Featured Review: Girl On The Verge (Pintip Dunn)

31428017

About This Book:

From the author of The Darkest Lie comes a compelling, provocative story for fans of I Was Here and Vanishing Girls, about a high school senior straddling two worlds, unsure how she fits in either—and the journey of self-discovery that leads her to surprising truths.

In her small Kansas town, at her predominantly white school, Kanchana doesn’t look like anyone else. But at home, her Thai grandmother chides her for being too westernized. Only through the clothing Kan designs in secret can she find a way to fuse both cultures into something distinctly her own.

When her mother agrees to provide a home for a teenage girl named Shelly, Kan sees a chance to prove herself useful. Making Shelly feel comfortable is easy at first—her new friend is eager to please, embraces the family’s Thai traditions, and clearly looks up to Kan. Perhaps too much. Shelly seems to want everything Kanchana has, even the blond, blue-eyed boy she has a crush on. As Kan’s growing discomfort compels her to investigate Shelly’s past, she’s shocked to find how much it intersects with her own—and just how far Shelly will go to belong…

 

 

 

*Review Contributed By Melissa Robles Staff Reviewer*

 

 

Terrific YA Thriller That's Bound To Raise Goosebumps

Um, wow. Consider me officially spooked for the rest of the year. How am I supposed to sleep soundly after this??? I swear my hands are still shaking while I type this. This book... gosh, it's like my worst nightmare. However, it is undoubtedly good, so if you enjoy reading thrillers, you might find this one quite enjoyable.

Girl on the Verge captured me from page one as it introduced Kan, the main character. She's a Thai girl born in USA, living in a small town where she's the only one "different". Never feeling as if she belonged in Kansas or even in Thailand (for she was just not Thai enough, according to them), she constantly struggled balancing her two separate lives. What she did know is that she wanted to be a clothes designer because she's actually really good at it. So her story starts off well, a girl trying to discover herself and possibly get the boy she has a crush on finally notice her. That is until her mother allows a recently orphaned girl to stay with them that all hell breaks lose.

I must say, I think I failed to notice when I first read about this book that it was a thriller. I RARELY read thrillers/horror because it all honesty, I get scared pretty easily. So imagine my surprise when after a few chapters of a great main character struggling with self-identity that I knew she was somehow going to overcome and the swooniest boy ever, some things started to get oddly creepy, it the subtlest ways. First, a girl coming on a bit strong for being a stranger. Then immediately acting like your best friend. Then making you be blood sisters, ritual and all... among many other things that screamed DANGER. Yup, you bet goosebumps sprouted all over my arms while reading it.

This is my first book by Pintip Dunn and holy muffins, I cannot deny her great ability to captivate you with her words, her storytelling, and characters. I was so damn scared and disturbed, to the point of feeling nauseous, but for the love of books, I could NOT set the book down. I read it in one sitting and I don't regret the read at all, but I also somehow want to forget it. It insanely brought me a sense of déjà vu and that scares me the most because WHY?? I don't ever EVER want to have a stranger come into my life and try to steal my identity, my life. That is truly my worst nightmare.

Ugh. Anyway, this book will surely stay with me for a long time. I thought it was a dark contemporary read, but never guessed THIS dark. It certainly fooled me when the love interest was introduced (OMG so cute, I loved him!) and I thought it would focus more on them as a couple, but instead this book took me into a twisty, devilish journey that I'm perfectly content for it to always remain fictional, thank you very much.

Final Verdict:

Girl on the Verge had me at the edge of my seat the whole time and while it may not be my usual genre, I certainly was enthranced by the thrilling story inside. Definitely check it out of you like to feel your pulse raised!

Good Points
Had me shaking the whole time so that's good, right?
 
 
 
 
*Find More Info On This HERE!!*
 
 
Rate this blog entry:
Chapter 24 Read Along: Tendrils of Darkness
Featured Review: The Waking Land by Callie Bates

Related Posts

 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

From Twinkle, Wtih Love
Aspiring filmmaker and wallflower Twinkle Mehra has stories she wants...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Freshmen
A laugh-out-loud, realistic portrayal of a freshman year in college...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Nazi Hunters: How a Team of Spies and Survivors Captured the World's Most Notorious Nazi
In 1945, at the end of World War II, Adolf...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You May Now Kill the Bride
Two sisters, divided by time. Each with a terrible resentment...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ruby Redfort: Blink and You Die (Ruby Redfort #6)
Ruby Redfort: you can count on her when the ice...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Wish I Was a Gorilla
What if you wished you were a gorilla and then...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The New Kid
Middle school can be tough! Especially when Alex's best friend...
 
3.0
 
5.0 (1)
Margot and Mateo Save the World
When Margot Blumenthal removes a bright blue slug alien attached...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Acceptance The Jewel Trilogy Book one
When destiny and desire collide... In a community full...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Escape The Future
"AS POWERFUL AS CORMAC MCCARTHY... A TIMELY, TROUBLING, AND MEMORABLE...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Challenge Accepted
Emma Dawson and Logan Reynolds have been neighbors and...
 
4.2 (3)
 
0.0 (0)
The Planetsider
A story of self-discovery, belonging and hope. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where the Sea Takes Me
Two years later might as well be two lifetimes....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From You to Me
Amelia Peabody lives in a small town where nothing changes....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
"According to legend, when the world was young, two gods...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Why Can't I Be You
Claire Ladd knows that this summer is going to...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

From Twinkle, With Love
 
5.0
"Where do I begin? I thought this was such a cute story! I am not a big fan of YA..."
Freshmen
 
3.7
"Luke and Phoebe both attended the same high school and now are at the same university. Phoebe has had..."
The New Kid
 
5.0
"This book shows the struggle to fit in the middle school social scene and a reminder that true friendship is..."
 
5.0
"Good book for middle school kids- a true snapshot of the struggle to fit in the middle school social scene..."
You May Now Kill the Bride
 
4.7
"In 1923, sisters Ruth-Ann and Rebecca have an uneasy relationship, especially after Rebecca hastily throws over her boyfriend Melvin for..."
Ruby Redfort: Blink and You Die (Ruby Redfort #6)
 
4.0
"Ruby's parents are in France, and Ruby is back from Genius Camp and Mrs. Digby back from a convenient cruise...."
I Wish I Was a Gorilla
 
4.3
"This level one reader introduces children to details about gorillas by asking what they would do if they WERE gorillas...."
The New Kid
 
3.0
"Alex's best friend and constant supporter, Luke, moves away and Alex has to face the school bully T.J. without him...."
Margot and Mateo Save the World
 
4.0
"Margot is new to West Cover middle school, and her day isn't going well. There is a giant whale decomposing..."
White Knights
 
4.3
"Angel is a genius at school and also a talented hacker. She mostly uses her gift of coding to search..."
Where the Sea Takes Me
 
5.0
"Sienna just finished her freshman year in college. It’s been two years since she parted from Deni back in Indonesia...."
From You to Me
 
4.0
"Amelia is tired of being "the girl with the dead sister", since it's been three years since her sister was..."
 
4.5
"'Eugenia Lincoln and the Unexpected Package' by Kate DiCamillo is a story that arouses curiosity about the differences that make..."
Takedown
 
5.0
"Mikayle has wrestled in a rec league for many years, always with her friend Kenna. They hold their own, and..."
Scream and Scream Again
 
5.0
"Scary short stories seem to be perennially popular, and not just around Halloween! This newest collection edited by R.L. Stine..."
Monica the Marshmallow Fairy: A Rainbow Magic Book (The Sweet Fairies #1)
 
4.0
"Rachel has come back to visit Kirsty, and they are being taken by Aunt Helen to visit Candy Land, a..."
Esme's Wish
 
4.5
"Ahhh, Esme's Wish turned out to be far better than what I imagined! Author Elizabeth Foster created a wonderful world..."
Judy Moody Was in a Mood (Judy Moody #1)
 
5.0
"Judy is starting 3rd grade, and she is not pleased about it. Her family didn't go anywhere over the summer,..."
Remy Sneakers and the Lost Treasure (Remy Sneakers #2)
 
4.0
"Someone has broken into Remy's house and stolen his notebook, so he gathers his Critter Crew to try to find..."
The Cardboard Kingdom
 
4.0
"In an ordinary suburban neighborhood, a group of multicultural children spend their free time creating characters that inhabit the titular..."