Featured Review: Girl On The Verge (Pintip Dunn)

31428017

About This Book:

From the author of The Darkest Lie comes a compelling, provocative story for fans of I Was Here and Vanishing Girls, about a high school senior straddling two worlds, unsure how she fits in either—and the journey of self-discovery that leads her to surprising truths.

In her small Kansas town, at her predominantly white school, Kanchana doesn’t look like anyone else. But at home, her Thai grandmother chides her for being too westernized. Only through the clothing Kan designs in secret can she find a way to fuse both cultures into something distinctly her own.

When her mother agrees to provide a home for a teenage girl named Shelly, Kan sees a chance to prove herself useful. Making Shelly feel comfortable is easy at first—her new friend is eager to please, embraces the family’s Thai traditions, and clearly looks up to Kan. Perhaps too much. Shelly seems to want everything Kanchana has, even the blond, blue-eyed boy she has a crush on. As Kan’s growing discomfort compels her to investigate Shelly’s past, she’s shocked to find how much it intersects with her own—and just how far Shelly will go to belong…

 

 

 

*Review Contributed By Melissa Robles Staff Reviewer*

 

 

Terrific YA Thriller That's Bound To Raise Goosebumps

Um, wow. Consider me officially spooked for the rest of the year. How am I supposed to sleep soundly after this??? I swear my hands are still shaking while I type this. This book... gosh, it's like my worst nightmare. However, it is undoubtedly good, so if you enjoy reading thrillers, you might find this one quite enjoyable.

Girl on the Verge captured me from page one as it introduced Kan, the main character. She's a Thai girl born in USA, living in a small town where she's the only one "different". Never feeling as if she belonged in Kansas or even in Thailand (for she was just not Thai enough, according to them), she constantly struggled balancing her two separate lives. What she did know is that she wanted to be a clothes designer because she's actually really good at it. So her story starts off well, a girl trying to discover herself and possibly get the boy she has a crush on finally notice her. That is until her mother allows a recently orphaned girl to stay with them that all hell breaks lose.

I must say, I think I failed to notice when I first read about this book that it was a thriller. I RARELY read thrillers/horror because it all honesty, I get scared pretty easily. So imagine my surprise when after a few chapters of a great main character struggling with self-identity that I knew she was somehow going to overcome and the swooniest boy ever, some things started to get oddly creepy, it the subtlest ways. First, a girl coming on a bit strong for being a stranger. Then immediately acting like your best friend. Then making you be blood sisters, ritual and all... among many other things that screamed DANGER. Yup, you bet goosebumps sprouted all over my arms while reading it.

This is my first book by Pintip Dunn and holy muffins, I cannot deny her great ability to captivate you with her words, her storytelling, and characters. I was so damn scared and disturbed, to the point of feeling nauseous, but for the love of books, I could NOT set the book down. I read it in one sitting and I don't regret the read at all, but I also somehow want to forget it. It insanely brought me a sense of déjà vu and that scares me the most because WHY?? I don't ever EVER want to have a stranger come into my life and try to steal my identity, my life. That is truly my worst nightmare.

Ugh. Anyway, this book will surely stay with me for a long time. I thought it was a dark contemporary read, but never guessed THIS dark. It certainly fooled me when the love interest was introduced (OMG so cute, I loved him!) and I thought it would focus more on them as a couple, but instead this book took me into a twisty, devilish journey that I'm perfectly content for it to always remain fictional, thank you very much.

Final Verdict:

Girl on the Verge had me at the edge of my seat the whole time and while it may not be my usual genre, I certainly was enthranced by the thrilling story inside. Definitely check it out of you like to feel your pulse raised!

Good Points
Had me shaking the whole time so that's good, right?
 
 
 
 
*Find More Info On This HERE!!*
 
 
Rate this blog entry:
Chapter 24 Read Along: Tendrils of Darkness
Featured Review: The Waking Land by Callie Bates

Related Posts

 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Children of Exile
Rosi must decide what she’s willing to risk to save...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Teeth of the Gods
Chained to an enemy general. Determined to be free....
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Vampire Trick (Dark World: The Vampire Wish 3)
In a kingdom full of secrets, no one can...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Am Alfonso Jones
Alfonso Jones can't wait to play the role of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Unearthed
From the New York Times best-selling author duo Amie...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Boyfriend Agreement
Fake boyfriends are hard work. When 16-year-old Bella’s dream...
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone
Eighteen-year-old twins Adina and Tovah have little in common...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Believarexic
Asking for help is only the first step. ...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Graveyard Shakes
Katia and Victoria are sisters and scholarship students at a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Black Star Renegades
In the tradition of Star Wars, a galaxy-hopping space adventure...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Tiny Perfect World
The big-hearted story of a small-town girl who discovers how...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last to Let Go
A twisted tragedy leaves Brooke and her siblings on their...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pretty Dead Girls
Beautiful. Perfect. Dead. In the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
By a Charm and a Curse
A kiss is never just a kiss. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Naondel (The Red Abbey Chronicles #2)
Booklist called Maresi “utterly satisfying and completely different from standard...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Blood Water Paint
Her mother died when she was twelve, and suddenly Artemisia...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Dragonkyn
 
4.0
"When Marc hits puberty, something inside of him starts to change. The first thing he notices is that heat doesn't..."
Children of Exile
 
3.7
"Rosi is twelve-years-old and she and the other children of Fredtown were taken from an unsafe situation with their birth..."
I Am Alfonso Jones
 
5.0
"Alfonso Jones is a bright teen who is excited to try out for Hamlet at his school. When he and..."
Sword and Scion 01: Into the Dark Mountains
 
5.0
AmyAmy
"We read this book as a family and had a hard time putting it down. We looked forward to..."
Believarexic
 
3.3
"BELIEVAREXIC is the fictionalized memoir of author JJ Johnson's stay in an eating disorder unit (EDU) in the 80s. The..."
Graveyard Shakes
 
4.0
"All Victoria wants to do is fit in, but instead, her and her sister Katia are always being teased. It..."
The Vampire Fate (Dark World: The Vampire Wish 4)
 
5.0
"The plot twist at the end of the third book was epic and I was so excited to start this..."
Alicia and the Light Bulb People in Star Factory 13
 
4.5
"'Alicia and the Light Bulb People in Star Factory 13' by Barbara Roman, illustrated by Vladimir Cebu, is a sweet..."
This Tiny Perfect World
 
3.0
"Things that worked: The small town setting. Although it felt restrictive to the main character, a small town story often..."
The Boyfriend Agreement
 
4.8
"'The Boyfriend Agreement' by Seven Steps is definitely a hard one to put down! With a mix of romance, intrigue,..."
The Vampire Trick (Dark World: The Vampire Wish 3)
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to begin. This series is just so good and each book builds you up for..."
InterWorld (InterWorld #1)
 
3.5
"A solid sci-fi/urban fantasy adventure premise, ideally targeting the mid-to-upper Middle Grade demographic. It’s a quick read—overall fun and fast-paced...."
The Traitor Prince
 
4.3
"An adventurous, accessible YA fantasy—with likely appeal for fans of An Ember In The Ashes. Based loosely on an..."
You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone
 
5.0
"You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone was one of the last books I read in 2017 and I couldn't have..."
The Vampire Prince (Dark World: The Vampire Wish 2)
 
5.0
"When Annika discovers Geneva, she realizes that she's the only one who can help her take down the Vale. With..."
Roar of the Thunder Dragon: A Branches Book (Dragon Masters #8)
 
5.0
"Carlos's dragon Lalo has been take by Eko, a Dragon Master who uses her powers for causing trouble. When King..."
The Stars at Oktober Bend
 
5.0
"Alice Nightingale is broken. It's been three years since the horrific act that left her under the "spell of twelveness"--a..."
In The Snow
 
5.0
"IN THE SNOW features a little girl and her dog doing typical snow activities like drawing pictures with a stick,..."
Fatal Throne: The Wives of Henry VIII Tell All
 
4.7
"This is a collection of short stories told from the point of view of the wives of King Henry VIII...."
Teeth of the Gods
 
4.7
"Teeth of the Gods is a wild mixture of genres for those who are looking for something unique. Tylira has..."