Featured Review: Catching Ivy (Eliza Tilton)

42650548

About This Book:

 

Damion Scole has an obsession--one that just might get him killed. Damion spends his free time hooking into VRR's: Virtual Reality Reads which replaced e-readers almost thirty years ago. When his connection sells him a new vid, Damion slips into the virtual world and watches a grim scene unfold. The main character is running for her life: A girl with bright blonde hair, deep amber eyes, and a mission to take down the biggest biotech company in the world. After a fire in the book makes the news headlines the next morning, he realizes something is very wrong. Convinced what he's watching is in real time, and the mysterious girl is in real peril, he begins a desperate search through the city to find her. What he discovers will force him to leave his virtual world of safety, to save his real one.

 

 

 

 

*Review Contributed By Stephanie Augustine Staff Reviewer*

 

 

 

 

There are certain things I don’t like in books. Insta-love and perfect plans out of nowhere - just to name a couple of them. Insta-love is almost a turn off for me because there isn’t a lot of buildup and I love all the tension. Perfect plans that just happen to exist even though this place or event could never be done before is annoying also because, even though it’s frustrating, sometimes a little bit of failure is nice. And both of those were in this book BUT somehow she made them work. I flew through this book because it was just so good. After I was done I tried to be annoyed by certain things that happened but found that I couldn’t because Tilton incorporated them almost flawlessly that I couldn’t even be made about it! The action was non-stop as each scene turned into an important part of the plot. Each action had a purpose or explanation. I really do wish this book was a little longer though because I can think of several things that I would have liked to explore more. Other than that, Tilton blends this story together really well to give a fast, fun read.

The story follows two main characters, Damion and Ivy. At first, Damion is believed to have bought just another vid that was just a little more advanced than the ones he had previously experienced. He prefers life in VR because of events that are told as the book unfolds. I like this aspect because in a world like that, escaping into VR and “meshing” is such a realistic option. If you could escape into something that isn’t real but feels real, wouldn’t you? Overall though I really enjoyed Damion’s character. It was really refreshing seeing a rich family really doing good within a community. Even though they have their privileges, their community projects are true passion projects and not to just squash their guilt or pretend that they are good. Ivy was an interesting character as well. For someone who never experienced life she was very smart and caught on really quickly. That is probably my only complaint. Her character claimed a naive approach, which made sense, but it was hard to believe at some points with some of her actions. Regardless, she was fierce and would stop at nothing until they accomplished their goals.

Final Thoughts
Overall, Catching Ivy by Eliza Tilton was a fast, fun and adventurous read. The plot was definitely unique and even though it had aspects that I normally don’t like, Tilton made it work. I was really impressed on how she blended everything together giving each plot and page a purpose. The pacing was really done well as Tilton didn’t waste time on much background, just the necessary points to gauge the world. I really enjoyed the two main characters and it was really easy to root for them. As the story progressed, so did my connection and the want of them to succeed. I highly recommend this book if you’re looking for a fast read that has a great sci-fi/fantasy aspect to it.

 
Was this review helpful to you? 
 
 
 
 
*Find More Info On This Book HERE!*
 
 
 
 
 
 
Author Chat with Amber Smith (Something Like Gravi...
It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: Refraction by Naomi Hugh...

Related Posts

 

Comments 1

Already Registered? Login Here
phamyen on Thursday, 13 June 2019 00:15

I have read your post. It solved some aspects of the problem. I think you need to make the problem clearer
strike force heroes 3

0
I have read your post. It solved some aspects of the problem. I think you need to make the problem clearer [url=http://strikeforceheroes3.games/]strike force heroes 3[/url]

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean
As a boy, Alan wanted to fly planes. As a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Evil Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #1)
Far, far away, in the realm of Enchantia, creatures...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Paper Bag Mask Cover.jpg
At the same moment he catches his teacher giving...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Cruel Design
The nightmare of the outbreak is finally...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

#Murdertrending
 
4.7
"In the near future, a reality TV star has become president and signed off on Alcatraz 2.0, a new prison..."
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
 
3.5
"I'm a huge fan of graphic novels and this series is one that is sure to appeal to those who..."
The Season
 
4.3
"THE SEASON by Sarah MacLean is a YA historical fiction novel that centers around seventeen-year-old Alex, who is coming of..."
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
 
4.3
"Sixteen-year-old Bluebelle, or BB/Big Bones, loves herself. Forget that others say she's fat. After a recent asthma attack, she has..."
The Exact Opposite of Okay
 
3.3
"THE EXACT OPPOSITE OF OKAY is a book that tackles sexism and slut-shaming. Written as a series of journal entries,..."
Super Humans
 
4.3
"The story: Best friends Chloe and Miranda, eager to start their college careers, move into an old, off-campus Victorian..."
Girl Gone Viral
 
3.3
"Girl Gone Viral was pitched for Warcross and Black Mirror fans. Now I haven’t read Warcross yet, but I’ve seen..."
Patron Saints of Nothing
 
4.7
"Reading Patron Saints of Nothing invokes a lot of emotions, especially for someone who’s socially aware of the current political..."
This Time Will Be Different
 
5.0
"THIS TIME WILL BE DIFFERENT is an engaging YA contemporary with strong underlying messages about racism and social activism. With..."
North To Nara (Crimson Sash, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’ve always been a sucker for dystopian. This is not a secret. The obsession with The Hunger Games is still..."
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
 
4.0
"CARNIVAL CATASTROPHE follows the seven Problim children as they continue their search for their mother. The seven siblings must work..."
The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean
 
5.0
"THE ASTRONAUT WHO PAINTED THE MOON is the true story of Alan Bean, the fourth man to walk on the..."
As Far as the Stars
 
3.3
"AS FAR AS THE STARS is a slow-burning book about overwhelming grief. Air (Ariadne) is a high schooler with heaps..."
This Cruel Design
 
5.0
"Feedback This book…. What do I have to say about this book…. I have such a love/hate relationship with it...."
Big Red School (Clifford)
 
5.0
"CLIFFORD: BIG RED SCHOOL follows Emily Elizabeth and Clifford as they create a special school just for Clifford. Clifford loves..."
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
"Elidi is a Goddess, or she will be when she ascends but to do that she must survive an attack..."
Don't Date Rosa Santos
 
5.0
"DON’T DATE ROSA SANTOS is a sweet and touching book about family. Rosa lives with her grandmother, and she sees..."
Not Now, Not Ever
 
4.0
"Lily Anderson’s sophomore novel follows Elliot "Ever" Gabaroche during an intense summer program to compete for a scholarship. It’s Not..."
 
5.0
"Lemon's story focuses on finding an identity when you don't have one. She has to overcome her unforgettable name and..."
A Monster Calls
 
4.7
"4.5 Stars This low-fantasy middle grade story is at once hefty and heartrending—despite its relative brevity and target audience..."