Featured Review: Autumn in the City of Angels by Kirby Howell

Featured Review: Autumn in the City of Angels by Kirby Howell

About this book:

2014 NATIONAL INDIE EXCELLENCE AWARD FINALIST! 2014 KINDLE BOOK REVIEW AWARD SEMI-FINALIST! 2014 BEACH BOOK FESTIVAL HONORABLE MENTION! What would you do if you lived through the apocalypse? The real fight to survive comes after everyone else is gone. A plague of epic proportion sweeps the globe, leaving less than one percent of the world’s population immune. Among the living is Autumn Winters, the teenage daughter of a famous actress. When Autumn’s parents don’t come home and the city is overtaken by a dangerous faction, she goes into hiding with a small group of underground survivors. They’re led by a mysterious young man who harbors an unearthly secret, and with whom Autumn feels a deep connection. Autumn in the City of Angels is the first novel in a series, followed by Autumn in the Dark Meadows and Autumn in the City of Lights.

 

*Review Contributed by Beth Rodgers, Staff 

Reviewer*

 

Like Watching a Movie

'Autumn in the City of Angels' by Kirby Howell is an addictive dystopian read that reads so smoothly that it will feel as though you are watching a movie. It doesn't hurt that the writers, Dana Melton and Jessica Alexander, who write under the pen name Kirby Howell, met while in a script writing class at the University of Alabama. Their attention to detail in regards to how the world might look if a disaster occurred is striking.

Lovers of contemporary realistic young adult novels will enjoy venturing into this dystopian world, as it starts out in the present day, when an epidemic is sweeping the Los Angeles and surrounding areas, and maybe even the world. Autumn is thrust into the unknown, navigating how to live her life in the confines of her apartment while her parents, best friend, and anyone else she knows has been killed by the Crimson Fever that has infected them. She lives her life alone for a while, yet soon finds comfort with a teenage boy, Ben, and his younger sister, Rissi, who are also trying to scrape by and find a way for themselves after losing their own father to the Crimson Fever. The novel was made even more realistic by taking the setting of Los Angeles one step further and making Autumn's eventual hideout the area underneath Hollywood High School, a landmark of sorts in the LA area. This made the action seem even more real than how it already came across.

Before meeting Ben and Rissi, Autumn tries to join up with a group called The Front, yet they turn out to be not what they seem, and then she meets a boy named Grey who says he will return for her when it is safe. Despite her waiting, he never comes, but through a series of events, she comes upon him yet again, and is enthralled by him. Her infatuation only grows as she spends more time with him, and she learns that he has secrets that may threaten to tear apart their new and fragile relationship. At first it may seem like the twist that is revealed about Grey does not work so well and is somewhat unbelievable, but it quickly takes shape and seems totally fitting for the storyline.

One might wonder if anyone survived beyond the basic vicinity that the vast majority of the novel takes place in. Even though readers are made to expect that Autumn's parents have been killed by the Crimson Fever that has seemingly swept the globe, there is no real way to know exactly how much of the population was infected beyond the Los Angeles and surrounding area in which the book is set. With sequels of the novel available, it will be interesting to find out if this is touched upon in any further detail. 

'Autumn in the City of Angels' will not only satisfy the cravings of readers of both dystopian and contemporary realistic genres, but it ends with a gripping revelation that will leave readers aching for more.

Good Points
I loved how the novel had such a realistic setting, yet took place in a dystopian world.
 

*Find more info on this book HERE!

Rate this blog entry:
Author Chat with Heidi Heilig, Plus Giveaway!
Author Chat with Pete Begler, Plus Giveaway!

Related Posts

 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
ALEX HUNT and the Chase for Rhapta
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Elect
 
4.0
"The story: Seventeen-year-old August is a weapon, a mindless tool of the government of Belstrana, helping to put down..."
My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
 
5.0
"I had high hopes for MY WEIRD SCHOOL FAST FACTS: EXPLORERS, PRESIDENTS, and TOILETS after reading Dan's other book and..."
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
 
5.0
"MY WEIRD SCHOOL FAST FACTS: SPACE, HUMANS, AND FARTS makes learning more interesting and fun. Using the weird-but-true theme is..."
Fragile Chaos
 
5.0
"When Cassia is unwillingly sacrificed to the War God, she's shocked when it's someone she's already met. Theo doesn't want..."
Phoenix Descending (Curse of the Phoenix #1)
 
5.0
"Phoenix Descending was a really interesting fantasy novel filled with action, adventure and a strong female character. Tori Kagari's family..."
Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
The Epic Crush of Genie Lo
 
5.0
"It took me awhile to really get into this book. I think a big part of it was that..."