Featured Review: Autumn in the City of Angels by Kirby Howell

Featured Review: Autumn in the City of Angels by Kirby Howell

About this book:

2014 NATIONAL INDIE EXCELLENCE AWARD FINALIST! 2014 KINDLE BOOK REVIEW AWARD SEMI-FINALIST! 2014 BEACH BOOK FESTIVAL HONORABLE MENTION! What would you do if you lived through the apocalypse? The real fight to survive comes after everyone else is gone. A plague of epic proportion sweeps the globe, leaving less than one percent of the world’s population immune. Among the living is Autumn Winters, the teenage daughter of a famous actress. When Autumn’s parents don’t come home and the city is overtaken by a dangerous faction, she goes into hiding with a small group of underground survivors. They’re led by a mysterious young man who harbors an unearthly secret, and with whom Autumn feels a deep connection. Autumn in the City of Angels is the first novel in a series, followed by Autumn in the Dark Meadows and Autumn in the City of Lights.

 

*Review Contributed by Beth Rodgers, Staff 

Reviewer*

 

Like Watching a Movie

'Autumn in the City of Angels' by Kirby Howell is an addictive dystopian read that reads so smoothly that it will feel as though you are watching a movie. It doesn't hurt that the writers, Dana Melton and Jessica Alexander, who write under the pen name Kirby Howell, met while in a script writing class at the University of Alabama. Their attention to detail in regards to how the world might look if a disaster occurred is striking.

Lovers of contemporary realistic young adult novels will enjoy venturing into this dystopian world, as it starts out in the present day, when an epidemic is sweeping the Los Angeles and surrounding areas, and maybe even the world. Autumn is thrust into the unknown, navigating how to live her life in the confines of her apartment while her parents, best friend, and anyone else she knows has been killed by the Crimson Fever that has infected them. She lives her life alone for a while, yet soon finds comfort with a teenage boy, Ben, and his younger sister, Rissi, who are also trying to scrape by and find a way for themselves after losing their own father to the Crimson Fever. The novel was made even more realistic by taking the setting of Los Angeles one step further and making Autumn's eventual hideout the area underneath Hollywood High School, a landmark of sorts in the LA area. This made the action seem even more real than how it already came across.

Before meeting Ben and Rissi, Autumn tries to join up with a group called The Front, yet they turn out to be not what they seem, and then she meets a boy named Grey who says he will return for her when it is safe. Despite her waiting, he never comes, but through a series of events, she comes upon him yet again, and is enthralled by him. Her infatuation only grows as she spends more time with him, and she learns that he has secrets that may threaten to tear apart their new and fragile relationship. At first it may seem like the twist that is revealed about Grey does not work so well and is somewhat unbelievable, but it quickly takes shape and seems totally fitting for the storyline.

One might wonder if anyone survived beyond the basic vicinity that the vast majority of the novel takes place in. Even though readers are made to expect that Autumn's parents have been killed by the Crimson Fever that has seemingly swept the globe, there is no real way to know exactly how much of the population was infected beyond the Los Angeles and surrounding area in which the book is set. With sequels of the novel available, it will be interesting to find out if this is touched upon in any further detail. 

'Autumn in the City of Angels' will not only satisfy the cravings of readers of both dystopian and contemporary realistic genres, but it ends with a gripping revelation that will leave readers aching for more.

Good Points
I loved how the novel had such a realistic setting, yet took place in a dystopian world.
 

*Find more info on this book HERE!

Rate this blog entry:
Author Chat with Heidi Heilig, Plus Giveaway!
Author Chat with Pete Begler, Plus Giveaway!

Related Posts

 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The 12 Dares of Christa
Christa is a holiday junkie. What’s not to love? There’s...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year she’ll...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See Fred Run
Learning to read has never been more fun than it...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Monster of Selkirk Book I: The Duality of Nature
Monsters come in many forms, and not everyone knows a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
The amazing original that set off the worldwide search for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, makes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Being Fishkill
Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goldeline
Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Speak Easy, Speak Love
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mr. Biddles
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Brigette Barrager reunite to bring us...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Black Bird of the Gallows
simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Now, Not Ever
The sequel to The Only Thing Worse than Me Is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Prince and the Dressmaker
Paris, at the dawn of the modern age: ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pashmina
Priyanka Das has so many unanswered questions: Why did her...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The 12 Dares of Christa
 
4.3
"'The 12 Dares of Christa' by Marissa Burt is a sweet story of friendship, determination, strength, and forgiveness. Main character..."
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
 
5.0
"'Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes' by Booki Vivat is an adorable, illustrated story that not only proves a fast..."
See Fred Run
 
3.5
"'See Fred Run' by Kevin Bolger, and illustrated by Ben Hodson, is a story about main character Fred and his..."
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
 
5.0
"Where's Waldo is an iconic search and find activity book that has been entertaining people for 30 years. This 30th..."
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
 
4.5
"THE LITTLE GIRL WHO DIDN'T WANT TO GO TO BED is about a girl who will do anything to stay..."
Mr. Biddles
 
5.0
"MR. BIDDLES stars a cat named Mr. Biddles who is an inventor. He creates all types of new gadgets and..."
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
 
4.5
"In UNI THE UNICORN AND THE DREAM COME TRUE, magic is weakening amongst the unicorns because of the never-ending rain...."
Pashmina
 
3.5
"Priyanka Das’s mother does not like Priyanka asking questions about India and her life there, but that doesn’t stop Pri..."
How to Disappear
 
5.0
"I am so absolutely in love with Sharon Huss Roat. Her books are funny, relatable, and so easily devoured. I..."
Penguins Love Their ABC's
 
4.0
"In PENGUINS LOVE THEIR ABC'S, Mama Penguin hides ABC's in the snow for her six children to seek out. They..."
David Inside Out
 
5.0
"David Inside Out is a novel about a teenager (David) who is discovering he is gay. In David's high school,..."
Even Fairies Fart
 
5.0
"EVEN FAIRIES FART teaches that nobody's perfect. As children, we listen to fairy tales and dream of having perfect lives..."
Little Penguin and the Lollipop
 
4.5
"LITTLE PENGUIN AND THE LOLLIPOP is interactive and encourages the reader to help Little Penguin by being silly. It makes..."
The Rest of Us Just Live Here
 
3.7
"I have to admit, it took me a while to get into this one. The characters seemed to me to..."
The Curtain-Twitcher's Handbook
 
4.5
"Whipped through this one as it's a really chatty, easy read. After a while it's like listening to your best..."
The Book Thief
 
4.7
"Death as a narrator? What an idea! It was so interesting to see the Second World War from a German..."
Ferocious (Vicarious #2)
 
5.0
"*WARNING: There are no spoilers for FEROCIOUS, but there are spoilers for book 1, VICARIOUS* As a reader, sequels always..."
Rebel's Blade
 
4.8
"A fantasy of the highest quality that checks every box and still pushes the bounds of originality. The..."
Blight
 
4.7
"BLIGHT by Alexandra Duncan is the next young adult dystopian novel that will set your world on fire. Torrest Tempest..."
The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking #1)
 
5.0
"This book was so unusual and satisfying in so many ways. Then there was the one bit - if you've..."