating chapters across time as Rielle is led towards the end of the world and Eliana is working to save it. 

What I loved: This book keeps you on your toes. With a fast pace and filled to the brim with action, romance, and adventure, there is never a dull moment. This book is full of twists and turns, building and escalating through each chapter. There are also various single chapters from others’ points-of-view, and these were helpful for filling in some of the gaps left by what Eliana and Rielle know. This is a page-turner and with many cliffhanger-esque moments, it is very difficult to put down. 

The world and characters are well-built and all three-dimensional with history, places, and flaws. The world-building is as strong as LORD OF THE RINGS, HARRY POTTER, and other epic fantasies. The characters are all fully realized, including the ‘villains’ and they feel fully alive. Along these lines, the romance is top notch for both Rielle and Eliana, and a cherry on top of the delicious storylines.

What left me wanting more: As someone who read the first book around its release, a recap would have been helpful to remembering where we are in time with reminders for key events/people in the book. However, the internet is helpful for such things if one is not rereading the series! This book could also easily be split into two different books for each queen. The writing style frequently has small cliffhangers at the end of a chapter before switching to the other queen (e.g. Rielle or Eliana), so you must read through another chapter before finding out how it resolves. This style makes it feel like you get wrapped up into one life before abruptly switching, getting wrapped up in the other, and abruptly switching again. On the flip side, this style keeps the book intensely interesting and constantly keeps the reader moving through the pages quickly. These are overall minor concerns for a fascinating book.

Final verdict: KINGSBANE is a fantastic sequel to FURYBORN, which will enchant and engross readers. As this is the second in a trilogy, the ending is a big cliffhanger, so be prepared to eagerly await book three. I would also add warnings for explicit sexual content, attempted assault (did not get very far), and rough sex. I would highly recommend for older YA readers who love high fantasy, magic, and intensely engaging storylines.

 

 

 

 

*Find More Info On This Book HERE!*

 

Behind the Scenes in Indie Publishing with Nina Wa...
What's Hot in KU

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
Think you know the story of the Little Mermaid? Think...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Girl Who Loved Ghosts
She’d do anything to save her friends and family. But...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blue Key
Seleste is turning sixteen. A milestone birthday. A birthday that...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
 
4.3
"THE SURFACE BREAKS is a slow-building retelling of The Little Mermaid. While staying true to the classic, this story adds..."
Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
 
4.0
"PROFESSOR RENOIR'S COLLECTION OF ODDITIES, CURIOSITIES, AND DELIGHTS primarily follows Babe, a fourteen-year-old girl who has gigantism. She already stands..."
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
"#Murderfunding is an engaging and fast-paced sequel to #murdertrending. Alcatraz 2.0 has been shut down and #CinderellaSurvivor (Dee) and her..."
Truman
 
5.0
"TRUMAN is an unbelievably sweet story about a tortoise. Truman the tortoise lives with his best friend and owner Sarah,..."
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
 
4.0
"THE DAY THE UNIVERSE EXPLODED MY HEAD features cartoony planets and drawings along with poems on each page. Topical, clever,..."
#Murdertrending
 
4.7
"In the near future, a reality TV star has become president and signed off on Alcatraz 2.0, a new prison..."
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
 
3.5
"I'm a huge fan of graphic novels and this series is one that is sure to appeal to those who..."
The Season
 
4.3
"THE SEASON by Sarah MacLean is a YA historical fiction novel that centers around seventeen-year-old Alex, who is coming of..."
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
 
4.3
"Sixteen-year-old Bluebelle, or BB/Big Bones, loves herself. Forget that others say she's fat. After a recent asthma attack, she has..."
The Exact Opposite of Okay
 
3.3
"THE EXACT OPPOSITE OF OKAY is a book that tackles sexism and slut-shaming. Written as a series of journal entries,..."
Super Humans
 
4.3
"The story: Best friends Chloe and Miranda, eager to start their college careers, move into an old, off-campus Victorian..."
Girl Gone Viral
 
3.3
"Girl Gone Viral was pitched for Warcross and Black Mirror fans. Now I haven’t read Warcross yet, but I’ve seen..."
Patron Saints of Nothing
 
4.7
"Reading Patron Saints of Nothing invokes a lot of emotions, especially for someone who’s socially aware of the current political..."
This Time Will Be Different
 
5.0
"THIS TIME WILL BE DIFFERENT is an engaging YA contemporary with strong underlying messages about racism and social activism. With..."
North To Nara (Crimson Sash, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’ve always been a sucker for dystopian. This is not a secret. The obsession with The Hunger Games is still..."
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
 
4.0
"CARNIVAL CATASTROPHE follows the seven Problim children as they continue their search for their mother. The seven siblings must work..."
The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean
 
5.0
"THE ASTRONAUT WHO PAINTED THE MOON is the true story of Alan Bean, the fourth man to walk on the..."
As Far as the Stars
 
3.3
"AS FAR AS THE STARS is a slow-burning book about overwhelming grief. Air (Ariadne) is a high schooler with heaps..."
This Cruel Design
 
5.0
"Feedback This book…. What do I have to say about this book…. I have such a love/hate relationship with it...."
Big Red School (Clifford)
 
5.0
"CLIFFORD: BIG RED SCHOOL follows Emily Elizabeth and Clifford as they create a special school just for Clifford. Clifford loves..."